(2008/06) June 2008

crystal,
dun worry. maybe your feels extra sleepy today. just wait for your gynae to call u. in the meantime, relax a bit. dun be too tensesd.

Star,

I brought that pillow at Mums & Babes. I'm having the same problem as you when sleep, tats why i brought tat pillow. I think the wave was because bb is trying to move away when we squeze on them.

Since this mrn till now.. my BB keep kicking and getting hard and hard... i'm so pain and shock sudden..now, i'm not even feel he kicking but turn over also .. scary moment..

Crystal, go to bed n lie on your left, then put your palm on your tummy to see if u can feel the beat (shd be the baby heartbeat) or smtx small movt.

Let me add on to TF's post - If you feel a heartbeat, check to make sure it's not your own pulsation. Bb's heartrate is between 100 to 160. should be about 130 to 150 for us now. ours is much slower. sometimes, a pulsation that we feel on our tummy is our own beat - placenta bringing blood to bb.

Crystal,
Has your gynae called u back? Don't worry too much, maybe can try TF and Cactus suggestion first?
Also, I have a fren who did not detect bb movements for 1 day during her third trim and then went to hosp to check but turned out bb was fine. So I believe ur bb is fine too.

It's raining v heavily at my workplace here now. Made the fatal mistake of going downstairs to buy food (cos will be stuck in long meeting later). The rain and wind was so strong, i am quite drenched now despite using the covered walkways.

crystal,

On certain days, my bb also dun move as much as other days. But as long as yr bb moves, i tink shd be fine.

Tera,

U better go dry yourself in toilet! wait catch a cold

Kelcqi,

I understand from TMC pre-natal class that they usually have a "milk powder of the month" thing, so each month is different brand. If we do not request for any specific brand, then it will be milk of the month.

finally.....just finished my report. But got another one. Feel tired to continue. Goin to take a break 1st, feel backache, maybe sit for too long.

Ellysia,
Thanks girl.
Yah, I use tissue paper to dry my arms and legs, then tried to use the dryer in the toilet to dry my dress but gave up after a while cos position v awkward. Same as u, my mgr also gave me more things to do now. Today he on mc, so can relax a bit. :p

Crystal, another way is to make sure you empty your bladder properly and frequently enough. sometimes, a full bladder may reduce our senstation of bb moving. bb may also not move so much cos not much space due to full bladder. During my NT scan, the sonographer told me to please empty my bladder (!!!) cos bb was stuck at an angle and she couldn't measure the NT thickness!

iamsnow, I'm getting cloth nappies first for day time use, then nighttime, will have bb try pampers premium. I don't think drypers is good leh.. I heard mommy poko and pampers premium are the best. Eventually, I will let bb try the less expensive ones, to see if his skin can tolerate it or not.

Can eat yoghurt right, the bacteria is good bacteria and will nt harm the baby right?
Talking abt bacteria, I had half boil eggs at very initial of my pregnancy and also once step on cat's faeces and have to wash (horrible smell). When i knew my baby heart problem, I was also wondering then if related to the eggs, faeces, etc.

iamsnow
I go wif wat cactus mentioned too. I tink i will skip Nepia (spelling?) cos just read in other sites, it leaks. The other i wld try is Huggie. So shd b mainly these 3, n choose the cheapest. Also, i will use nappies most of day, only diapers in nite.

i not sure if I want to use cloth nappies leh. initially I was quite determined to use cloth nappy for the day. but my friend tell me pee one time change one time, really change like siao.....

TF and Cactus,
I am also intending to do the same - cloth nappies during day and diapers during night.
Hmm, pampers premium is good? Ok, will keep that in mind.

TF,
Don't dwell on what's happened (i know it's easy for me to say) but it's just that life's full of what-ifs and they are also qns we cannot answer. Things could purely be coincidental so pls dun beat urself over something you cannot be 100% sure of.

will use cloth for day and mamy poko for night use. Actually oledi brought one pack of NB size of mamy poko to keep.

ladies, i feel so bad in causing the mummies here to be tense up after my post on my friend's case and the half boiled eggs issue. Anyhow, it is only my friend's guess it might due to half boiled eggs.
So, pls, pls be relax and dont worry so much okie?

