(2008/06) June 2008

mrswrx,
thanks for the info. it was really useful.... means I cannot buy stroller there. coz i thinking of going for capella.....

do they have cot mattress?

muffin,
e other 1 is e more expensive @ $27+... some english brand, i bought tat but 4get e brand cos stil in my car, no strength to carry up. i bought it cos it can extend to hold more stuff and look steady than e safety 1st leh...
its near e cashier.

thanks girls, for the prompt responses.

iamsnow,
yes. ther are cot mattress, comforter, playpen, pillows for bb/mum... but din take note of e pillows cos i thot bb cant use pillow... but i bought 1 long 'bean' pillow (corn fillings) $14+ for bb to 'ya jing' during their sleep. my auntie made 1 bean pillow tat is so huge til i tink its twice e size of newborn bb.

then i cant buy cot mattress nw cos stil waitin for my colleague to pass me her cot (dunno e size yet).

if u wan capella, try john little... tink they stil hav sale for capella ther, saw last wk.

Cynthia, The bags I have are Avent bags. I have 1 box of dunno how many bags. Unopened. But no clips, Ikea sell those clips?

If use wire or rubber band, wun leak out meh? cos top part is very narrow rite?

Iamsnow, Isetan Parkway also carries Capella, and on Sat, its still on offer.

muffin,
i ll update u on e brand/price of dish rack i bought later in e nite when hb gets hme.. wil get him to be porter. heehee..
even paper light receipts i aso left it in e shoppin bags.

hi roxy,
the gynae educated me lar, so i jus come here to share share the info. glad to know tat u find it useful.
if u feel constant pain unlike the usual muscle cramps + now u LS, i would suggest u go by yur gynae for a vist or like cactus suggested, go GP. the thing is GP dun ve the bb fetal heart monitoring machine n if u unsure abt whether is cos u dun feel well or cos of bb, then better go gynae lar. yes, the cost will set u back by $150 but in my humble opinion, i would rather pay the $ and get a peace of mind. my incident set me back by close to $250 yd but to me it is $ well spend cos i feel more at ease tat bb is alrite.
do keep us updated on u n bb, okie. if reai cant reach yur gynae shd u reai wan to c him/her rather than GP, maybe can go to KK A&E? i understand they ve a basic machine there to check if bb is alrite or not.

roxy, crystal,
jus share my exp..
i had bad diarr when i was abt 18+wks. went GP on day 1 and day 3 mornin, then on day 3 evenin i had bad cramps n stomach pain til i shiver n havin cold sweats. i panicked, call my gynae n was told to go Mt A A&E to wait for him (clinic onli office hr) i reached ther abt 8pm n insisted to be seen by him instead of MO.
meanwhile i was given pain killer jap n rested in observation ward b4 he arrived. after checkin bb n my condition, i was told to be hospitalised for observation. e nite was rely bad for me, LS evry half hr til e nxt morning. i was given drip at 7am when gynae came to c me. in all, i stayed 4days 3nite b4 given e green light to discharge.
frm tis exp, i NEVER wana go GP liao.. cos GP dare not gif medication n do not hav our track record. its a nitemare... luckily bb is not affected by e incident. e nurses at Mt A was attentive n do checks on me every few hrs n report to gynae.

Sharon,

Isetan having baby fair on 13th Mar, for me, i'm more likely to go isetan first to get the bigger purchase so i can earn pts as i'm an isetan card holder. For taka baby fair, no further discount for card members. So u have to see for yourself, u can try compare everywhere if you're free, else, taka fair will be a one stop station where you can get everything u need for your baby

Feifei,
I am back in office, but gg to knock off soon. ;p

Ellysia,
Yup, I have amore membership. In fact, I fully paid for 1 year but havent start using yet. Hehe. I am quite glad that I bought that. I was hoping to try their beginner's yoga towards the end of my maternity leave cos that lesson always weird timing de. I think Yoga should be ok to start with bah.

