(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

My feet never swell yet for this pregnancy, but think the bones got bigger..... so end up must buy bigger shoes too.

after my #1, my feet never went back to pre-preggie size leh..... don't know if after #2 will go back or not.

I still can't bear to throw away my old shoes..... thinking someday, I can still fit into them ... hee hee...

Piyo,
hihi...

I also heard Ameda not bad, cost $300+ lor..hmm...Some frenz told me electric better than manual cos no need to exert too much force to press...

Wed? bery fast hor, rem to take something sweet b4 u go for the scan, must tell bb to be guai, open legs big big to show u all hor =D...

morning ladies!!

gong xi fatt choi!!!

keiqi, i understand the agony of having big family. during my wedding, i was supposed to give APs to all my unmarried cousins and their bbs. i gave out almost 100 just alone on my mum's side. heng my hubby side no need to give. if not i'll be broke! luckily after my marriage, no need to go visiting with them.... hee hee...

zuen, u only put on 7.5kg ar. i put on around 10kg already......
my hubby say my face is so round now.... jia lat....

Morning!!
Going back to work tomorrow, so free bird now with my elder in school.
Enjoying my cuppa of coffee now in peace hehehe...

Zuen
Some boss dun allow one short 3 mths lor, but I prefer that cos AFTER you return from your 2 mths, when you wanna take that remaining, it is UP TO THAT BOSS to allow the leave. Some irritating ones might not allow lor.

Hi feifei
Sometimes feet swell could be due to too much walking. Try raising your legs at night when you sleep or lie down to rest.

morning all, am back at work as well.

Linda,
Wah, so good, still on leave! hehe.

feifei,
i can understand about the comments part cos i also get it from some ppl esp colls as there is this other coll who is 4 weeks later than me and her tummy is still v small so ppl keep saying mine is very big. was quite affected initially but now better cos of encouragement from the gals here as well. just rem that everybody's body shape and bb growth is different so don't be too bothered ok?

Extract from Babycentre: "If people are telling you that you look smaller or bigger than you should at this point, remember that all women and their babies grow at different rates. What's important is that you see continuous growth and change, not how fast or slow it is."

another query - has anyone used mothercare maternity pads before? It seems like the stick on type but I can't be sure...does anyone know if it is cottony or the plastic like texture?

hi cactus,
medela single electric is not so good on me although a lot reviews on it are OK.
i have tried using 1 electric single pump and 1 manual single pump at the same time - can work, but hands very busy hehee as for bb feeding on 1 breast and pumping on another; i think more risky, as afraid the hands get clumsy and the bb will get discomfort with position or accdientally drop the bb if not careful
i heard from frds who are total breastfeeding got pregnant too. should be can ovulate, but difficult to calculate without the use of ovulation tools bah.

cactus,
"pump out one breast when bb is directly feeding on the other" - u may need 2 hands on one pump.

"use manual for 1 breast, and electric for another breast" - u will have a lot to sterlise & wash.

"if this bb is a natural birth, hb and I want to try for #2 very quickly" - How soon?

It's possible to have menses & ovulate when u BF,
it's our body who will tell us when we are ready for #2.

Hi Cactus,
interesting discussion on APs! My side is hokkien, and hubby side is teochew/cantonese. We did not receive any AP after we got married, not even the 1st yr. and we gave AP to all the unmarried relatives, including cousins/siblings, not just nephews/nieces.

hi everyone...
wishing all a happy new year...
may this year be smooth sailing for all of us, esp so since we are having a new family member this yr.

my colleague was jus telling me this morning that mid yr is a good time to give birth to little mickeys and minnies. She said no good for rats to be born in late part of the yr. Reason is that its good to be born in spring/summer when food is abundant, it'll mean our little ones will be very fortunate, as compared to autumn and winter where food is scarce. =P

i didnt hv a good new yr cos my boy was sick. he came down with high fever and ear infection early last week. Then on cny eve, pus started to come out of his ear. We even had to rush him to KK a&e on cny 1st day cos the pus didnt stop. he's much better now... recovering well thankfully.

Hi Cactus,
I'm not sure if this AP tradition is related to whether hokkien/cantonese etc. I think it's more of a family tradition. Some of my friends who are also hokkien, have different AP-giving tradition from me. just go with the flow of the family i guess.

