(2008/06) June 2008

tera, i agree that travel distance is quite impt. my mum stay around 30 min drive away from me.... quite far. sometimes quite sian to travel loh.

iamsnow,
Yah, the travelling can be quite sian..the attraction that still manages to lure my DH to my parents' place quite often, despite the distance, is my mum's cooking whereas my MIL seldom cooks. hehe.

tera, at least there's an atttraction.... hee hee.... my mil cooks quite often. so there's really not much motivation for my hubby to go back to my mum's place....

u drive? at least if you drive, it's easier to go back.... we do not have a car. have to travel by cab.... so can be quite a hassel....

Cactus,
For us, we will prolly have dinner at ILs place more frequently next time since they are helping to look after bb. We hope the maid will be able to pick up some cooking skills from my mum and cook us some decent dinner. :p Most likely will bring bb home everyday.

iamsnow,
yah, we drive but sometimes traffic can be quite bad plus ERP.
On avg, we will be at my mum's place 3 to 4 times a week for dinner cos i tell him more nutritious to have home-cooked food, hehe. My MIL only cooks once a week.

Regarding the query on breast pump you were asking earlier, maybe you can run through the threads posted today and a few days earlier where there was discussion on the different pumps. I am going to robinson's on wed to take a look with a fren. She's going to recommend me her model which she can't rem offhand what it is. Can update you after i have seen it.

hi ladies !!!
Happy CNY !!

bfeeding : yes, best to bfed till 6 mths (WHO recommendation) - and as long as you can ! (but dont beat yourself over it if you cant!) also, if you wish, go to a pro- breastfeeding PD who is encouraging and wont keep suggesting you supplement with FM

moving back with parents - Cactus : haaha, you'd be so pampered that u'd wanna stay there forever ! look at me ... i initially wanted to stay for a few mths ... but then it's now been 20 mths since the birth of my first child and i'm still staying with them !! Nothing better than the help and love from your parents or PILs.

Cactus : you are MOST fertile after you deliver !!
i have heard of stories where the babies are 11 mths apart ! in fact, most ppl are afraid to have unprotected sex while bfeeding, cuz you dont know when u wld ovulate - getting your period is too late a signal as you wld have already ovulated 2 weeks ago.

K Ong,
Happy new year!

Cactus,
Oh yes, just met up with some friends for lunch on sunday and they were talking abt the cost of some pre-schools. Apparently, 1 of the pre-schools in the east (can't rem if it was st pat's or eton) charges a whopping $1400 per mth. That's a lot lor! So imagine with 2 kids, must really plan carefully. Then again, I am sure there are other reasonably-priced preschools around which are just as good or better. After all, a lot depends on the teachers, I feel. Like you, I am also hoping to have my 2nd one within a 2-yr gap from my 1st one mainly cos age is catching up on me. :p

I always felt it's very impt to spend time with our children cos our children are only young once.
Which is why I feel quite sad at times when I see my neices alone with my parents cos my bro and SIL are at work.

happy new year to all the ladies!
me still at home, will only start work next week. But dont envy me coz i had a hard time taking care of my #1 now. She was too xcited about the LNY and all the visiting.

Breastpump : Ya, thinking to get Ameda if i'm able to BF successfully but will only buy after delivery as currently i had a manual pump and another single battery operated pump. Me oso afraid of the warranty issue. If buy early, wait spoilt, no warranty then will be very 'cham'.

Cactus,
Oh, I can relate to your SIL cos my SIL, when she's home, is more keen on what's showing on TV than what her daughters are telling her some times.

Oh yes, you are right. Must consider the kids at preschools as well!

You should be going off soon right? Have a good evening!

Tera,

Do u still have the list of things we need to prepare?

Ellysia,
Tink u posted e list sometime back but I can't rem when leh...Can u post here again? tks ger... =).

Happy Lunar New Year! Long time no come in cos got firewall in office on this forum so can only log on at night when I am home
How's everyone doing? when are we having our Raffles Place lunch again?

Hi Soyabean,
Thanks for the good news on our mickeys and minnies! But june not spring liao.. Hope it's really true then I dun haf to worry so much liao!

I think I chatted with you nong nong ago when we are preparing for wedding but doubt you rem me liao hehe...A common online friend told me I knew you then I realised

How's your boy now? hope he is well now...

Ellysia, Tera, Cactus, iamsnow,
I agree with K Ong that breast is best! Try and see if can persist but dun be too hard on yourself if you can't!

My 2cents worth on pumps: Ameda pump is good enuf if had budget.. Avent manual works quite well for mums who haf lots of milk but fingers tiring lah and can't "handsfree" like the way with electricval pumps - you can hook the 2 funnels onto your breasts via nursing bras and do other things with your hands while you pump
Medela PIS is the best in terms of the motor and power etc but ouch on the wallet... the rest of medela pumps not very lasting and some hurts our nipples while pumping...