Crystal,
Jia you, jia you..
There was a time that I couldnt feel my bb's movement for half a day too and I scare myself silly. My colleague experienced that once too cos she's very small size and her tummy no space for bb to move. Thus, I am grateful for my bb's every movement. I rather she kick and punch me and disturb me than not move.. Hehe. We are almost there..

Sharon, before u head for Taka fair, u may wanna go up to the 3rd floor to get the checklist, they'll have wat u need to get on the list, will help u to shop easier n not miss out anything oso.

sharon,
level 3 of taka, go to the bb section cashier counter. they hav a 'Maternity & Baby Check-List'. if u cant find, can ask the cashier. the checklist include wat to buy for bb clothes n accessories, bb nursing needs, bb bathin need/toiletries, bb beddin needs, bb sundries, maternity needs.

Tera
Well done!! You can become radio DJ like Florence Lian reporting. Thanks

These are prices that i come across on brands that i'm scotting:

From Taka:
Huggies NB (24pcs) - $8 (no Pampers, Mamy Popo there)
Combi Miracle Turn (smaller wheel) $498
Combi Lightest Weight (no Miracle Turn) $405
Ben Ben Baby Tub $15.90
Aprica 92790 / 92700 $599

From JL:
Capella S226, 5.5kg , $253.7
Capella S207, 5.2kg, $179
Capella S228, 6.3kg, $223.2 (fr Tangs px, cld nt see the JL px)

For Pigeon at Taka, the prices are already AFTER 20% discount, so not cheap

Robinson had 20% for most brands but another 15% only for these brands: Medela, NUK, Gerber, Safety 1st, Osh Gosh, Richi ... (which the 15% will end TODAY)

Hope those who wanted the PIS Advance got it cos real good deal. If you are thinking of getting any Medela parts like the tubes, they are nt sold in shopping mall. Only in retailers like Mum n Babes. Shopping mall only has the valve and membrane, breast pads, cups, bottles.

TF,
I should be saying thank you to u for checking out the prices for us!
It must have been a tiring day for u, do have a good rest tonite.

roxy,
hope your stomach is better now?

Tera
Still nt asleep? Ya, legs sore liao.

Veniz
Sorry did get to meet u cos i at Robinson when u arrive Taka. Hope u maximize your time till your hubby arrive.

TF,
Poor thing, give legs a massage b4 turning in. Yeah, still awake, cos got back from dinner not too long ago. Now just surfing web..
So u've managed to buy most of your stuff already?

HI all,

I am back from Robinsons and Taka.

I made a wasted trip to Robinsons hoping to get the Medela PIS. BUT the sales gal told me MEDELA PIS AND MEDELA SWING is NOT ENTITIED for the DISCOUNT. SO pls take note of this.

The medela PIS sold at taka cost $670+ after discount. Original price is $745.

In our opinion (me and hb), taka sale is not worth it. IN fact not many items have discount. In fact, there is a baby cot that we see in both taka sales and Robinsons. Robinsons one dun have discount but is yet cheaper than taka one. Thus dun be fool by the taka sales lor, do check out whether it is worth or not.

So upset, i have to walk to and fro so many trips tonight with high expectation on the pump, but in the end, i didn't get the pump.. sigh.

Looks like i have to go Kiddy palace to get the bb cot liao.. no good deals at recent sales.

In addiiton, the strollers at taka sales doesn't look tat nice and not many choices also..

luckily we ored get our capella stroller at JL sale.

Hi gals, I am back from my makan and shopping.

Bizznow, I used Medela mini single pump b4. You have to do own massages on breasts for milk let down, then use the pump for best effect. Very noisy, and slow. I read book(s) during my machine pumping.

muffin, the $27+ bottle disk rack mrswrx is the price lionheart one. i think from the tv, its place on 4th shelf or something, i had forgot, sorry.