Happy CNY to all!

Cactus:
I ROM in 2004 and had the traditional wedding ceremony in Nov 2007. But like you, i also receive ABs this CNY.

This is our first CNY as a married couple. My relatives said its tradition that 1st year after our traditional wedding will still get ABs.

My family is hokkien and husband is hainanese.

Haahaa.. I think good lah.. Got lag time for us to get used to not receiving ABs anymore and to start giving ABs. =P

I started to give ABs to all the unmarried and younger siblings and cousins this year too. But my mum told me those unmarried but older than me, can give smaller ABs as its only a courteous gesture.

Soyabean,

Never heard of this abundance food theory before.. But still comforting to know that our babies are born in a good time of the year.. Heehee..

But few of my relatives did say that Rat is a good year for babies

Oh no... Hopefully your son is doing better now.. You should rest well too.. Knowing that you and your husband must have super frantic thru the incident.

all this talk about APs quite interesting =) I also only give to unmarried younger siblings, cousins. The older ones, think they feel funny to take.

First year, my MIL insist that we give to one uncle who's unmarried.... so awkard!!!

cactus,
my hb also hainanese.... you know hainanese? I totally lost everytime in their house.

btw, I was bf my #1.... EBM plus formula ... then got pregnant when he was 4 months old... hee hee..... only stopped bf when the gynae advise about the risk of contractions.

I guess no need to stress yourself our over getting enough supply by 4th month. Realise stress = little milk. Just enjoy bonding with your bb, then see how things go after 2nd or 3rd month. As it is, I personally find tbf plus confinement plus new born plus jaundice (my baby had it for one whole month) already very stressful.

As for pumping while feeding, some friends told me they pump with avent manual while bb feeding on other. manageable, but comes with practise, might want to ask hb for help initially.

Piyoz,

Ya.. Hubby is hainanese.. Haahaha... Got trend eh..

But he can't even speak a word of Hainanese.. So he is as clueless as me when going visitings!! At least i'm not the only blur one.. Haahaa..

Cactus:

Heehee.. Ya.. We both sama sama eh.. Jus relaise only after you mentioned it.. =)

This thread is happening too fast!

Ya.. my relatives (both my side and husbby's side) gave us ABs (but not all leh, some only)..
They also never explain to us the rationale behind the tradition.. Jus said that its tradition loh.. I also blur blur..

Nope.. Didn't get support cushions for bfing.. Thinking of trying bfing first and see whether need or not.

Btw, i bought Ameda electric dual pump ($300+) but haven't start using yet so wouldn't know good or not. But i bought it due to good reviews from frens and coll.. So hopefully its good..

Angel, I heard good reviews about Ameda electric dual pump too. Also about Medela PIS, but it's soo expensive. I think Medela swing is for mothers on the move. I'm only planning to provide breastmilk to bb for 1st 6 months... so didn't think it's necessary to invest in a more expensive pump cos SIL only used hers for a couple of tries. She gave up breastfeeding after 2 weeks.

Cactus:

Yup.. PIS is ex..

I also didn't really plan how long to bf.. Plan to continue bf as long as i've the supply.. But dun know how long will it be also.. So jus buy a good one in case the supply can last..

In case i got not enough supply.. then hopefully the pump can last me till my #2.. heehee.. =P

Ya.. My coll who didn't plan to bf for very long jus got a manual pump which she used for about 3 months.. And she saved some $$ on the pump..

feifei,
My frenz bought a Medala electric (single), but I m not sure if it is the same as Medala mini electric. She bought it in Oct 07 and the warranty is for 1 year.

iamsnow,
I already feel so fat liao and I am only starting my 22nd week. I am big built to begin with. I think the weights are gg to me and not the bb. You should be 2 weeks ahead of me huh?

Linda,
That is wat I am worried about. I think it will be very difficult for me to utilise the rest of my maternity leave once I come back to work. Moreover, I hope to breastfeed my bb for 6 months at least and my workplace not at all family friendly. haiz..

Cactus and angel_z,
Not intending to breastfeed for long too. Hopefully for 6 months. That's why pondering about which pumps to buy, what budget to set. Aiyo..

angel_z, cactus,

both my MIL and FIL from hainan, china. So it's always full hainanese at their place. I'm always the blur one around. but now picking it up slowly, at least can laugh at their jokes...

