(2008/06) June 2008

liew, don't worry about the size of your bb. bbs go through growth spurts. guideline is if at birth, at least 2.5kg, okay already. no need intensive care. maybe bb will be a bit fragile and soft to care for but not health issues. don't worry too much, k, gal?!

cactus,

I cannot stand being SAHM lor. My mum quit her job when she had me, and wasn't able to return back to workforce after that. Relying on my dad salary alone wasn't comfortable and there bound to be quarrels over money btw parents. Now my mum has to rely on my salary and she always feel helpless and upset relying on others for $$.

So i tink at least a part time job will be ideal as it give some sense of confidence and independence.

Bizznow, Ellysia,

pls don't let the age issue get into you too much. I don't think there's actually any actual cut off age to be a mom. Most importnat is mentality and committment to the newborn. I'm sorry if my rush to have #2 spurred on some thoughts.

cactus,
u work as part time job? my gf one mth ago kena retrench due to pregnancy... now she nothing to do at home. got any job can intro her?

morraine,
yah..dat's the 1 we talking abt..

ellysia,
haha..so gd hor..Dec baby only feels the change in age @ the end of the yr..i wanted to get married b4 28yrs old one..but dat time nvr really think of marriage cos only 1yr+ into relationship mah..but shortly after dat my hb said wanna get married..so we juz prepare n got married in jan 2007 lor..haha..customary n ROM on same day...super shiong..by then oredi gonna 28+ liao..haha.. i guess sometimes things juz dun go according to wat we want hor..

Hi liew,

I'm working presently in full time job but already discussed with my boss, after bb comes, I will change to part time. but same job scope. just cut in pay and work only in the afternoons loh.
It's still a perm position.

cactus,
gd dat u can wk part time..for my case i think difficult lah..i am an engineer leh..how to wk part time?? i was thinking of proposing the idea to work partially @ home maybe 1 week work 3 days from home then the other 2 days go work in office..but dunno can anot lah.. n best part is my office got no place to let me express out my BM..got to do it in toilet leh.. super sian..

cactus,

No lah. Its always said the recommended age to have no 1 is before age 30, and to have any subsquent kids before age 35.

I always have this worry but my frens also married late, in fact at a later age than me and their no 1 is after 30 but looks like no problem.

bizznow,
hehe....Was tinking of getting 1 during e isetan sales since we hv vouchers =D..keke..Tinkin gof buying Tiger brand, not bad hor?

morraine,
any brands to intro?

mrswrx,
tink its a thermal set lor, comes with a thermal flask, lunch box or something lor, i also forgot liao =D>.

Ellysia,cactus,
I also hope to have my 2nd bb b4 I am 32yrs old..But hb and i intend to go study part time degree since govt is subsidsing 40%..so our 2nd bb plan hv to wait til 3yrs later when we hv finish our course provided if the sch accepts us lor...Initially bery half hearted lor...But tink of long term, a degree is another level of security lor, at least pay higher...

bizzsnow,

My office just told me that the mummy room may not be fully available as there are around 6 mums giving birth within 3 mths before my EDD, plus some mums currently using the room have intention to bf for more than 1 year. So i dunno, maybe i won't be able to pump 2 times or more in office due to too many people using the room. Alternatively i can use the executive toilet but it looks unhygienic, not v ideal.

Ellysia
I have my 1st one at 33 (after 5yrs of marriage then i can conceived) n the 2nd at 35 now the 3rd one (the last one) at 38....

As long as you are healthy and think positively....all will be find......

bizznow,

My SIL is engineering trained. poly diploma. she works for Lenovo (previously known as IBM). She works from home leh! when she was in her 2nd and 3rd trimester, she was already working from home. now pregnant again, working from home. I think there are engineering trained pple who get work from home positions but maybe only in family friendly companies. If you are serious about working from home and if you can't strike a deal with your boss, you may want to consider other companies?

