(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
i also wondering need to do installation or not? but i think quite easy and fast rite? as long we avoid lo

Hi Tera..
Circumcise can be done in TMC? i tot oni KK has the service..It all also depends on the bb..the length and how long is the foreskin..some can do it just after birth..some cant..
of cos circumcise is clean lor..boys tends to get infection if not properly cleaned..

liew,

My #1 we let her sleep on bb cot from my collegue. The babysafe mattress i brought just nicely put inside the baby cot. But then after few mths we transfer her to sleep on normal mattress but we put the babysafe mattress on top.
Coz the mattress had breathable air holes which we think wud help if bb turn to sleep on her tummy.

Rizty,
Hehe, just checked with fren. She delivered at TMC and basically, she just informed her PD that she wants her son circumcised and the PD did it for her.

Hi liew, we got the mattress from John Little. At $29.90 but no brand. There is another foam mattress selling there. at $19 but quality not that good. We bought 2 similar mattresses cos my mom said alternating mattresses is better for bb. Eventually, we hope to have bb sleep on 1 mattress on top of another, to let him get used to elevated height, then eventually place him on a junior bed so it won't be too much of a change to him. One note though - certain flooring is not suitable for bb to be on the floor. For example, marle and ceramic flooring is very hard and if bb falls off mattress onto those flooring, can cause bb harm. Our flooring is wooden and we may pad it with hard foam throughout the nursery eventually - just see how it goes.

ellysia,

i brought it from either bb fair or kiddypalce. Coz i brought the pillow and mattress separately, one is from kiddypalace and another one in bb fair.

How To Choose a Baby Crib Mattress
From Heather Corley,
Your Guide to Baby Products.
FREE Newsletter. Sign Up Now!

You've got your baby crib, and now you need a baby crib mattress to complete the set. Before you buy a crib mattress, there are a few things you should know. Here's how to choose a baby crib mattress that is safe and comfy for your baby.

Difficulty: Easy

Time Required: One hour

Here's How:
Double check the size of the mattress against the size of your crib. Most cribs and crib mattresses are made in standard sizes these days, so the mattress size shouldn't be an issue. Occasionally you may find that a mattress doesn't fit well with a certain crib, though, so checking the fit is important. The mattress should fit fairly tight inside the crib. There shouldn't be an obvious gap between the crib frame and mattress, and you shouldn't be able to easily push more than one finger down in between the mattress and crib frame.
Find a reasonably firm mattress! Soft mattresses seem like a good choice from an adult perspective, but babies need a more solid sleep surface since they can't lift their heads out of soft mattresses if they get turned over. Push down on the mattress gently and see how much pressure it takes to sink into the mattress. The more resistance there is for your hands to sink in, the firmer the mattress.
Foam or coils? It doesn't really matter. Foam crib mattresses are usually less expensive than coil mattresses, and are just as safe, as long as they aren't too soft. Foam mattresses are light and easy to pick up if you need to pick the mattress up to change sheets. For coil mattresses, check the number of coils. In most mattresses, higher numbers of coils means a firmer mattress.
Check the cover. Multi-layer covers are a good bet for durability. Some crib mattresses have an anti-microbial layer on top, and this may help cut down on germs from spit-ups and diaper accidents. You can also check to see how the mattress cover is sealed. Do the plastic seams appear to be sturdy, or are they weak and ready to split open? Are fabric seams smooth from the start or do they appear stressed and ready to pop open?

cactus,
i want to buy extra matress for my bb to sleep with us. cos our platform bed is huge got extra space for bb matress and while night time we can taking care for bb..

wah..this thread is always so bz..hehe..

lala,
i am attending the same class as u leh..mine is fr 2 - 4pm..urs also huh??

re: i also interested in getting my boy to circumcise after he's born...i think it's better for personal hygiene..

re: diabetes test
i juz did a diabetes test on mon..my parents dun hv diabetes..but cos doc find i put on weight too fast..so put me on the test..no pain 1 lah..juz a tinge on the finger..but must go hungry lah..hehe.. luckily my test turn out to be alright..

