(2008/06) June 2008

iamsnow,
Robinsons got sale only today? In fact yesterday when i'm at Northpoint JL, i can see the sale products mainly is on lingeries.

Baby product not much and even Avent not discount.
Only diaper got 15% disc. So i think i better wait for Taka or BB fair since i'll be goin to both fair. hehe...

Felicia,
I've just checked the papers. The robinsons sales is 5th & 6th for members. It's their 150th anniversary celebration. I guess after the member sales, it will be storewide sales. Probably will start this Fri coz the storewide sales usually start after the members sales. Since u also going to taka fair, can pop by Robinsons to see see look look....

HI all,

Yesterday i went to JL sale at Somerset outlet.

The diapers are not a good bargain as it is only drypers and petpet and fitti brand.

However the rest of the items are on 20% discount, except Toys, Pigeon brand, Avent brand.

The strollers are also on 20% discount. We bought a Capella stroller original cost $348, after discount $279. It is a bit big (10KG) but hb prefer big stroller cos he feel it is more comfortable. It got reversible handle and can adjust to reclinable position or upright position. We did saw the same model which cactus bought selling at JL.

Then i also bought the following items:-

1) Breastfeeding pillow - original $89
2) Safety first bathtub set
3) Johnsons top to toe
4) 2 bb Pants - each $6.90
5) Nipple cream
6) NUK milk bottles x 3
7) Dish rack - original $8.90

In addition, the Medela pump is also entitled for 20% but they are not selling the PIS model.

Avent brands - only certain items are on sale (not 20% but a discounted price) and they are displayed in basket.

Got Tollyjoy wipes on discount but same price as the Carefour bb sale. Other wipes are on 20% discount.

Overall, the bb section is quite small but there are several items worth to buy. Can still pop by.
They got free delivery for purchase above $150.

I am not sure if my Robinsons card can give me additional 10% rebate but 20% discount is quite good to us ored.

HI hi

I went for my checkup last fri. The gynae took my blood pressure and it is at 130. I gasped! But the gynae told me not to worry and he can even show me those with 150. *pengz*

Anyway, does anyone know what is the 'normal' pressure range we should have now that we are pregnant?

anyone has any idea if robinsons will have capella strollers also? think i weekday cannot go to town. must weekend go....

iamsnow,

Robinsons dun have many Capella strollers. At least i went to both branches i dun see much. In fact i tink majority is Maclaren at Robinsons. JL at Somerset has more Capella strollers, at least i saw 4-5 Capella strollers there.

iamsnow,
Tks for the infor..Yipppeeee...Tmr will be on half day so can go shopping liao =D...50% on regular items is alot leh...so 5th n 6th is for members? additinal 20%? duno if it applies for bb items lor..

Ellyisa,
Wow, good buy hor...I also tinking of getting e pillow leh..U din buy any wet wipes?

ellysia,

From my view, if you brought a 10KG stroller, you might ended up buying another light weight stroller in future unless you drive all the times.

Coz during my #1 girl, we oso buy a 8-9kg stroller and ended up we feel so tired whenever we go outside especially when taking MRT and buses. You need to consider in the weight of milk powder, diapers, wipes and etc.
In the end we brought another light weight stroller which is about 3-4kgs.

But nvr mind, since ur hubby likes it, leave the job of carry strolley to him.

cant remember whom is asking about bottles drainer. Yesterday i saw in kiddy palace. Munchkin brand (the pic i post in past post)is sold at $13.90.
Then got normal type is about $8-9.

Felicia,

Ya i told hb that 10KG stroller is so heavy and we will have problem carrying it down steps etc etc. Hb ask me to try carrying Stroller of 5KG, 8KG and 10KG, but i need both hands to carry and ored having difficulty. So his conclusion is no matter how light the stroller is, i will have difficulty carrying. So that means stroller can only be used when 2 of us are going out together with bb, then he will handle the stroller.

Since he made the decision then he will carry the stroller lor.. heee.

Oh ya i also bot the dish drainer - safety first brand. around $8.90 normal price, then got 20% discount.

ellysia,
aiyo, means I have to wait for JL sales over weekends then can buy stroller already. Hope can get everything by mar. Now energy level dropping drastically liao.... dun think can do any shopping.....