Cactus
Ya, nt easy to be SAHM. Tho' I'm quite thrifty in spending, i still feel relunctant to spend money tho my hubby didnt qn me on the $ side. In fact, i'm the go round comparing px n he's the typical buy n pay cos he does nt like shopping. So many years back, I purposely tried Insurance agent and Real Estate Agent life years back, so tat if 1 day i wnt to fall back on on free time, I got an avenue to move out, be it retrenchment or motherhood. Recently been having split mind if aft maternity shd go back to my full-time job. I think my mind too free nw so always thinking here n there and think too far ahead. But i knw when time come, things will always for in its place for me.

feifei,

Tat is why being a women is not easy.. men can just go and study and no need to worry abt preggy or wat. we have to worry and tink abt timing etc.

A degree is good at this current climate, people are ored aiming for double degree or masters etc.. so a basic degree is almost necessary if u want a higher pay.

I also wanted to study degree in another field or masters in my own field but not able to do so..now is family planning come first.

Haha.. all the mummies buy the cleanser liao.. seems like we are not alone :p

TF, MRs Wong says we can use normal cleanser like Mama lemon to clean bb bottles.. 1 pack is only max $1.50 compared to bb ones which are $8.50.. so expensive.. after I finish the one I bought, think will use normal de lah, luckily only bought 1... I went to Ocean at Chinatown people park hawker centre 3rd floor.. very packed.. there are many toiletries shop there selling about same price.. might even be cheaper but I didnt shop around...

Morraine, my bb only 744 gm at 25 weeks.. hence I found your bb much heavier
But as long as gynae says it's healthy can liao... I actually will be happier if bb is heavier too...

Average weight gain from Babycentre

23 weeks 11.38 inches 28.9 cm 501 grams
24 weeks 11.81 inches 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 51.2 cm 3462

Dan,

I pei fu u..

for me i am considering want to do op to stop birth at age 35 if i manage to get 2 by that age.

cactus,
wah..so gd..i am a software engineer wking for an aussie firm..u noe hor..they hv this practice to let staffs wk from home..but dat's in aussie..here spore..my direct boss is a typical sporean chinese boss..dunno he agree anot..i told my hb liao..if really cannot then worse come to worse i try to get into govt sector then get pay cut..but @ least can enjoy subsidies to put my kids in infant care..

TF, keep your options open. It's really admirable to be a SAHM but for women who earn good $, it is not easy loh, like you mentioned.
My friend who is a SAHM with 2 kids (no maid) lost 5 kg from her pre-preg weight for her #1!!

Another friend with triplets and a maid lost so much weight, we didn't dare to ask her how much she weights now... no joke.

Can I find out how soon after delivering #1 you plan to try for #2?

cactus,

Maybe after u go back full time then settle yr new house issue, it be ideal?

Cos with 2 full time pay, getting yr ideal house will be easier.

Cactus
Ops.. That's exactly how i feeling right now, "gave up $7k to $10k salaries to be stay at home moms. It's not so much that their hbs can provide for them, but the fact that they are willing to give up that salary and accept $ from their hbs who may earn less than them.... not easy."

Some more, hubby had always wanted to do his PhD and now i nt working!! So i kinda finding I doing nthg in contributing at present moment, except the only gd thing is we will be having a son. So tots of me to earn some income creeps in.

bizzsnow,

My office also typical chinese thinking.. flexi hours working so far workable for clerks but not my level too.

Another thing is, i ever saw part time legal consultant in another firm where i work attachment before, she suppose to work part time but she always ended up giving extra 1-2 hours to office so instead of 1pm she goes off at 3pm.. then rush to fetch her kids etc.. so rush. Part time is like no part time.

My current job has a fluctuating workload. During project launches and completion, and other peak periods I will be super busy.. need to work OT to complete job in time as they always have rushed deadlines. Other times will be easier can go off on time unless last min thing.

2 years ago, my this job was getting so stressed up that i wanted to quit, cos many projects peaks all crashed together, nearly drive me crazy. Sometimes i tink i cannot take the mental stress that this job bring me. Dunno how long i can dong the mental stress though.

cactus,

I tink so.. seems like market is slowing down. Some people feedback to me tat prices are not as good as previously. How much i dunno.
Try to get yr house before your no 2.. else will be chaotic of yr no 1 to adapt to new environment.

