(2008/06) June 2008

hi gers,
thanks for all yur advice n help offered. i will check up n the cost of additional hospital stay n discuss wif hb. on the confinement food issue, i will have hb reach a confirmation wif his mum. worst scenario, i will cater for confinement food last min from caterer lor.

TF,
yup, i agree wif u. rite from beginning hb n mine intention was oreadi to hire CL n cater for confinement food but MIL keep disallowing us to do so. she wants to do confinment for us but at her own terms which are not even partially acceptable cos unreasonable. then now she wants to do selective confinement, ie: do partial cooking, etc. i once told her tat it is ok she dun do anything for us, u know wat she told me? "u despise me of being incapable, is it?" so politely n respectfully, i told her no, i dun even think tat of her n hb heard the entire conversation even. tell me how to reason wif someone like tat? if i go n get caterer now, she sure ve more to say to relatives n all...reai sian...

crystal,
I also feel that you shd have a CL or at least a part time helper to help ard wor..

Ya lor, now hv some caterer also doing tingkat for confinement fd de...

Kelcqi,
I also experience countless kick frm my minnie today..duno y lor...

Crystal
Smtx we just have to show love in bigger way. So, let all the dust settle n be prepare to let her talk wat she wnt. After your confinement, continue to love her in bigger way so that she will realise nt all is as petty as she perceive. This way u will feel happy too and if she continue to feel negative, she suffering inside herself. Yes, busy yourself nw to settle on your confinement n get ready to deliver.. gd luck

Felicia: Wa!!! 4 thermometers... Reali power!! Heehee.. Ok.. Guess its better to invest in a good digital thermometer then at least got warranty..

Crystal: Crabs for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper?!? Wa... I must eat crabs aledi.. if not never do justice to myself.. wahahahaha...

Liew: You went for REBONDING? Can ah? Aiya... i have been hating my hair for so many months.. every year sure go rebonding before CNY, and now wan to burn my hair liao.. so difficult to manage... we can rebond?

Ellysia: Hubby might be taking 1-2weeks leave during confinement.. But i aledi have confinement lady so dun think he will be of any help.. heehee.. but good for moral support..

Kelcqi: Me aledi experiencing Braxton Hicks... Its the tummy suddenly went super tight, right? But i also dun know how to count..

ellysia,
i will use the shampoo before a mth due date till our maternity leave finish..so total 4-5 mths. at least we can control hair falls

Re: Confinement food caterer

I am looking at newbaby and natalessentials website then i tink newbaby menu seems to be more healthy though natalessentials one seem to be more nourishing. Newbaby menu even got papaya soup.

Have u all order from them before? any feedback?

liew,

OIC then i better buy the shampoo before delivery.

I am still tinking want to buy the bottom spray or not, it cost $44 i scare waste $$.

TF,
Harlow fren, I just called up Parentcraft to check if my name is still there for the March class. And it is, hehe. So I will be making payment and going for the class. You try to come also la, ok?

ellysia,

I'm on Newbaby during my #1. High chance will order from them again this round. Their timing is quite fix everyday and wont be late. Food comes in tupperware and is warm. Portion quite big. But tat was 2 yrs back. Hope they maintain their service.

Felicia,

Thks. initally i wanted natalessentials but now i noticed newbaby's menu seems to be healthier and better for breastfeeding.

cactus : my Mum did confinement for me for my #1. well, technically, not full confinement cuz we catered confinement food from the caters

But she helped with looking after the baby and bathing her. And i knew she didnt wanna take any $$ from me, so i bought her a Chanel bag (which i now also take turns to use ! heehee )
Perhaps you can consider buying your MIL something - it cld be tonics/ or ginseng stuff which she wld appreciate ?

Crystal : wow ! long hair to short hair ! what a drastic change ! poor thing on your MIL issues ...
let us know what you decide on eventually ok ?

crystal,
i just replied your pm.

i think u should discuss it carefully with your hubby first before making any final decisions.

for me, my mil initially say she do confinement for me, take care of my bb. my mum also volunteer. then my mil say move in with me to make things easier. then move in liao pblms start. then she suddenly say dunno how to do confinement. dun want to take care of bb at night. then my mum volunteer to take over when i complain to her. but i can't let my mum do it coz my mil suppose to move over to help us out. how would she feel if i move to my mum's place instead. in the end, i discussed with my hubby and decide to hire a CL, cum maid. thats a lot of $$. we really comtemplated for very long before reaching this decision. then when we told my mil our decision, she even commented that we super rich. hire CL cum maid. but it was all because of her that all these things have to come. then she say she wont interfere with my confinement since I'm hiring CL. but guess what? she quarrel with the CL during meet up with one of the CL. quarrel with a stranger within that half an hr?!! i was very angry. but no choice went to find another CL.

so, pls think thru carefully first. coz even if your mil agree with what u are going to do, things might end up differently. be prepared for the unexpected....

cactus : then maybe u sld give her a little less than that "market rate" for a Confinement Lady. that way, it's a win-win situation - you'd have savings by not employing a confinement lady, and your MIL will also have an AP as a "thank you" from you for helping with confinement !