RE: BREASTFEEDING PILLOW
you referring to the My Breast Friend support pillow? Think not very necessary.

But having a good chair is good. When I had #1, bb room not fully done up. Only have his cot plus a mattress on the floor. So got to carry bb out and sit on the floor to bf. If not, but go all the way to the living room or study room. Troublesome.... imagine doing it every 2 hours!!! Later we got a sofa bed in the bb room. It was so much better.

piyoz,
I think I will breastfeed bb in the living room in front of the TV when I am in my own home. Hahaha.. But I have a sofa bed in the to-be bb room. Good for night feeds.

Zuen:
I think at the end of the day.. Must buy something that you are comfortable with (the operation, budget, etc)

For me, i also dun intend to bf for too long.. Dun think i'm that disciplined to last for more than 6 months.. heehee.. Plus.. have to go back to work so will disrupt the bfing schedule..

But at the end, i still decided to get an electric dual pump cos frens have feedback that manual have to use strength and can be quite tiring at times.. Thats what made me decide to get the slightly more ex one.. Cos i'm thinking i dun wan to suffer over bfing during the confinement period when i can have better use of my time.

So comfort comes over budget loh.. heehee..

Piyoz:
Wa.. Your PILs true blue hainanese eh.. Icic.. My PILs will mix with other dialects too, e.g. Cantonese, hokkien..

Piyoz & Zuen:
Wa.. Sofa bed in the bb room sounds like a good idea eh.. Now bb room only bb stuff.. Didn't even think of getting a good support for bf-ing. Think i planned to bf-ing either in living room or master bedroom

HI ladies,

I am still at home le. Tomorrow then start work, office tmr officially start work.

Went visiting to some places these few days, no time to see forum, i tot everyone busy so didn't check.

No one give any AP to my bb le. But several commented that my tummy doesn't look like 23 weeks(5 mth), look smaller than 5mth. Somemore, this week i am ored 24 weeks liao (6 mths). Actually i realise my tummy look small from the front but actually big from sideway.

Yest met my hb's fren who just given birth. She gain 21KG and her bb is 2.6g.. now she lose weight but still got 15KG to lose.

Re: Breast pump

I saw several forum feedback tat medela mini electric spoils quite easily. Also, if u notice more people are selling off medela mini electric than other models.

I more or less gonna buy an Avent ISIS manual pump first ($80) for maternity (to pump out any excess milk for storage or to prevent engorgement).

Then if got milk supply and want to cont bf after maternity, i may get an Ameda electric pump since it is cheaper, $350. Originally wanted to get medela PIS but tink $700plus is too high, a bit risky.

Zu En,

Me also only intend to bf for 6mths only. Even though my office got bf room, but it is on another floor and i dun tink it is good to disappear for 30min x 2 or x 3 times per day, my boss will wonder where i go eat snake le.

cactus,

My customary is Oct 2006 and during last year CNY 2007, even though i give AP some elderly /uncles still give us AP.

Cos they say 1st year shd give some exemption to newly weds.

piyoz and Zu En,

A soft bed at bb room? Wah not a bad idea.

But my mum plan to sleep in bb room together with bb so she can help take care of bb during my maternity leave. So i dunno got space for me to put sofa bed or not. Maybe i just get a comfortable chair will do, or use one of my dining chair.

Btw how long will bb take to feed if latch on? 15min each feed?

Ellysia,
Same here.. Ppl have been commenting that my stomach is small for 23 weeks (we same time period eh!)

My aunt who is 2 weeks later than me (25-26 weeks) has such a big tummy.. Scary..

But personally i think my tummy is quite big aledi.. Cos never see tummy so big before loh..

Argh!! 21 kg is alot eh! Esp when the bb is only 2.6kg.. Ok.. At least she is slowly losing weight.. So not so scary..

My office also got bf room but i got the same worry as you.. What if ppl think how come i keep disappearing frequently in a day?? Later ppl think i'm skiving.. Hopefully they are smart enough to know that we are new mothers and got bf-ing to do.. Sigh..

angel,

Personally i also tink my tummy is big ored too.