I checked about medela, the medela swing is not as good as PIS advance coz its slower in sucking power. PIS advance is still the best as the lady mentioned. I saw Ameda brand there, but booth is rather small and I didn't check on it coz it was a teenager boy tending to the booth, dun think he will know how to answer my qs.

I bought 1pkt pigeon disposable breast pads (36+6pcs)@ $8.00, medela storage bottles (3 in a pack) and the valve+membrances to replace my old one. Also a couple of newborn clothes for my gal.

Tinyfeet, my hb did not come and meet me, I met my bro for dinner then we took train home. Its ok, coz I was late reaching there, took long waiting time for the express bus. As you said, not really worth it, walked a few rounds only bought a couple of stuff. I was very interest in 1 aprica stroller selling at $399 (black col one, serial no: 84190, for newborn to 3/4yrs old) and nania car seat (from 3mth on @ $179.00. No given serial no). If husband wants to get the car seat, may go down again before sale ends.

Your leg tired huh, better go rest. I had my rest while waiting for bro to come, so not too bad lar.

re: pumps
Last weekend, i happen to be at the first few Years at paragon. they sell PIS Advance at a discounted price too (about $600ish but lower than those in Sales now) so those who missed the sale today can consider dropping by there to take a look. First Few Years at KK also sells PIS cheap, no need go for sales.

Ameda pump ia also a good and cheaper alternative but if you r more willing to invest in a good pump to extend your "pumping career", thk PIS advance is a better choice.

re: milkbags and storage of EBM
hehe.. i am also 1 of the Aug06mums Cyn mentioned who use the Avent Liners. Avent no longer sell the liners but if you can catch hold of some (rom mums who have stopped bfg), they would be good for storing milk cos saves space and very neat. can get the clips from Ikea. Alternatively can get Playtex liners/Pigeon Liners which haf "ziplock" feature at the mouth.. more convenient.

But dun get too many boxes 1st cos we won't know if we haf so much milk to store to begin with. During my bfg period, I came to realise that getting Pigeon plastic bottles (looks like medela bottles that come with the pumps) store milk better in the fridge, esp if you dun intend to gif "fresh milk" and dun intend to freeze. Saves $$$ too, won't need to throw away milkbags after use and buy new ones.

re: bb mattress
I agree with Cyn and Felicia that best to invest in firm mattress, bolster, pillows etc. Babysafe is good! can get them cheap at those bb fairs (esp those motherhood fairs at Expo/Suntec)

Any of you who haf been to the fair saw baby monitors at a discount? Mine spoilt liao.. may need to get new one for 2nd one...

Many Thanks!

I bot pigeon milk storage bottles just now, it is so much cheaper than Avent ones. 3 bottles for $14.90. My colleague say it is better than avent bec' the bottles are bigger. Maybe u all want to consider that.

Piyo,

Baby monitor i saw avent one at Robinsons but dunno got discount or not.

Ellysia
Wow liao, so sorry. I ask 2 sale persons and confirm some more, and they say yes. This is very bad. Different people, different reply. And i tot u will have a gd bargain. Haiz
Yah, i agree, Taka nt tat fantastic. Some of prices can get just like normal days too.

Tera / Veniz
ya, park at Goodwood. So walk to Taka, JL, Robn, Metro Paragon, Taka, CK Tang n back to Goodwood, almost 8 hrs (as gd as working hours) :p

Didnt get much. Just the NUK pacifier fr Robinson since got 20% + 15%, 2 in a pack, sharing one wif Crystal cos nd to stand-by, yet hope nt to gv baby if possible.

Hello Mummies, last week down with stomach flu, yesterday night start with cough and sore throat. How to go shopping like that? Arghhhh ...

Read the posting that the Taka Baby Fair not really a good buy. Haiz, the long awaited sale so disappointing lei, I do hope to check it out on weekends when I'm better *finger crossed*

TinyFeet, I should have asked you to help me check out Nuk bottles and join you at Robinson to buy. I do not have membership and couldn't find Nuk at Taka. Anyway, maybe I shall go tangs to buy since I will have 6% rebate. You sure can walk so far leh, must be real tiring.

