(2008/06) June 2008

Tera,

I find the pre-natal class useful so far. Though a bit tiring to go, and v rushed for me cos my office knock off at 6pm and it starts at 7pm, i always have to rush through my dinner.

But the class is quite informative i find. Exercises are good, i still remember the steps cos on and off got do a bit, esp those exercise to relieve backache.

The pelvic floor exercise esp useful for bladder control and supposely good for nature delivery.

Mog,

Thks for the info! look like good deal, i will take a look

Ellysia, no worries, I also intend to check it out during the weekends. If got POSB card, got additional 5% rebates, not bad.

Roxy
Huh, parents got diabetes you also must do the test? Wouldn't the urine strip test during our regular visit be suffice? Aiyo, my mum also got diabetes, but i was nt told to do the test... i so scared of test nowadays... haiz

Roxy/Ellysia
Ha.. Tera n me will be tearing ourselves apart to make the decision on joing the class..seems like nw depend on our mood as the dates get nearer.

In fact, nw I also torn betw 2 minds whether to go HK. My mum just worried tat the air pressure will affect the pregnancy n yet my hubby wish me to go. Tired making choices nowadays and can't wait the day baby, least dun nd to consider so much abt pregnancy.

2mrw I will be going to the Airshow, so may nt response so promptly.

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE:

**!!!2 more MTBs to get CD with all the shots at $200 instead of 250!!!**

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)

***Anyone else?? 2 more to reach the min. 15 for the $200 offer!!! ***

Just got back from the Thomson 24hr clinic. Saw the general doc there for the discomfort at the area above my belly button (been having it almost whole day). He said most likely is gastric and prescribed me mylanta. While waiting to see him, there was this admissions nurse who walked past me and asked if I was having contractions (cos I was massaging my tummy). :p

TF,
Haha, you are so right about tearing ourselves apart on the decision. Don't think too much for now (HK trip), just go with the flow. Basically, do whatever makes you happy then bb will also be happy.

Roxy,
Ya loh, basically lazy lah to travel for the classes. Excuses excuses, hehe.
Hey, I also used to drive a jazz and I loved it!! Esp the compact size plus the efficient fuel consumption. Also, the solid boot space (when both back seats are folded down); me and hubby managed to transport quite a bit of stuff when moving house.

Mog/Ellysia,
Ok, I will trrryyy to psycho myself to go for the classes.

Mog,
Me also dunno how to bathe a baby. :p I am also keen to learn the exercises plus breathing techniques the classes teach.

Okies, don't think many ppl still awake at this time, gonna turn in soon. Catch you all tomr, TGIF!

morning!!!.... so happy it's Friday =)

tera, I find the TMC class useful. Especially good to get hb involved in the whole pregnancy... go lah, go lah.....

TMC BOOKS
anyone keen to get? I've got 2nd set of the three TMC books cos I sign up for SBI. BN. PM if keen =)

roxy,
I was asked to do that diabetes test also. must wait at clinic for 2 hours one is it? My parents don't have, but my grandma has. I also kena test even though urine test always ok.

METRO SALE
blue tag items have 20% off =) Pigeon, tollyjoy, medala, avent...... Bought the Pigeon Fridge to Go.....

morning piyoz!

Can i know how much u brought the pigeon Fridge to go? Can store how many bottle milk or can drinks?
Seems like now sale is everywhere!

Morning ladies..

Tera,
Hope u are feeling better today hor..

As for the anental class, I agreed with Ellysia that its useful to use lor..Taught us the breathing methods, excises, saw videos on labour, breastfeeding etc...NExt week the lesson will be on how to bath for bb etc lor..This is all useful to 1st time mummy de =D...

Piyoz,
tks for e infor...Me waiting for the BB fair to get my pump lor...U bot ur pump?

Morning gers..

Ellysia, liew,
I dream every night. Sometimes more than 1 dream and I dreamt about everything, from hb to exs to work to disaster... Maybe bcos I go to bed earlier and wake up more frequently now.. There was this day that I had an erotic dream and asked my hb for sex the next day (shy... )

Roxy,
Why did the doc ask you to do the diabetes test even when urine test = ok? Is it bcos you mentioned abt your family history? My grandma had diabetes and my dad was diagnosed with it too. I dun rem if I told my doc about it. Anyway, I tot there is a blood glucose test for all during the 30+ weeks?

Roxy, Tera,
Looks like there are many jazz owners here. I seldom drive. Too lazy.. normally hb will do the driving. I do agree that the small size helps when it comes to parking. Still, men are men.. Always thinking of upgarding.
Oh, I didnt sign up for the TMC class and was wondering if I will regret my decision. However, I think I would have found it a struggle if I had signed up for the class. I am so lazy to travel now, hehe.

Aiyo, seems that most MTBs are starting with their shopping spree. I think hb & me still slooowww... I was telling hb that nearing delivery, I can take leave to pack bb's room liao. Now, everything is stack on the sofa bed in the bb's room. Tot that we start shopping later to prevent the mess from accumulating.. procastinators.. hehe.

feifei,
me oso waiting for the bb fair to get pump. In fact, hoping to get stroller, cot, car seat, steriliser too. Hehe, I make it sound like the Taka fair is a super big fair. I am just too lazy to do shopping now. Cannot bring myself to town to grab good deals now, so tot of doing everything at the same time.