Morning ladies!!

Cactus, congrats on your placenta. Happy for you that it went up
And Ellysia, dun worry about your placenta, everything will be fine de...

Felicia, your friend must be very sad.. i told my DH about it and he was so sad too. And he got v worried and started praying more conscientiously for our baby. I was already not allowed to take half boiled eggs, now 100% stamp, chop and guarantee cannot take... Yes, I tink alot of mummies are silent readers here.. then all panicking too and calling massage ladies too, like us :p

iamsnow, the JL branch at Somerset carries mainly Lucky Baby(sister branch) of Capella... the branch at Marina Square is the best.. biggest and I saw the most selection of Capella strollers there.. about 10 designs to choose from I think, eg the stroller that I bought with swivelling wheels wasnt available at Somerset, but it's available at Marina Sq, so you might want to consider going there... Robinsons is mainly Mclaren

star, dun worry.. if BP is high, im sure gynae will inform us.. mine was 110 at the last reading, i tink it's considered slightly low

feifei.. will be mailing you the receipt today.. sorry took so long and its a bit kiam chai liao...no need to trf me the postage

roxy,
Marina square got JL? aiyo... really mountain tortise... haha....

ellysia,
ya loh, I know JL sales end today. but weekday a bit hard for my hubby. he knock off late. plus we no car.... difficult to buy leh.... hopefully they will have another storewide sales in mar... else I really jia lat liao....

Robinsons having so good sales?

I am member cos i got robinsons platinum card..
but very tired to pia today bec' yest just go JL to pia. Then tmr got to pia Taka sales le.

Any mummies going to Robinsons today pls update us so i can decide whether to go tomorrow or not.

roxy,

my friend was quite sad initially and in fact we dont talk about it even we meet. When i called her , thinking to console her, ended up we talk oth things as i felt she reluctant to bring it up.

Luckily, she was those happy go lucky type of ppl and she and her hubby decide to had another bb 6 mths later.
And voila, they got it! She'll due in July this year.

ellysia,
how come u got the plat card? plat card 10% rebate is it? mine normal card, only 5%.

u tom going taka sales? can help to update us on fri?? hee hee, then I can agar agar know what to aim when i go down....

iamsnow

Marina square got JL... very big one somemore. They occupy the space Giant used to be.

btw, can find Capella strollers at OG too. I bought mine at OG Orchard when they were having 20% discount.

OG and JL offers free delivery above $150. So no car also no need to worry.

ellysia,
free delivery if exceed $150? hm.... let me check with my hubby if he want to go tonite. but guarantee plus chop, he sure dun want.... *sad*

roxy,

Ah ya i didn't know marina sq got more capella strollers... too bad didn't go there.

Somerset got 4-5 Capella strollers. 4 lucky baby strollers. 2-3 Maclaren strollers.

ellysia,

the robinsons platinum card good? Saw a lot of adver in the papers this week. I also have the normal one.... only 5%

Morning girls!

Ellysia and Felicia,
Thanks for the update on JL sale, hee.

Ellysia,
Since you already bought quite a bit of stuff, u still going taka fair? I think u mentioned tomr is your check-up right? If you going, let us know how is it can? Thanks!

Jesslyn,
Noted, will update your details.

iamsnow,

Yes platinum card 10% rebate.

I dunno i got the normal robinsons card all along. Then one day OCBC just send me platinum card and ask me if want, can activate. So i activate lor.

Tera,

Nope my checkup is next week. Impt checkup must fast cos i need to do sugar test. stress le. But i prepared for the worst la.

Ya still going Taka sales. Need to get other big ticket items such as baby warmer, breast pump.

ellysia,

the platinum card got 10% rebate? Hmmm, then must go apply already. Now only holding on to the normal one.

Don't worry about the sugar test..... will be fine.

phua,

Platinum card not much difference except more rebate and points can get more. But annual fee is also higher, however can be waived if spend enuff per year.

ellysia,

You reminded me that i got rec' the letter from OCBC on the platinum card before but i just throw away, coz nvr realised can had 10% rebate, somemore i was afraid of the annual fee as normally the platinum is very ex.
Any idea whats the annual fee for OCBC- Robinsons platinum card?

according to my weighing machine, I tink i should have gain 1KG since my last checkup 2 weeks ago. 1KG gain in 2 weeks is no joke lor.