I wish i can work part time but not possible as i need my full time pay, cos i need to support my parents and brother living expenses, been paying off their bills and living expenses for them since i work.

feifei,
Ya, I bought the pigeon steriliser set lor. Then oso some toys and small, small items niah. Like wat you gers say, I dun think the prices are fantastically low lor. So my main aim was to get the steriliser set.

Cactus,
I think you are very brave to try for #2 after 3 months. I took 10 months to conceive this bb with medication. If I want a 2-year age gap, I think I need to try 4 months after delivery (10 mths trying + 10 mths preggy). The tot of it makes me feel faint. I cannot imagine gg thru' the process so quickly again. ;p

Re: Electrical Airpot
Somebody told me before that if hot water consumption not high, best not to buy electrical airpot cos the water will auto-boil below a certain temperature and it is not good. But I duno how true. Oso, should change the water and not top up for the same reason. We actually got an electrical airpot but eventually changed to those thermal flask cos hot water consumption very low (hb & I niah).

Ellysia, yes, definately. We're going to get a place before #2 is born. no way will we wait lah. cos we want my parents to look after #1 full time when I"m at work, and we think the best thing to do is to buy a bigger place, and give 1 room to my parents for them esp over the weekdays. Cos we're likely to move north (nearer to my ILs) and my parents live in the east mah. my parents won't sell their place though.. they just have a room at our home. my ILs will be busy at their own home cos my SIL is moving from north east to within walking distance from their place in the north too.

Re: pigeon steriliser warranty

Btw i found a extra warranty card in my Pigeon warmer so i used it for steriliser. But as the 14 days have lapse ored, so looks like my warranty card will reach Pigeon late. Hopefully pigeon will acknowledge it.

Carrefour finally reply my email and they apologize, say will send me a warranty card by post but to-date i haven't receive it.

Cactus
I will try for #2 as soon as my womb gets sufficient nutrients, so probably 2-3 mths later too. During the period, will pu for #2, else poor #2 wont have enuf nutrients when all taken by #1 already :p
Ya, I dun think its pride. I think its we are too independent n responsible person. I always have the thinking if sthg ard me happen, how wld i survive strongly still. Ha.. days ago, i've been considering whether to enquire abt teaching in Shichida, so lazy to start the enquiring :p The heart longs to move, the body so lazy. Cos I'm in training field and had always have interest in understanding psychology of human mind.
Actually, my aim is if i can own a condo and rent it out as my retirement income, then i can dun work in peace..haha.. hoping to aim into tat 1 day.

feifei,
i member ley so if i feeling well, i can go on 13 liao hehee
TF & mrswrx i might oso go ley; if confirm we can meet up!

cactus,
i got the mini electric. i feel no gd for me. ur hubby supportive of u getting a gd pump me so envy. last time i had to secretly buy the avent duo ley. for my case i only used for 2mths. now can reuse again heheee oso if u planning #2, dun get a stressful job. sometimes stressful job cause no bb one

ellysia,
when my hubby found out i bought the avent duo, he oso never scold me ley. i kept on telling him the pump is gd, can justify the cost haha nm wat u can oso use for #2 next time. i oso dec bb same as u ley i boxing day bb hahaa being sahm your hubby must be supportive of u lor, then you must not feel useless, bcos u stopped worked for bb ley very weida i think.

cactus,

Are u going to buy yr PIS pump for the Taka promotion? Cos it looks like this current promotional price is the best so far.

cactus,
If u want to buy PIS, I saw at AMK Hub @ Mums & Babes. 3rd floor I think, where Ichiban sushi is, they are selling PIS at 600+ also. exact price I cannot remember. but they bundle up with a few things. they throwing in quite a few goodies. I think u can call them and ask what exactly is the promo.... I think PIS got 2 bundles.

Ellysia, iamsnow,

I'm buying PIS during Isetan sale. It's a Taka's pricing - $679. Mums and Babes at $689 I think. Same as kiddy palace.

