(2008/06) June 2008

me oso gaining about 2-3 kgs from pre-pregnancy weight @ my 24weeks.

But last weekend, i had eaten very sinful food, tats durian. Initially i just taken some only, but then my hubby and mil keep 'pyscho' me to eat more. They keep saying preggie lady cannot not eat if really feel like eating else when bb is born will drool a lot.

Luz,
ya lor, i start work at 8am but will reach office by 7am cos taking company tranposrt =D.

Isetan private sales starts on Thurs wor..but its only for members...

So sad it's Mon again.. so anyone got any good buys from Taka?

I bought 2 pigeon sterilisers.. one with extra bottles and food warmer at $149, the other one come as it is at $88.70. Also managed to buy a Britax Royale carseat.. super ugly blue colour but material looks extremely plush and comfortable.. I also want to sit on it :p Other than that... nothing much to buy I guess....

<font color="0077aa">morning ladies!!

hmmm i went to taka fair yesterday.. indeed nothing much leh.. quite disappointed.. </font>

morn ladies,
hb n i made as decision to buy a super exp vacuum cleaner over the weekend cos of it's features..super heartache now..but for the sake of baby.. better invest lah.. hehe..luckily went on installment plan..n the best part is not i pay..haha..

morning ladies!

cactus, your hubby allow u to buy PIS? so good... i told him abt PIS. he almost fell off his chair when i told him after promo is 600+. he say can buy 1 LCD tv!!!! haha.....

hey morraine,
is it normaly dat hor..aunty su nvr reply to sms 1 huh??cos she nvr get back to me n tell me she not free to do prenatal massage for me leh over the wkend..

i had a funny dream during wkend.. kekeke.. dreamt abt me expressing BM b4 i give birth.. and alot of milk wor.. den my frend ask me to keep it till bb born.. haha.. funny + stupid rite.. haha

<font color="0077aa">bizz*

no wor.. as from wat i noe.. she does reply wor.. unless maybe she not free or missed ur msg? u wanna try to call her again instead? </font>

massage lady:
I came across a lady mdm noor whom recommended in other thread.. i contacted her and booked her.. $50 for 2hrs.. cheap hor..

hey babycupid,
i also hv a stupid dream lor..i dreamt dat i dun hv BM to feed my baby leh..super sian..then also dreamt of a lot of food leh..wah biang.. i told my hb..he said my dreams not gd for bb leh..later he become very "tan chi".. haha..

btw, for those who want to get the pigeon bottle cleanser refill. I think taka is out of stocks already. I went NTUC at AMK Hub. they selling 2 pkts refill for $17.50. Pigeon breast pad (36+8pcs) for $8.

cactus,
it's always good to have a supportive hubby. for me, I dunno how long I will BF. thats y i also hesitant to spend so much on the pump....

Gd morning ladies
Felicia
Wow, real good buy for your Pigeon wipes!! I think i will stick to Pigeon cos afraid some other brand too wet n soapy or alcohol smell too strong.

Isetan Sale:
I'll be going on Thursday Member sale. I've got the Isetan card but dunno can admit how many non-member. Let me knw if any of u nd help on member's day discount. I shd be there by 12pm.

Medela
Tested the Medela cap wif the following n it fits:
1) NUK bottle and teats n it fits
2) Pigeon BM Storage bottle
3) Tollyjoy small milk bottle

mrn all mummies
last sat just went for mthly check up.This mth my weight gain 1kg only while they chk my blood and shown no high blood pressure.Everything going very smooth. Now no more mthly check up liao... gynae said will change to 2 weeks once check up. and next check up will need to pay deposit liao.. :p My baby Weight only 1.014kg at 29weeks(gynae said very healthy)

iamsnow.. those pigeon cleanser refill is selling $8.50 per refill pack and $9.90 per bottle at the Chinatown toiletries shop... few of the prices:
1) Pigeon cleanser for bottles - as above
2) Kodomo liquid detergent - $14.50
3) J&amp;J non rinse bb - $4.90 (Taka sale was selling $6.90, heng I never buy)
4) Pigeon wet wipes/tissue - $8.90 for 3 packs

Actually Mrs Wong was telling us no need to buy pigeon cleanser or baby cleanser.. mama lemon or normal ones can liao.. we bought liao then me and DH were going huh? And she strongly encourage us to only buy pumps after we deliver.. coz we duno which ones are suitable for us yet...

<font color="0077aa">hmmm how many of u the little ones already hit 1kg?

went for my check up last wed.. bb was 26 weeks and 1025 grams

morraine.. wow your mickey is pretty heavy
im only gg check up next Mon, cun wait..