Lengleng, cactus and feifei,
exclusive bfg and opumping seems to work well as contraceptive for me as I only strike this minnie straight after I stopped milk prodn at the 1st cycle... and all along, I tot otherwise as I was already menstruating since confinment mth lei! But I have friends who strike within 6mths while on partial breastfeeding, so far none on exclusive breastfeeding...

Hi tera and cactus,
I agree preschool edn must plan carefully..apart from selecting preschools, need to send them for enrichment classes - another cost too... with this minnie, everything X2...

feifei,
Robinsons sale - that's what my fren told me last week leh but i not sure if it's still on this week. will try to check it out or does any robinsons members know and can advise?

Re list to prepare, think need to get Ellysia to repost.

*piyo*
Aiyah, how come company suddenly block? So sian right? I also quite scared my coy will block one of these days cos forums like Singapore Brides is blocked. I think TF is trying to organise the yu-sheng dinner this friday, can you make it? Not sure if it is still on tho.

Thanks for your inputs on pumps, will def try to bf and hope I can sustain! hehe. Oh yes, enrichment classes for the kids, in addition to preschool...everything is $$$. *crossed-eye liao* @_@

Want to ask you gals a question.

Will you be buying a video-cam for the arrival of the bb? Esp for those who are 1st-time mums.

I dun own a video-cam.. Some frens said its good to have video-cam to take down shots of the bb..

Is it really good? Can use digital cam?

Cos video-cam quite ex too.. Ard $700-800+ for a slightly better one..

So not sure whether should get one or not. Cos IT fair coming in 6-8th Mar at Suntec.. So if wan to buy, hopefully can get good deal there..

Then i rem some of you when you had your #1, you mentioned that your hubby will video the birth process.. So its good to have a video-cam?

angel_z,

we took video with digital camera. Your phone has video function? Can use? Nowadays phone camera so high resolution. My hb phone already higher resolution than my digital cam bought few years ago.

We took video of baby first crying and weighing.... not the birth process. Now still play back for him to see some times.... he don't recognise his own cry.

Ellysia,
Gained 21 kg and bb only 2.6kg? faint.. I am trying to watch my weight, but realised that I am slowly gaining weight despite not eating alot. Or maybe I snacked too much during the day. Hmm.. I already told my hb to standby $$ for me to go slimming salon. haha.

Feifei,
Finger stiff? Never heard before wor. Did you ask your doc? If they say part and parcel of preggy, then should be fine bah.

Re: Maternity Leave
Have you all discuss with your boss on the arrangement of your maternity leave liao?

Re: Ameda breast pumps
Couldnt find it at Jurong Point's kiddy palace. Any idea where can I find it?

angel_Z
I oso dun think I will ask my hb to record the birth process. Must be super bloody and gross. I dun think I will want to watch it myself on video/Tv after I have gone thru' the whole thing. I dun even watch my wedding video much after the event, let alone something so bloody, haha.

Morning ladies..

Piyo,
TInk it really depends on individual body hor...cos i hv a fren who strike after she stopped bfeeding too =D...now expecting her 2nd bb =D...

Tera,
I see...duno whether e bb fair next mth at taka will hv good bargains for pumps anot hor...

angel_z,
I also dun hv a video-cam...tink will just ask hb to take soem photos =D..

ZuEn,
Ya lor, finger joints stiff..will ask gyane this fri =D...

Have lor, i talked to my manager liao...total we are given 12wks of ML, I will be taking 10wks 1st, then remaining 2wks will be taken in sept and in Oct...

Tink the Ameda Pumps can only be found at Robinsons wor...i also not sure leh...

Morning, Mummies!

Piyoz:
Ya. HP got video function but i think sometimes got lighting problem so video not so nice..

And memory storage too small to take too many videos.. same thing with my digital cam.. take few videos only and memory card no space liao..

Piyoz and Zuen:
Haahaa.. True ah.. I probabyly wouldn't want to witness the birthing process too.. Too bloody..

But will you get a video-cam for shooting the devt of the bb? Cos my fren was saying video-cam can jus turn on and shoot whatever and whenever you want.

Feifei:
So you not intending to get a video-cam?

Zuen:
I have told my boss about the maternity leave too.

Same as feifei: total 12 weeks, the last 4 weeks can take at another time me haven't decide whether to take all 12 weeks at one go or separate like what feifei is going to do..

Not sure about the stores but you can get the Ameda Pump from the following website. They are local distributor of Ameda Pump and they are mummies too.

http://www.mumsfairy.com/

Cactus:
Erm.. What is SLR cam? Heehee.. Diff from video-cam?