Hi liew, it's a very very good idea!! you may want to get a cot-sized matress instead of a regular single sized mattress cos bb's feel better and more secure with a smaller sized mattress.

Oh.. also on matresses, you may want to consider getting a waterproof mattress cover. we bought that from Metro Paragon. soft feltish material. very very comfy, waterproof on the underside but not cheap - $59.90 per piece. Cot sized. Forget the brand liao. We bought 2 pieces so can interchange if one is dirtied and needs to be brought for washing.

cactus,
seem most of the stuff you bought from john little and metro paragon ? if yes, will find one of these day for shop liao..

cactus,
When getting waterproof stuff for bb, you need to be careful, coz i ever came across a piece of news on bb was suffocated by own saliva as the pillow case was water proof type.

hi liew,

i just found out that they are having metro warehouse sales in expo..maybe u wanna try going there to take a look..probably i'll drop by there this wkend as well since so near my place..hehe..

check out the link for the happenings in singapore expo.. but i cant seem to be able to find the details on the baby fair that was mentioned earlier from this link lah..

http://www.singaporeexpo.com.sg/events_calendar.php

i felt uncomfortable at my belly and hardenning keep often...once a while i feel the pain since yesterday nite....feeling different with my other 2 pregnancy.

how many time must take the diabetes test....coz i've taken during my 16wks...

Hi Liew, you're right! WE bought most of our stuff from john little, metro paragon, but also from mothercare. We find that mothercare at centrepoint carries the most bb stuff. John little is just a walk between mothercare centrepoint and metro paragon. So we just did all our shopping along the orchard stretch!

Hi Felicia, I'm told that bb's are not supposed to have pillows and quilts (even if they are bb sized/cot sized) until they are 1 year old. Its a safety issue. as for waterproof sort, there are waterproof materials out there which are absorbant on one side. that cot cover I bought is made of flannel like material on one side so it's super comfortable but the underside stops water or liquids from spilling through.

Ultimately, we must ensure that a responsible adult is always with our bbs cos accidents may happen anytime. Someone asked if electric yao lan is safe with bb inside without supervision, I think best is not to have that. I read before that yao lans are not safe esp when bb starts to turn around - can fall out of yao lan. Even if have them around, try to have adult supervision .

danryan,
I only did the diabetes test once during my last pregnancy.
My dr says every pregnancy is different. For me I ate well and slept well at least till last trimester, no nauseous feeling during my last pregnancy. For the current one, I have all these symptoms and I felt uncomfortable constantly.

Re : Metro Expo Sale

There isn't any much baby stuff at the sale, however I managed to get some cheap 100% cotton rompers at $1.20 each, mostly is newborn or S size.

There are Pureen products like bottle cleanser, powder detegents, etc. Also see a few strollers but didn't check out the brand, I think is Lucky Baby if I'm not wrong.

Those mummies staying near Expo can check it out.

cactus,

I ored got a baby pillow that is shaped with a U shape. We got it when my hb bot expensive pillow for his parents.

I read articles that we shouldn't allow bb to sleep on pillow for first few mths but later can let them sleep with those U shape one so that they dun shift around too much.

Felicia,
Ya, I oso noe. In fact, that was wat I told my hb too. In the end, I was the one procastinating. We would go and look at baby cot and stroller and car seat but end up not buying anything. Thus hoping to get something during the Taka fair and will source for the rest liao.

Ellysia, liew,
Hehe, my hb oso worried. Keep asking me if it is safe. It has been a few months since we last BD. Then, my tummy is not obvious. So it felt abit funny and I tot I looked abit funny. Hohoho.

Roxy,
When are we supposed to do testing for diabetes? Or there is no specific dates and the doc decides? My next checkup is 4 weeks down the road wor. I must make a mental note to tell my doc. I drew blood twice. Once for triple test and the other time for thala. Although my vein very obvious and it is easy to draw blood, I hate it. Haiz...

By the way, anybody intending to let bb sleep with you all on the bed? I saw this little foam container (like a little basket) for the bb in Taka before. I will be doing confinement at mum's place and am a lousy sleeper. So tot that bb will be safer if she is put in that container, on the bed. Will be buying a bb cot to be placed at home.