Yah i have the same worry as u. Cos my boss is a male boss and their generation dun have bf one.. so he may not know the need to pump etc, and v strange for me to tell him too.

So i tink i can only pump twice or once per day, and sometimes if got meeting, may have to skip pumping once or twice too. So i suppose best to start storing at last mth of maternity so that have some spare storage in case.

I dun tink they be smart. Last time my clerk always disappear for some time, i also tot she go skiving. Later she told me she need to go pump twice so she will disappear at 10am and 5plus. I am a female so i understand lah, so its ok. But my boss is v stingy and male boss, won't understand one.

Linda,
I did lor, will lift up my leg for 2hrs before i go sleep every nite but it doesn't seems to help..Wats worst is when i always wake up in e morning, my fingers are so stiff lor...sometimes can't bend, need massage awhile then can...so scary leh...hope its nothing serious..

Tera,
Tks for e an wei ger =D...

LengLeng,
meaning when we BF, can possible to get preggi also hor? cos i was tinking of tracking my O again after my menses is over so that i can kkeep track and try for a boy =D>.hee

soyabean,
so glad to hear that lor..Lucky all our mickeys and minnies are born mid of this yr =D..Hows ur boy now?

piyoz,
u meant u got preggi aft e 4th mth? I also heard that we will be fertile within 6mths after giving birth lor...so those who dun wan to hv another bb so soon would need to take precautions =D..

Hi Ellysia,

The time taken for a bb to feed varies with the age of the bb, the amount of sucking power, how correct the bb is sucking, and the amount of milk the bb needs. My friend's newborn took 45 minutes to be completely fed. It was very tiring for her. Her bb gal was born 1 week early, at 2.6kg. not sure if that means her sucking power is not that fantastic. my nephew on the other hand, sucks very very fast but SIL could not produce enough milk for him.

Wow.. so envy all those mummies still at home.. me went back to work liao..

ellysia, my tummy also super small for 23/24 weeks.. my friends all commented i look very small... even my gynae also say my tummy is small and compact.. guess as long as baby is doing well should be alright bah...

So nice of your offices to have bf-room. My office dun have... but im quite fortunate i got my own room but got window view and very transparent curtains so I also duno how... draw curtains also useless....

Zuen, good idea to have a sofa bed in bb room... we actually had a sofa bed we wanted to throw away, now can tell my hubby put in baby room liao :p

cactus,

I see. 45mins is indeed long! I cannot imagine i sit inside bb room on my dining chair for 45mins. Maybe really need to get a better chair for bf liao. I not sure want to spend $ for the sofa bed.

I have also consider doing bf at living room but my brother is also staying over during my maternity, a bit inconvenient lah though still possible.

Ellysia:
Ya hor.. True eh.. Seems like bf-ing is quite a recent thing.. So not many ppl will know about it.. The older females not familiar, dun even say the males..

Sigh.. But i'm also afraid that if we cut down on pumping when at work hor.. Will affect the supply.. No demand = no supply

Feifei:
I'm also hoping that my #2 will be a boy then jus nice, 1 girl and 1 boy..

Anyway how to prepare for a boy? One of my coll told me if wan a boy, should try to conceive on the 12th and 14th days (counting from period day 1)

Is it true?

Roxy,

So good.. To have your own room..
Can hide somewhere (a corner) in your room which is blocked? Or maybe you want to create a temp blocked corner?

Hi Ellysia,

another thing you may want to consider doing if you need to breastfeed in the evenings/nights is to express out milk. Like that, you can have more rest, and no need to worry about feeding bb in the living room. There are some babies who have nipple confusion and may reject the breast eventually though if they are accustomed to feeding from the milk bottle. It can be good or bad. Apparently, babies find it easier to feed through teat instead of direct feeding so they prefer it. however, we may not effectively express milk via pump as compared to direct feeding.

angel,

Definitely if cut down number of pumping times, supply will reduce.

How long u intend to pump after maternity? I intend to pump for 3mths after 3mths maternity cos its recommended to bf for 6mths minimum.

if i am not wrong, i conceive my current bb (boy) 12-14 days after last period. My mum told me the best period to conceive (any child) is 10-17 days after last period (best timing is 10 days -14 days).