An estimation of my total weight gain since pregnancy will be around 7KG or 8KG liao.

Felicia,

I no check on annual fee but i know is higher. Anyway i dun intend to pay annual fee lah, i always write in or call for waiver. So far OCBC always auto waive for me cos i got spend enuff.

My main card purchases are usu on OCBC Robinsons card cos i go Robinsons for big ticket items, and UOB lady card bec UOB got more discount. Citibank Tangs card i only use during tangs private members sale.

ellysia.. i didnt know ocbc got a plat robinsons card with 10% rebate.. lagi better! Maybe shall call them and ask to convert, but by then too late.. sales over liao :p Perhaps when you are free, can pop down to Marina Square JL and take a look, if you change your mind, can still refund the stroller you bought originally within 90 days
Let us know wat good bargains there are at Taka tmr...

felicia.. dat's good news! They are really very brave to try again and Im so glad for them they have another baby...im sure this time round she will be avoiding half boiled eggs..

iamsnow... yes the JL at Marina square is the biggest i tink.. can go take a look ...

Ellysia,
Oh oh, yes I rem now, it's 12th Mar.
Can understand the stress, I normal check-up already quite gan-chiong so with tests, even more. Well, just stay mentally prepared, but we won't really know till the results are out and your sugar level may just be fine. Keep us updated ya?

hey ellysia,
the diabetes test is nothing 1 lah..dun worry..but must go hungry lor..which i cant really stand the last time round..super hungry.. n 1kg since 2 weeks ago consider little liao lor..i shot up to 1.7kg in 2 weeks ok..even though my test ok..but doc still warn me to control.. n ur total weight gain so little leh..mine 12kg liao hor..n i am only in 24weeks leh..

phua,
OG also got capella strollers? but OG no rebate leh. at least robinson can get extra 5% rebate.... haha....

so the JL must be at level 1 right? I didnt know Gaint no longer there.... really mountain tortise...

felicia,
come to think of that, I also received the upgrade letter. but it threw away coz i think the letter state must spend dunno how much then they waive annual fee. mine currently no need to pay annual fee. thats y i never upgrade.....

ellysia,
e last time i went JL ms, their strollers on display not alot leh... abt 10-12 and variety of brands, incl capella, maclaren and 2 other small brands. 1 or 2 car seats, abt 2-3 cots, the rest sell bb accessories liao.

anyone know where to see twin strollers? So far, only saw maclaren twin strollers on display at dept stores. Anyone know where we can see other brands?

iamsnow,

Last 2 years i bot a Simmons Mattress at Robinsons cost $3K, i buy over zero interest instalment. So accumulate a lot of purchases.

$5K within qualifying period (half a year) is a bit hard.. unless i bulk majority of big items from Robinsons.

iamsnow/ ellysia,

I'm so 'scared' of credit card nowadays. Too many and i lost tracks on payment and annual fee schedule. Once, i got shocked when UOB request me to pay annual fee for my UOB platinum card. Thats why nowadays when rec' upgrade to platinum i'll ignore.
Anyhow, i dont think i able to spend >5k at robinson alone.

piyoz,
i tink u can try bb hypermkt or bb kingdom, mothercare, 1st few yrs (paragon)... saw twin strollers, not maclaren, other brands which i din take note.

Felicia,

Ya i am also scared, sometimes i blur blur pay the bill then realise annual fee is charged and i ored paid it!..

American express just charge me annual fee few mths ago, i refuse to pay. Then they send me letter on cancellation of card, i dun even bother. After tat they still send me letter to pay annual fee, i call and told them card ored cancel and i dun want to pay. In the end they push the card back to me.

In actual fact, got abt 3 banks cards i seldom use at all. some i even keep at home.

ellysia,
dun worry lah..juz watch ur diet lor..make sure u drink lots of water n hor..dun eat stuffs that are too sweet n high in carbo i think can liao..i was actually diagnose with low insulin level when i was younger u noe..so tendency of hving diabetes is higher..but now still ok..it's a blessing lah..so dun worry so much..