Felicia : do u know if Newbaby provides tinfin dinner services ?? My parents will be away in May and i think i need to have some sort of home delivery service for dinner then.

I ordered from Natalessentials for my #1, and their food is generally quite good, but i noticed that they wld deliver really early - maybe cuz i live in the east and their kitchen is in the west - but it's like 3pm delivery for my dinner ...

this time, i'll try newbaby

hi crystal,
I hv a CL who was not bad IMO. She was my last CL. She did not want to do for me this time round as she said that her legs are weak and becos I stay in a terrace house and she needs to climb stairs to 2nd flr where the bedrooms are, she had difficulty coping the last round. Actually she had accepted my assignment but she called me a few months ago to cancel. I was quite pissed with her, but I guess she was being pressed by me to accept when I called her(I offered her more money and angpow). Thinking back since she will be carrying my son up and down the stairs, its better if she dun accept if she thinks she cant cope. If you want, u can pm me for her contact.

iamsnow,

I find tat old folks always dun "confirm" and change their mind often.

My MIL also initally agreed to take care of bb when i go back to work. Then my mum also offered to come over a few days to help out if needed, but my hb is not v willing to let my mum take care. Then after i told MIL tat i may be breastfeeding and she need to learn how to prepare the milk etc, then hb told me that MIL may not be able to take care all the while liao. And then hb now ask me if my mum can help or not. I also a bit buay song abt hb lah.. but then dun want to raise issue over this matter.

This kind of arrangements, sometimes until last min can still have changes.

My mum said, of course old folks like grandchildren but when come to take care, its hard work and no one will want to do it.

K Ong,

newbaby only do confinement menu. If u want tingkat can consider other caterers, those who do buffet and tingkat ones.

Hi gers,
Knocking off soon. Waiting for hb to pick me up to go to the bb avenue sales.

mrswrx,
I think I wun be able to make up my mind over wat to buy. I am those who need to walk 5 shops before making a decision to buy from which shop de. Haha. I think my hb will kill me to make him travel so far without buying anything.

Ellysia,
Will update you tomorrow on whether it is worth to travel to Balestier for the bb avenue sales. mrswrx said that the sale is until coming SUn.

TAKA BABY FAIR!!

finally on the taka website leh!

Event Date Time
Baby Fair
6 Mar to 23 Mar
(Thu to Sun) 10.00am - 9.30pm

Calling all mums, get the best deals on all the baby necessities from diapers to strollers to baby clothing and toys for all mums and mums-to-be. Stand a chance to be one of the lucky winners in our Baby Fair lucky draw and walk away with attractive prizes.

ellysia,
think we also need to buy powder spray hairdo . cos i only can wash hair after 2 weeks time.(during confinement)

ellysia,
thanks for the info. think i really have to speed up on my homework to see what i need to buy....

still lost over what pump to buy. as for steriliser, i think i will buy pigeon one....

K Ong,

Do you plan to order one person or 2 person meal? Coz most of the caterer will only provide 2 person meal which is around $160-$180 per 20days.
I used to order caterer oso at one point.
If you are looking for one person meal only, so far i can only found Jessie caterer. You can refer their link at http://www.jessie.com.sg/
20days @ $100/= (3 dishes + 1 soup)
I order their one person dinner meal and share with my hubby. They dont had fixed menu. To me their food standard consider ok and quite home style.
Or you can order their trial package to try out before commit.

crystal,
I also trim off my below-bra length hair to concave bob b4 e cny...Initially some mean coll said i look like auntie now..I was upset, told my hb, he said dun bother abt them etc..hiaz...But now i used to my hair liao, easier to dry and manage...But I will cut again mayb in apr b4 I due...

Ellysia,
The fair is on 6th March? tot 9th march lor..hehe..Most likely will go on a wkend morning lor..

Tera
U really ya, take leave just to go Taka fair?? I dun think you will miss much lah.. lucky Mother & Baby fair in expo is going to be on Good Friday holiday, else u gonna take leave huh?? Teasing you :p Erhhh... let me consider the antenatal ya, my sister in law also persuade me to go cos she wnt to hv fun learning, replacing her brother (my hubby).

TF,
hehe...the Mother & BB Fair at expo duno will it be e same as taka bb fair hor...me also hesitating, duno wan to go for both anot...=)..Heard that there are gd bargains of diapers there...u going?

Anental class is good for hubbies lor..cos they will get involved, let them know how xinku we are...Tmr I am attending my 4th lesson liao, taking of bb, bathing, massaging etc..hehe..

Feifei
Ya, i going cos I'm nt working so will go on weekdays to avoid the crowd. Anyway, the taka fair is almost 2 weeks, so shd hv enuf stock to last if take time. I hv nt been one, so nt sure if 1st day has better things than other days.
For Expo, yes since I'm staying in the East, nearby only

Ya loh, i wish my hubby can join me to knw how xinku n wat r all the things tat must do. But he nt in S'pore, so i told him 1st 2 weeks of confinement, he must learn fr my mum n if his sis go wif me, let them teach him. He already very lucky he dun have to buy supper for me, do baby shopping wif me, just get me pregnant n clap hands. So I suggest he shd start bonding wif his son during my confinement.