Luz
my contact 91082207, if u r there

Ellysia
Ya, if you belief in Silva or Quantum Touch Method in focus on your dream, 1 day will rch there. The problem abt human mind is we always let doubts sip into our mind, thus disturbing your dream energy. i remember myself at a period of time been visualizing where i am today (ie. SAHM going thru pregnancy) and now becomes truth. So dun underestimate the power of imagination if we have positive thots. So now I imagining my $1 mil, dun care how it come about. Just think if the end result..haha

Roxy
Ok, thks, i'm going Chinatown later, will see the Swanston px then. I guess we going to sterilize wif hot water so use any cleanser still ok. Maybe that's the logic.

ellysia,
avent duo very gd for me ley compared to mini electronic. hehee i bought it in jan 2007 at taka. the avent duo controlled price ley. everywhere got sale oso it doesn't come with discount. but i got some taka vouchers lah, so dun have to come out with full cash

cactus,
last time 6mths after my #1, i intend to get preggy. but bcos i stress at work, cannot make it. till i quit my job 1 mth later then i success lor. so for my case is really stress = no bb hehee. so if u wan #2 fast fast come, stay with ur current no stress job is better. $ let ur hubby earn more hahaa i very KS ley, now my #1 and #2 19 mths apart i worry #1 might not play with #2, i prefer age gap closer lor

TF, noted and OK! i sms u my number too liao oh u stay at duxton ah, no wonder can drop by chinatown me oso sahm at cantonment hehee very near ley

Cactus
Haha.. i only can hope my HDB 4 rm at Duxton is truly worth $1 mil..haha.. Seems same dreams, my hubby always mentioned that we will travel around during our retiring days. Tho we started even b4 pregnant. My dream is to have the time in my hand to walk closely wif my children and be like friends to them. They will b the one that educate me wat the trends that i am out of touch wif society. I hope to have open communication wif them wif nothing to hide.

Thanks for the tip, luz. I like #1 and #2 really close to easier to bring up. bring up like twins loh. at least, now have my parents' help...

Guess wat, every Monday afternoon at 2:30pm, i'll join my mum to my aunt's church (Fairfield Methodist) where they have senior citizen gathering. Smtx they ask me why I'm there, cos I'm the youngest!! So practically playing board games wif the senior citizen (age 55 to 90yrs). Some will have Line Dancing tho nw i can't dance. Tis hw bored my life can be..keke

cactus and iamsnow,

Yes mum and babes slightly expensive than taka promotion/isetan promotion by $10.

I dun have isetan card so i am considering if i want i have to buy at taka sales liao.. but i cannot use my robinsons vouchers to offset liao.

Cactus
Haha.. Really sama sama! Ya, my hubby dun like to discuss things wif his side, always more on my side. Then he will push be to handle the conversation wif his side. I always have to be the reporter to update his side. My Father-in-law will always prompt me if he wnt any update cos he knw his son will gv him short answer n not whole picture.

anyone used avent uno before? or heard of any reviews? I seldom see much comments on avent uno. I thinking of buying avent uno or amenda.....

luz,

Age gap 19 mths is ok lah.

Me and my bro age gap is 8 years, but i still play with him when he is young. Now still quite close.

TF and cactus,

Yup yup.. my MIL nag at my hb to exercise, then my hb answer blur blur.. she will look at me cos she knows i will answer truthfully.

Ellysia, I have a thinking on age gap - It is okay for any age gap if older sibling is a gal cos gals in general are more socialble and more nurturing but if older sibling is a boy, boy may reject the younger sister or brother cos boys like to be thought of as independent adults. They are less patient and don't nurture. they are less sociable individuals. cos my first is a boy, I'm a bit worried about this. my colleagues with older boy, younger gal (even a 2 year age gap) tell me that the older boy will exclude the mei mei from activities.. but the younger gal will cling on to the gor gor.. and in the end, there are problems with their relationship. I know someone whose older son tried to kill the younger sister...crying too loud and he didn't know how to stop the bb so put her into dustbin.