Ya.. I also only want my hubby to be the only one with me.

pumps:
I think i will either go for avent or amenda. medela seems to be too way out of budget already. not sure if I will bf for so long also as this is my first....

video cam:
I think i will use digital cam. coz video cams are too exp..... already quite a huge outflow of cash for the bb. hee hee..... think digital cam are quite convenient. either take pic or video down.... 2 in 1.... maybe I'm those lazy type.... haha...

but if u all intend to get video cam, best to get during IT fair. can get a lot of great bargains. maybe cannot bargain on price, but can ask them to throw in a lot of freebies. I've bought quite a few items in the past IT fairs and I managed to get them to throw in a lot of freebies. quite worth it loh.... but then having to go thru the crowd in our stage in indeed a challenge.....

Taka baby fair:
Anyone has any idea when is the taka bb fair? The expo one is too far for me..... plus I got some taka vouchers, can utilise.... hee hee

Cactus:
Wa.. So SLR cam is for professionals is it? Then we need such good cameras ah? Heehee.. Actually this is my first time heard of SLR cam.. so totally clueless..

Hmm.. Come to think of it.. Quite true ah.. Should enjoy the moment instead of busy taking video..

But what about taking video of the bb's development along the way?

iamsnow:
i'm oso the lazy kind eh.. so i think digicam is fine too.. but i'm concerned about the lack of memory space in digicam..

Ya... so i'm thinking very hard now whether should get video-cam or not.. if want then have to get it at the IT fair in mar.. heehee

For the past years, taka baby fair usu in march..

hi angel z and feifei...
thanks... my boy is ok now. he went back to school yest already. but i cant imagine next time got 2 kids falling sick at the same time... how to handle man...

Hi Soyabean,

Good to know that he is ok now.. You should take care too..

Wa.. Dun think about it man.. I see my coll.. whole family fall sick tog.. 2 kids start to fall sick first then spread to the mum n dad.. super jialat loh..

Then the mum sick still have to take care of everybody..

angel_z,
Ya lor, not intending to get a video cam cos hor, tink I will be scare of the birth scenes too...keke..dun wan hb to capture the moment of pain..keke..

cactus,
actually its good if can hv a video cam to record down bb's learning process =D..

soyabean,
U are most welcome =D...thats y lor..if 2 kids fall sick together, parents will be chaliat..But heard fmr my colls that normally hor, if 1 kid sick, the other will get sick too de..

angel,
u can buy a few SD card for your digicam. nowadays, SD card are very cheap. esp during IT fair. really cheap. i think i bought a 2MB mini SD last year during the fair for 30+. quite cheap. so if using digicam, no worries on the memory....

feifei

My tummy has been hard since 5th mth pregancy. Now can see a vertical black line very obvious in the middle of tummy.

Zu En,

I saw Ameda Breastpump selling at Mothercare shop too. I think most maternity shops (selling bb stuff) will sell pumps. Kiddy palace does not sell pumps.

Slimming down.. i dun tink my hb will support any $$ for me to go slimming at centres.. he usu will say he doesnt bother what figure or looks one.. dunno true or not lah.

feifei,

Here is the list again. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
bb stuff
bb stuff.xls (26.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

angel,

Re: Digicam

U can also consider SLR camera.

Personally photography is both me and hb interest, hb is better with photography.
I have tok with hb ored, we most likely will not take pixs of the birth process cos dun tink be interested to see "bloody show".
So most likely take bb when he is born and dressed up

Hi Angel, these days, there are SLR cameras for non-professionals too. The professionals use fully manual ones or semi-automatic. Non-professionals use semi-automatic or fully automatic. I think the price is about $600 min these days. The fullay manual ones as a basic kit without the different lens cost about $1100 min. Canon is a very popular brand, I think.

I'm not going to be a stay at home mom, so won't be getting a video cam cos no point lah. I can't expect my parents to video tape the baby. When I was younger, my parents taped alot of me and I had hundreds of photos. Actually, now, I appreciate the photos more than the video tapes (now converted to DVD format). Photos are easier to refer to, work with (make into montages, cards, calenders). Watching the videos require quite alot of effort. Perhaps also cos my parents don't edit the tapes.

Ellysia,
My vertical line not so obivoius lor =D..

Tks for e list..hehe..will go print out now =D..