TF, can take youghurt. it's very very safe. don't think too much about the heart problem. Now, just have to rest well and take good care of bb inside you. My doctor told me once we cross 500gm mark, bb has good chance of surviving outside us. but of course, the longer the better. after 28 weeks, even better chance of surviving.. think it's 85% survivial chance. I did stupid things during intial stages of pregnancy.. eat raw food, unpasterzied cheeses... I know how you feel. but importantly is to get on with the pregnancy and try to relax. the heart issue is unlikely your fault.

iamsnow, if you have a maid and a ful time caregiver like mom/MIL, it may be good to use cloth nappies. I heard cloth nappies are more breathable, less rash (if changed often enough) and cheaper in the long run. also, it's easier to toilet train bbs/toddlers if they are used to nappies.

Tera- my colleauge said her daughter's gold butt can only use pampers premium... haha! Her son not that picky!

Tera,

Maybe boss tot of the ML we are going to take so give us more work now.

TF,

Youghurt is recommended for pregnant women.

I dun tink the heart problem has anything to do with u.

I think I better get the wedge pillow from Mum and Babes. Cos now my tummy is more slanted to the right side. Dunno is it becos baby keep "shifting" to the right cos I kept leaning on the left.

After my pregnancy, I am going to eat raw oysters, salmon and half boiled egg! My Baileys Caramel is still waiting for me in the fridge..

How I crave for Instant noodle now.

Tera n Cactus
Ya, u r right. Just smtx the mind just keep trying to detect the cause to justify
Actually nowadays, i smtx forget abt the baby problem also.

oh ya, ladies pls remember to eat yr fish oil or fish diligently every day cos now bb brain devt is v impt during this stage, according to what i read.

In addition, i understand from my clinic that our daily fish oil tablet intake is not enuff (tink need 200mg additional or someting like that), so i guess we probably still need to eat more fish in addition to tablets.

star,

Mine will shift left then sometimes more to right.

Buy the pillow, it cost around $20+. I buy from AMK hub.

After my pregnancy, i am going to eat chilli crab, Laksa, Indian food, curry!! Hee

ellysia,

chilli crab, laksa, indian food, curry?? Are u sure? Dont need to slim down liao? Or you r those under weight mummy, then is ok lah.
For me, sure after pregnancy must really control diet.

Ellysia,

Thanks. So TMC carries different milk every mth ah?

But if I only intend to start BF when I reach home, will we know what formula milk they be giving to baby?

felicia,
i already ate 3 times crab and at least 10 times laksa during my pregnancy !! haha... cannot stand the craving.... already sashimi and oysters cannot eat, dun want to deprive myself further.... so i restrict, eat only cooked food....

Kelcqi, most hospitals use whatever milk is sponsored by the companies... so we don't know what formula they will be giving. depends on what they have at that time. if you are particular on milk, you can try to breast feed after delivery at the hospital. at least, give the bb some colostrum. If you are particular on formula milk, maybe you can buy your own an dbring down for your bb if you don't plan to breast feed at hospital?

ellysia,
i only craving for chilli crab..the rest i hv been taking lor during the pregnancy..hehe..cant resist the temptation...haha..n instant noodles also..but not very often lah..

TF, I think you've been an amazingly brave mommy so far! Don't think too much about the heart issue. Most important is the spirit. There are some kids out there.. very healthy, very privileged (parents/family background) but they are really spoilt rotten, get into trouble with the law, etc. I'd be disgraced if my child was like that. there are also young kids with chronic illnesses.. and they are amazingly resiliant and mature for their age. we all want the best for our children, and I"m still praying that your bb will be fine after birth after the treatment. I'm sure that survivor spirit in you will rub off your bb.

iamsnow,
Ya, me oso cannot stand the craving. I had been craving for fast food, especially KFC.

But no matter wat, must really ctrl aft giving birth as i started with over weight.