Btw, Taka bb fair also carrying britax carseat... $329 for Britax Omega (very nice beige colour) and $372 for Britax Royale (ugly blue but super comfy) there's another model of Britax selling $199, very nice colour but quite troublesome when you want to convert from forward facing to toddler...Heard Britax carsets are reliable, 6 point harness and can be used from NB to 3.5 years old...Robinsons also selling same price, somemore got OCBC card member rebate.. i buy from Taka liao then I saw Robinsons and regret.. but buy above $500 got a free Little Tikes bicycle from Taka, my only consolation :p

Cactus
U going to cheong for #2 so far. Me too, as my age is catching up. The sad thing is #1 will be deprive fr having longing BF. Wld your part-time be on same job u nw doing or sthg else?

Roxy
Are you referring to the Swatson at Chinatown, 2nd floor above the food hawker?

Tf,
i'll aso be goin to isetan on thursday morning. shld be ther ard 10am. r u goin alone? me wil be alone, can meet up if u dun mind.

cactus,

Good for u, yr hb support yr decision to buy PIS.

I ask my hb and he feel a waste of money since i am not going to bf for v long.

Then he spent $900 at IT fair for palm phone, i ask him so wasteful, the $$ can be used to buy PIS liao. He say PIS used for 3mths only, whereas his palm phone can use v long.

Sigh since he no support $$, i dun tink i can buy PIS cos it be out of my own $$.

Mrswrx
Hi, I'll be there wif my mum, but ok to meet u up too cos enjoy knowing each of you by face. You taking morning half leave or u running across fr your office nearby?

Ellysia
Your hubby really cute. Let him knw, no price can pay for your intimate human milk.

morraine,

Yr bb is around same weight at my one.. mine is 940g in week 25. My gynae said it will be a slightly big bb, maybe near 3.4KG upon birth, if this trend continues.

This week i be going for my glucose test and shd be able to check my bb weight too, it will be week 29 for me.

TF,
U going to isetan sales?

Me can't take leave that day so most likely will ask my sis to help me buy the Tiger airpot there since there is a 20+10% discount..

All,
Anyone intends to get a electric airpot?

iamsnow,
so AMK hub NTUC also sells e cleaner at same price lor, no need to lug all e way frm taka ..keke

Roxy,
Mrs wong also told us that lor...but we already bot the cleanser so leave it lor =D..As for pump, she also ask us to buy after delivery..but dun tink hv e time to go out to buy after deliver liao...

feifei,
i've got an electric airpot..bought it dat time when i was shifting into my place..as for breast pump i think still hv time to buy lah after give birth..juz ask hb to go out n buy can liao lor..but must show him the correct model 1st lah..hehe..

TF,

I have got $100 Robinsons voucher, which i wanted to use to offset my purchase of pump.

So i am hoping that Robinsons got promo for Medela PIS then i use vouchers to offset, plus i try to coerce hb to support another $100, it will be close to the price of a Ameda pump

But then again, i feel wasted if i only use it for 3 mths, i scare i pressure myself to pump more just to feel moneyworth.

<font color="0077aa">ellysia*

so heavy meh.. i doubt mine will be ba coz my ger was not so heavy when delivered so i dun expect my boy to be opposite.. haha.. as long as healthy can liaoz!

feifei*

yesh must buy an electric airport! very useful!

morraine,

Anyway boy usually is heavier one. Pass 3KG is ok, wat i tink lah.

Yr built is around the same as mine mah.

How heavy is yr gal when born?

Ellysia
U really dun intend to pump in office n continue BF? No space in office to do so? If u really make up your mind doing it in 3 mths only, then wld the Mini Electric be sufficient than the Ameda too? Cos heard latching is better than pumping, n pump only if baby didnt sucker finish.

TF,

I mean i will only use the pump for 3 mths, bec 1st 3mths ML i will try to latch as much as possible.

So effectively the pump is only use for 3 mths.

Ellysia, I think Robinsons (w/o sale) was selling PIS at $754.Hopefully have sale so you can use the vouchers. alternatively, if you don't buy the pump from Robinsons, you can use the vouchers at John littles or Marks &amp; Spencers too.. Robsinson's vouchers are accepted at 3 places.

TF,
i no needa take leave. cos my work is flexible timing, can go anytime no problem.. kekeke. goin ther alone n choose mornin cos not as crowded.
mayb wil buy bedsheet if e price is right, tink limited sets, so needa go earlier to 'chop'. u can call me when u there, hp:9799 3367.

feifei,
i already got electric airpot liao. so i wil buy items like thermal flask/mug. i circle few items in e newsletter, but 4got wat liao. heehee.. onli remember to buy e thermal stuff. need store soup frm mum durin confinement n smaller flask for bb food in future.