TInk TF is organising leh...

angel_z,
video cam is good, can capture alot of memorable moments. a good one would cost $1k and above. actually, if budget is an issue now, camera's video function can also serve the same purpose. however, jus have to bear in mind that no matter what, the main purpose of camera is to take pict while video cam is to record 'live' motion pictures. so there will still be limitations to camera's video function. eg when u download and playback on tv, a video cam file would display better than if it's a file from the camera's video function.

however, if you are watching it via PC, then should be ok.

as for recording the birth process.. i dunno whether it's really encourgaed or not.. coz it can be very bloody and it's shot @ our very 'private' area.. can be considered extremely R(A) :p in any case, not sure how many of us would want to watch it back again.. imagine after watching the video, scare ourselves and some may develop phobia towards having No 2.

during my 1st delivery, my hb wanted to take some pict when bb is just came out from 'there'... but gynae and nurses said cannot take.. coz it's considered R(A). can only take bb, but not with that 'area'..

pm188 raised a good point. very few hospitals will allow taking bb from "there". But I believe t's not R(A) reasons but medical-legal concerns. hospital is afriad we will use the tape to sue them if something happen to bb during birth. use the tape as evidence.

on the point of video cameras or digital cameras, whichever mode we choose, I feel we need to consider storage (dependability and space) and need to edit the photos/shots soon after taking them. no point takig loads of photos/shots, then edit them many moons later.we won't ever get them done.

feifei:
ya.. think i will be scared off by the bloody scene too..

My fren wore her own PJ at TMC when i visited her.. If not, you have to wear their outfits, which are exposed at the back.. I guess jus bring your PJs with you.. If can wear then wear loh..

iamsnow:
ya hor.. another alt can buy many many SD cards for the digicam

pm188:
Reali ah? so interesting.. didn't know they will actually stop you from taking that part cos of RA issue.. But its our own body ma..

cactus:
So actually they dun allow videocam in the labor ward? but can bring in digicam? i still wan hubby to at least take pics of bb..

ya.. i thot of this too.. how often do we reali playback the videos to look at the bb? think photos good enough hor?

hi fei fei, we can wear anything we want in hospital, but during delivery at labour ward, have to wear their gown. It's a tie back gown. easier to administer epidural and easy to take off in event of c-section.

Cactus:

Oicic.. Okok..

Wah.. You and your hubby very sweet eh.. Still make montage of your courtship..

That time i wanted to start to make a montage but end up too lazy.. heehee.. And dun think my hubby as nice as yours.. Ask him to help me do the montage.. He sure scold me siao.. So unromantic

Hmm.. Seems like i answer my own qn hor.. Since so lazy so shouldnt get video-cam.. Jus stick to digicam and photos.. =P

angel_z,
Just checked with my fren who delivered at TMC< they said better bring our own PJ to wear =D...

cactus,
tks for the infor....Tink i hv to go get 2 set of PJ liao...hmm...

All,
Anyone knows how to make an online scrapbook? Cos i was tinking of making one for my bb...hehe...cos lazy to make a blog leh =D.

cactus,
so envy leh...ur hb romantic..my hb? haiz, he said he not those romantic kind..everytime if wan buy present for me, will sure ask me go select myself or give me AP, ask me buy myself cos he duno wat i like..haiz....no surprises...hehe..

So how u goign to celebrate this yr's Valentines Day?

Cactus,
I am also not a romantic person but hubby is. He was asking me last night where shall we go for Vday dinner while I wasn't intending to celebrate it. :p Just curious, how did your hubby propose? Must be v romantic and unforgettable?

It's a good sign that you are falling deeper and deeper in love! It could be cos of the short courtship cos there are cases of 7/8-year courtship ending in break-up.

Feifei:
Ok.. I aledi prepared few sets of PJs, those 1 pc with front buttons de.. Bought at pasar malam.. My fren told me front buttons convenient for bf-ing (like what cactus said).

Cactus:
Wah!! so good.. your hubby so romantic.. but very funny.. you said you not romantic type.. usu girls are n guys are less..

Well.. i have heard diff stories so far.. some said bb make their marriage life less fun cos all their time occupied by work or bb..

I also heard of couples become closer cos of bb.. Cos they both saw how they love and take care the bb then fell in love more.. And husbands become more romantic after bb comes (auto romantic).. Will buy flowers for wives.. think wan to show their appreciation for giving birth to the bb.. heehee..

But hopefully all of us will have a stronger relationship with the new bb.. =)

Hi Zu En,

My gynae is also Dr Kee. I intend to sign up his package. However, i will only get the discount if recommeded by somebody. Could you recommend me? if u are alright. can you PM me your name. Many Thanks, JKyeo

Tera:
You also very xin fu!!! Husband is the romantic kind..

My husband jus complained to me that have to plan for V day.. Sigh.. So not romantic wan.. Futhermore V day is also my birthday.. Still can complain...
kao_angry.gif

Cactus:

Your husband is super romantic eh! Your proposal so sweet!! My husband wrote me a letter as proposal.. hahahaha...

P.S. You all power!! can actually save 80% of your salary!!! You dun go shopping? =P

Cactus:

Wah.. After reading your post, i realised you are also romantic at heart lah.. heehee..

So cute eh, the both of you..

I bet your courtship days till wedding, and having bb sure very sweet.. Cos both of you reali spend the time n effort to prepare special gifts for each other..

Think can make your relationship into a movie liao.. heehee.. =P