ZuEn,
Me nv BD since I preggi lor, so been a nun for 6 mths liao...I expect to be a nun for 1yr lor, cos after birth, then hv to do confinement, wait for wound to heal etc....haha...Though sometimes i feel sad cos like unwanted lor...

I intend to let bb sleep in the cot..cos if bb is too used to sleeping with us, bery difficult to gert them to sleep in their cot next time wor..

hi mogudog,
yah..i attending the 22nd mar class from 2-4pm @ TMC..u attending also ah??hehe
ok..i shall psycho my hubby to go to the metro sales in expo wif me 2mr..hehe..i'll update u all on the stuffs there..

zuen,
i think no specific dates for testing diabetes 1 leh..for my case it's based on recommendation by the doc.. it's nothing like the thala n triple test..this 1 not pain 1..they juz use needle to prick ur finger tip for a bit of blood..so dun worry abt it..

can anyone tell me where to find cheap n gd baby cot? i still hvnt start sourcing for any baby stuffs leh..

cactus,

During my #1 we brought the pillow as it stated good for newborn to 6mths. You can see it from the babysafe website but in the end we din let our girl use as we find bb head seems uncomfortable loh. Then i think we only let our girl use the pillow when her neck is more 'hard' , tats few mths later.
Oic, i din know there's this kind of waterproof material which is absordable at the oth side. Then shld be quite safe.
About 'yao lan', i agree with u oso. Need adult to monitor closely. Normally i'll put extra mattress just below the 'yao lan' in case bb fall down.

Zuen
The diabetes test is usually done when you are 7 mths ie week 28... best to inform your gynae and let them decide whether to have you take the diabetes test or not... better to play safe....

Zu En,

hee my hb also ask me safe or not. But then its also odd bec' we are aware that bb is with us.

I tink the test is normally done around 30 weeks?

Actually if anyting maybe know earlier than late. My colleague told me she met another mother in KKH and tat mum has to undergo C-sect cos bb is too big due to gestational diabetes, somemore bb has to be placed in incubator bec' not 40 weeks yet. The bb is 5KG.

bizzsnow,

U can look at Kiddy Palace. I saw tat their range cost $100-$300. Mothercare baby cot is more expensive, range start from $300.

Oh ya I am told to cut down my diet by my gynae cos I been eating 2 portions or 1.5 portions and gynae said not acceptable, ask me to reduce to 1 portion.

So now i am back to breaking my meals into small meals, cos after eating 1 portion, i will feel hungry faster.

Then yest hb bot a weighing machine for me. I checked my weight is more than wat measured at gynae office, tink difference in machine. But roughly can use to gauge and control my weight.

Ellysia,
Yes, diff weighing machine can give diff readings but shouldn't be too far-off. Also, try to measure your weight at the same time each day to have an accurate reading.

ellysia,
my gynae also tell me to control wat i eat..but i only eat 1 person share leh..but weight juz shot up like crazy..i've been monitoring my weight even b4 pregnant..cos i tend to be on the big side type..can put on weight easily..normally i weigh myself in the morn after i bath..normally only wear bra n underwear to weigh..haha..cos clothes add on weight mah..like dat more accurate.. hehe..

Hi Ellysia, it's normal that our tummies get hard after food. it's probably caused by the intestines and stomach. now our intestines are pushed upwards and after a meal, our stomach and they are filled with food and water so full. but I don't experience any indigestion though.

bizz,
haha, you are so funny but i kind of understand what you mean. i also usu weigh myself in the morning, after i have gone to the bathroom and before breakfast. hoping that i will be lighter, hehe.

ellysia,
i experienced indigestion in my 1st trimester..now dun hv liao lor..the feeling very uncomfortable 1..i hate it..

Ellysia,
yes. i'm now cant take so much food due to my stomach will gets hard and feeling uncomfortable while sit in the office.

now my back pain and abdominal cramp feeling like contraction quite often now....cannot tahan leh....when bb move the pain also came

Danryan,
Think better go gynae and check it out, esp when there's contractions. Is the whole stomach cramping? I was asked that qn yest when I called my gynae. If it's whole stomach cramping, best to go see gynae.