Ellysia, I think it's better not to have a fixed idea when you will use the pump. I think somtimes, it is better for us (to build supply) to latch bb on and to express at the same time, even during 1st 3 months.

i have headache nw.. after my mil came telling me that if need her to do confinement.. i must move in to her plc for that month.. i am so reluctant to.. haiz..

cactus,

My hb dun control my $$ one.. i also dun control his. In fact, we dun check on each other expenses but we will update each other whenever we have a financial discussion.

My colleague also say i can use for no 2 but i scare by the time have no 2, the pump maybe spoil already, cos i dun plan to have no 2 immediate. But my colleague keep saying Medela PIS is better than Ameda so ask me to consider v carefully.

Yup i will also use the pump during 1st 3 mths concurrently with latching, but not exclusively, so i rather think tat the pump will be used for 3 mths only and not 6 mths.

Then there is this worry that scarry i have no milk supply or have problems with bm.. then how.

morraine, Ellysia,

on the topic of bb size, I believe the normal standard for a big baby is 3kg. But there is another definition for an extremely big baby - I forget what the weight is now.

These days, bbs tend to be bigger than 3kg if there is a familiy history of diabetes or if genetically parents are big in built. Most bbs of small to average sized parents who don't have diabetes are actually smaller than 3kg.My MIL has diabetes.. my SIL's son was 3.45kg. I used to think boys are bigger than gals but may not be true too. my colleagues daughter was 3.5kg at birth, son was 3.3kg. another factor of size at birth is how old the bb actually is - gestation age. bbs gain fat towards the end of the pregnancy. Bbs who stay inside till week 42 are bigger than bbs who come out at week 40. my friend's bb who came out at week 39 was only 2.8kg!

Cactus
Agree, have kids while young is gd. Like me knw, by time my kid is 20 years, I 55 years old loh. Also, if i can have #2 and at same time take care of #1, i hope to justify myself nt working still or consider to rejoin my property line wif more free time.

Hope you gals dun mind if i update your HP# too in the Member's Corner file in Yahoo Group as we go along. Any violent objection, let me knw.

cactus,

I dunno, i keep tinking that 3.5KG and above then is considered a big baby.

Maybe because i myself is ored 6 pounds (approx 3KG) upon birth and my younger brother is 9 (4.5KG)pounds upon birth. The nurse never say me is heavy but said my brother is big lor.

Then my hb is also a big bb when born, so i dun suppose our kids will be small size too. My MIL says nurse say my hb is a v big bb.

Btw, i can only try to hit no 2 before 35 years old liao, not possible to achieve before 30 cos just turn 30 last december. I was aiming to hit no 1 before age 30, so short of my goal a bit but not a lot.. not that bad.

i think bb size really depends on the parents built leh..my SIL is small size..but her hb is big lor..n their baby daugther is 4.03kg @ 38weeks ok..can u imagine?? now the baby only 3mths plus is oredi 7kg i think..wah lau..

cactus, mor, ellysia,
to me, i'm quite worry. my bb now already 29weeks but only 1.014kg nia~ somemore this mth i only gain 1 kg! i worry not enough weoght for my bb..

ellysia,
i am like u lor..hoping to hv 1st baby b4 30..but luckily i am an aug bb lah..so by the time i give birth still consider as 29..but i think if wanna hv #2 must either start trying @ the end of my ML or by dec cos i also dun 1 a tiger bb.. my hb hopes to hv 3 kids b4 we r 35 lor..which i think a bit difficult leh..haha..

My gynae told me and hb that she will expect our bb to hit beyond 3KG bec' we are both big size.

I am comfortable with 3KG to 3.5KG. In fact i tink if boy is below 3KG will be small for me and hb built.

<font color="0077aa">the cleanser u all talking abt is for the milk bottles one? if yesh den ok la.. my ger is turning 3 this yr and im still using it lor

bizzsnow,

I can understand, me is Dec born so even better, dun feel the age hee.

I customary before i hit age 28, though our ROM is 1.5 years before. We wanted to get married earlier but wasn't able to, as we need to save up enuff $$ for house, wedding and stuff. A few mths after my customary i hit age 29, so i know not so possible to achieve no1 before age 30, so we just let nature takes it own course. I am still glad preggy before age 30 at least, just tat give birth tat time will be age 30 ored.