Ellysia,
Now i still eat curry leh...but not all e time lor..hehe...crab is so far i ate once only =D..

Crystal,
DUn scare urself ya...sometimes my bb also won't move for 1 day de...mayb could be sleeping inside..

iamsnow,
me intend to use Pampers NB initially and then sub either Nepia or Mamy Poko S size, still deciding =D...

Felicia,
i also lor, after confinement will hv to exercise liao..also wan to go do rebounding etc..make myself meimei again cos now really feel so inferior lor...

Catcus, We can buy our own formula and request to be given to baby at hospital? Sorry leh, me very mountain turtle, dunno how hospital operates.

Felicia, I also crave alot of fast food. My hubby say baby eating junk inside me.

Cactus
Life comes and goes. Just live to fullest and best. Maybe I feel I got a very loving hubby, he always say he long to grow old wif me, even if we dun have kids. In fact, in today's Mind and Body newspaper, there's a story of even bigger heart mother who risk her Breast cancer life to deliver her son throughout the pregnancy. The article was fr Dr. Peter Chew, whom he met this lady diagnose wif Breast cancer n they wnt her to terminate her baby so she can go for operation. She choose to keep the baby and risk her life. The baby was safely delivered and soon she had to go for her operation to remove her growing tumour. But she died shortly after cos too late. Tat's really touching.

cactus,
my hubby ordered a plate of sashimi and eat everything in front of me!!! so sad rite.... i told myself, after giving birth, I'm going to feast on all my fav foods.... haha.... then the BM will have all sorts of funny flavours....

felicia,
u crave for kfc? at least can eat kfc, can satisfy craving... but dun eat too much hor....

feifei,
i also going to buy pampers NB. I wonder how much diapers should we buy.... hm... can't trust hubby to do all these things. have to buy enough during confinement. after confinement then go out to replenish....

Felicia,

After i lose weight to my pre-pregnancy weight lor. I am the kind who eat and eat but won't get fat so fast, cos metabolism rate higher so burn energy fast.

feifei,

I cannot eat curry now cos of the yellow powder they put.

bizzsnow,

U eat instant noodles!! Very unhealthy!

Me dare not eat instant noodles liao since some years ago, due to some experience.

Got 1 time i am v busy at work, i dun have time to eat proper lunch so i always eat instant noodles. Then after a period of time, i noticed my hair turn white faster.

So i recommend dun eat instant noodles, no matter preggy or not.

iamsnow,
but hubby had warned me not to eat so much KFC. He said bb eating too much bad food because of me. I always argue with him tat is baby want to eat KFC not me. hahaha.....

dont buy so many NB diaper. Just one pack will do. You wont know how big is ur bb and will your bb outgrown too fast.

Kelcqi,

If u intend to breastfeed, do breastfeed in hospital bec' u need to learn the correct latch on techniques. Dun ask for milk formula unless u really have difficulty latch on or u decided not to breastfeed at all.

Instructor told us different mth is different brand lah. But maybe they may repeat the brand lor.

ellysia,
so good? eat and eat but won't put on weight??!! how i wish I'm like u..... I eat a little extra only and all my fats will appear.... my metabolism rate ultra low. even normally, I also eat very little one.

iamsnow,

I also eaten laksa several times but have to stop now due to sugar control diet. so i am craving for it hee.

cactus,

I dont think hospital will allow us to bring own milk powder. Coz as far as i know, the milk they provide to our baby is in liquid form, so if you request them to prepare milk powder for ur baby, i think the nurse will find it to be troublesome. But no harm checking.

kelcqi,
its okie lor, we all learn here =D..

iamsnow,
hehe..i sometimes also crave for kfc, mac nuggets, Long John..hehe...TInk NB dun buy too much cos scare bb cannot wear...TMC will be giving watever left over lor, so i guess I will standby 2 packs of NB diapers, and 1 pack of S size Mamy Poko 1st...if NB really not enough, then ask hb to go buy using e packaging. I am sure he won't buy wrongly de lor...

Cos if stock up too much NB size, bb outgrown fast leh...