TF,
Wow, envy wor...hehe..agreed with you if possible, go on wkdays to avoid crowds =D..

hehe, its a gd idea to le tb bond with ur boy during confinement lor..At least they won't take things for granted hor...hee

TF,
Go go go for the class!
Eh, u very bad huh, laugh at me about taking leave..hehe. I think I will go down taka baby fair following thurs i.e. 13th cos i'll be on leave.

Sama sama, since Mother and Baby fair is at Expo, i also will go!

feifei,
I'll be sending the receipts to you tomr, so check your postbox ok? Yah, met up with a fren the other day and she also said same thing as u abt hubby being more involved as part of the antenatal class. Btw, ask u ah, has all classes been moved to AMK?

So many baby fairs!! Yeah, can start shopping again =)

Will probably go down to Taka baby fair =) those going on first day, must share what good things to buy, k?

my mil staying near expo, will probably drop by expo too. When is this baby fair at expo?

Saw the MUM'S FIRST CONGRESS adv on TV.... anyone going for this one?

Baby Festival @ will be held from 21-23 March which 21 Mar is a public holiday, sure lots of ppl.

Just rec' my Motherhood magazine yesterday, and saw that another BB fair @ expo during 1st week of June period. But i think by then some of us oledi delivered. hehe....

Hi gers..

Ellysia,
Yup, that was the sales that I went to, the one at baby avenue @ balestier. Actually, I didnt do homework before heading down, so cant comment on the pricing. I think it is a good place if you wanted to get strollers and car seat. After choosing for an hour, we got a combi stroller that cost $200. I was quite hesitant initially cos there are comments that combi is too light-weight and filmsy. However, after trying the sturdy and heavy ones, I give up. I wanted to bring my bb out on my own in the future. Dun think I can handle a heavy stroller + bb + barang, barang. The combi stroller that I bought can be fold up with 1 hand. I actually wanted to get the more expensive ones cos they come in nicer colours but hb more practical and override my decision. Haha.
We oso got the baby cot at $268. It comes with full bedding set (including bumper) and the cot can be converted to junior bed in the future.

I think the cot is a good buy. As for stroller and car seat, too many choices liao. Good to recee the place for price comparison. I am not sure if I can get the stroller at some other place for a cheaper price, but since we were there, we went ahead to buy.

Re: AP for confinement
My mum is doing confinemnet for me and I have yet to decide on how much to give her. I will bear all the expenses for buying food, which will amount to alot. My mum just did confinement for my SIL and I saw the amount of meat and fish that she bought. Faint... On top of that, will give her extra pocket $$.

Morning ladies...

Tera,
Tks ya =D...how much is the receipts? ;p
Ya lor, must get hb to invovle so that they know its not easy =D..keke..

Piyoz,
The baby fair at Expo is end of this mth wor..err...i forgot e date liao..hehe..

Felica,
Hi ya..Ya lor, by June, we shd hv delivered liao..hehe...Where is this Baby Festival held?

feifei,

Thinking to go but as Friday is a Public Holiday, hubby wanna go back to Malacca, so i'm still nego with him.
But for Taka Fair, sure i'm goin coz nvr been before.

Felicia,
I see..hmm...mayb go to the fair 1st lor..hehe..

Me also nv been to taka BB fair b4..hehe...Hope they hv good deals for us =D

Iamsnow
At least 1 size 1 pkt, sure got use as the age up..haha..kidding

Tera
keke, u r persuasive huh.. u tickle my heart. When u going down TMC agn? Tot if u can pay up for me the Parentcraft then i transfer $ to u. So if my seat still there, then i leave it to fate that i must go. keke

iamsnow,

It very depend on individual baby development. Like my girl she start wearing size M just about 4-5mths. She was very chubby at tat point.
But for sure if got very very good deal, maybe you can stock up few more packets for certain size (maybe size M).

<font color="ff0000">iamsnow*

i wun recommend u to get so many diapers of the NB size coz we are not sure how big ur bb is when delivered and some bb cant fit into NB sizes for long.. </font>

zuen,
u manage to buy something!! anyway, e bb cot u bought izzit display on the right side in the far end corner? cos i din c much choices of cots ther leh. was considerin to buy a convertible cot or take a pass dwn cot frm colleague. e cot u bought comes wif mattress??

i might be goin again tis sun to buy e stroller. hehe.. hope to settle 1 big item soon.

TF,
Of course can, no problem! Yay, you are going!
I'll call later and check for your name. Then I will make payment for you. But cos I am sending cheque, will need some details from you. Will send you PM later.

feifei,
I am sending you all my receipts, some dated dec. If add everything, it is around $429. If exclude dec ones, then only around $243. Hope it will help wor..

liew,

I won't be buying hair spray cos will wash hair during confinement. But may not wash everyday depending how dirty hair is.

Tera,

I tink no need to take leave, the fair is 3 weeks. So maybe each week got new promo or wat.. so can go a few times to checkout.