About pacifier, dun panic when baby cries and try not to give it to her/him. I never let my son suck, but then, he did his own sucking style (without the pacifier of coz) while he was asleep when younger. Its such a blessing that he never need it. I am not going to buy any to standby for my gal this time as well. Crossing fingers.

Mogudog, so poorthing. Do rest well as now weather really bad. If you can, try to go down take a look since you have been looking forward to it. Couple of things may be worth getting but its really up to individuals.

TF,

The sales person confirm to me that no discount for Medela PIS.. and i tot got good deal..haiz..
not yr fault lah, i know must be some mix up or someting.

Just tat i walk too much today.. v tired. I walk to Robinsons at Somerset at 6plus.. then realise no sale for PIS, then i walk to Somerset take MRT to orchard to meet my hb, then dinner, then we walk to Taka only to realise the sale is not good, then we walk to Centrepoint Robinsons to buy some other stuff.

If i know no good deals for PIS, maybe i won't piang down to Robinsons.

Mogudog, Take care leh. Don't play ard with stomach flu. Last time I had stomach flu, one nite LS for 16 times until my legs so weak and I sat inside the toilet. You can take Yakult, that time my ex colleague see me LS for many days, even medication neber work. She ask me to take Yakult. After 2 bottles, no more LS...

Ellysia, 13th Mar got Isetan baby fair, you may wanna check them out?

Do we have to get bb monitor? What's the purpose for a monitor? Paiseh, me blur blur mummy...

Hi.

I'm from Jan MTB 2008 thread. Sorry to interupt but I have a pack of brand new Drypers XL 40 for sale. I wanted to sell as my mum bought the wrong size for my nephew. It is brand new & not opened before. Willing to sell at $10. Meet up to collect at Eunos MRT. Interested party pls PM me.

Hi Mummies...

Sorry to intrude...i'm from the sept thread...

I have a brand new graco baby car seat for sale for $240.. Suitable for new born to 4yrs old...the colour is beige/brown...

If interested, contact me at 98774205..
Thanks!!!

Finished reading thru all mummies's reporting. hehe.....
I'm on leave today and wanna go to malacca. Must leave early as afraid jam, else i'll still in my sweet dream now.

Seems like nothing much leh. But still will go to Taka to looksie for the Avent promo.
Ok, logging off.

Morning ladies...

TF,
Nice meeting you yest..hehe..My legs also bery sore after lots of walking lor...somemore hv to attend anental class til almost 9+pm, so tired today...

We also walk from Taka to JL to Robinson, things in taka are not VERY cheap lor, only those items which comes in a pkg are cheap...thats my research on the pumps lor...

Taka:
Avent's products were already on 20% discount on their tags, no further discount with taka card..

Piegon:-
Has a promotion on sterliser and bottles, dun take note cos will be using avent.

Here are my buys:-
1) Taka : Medala Mini Electric Pump package $189.50. (Pump itself is $193.50, cooler bag is $100+)
(Comes with the complete cooler bag set which includees 1 big and 1 small bag, 4 storage bottles, 1 cooling element and a nipple cream)

2)Pigeon Cleanser at $17.50 for 2 refill packs
( Taka is cheaper than in Robinsons tough Robinson has 20% for Pigeon)

3)Cotton Balls (Anuku Brand) 3 for $5

4)Draining rack frm Muckcin Brand(duno how to spell) at $11.12
(same price as in JL after discount)

5)3 packs of Kotex maternity pads $1.40 each(belt type)

6) J & J Top to toe shower foam $6.90 each
(Robinson selling $7.50)

Went to Robinsons, bot the following:-
1) Cushion for BF
UP : $89.50
(JL selling same price but with 20% discount,
Taka selling same price but NO discount,
Robinsons same price but with 20% + 15%)

2) Pigeon tongs at $6 before 20% discount.