ZuEn,

Try not to leave everything to near delivery. Coz by then some preggie women tend to be more tired easily and some cant move much oso. I had a friend need to work from home a month before her EDD as she hardly can walk.
U can list out ur shopping list and things to do so that you can more be organise and wont panicked when times drew near.

ZuEn,

Try not to leave everything to near delivery. Coz by then some preggie women tend to be more tired easily and some cant move much oso. I had a friend need to work from home a month before her EDD as she hardly can walk.
U can list out ur shopping list and things to do so that you can more be organise and wont panicked when times drew near.

felicia,
pigeon FTG can take around 5 bottles. Can keep cool up to 12 hours. bought at around $48.

feifei,
I've got avent manual pump already from my #1. Thinking of getting electric pump for #2.... haven't buy yet. Still looking around.

TAKA FAIR..... actually not all items on sale during the taka fair. Car seat, stroller remembered not much of sale from past year baby fair. Robinsons 20% can get cheaper. But it's really convenient cos everything is under one roof. Some more free delivery.

Felicia,
agree with you.... can't leave everything till 3rd tri. Will feel so warm and tired, like super big humpty dumpty.... will start to walk like penguin.

My legs get really swollen after even a short shopping trip. So shopping not so enjoyable in 3rd tri..... becomes a chop chop, quickly buy then go home kind of thing.

zuEn,
Hehe, i also hope there will be lots of things to buy...hehe..But i still feel if see anythign cheap, can grab 1st... =)..

Felicia,
Agreed lor...cos now leg swell liao, so when nearer to EDD, more tired..

Seems like all the MTBs is looking forward the Taka fair! Me oso though i had most of the things liao.
This weekend i'm goin to sort out my #1 bb cloths so that i can wash it 1-2 mths before EDD.

felicia, perhaps dun get your fridge to go yet... might be bundled with breast pump or other freebies during the taka fair... so better to wait for the taka baby fair.. dat's in 2 weeks time is it?

zuen & TF.. yes, so far my blood pressure is ok and sugar levels are ok during monthly visits too... they ask me to test is because I mentioned that my dad has diabetes so they just want to play safe... i tink u better mention ur family history to ur gynaes.. they will sure ask u to do the diabetes test too...

ellysia and piyoz.. yeah, i must do vornight fasting from midnite onwards.. reach clinic at 8.30 then fast till 10.30 which is my appt to see gynae, hopefully by then all tests finish liao... my gf said she did the diabetes test till her vein collapse then she got to draw blood from another arm...so scary

Tera, better decide fast whether you going for class or not.. for me i find it not that useful coz im too lazy to practise the exercises heeee hubby also keep grumbling whenever he got to accompany me down....

Btw, any good post delivery malay massage lady to recommend? I need to lose weight!!

TF,

I tink in yr condition, u may need to checkup more often? Cos i am not sure if yr gynae will give u the green light in your condition lor.

At this stage of pregnancy, on the prudent side i also tink to avoid air travel will be better.

Felicia,

Why u wash yr bb cloths so early? won't it smell by then?

mothercare is having 15% sale on bb items for UOB cardmembers and some of the strollers are having 20/30% (clearing stock). can check out some bb stuff if interested.

Hello Rizty,

the actual date for the taka bb fair is not out yet.. But that day i was reading the 8days mag.. they were saying there's a bb n mother fair coming up at Expo from 21st march - 23rd march. Expo Hall 6A, Fri n Sat 11-9pm, Sun 11-8pm.

Have anyone went to the Baby Avenue and Baby Hypermart to do any shopping? Do you think the things over there are relatively cheaper?

Haven't started my shopping too.. gonna start this month too..

i was reading the thread on Childbirth classes on the month of March with TMC? Who's going? I have registered and i am attending the class that starts on 22nd March, 2008. Hehe.. we can meet up there and share more experience.. Started to jot down some questions to check with the trainer..

I think it's good to attend such classes so you won't be at lost when bb arrives.. My cousin did not sign up for the class and she ended up lost at taking care of her bb.. That's what i heard.

Zu En,

Ah wat u encounter (yr dream) happen to me once too hee. Guess the increase blood flow make us more horny.

roxy,

I read articles on the test and it seems that must draw blood frm another arm also.

I tot draw blood only once?? Just test only right.

For me my parents have no diabetes history but i have to do the test cause didn't pass the urine test. Sigh.

My one is to fast from 12am to 9am (do the test) then continue fast to 11am. At least yours is earlier, ends at 10.30am. I hope i can dong the hunger.

roxy,
Ya i know. Looking around for cheap offer. But i think $48 is not cheap oso coz i saw most of the retail sold at $49 leh.

ellysia,
I'm goin to wash only 1-2 mths before EDD not now. Now just sorting out the sizes coz i had mixed up all the cloths. I cannot wait till near EDD as afraid by then i had no energy to wash.