Went JL, Bot 8 packs of the Carlson wipes at $6 each before 20% discount...

Spent abt $400 of cash and vouchers yest...Gosh!...Told bb that daddy and mummy so xinku walk here n there to compare prices just for u...hee

ellysia,

I rush down Robinsons also, quite disappointed that PIS no 20% + 15%....

so end up buying the Medela Mini Electric Plus, happy that I still got $100 off =)

oh ya, received brochure from OG. Next week got sale!!!

Pigeon steriliser with wet wipes and 2 300ml wide neck bottles - only $97....

got some strollers on sale too.

Roxy,
I also bot 2 packs of swaddles towel, 2 packs of the small towels at $3.80 and 1 towel frm Mrs Wong yest...

Ellyisa,
Had a great tiem at the class yest cos learnt abt the BF, how to sterlise bottles,benefits of BF etc...=)..

So in e end, u bot anything?

Crystal,
Hows ur tummy now?

Kelcqi,
How much discount is the bb fair at Isetan? only 1 day sales for members?

Hi gers,
Good morning.. back at work. I am so glad that it is Friday, even though I have to be back tomolo. Haiz..

TF,
You good leh. Can still shop for 8 hrs. I think I would start yearning for home after 2 hrs. That's why intending to drag hb down. Hehe.

Re: Taka fair
Aiyoh, really sound like a disappointment from the ways that you gers reported. I tot can at least get the pigeon steriliser, then saw TF's comment that it is not that cheap. Haiz.. To think that we waited so long for it. I think I will still go down and take a look but wun but much. Haiz..

Felicia,
Enjoy your trip.
I supposed you are gg malacca by car/ bus.. You wun get motion sickness? How good. I feel that pregancy has made me weak..

Piyoz,
hihi...u went to buy e Pump at Robinsons? I bot mine at Taka...Was tinking hard whether do I need e cooler bag cos taka is selling in a package and its so much cheaper...In e end, hb and I decided to buy frm taka cos more worth it and we are using some taka vouchers...hee =D...

U bot other things there?

THere are alot of strollers hor? all so sweet and nice leh...see liao also wan to buy =D..

Oh yes, saw alot of mummies buying Cartons of Huggies diapers, din take note much..seems like its a gd offer there...

Can check with experienced mummies how you store EBM?

After expressing in office, keep the EBM in fridge section or straight away freeze in freezer section? The pump after one use must sterilise? I was thinking of pumping twice during office hours.

Any experienced mummies can share? My #1 I was working part-time, so no such issues. Now working full-time...... so much consider all these.

Hi feifei,
Wah, looks like you have a good catch yday.

I tot you handle all those walking and shopping with you and I was so amazed, then saw you mentioned your hb. ;p So you decided on medala huh. I am still banging on ameda pump. I dun think there is much discount on ameda, likely to get from mumsfairy.

morning feifei....

Ya, I bought at Robinsons. But the mini electric dual pump. UP $305. After sale, $207. I very happy. I didn't buy the cooler bag, cos already bought the pigeon fridge-to-go earlier.

didn't buy anything else. was very focused yesterday. Just went and buy pump, then go home!!!

I use Huggies too. But I buy from this medical shop near my house. Very cheap all the time. $14.90 for huggies comfort. NTUC selling $18.70

ZuEn,
Hehe..but bery tired lor...i went with my hb lor...in e end bot 4 big bags of things lor...

Piyoz,
hehe...i see, so u bot e duo pump =D..heehee..Warranty 1yr hor? my pump onli 1yr on motor..

Tink medical Hall much cheaper de...

carol,
the OG pigeon steriliser doesn't come with the newborn starter kit. Only comes with 2 bottles.
Think open to pulic also. Let me go back and see whether any small print attached or not...

feifei,
ya lor, mine warranty also only 1 year. But got one colleague use it for her 4 children.... 10 years already, still working fine.