Lala,
I brought my #1 car seat at Baby hypermart but i think the price is not cheap loh. Baby Avenue i'm not sure.

Felicia,

No energy to wash? just put inside washer right.

I find tat material tat is wash too early tend to collect dust. My clothes sometimes will smell a bit mouldy too if i wash for few mths then didn't wear it. Maybe cos i didn't put Hippo inside wardrobe.

Anyway do u have dryer at home? Cos ever since i bot my dryer, i find tat laundry work is so much easier.

ellysia,

After preggie, i found myself not so comfortable if were to hang the cloths outside the flat and even hang it up the ceiling. There's once after hanging 3 poles of cloths to the ceiling, i feel like fainting. Then most of the time i left tat hanging part to my hubby. All i do is throw clothings to washing machine only.
No i dont had a dryer at home. I think 1-2 mths before EDD shld be ok. Else i had to get my hubby to wash it when EDD drew near.

Ellysia,
I also find soemtimes my clothes become mouldly lor, esp mine is a walk-in-wardrode...

Dryer is good?

All,
willu all be wearign disposable panties after u deliver?

TF,
If ur mom has diabetes, u shd inform your dr. He will arrange you to do the test. I did for my last pregnancy and am going to do again for the current one as my late grandpa had diabetes. You will need to fast from midnight the day before, draw blood the next morning, then take a glucose drink that nearly make me puke, wait for 2 hours and take another blood test. I asked my dr the reason for taking the test again since I din develop diabetes the last time round. She mentioned abt every pregnancy being different and that the 'diabetes genes' might become more 'clever' this time round or something like that.

Morning girls!

Feifei,
Thank you girl, I am better now.
Was told to take porridge for the next 2 days and avoid dairy products.

Piyoz,
Okie, will seriously consider the classes.

ladies, I need to ask those having mickeys or sons. Will u circumcise ur son? I am having thoughts of doing it as I heard that it is usually practiced in USA and its cleaner that way? Is it true? Is it better to get it done once he is born?

feifei,
During my #1 confinement, i was wearing disposable panties, as more convenient, dont had to wash. Imagine u r on confinement and not allowed to touch water, so how to wash our panties?

Ellysia
Doctor gave green light for travel. I got the EDD Notification y'day (btw, is that what we show to airline staff). Doc says, travel does nt affect the condition of the baby's heart cos he's living on my umblical cord. So can travel like normal case. Jus tat they will remind like any other case tat if water bag burst, leak, etc.. at your own risk.

Felicia,

yes like u, i find it v tiring to hang the clothes on the hanger up and down after preggy. Laundry is so much easier with a dryer. My dryer is stack on top on my washer with a stacking kit. Once clothes finish washing, i pull them out and put them in dryer. 60mins can finish a 5KG load drying. Though it is more electricity usage, maybe impute yr bill slightly higher. But good for emergency washing.

Also i find that hanging clothes up and down means i have to look up and down and sometimes it makes me feel dizzy.

muffin,

wat is circumcise?

Mog,
Wah, you like that say, I also feel bad.
I will keep you posted.

TF,
The letter I got from my gynae is a memo stating that I am fit for travel up till end march (in my case).
So you'll be going HK?

piyoz,

I also pm u on the books.

TF,

The only thing is if there is anyting urgent tat u need to come back for checkup, u have to rush back.

muffin,
I am keen to circumcise my son cos i also feel cleaner but my DH is not keen so prob not doing it. But my fren whose son did, did after birth and i think TMC can do it.

ellysia,

Yaloh, the look up and down really make me dizzy. If hang outside then my tummy is blocking me so i really hate doing all the hanging. But no choice since we dont had a dryer.
Imagine beside bb clothing, we still need to clean , wash all the bb equipment/ furniture like bb cots, pillowcase, bedsheet, bottles, container blah blah blah. Thinking of tat oledi make me wanna faint liao.

Zuen,ellysia
i'm nowaday quite shy to request from hb liao.. maybe since 4th mths pregnant onward never do liao... and most important is our stomach getting bigger... bit weird lo

Hi Liew, I bought the mattress already. I'm not putting bb into cot though but got a cot sized mattress. Was deciding between firm spring mattress (Kiddy palace selling at about $108) and high density foam mattress. Eventually bought foam from John Little at $29.90. My colleague and mom told me high density foam is better for babies. change to firm spring when about 2 years old. I shopped at IKEA too but found their matress range for cots not that good. Not firm enough.

Felicia,

Tats why my hb intend to buy later then deliver later so no need to clean so many times.

I can't hang outside as my unit is low floor, have birds outside too wait dirty my clothes. I used to hang inside but slow on laundry bec' inside hanger area is v small and v few hanger hooks. So i buy dryer tinking its easier to wash and dry my bed sheets and blankets etc, end up i also use dryer for drying clothes liao heee.

cactus,

IKEA cot is not v good, tink not sturdy enuff.

How much is yr cot?

Btw for cot do the delivery guy need to do installation? If so then i tink i got to siam again during their installation.

cactus,
i'm still confuse whether let my baby bed cot or firm spring...think i have to decide soon. cos i think we left 2 more mths to go edd.