Angel, Ellysia is correct. I've been told if cut down number of pumping times, or if we don't completely express out each breast, supply will reduce. it works on demand and supply. Try to pump at regular intervals. time it with the normal times your bb demands milk and you would increase your chance of breastfeeding for as long as possible.

cactus,

pumping at night.. i intend to stop latch on maybe 3 weeks before maternity leave ends. So will be pumping from then. Before that will try latch on as it is easier.

Btw pumping using manual or electric, do we need a table for support or we can just put on our lap to pump? If lap will be easier, i can pump at any bedroom.

latching on is easier and less messy. nothing to wash, nothing to sterilize. I'm clueless about pumping though.. never attended any antenatal classes. will depend on lactation consultant and SIL for help.

angel and cactus,

My colleague recommend to pump every 3 hours (best timing), meaning we shd ideally pump 3 times at office. But technically hard to acheive, so many people try to pump 2 times at office.

My colleague says cos she use a manual pump and thus milk supply not as good. But she still manage to give EBM to her bb for 6mths.

I tink if dun want to pump for too long (i.e. not those who pump for 1 year type), just gradually reduce the number of pump times when u want to stop milk supply. IN this case can gradually cease milk supply and dun have to take medicine to stop, which i understand got some side effects.

If u want to pump fast and hassle free at office, guess better to get an electric dual pump (pump 2 breasts at one time).

Ellyisa,
I was abt to look for u cos din see ur posts today..hee...

Sofa is good lor, but tink nowadays new flats all small small rooms, tink i also no space to put, can only put a chair there...

Heard that expecting boys is like that...only can see big big frm sideways lor..front not so obvious de...Whereas mine is super big lor, thats wat the other ple say lor..I find my tummy ok leh..just that now bb grows bigger, i feel more xinku...3more mths...Where is ur next appt and anental class? my appt is this fri, class is this thurs...

feifei,

Ya lor my bedrooms all small small too.

My next class is on 18 Feb.

Next gynae appt, i am suppose to go tmr but cos tmr my office officially start work and hb got a course to attend, so i change appt to next week.

Later i may go play some games lor, so will not be at the forum

Ellysia,

Like you, i planned to pump for 3mths then when going back to work, got to see my supply loh.. Of course, it would be good if able to bf longer..

Recommended 6mths (inclusive of the first 3 mths?) or 6mths after the 3mths maternity?

I conceive my current bb minnie at the 10-14 days period too

angel,

Recommended let yr bb take BM for 6mths.
So if u latch on for 3mths ored, just need to pump for 3 mths when go back to work.

If u latch on bb during maternity, wean yr bb off from yr breasts few weeks before u go back to work. Pump yr milk out and get someone else to feed bb with EBM (expressed breast milk) in milk bottles.

Some of my colleagues give BM to their bb for 6-7mths. Some gave as long as 1 year or 1.5 years.

talking abt pumps, i'm thinking of getting an electric one. coz i heard from my friend that initially will need to pump more often. can be quite tiring if u use manual to pump so often....

but i have no idea what to buy. any idea what is cheap and good? hee hee.... don't think i want to invest so much in pump as i not sure how long to bf also...

Ellysia,
Both my coll and friend who gave BM for 1 year and above are very very pro-bf. Told me must perservere but personally I'm also thinking of stopping at 6mths. I also have the problem of taking time out to go nursing room located on a different floor to pump while working. Most of my close frens stop after 6mths.

Cactus,
Yah, the older flats are much more spacious. My current place's living room is kind of small. Poor baby will not have much space to crawl/move around much, hehe. Agree that should not leave maid with bb alone. So you'll be staying with your parents right? At least it will save you the hassle of sending maid and bb to your parents' place. For me, most likely, my ILs will pick up maid and bb from my place every weekday morning.

ladies, just want to share that recommendation is to feed breast milk exclusively for 6 months. but if it is difficult for us to do, it's better for us to get FM instead of breastmilk. WHO recommends 6 months of breastfeed in "third world" countires so that antibodies can be passed on through breastmilk from mom to bb. It's not that critical in a developed nation like ours. There is also no evidence to show that breastfed bbs are better off than FM bbs at any age. Forget the fact that FM is different from breast milk. I feel it doesn't matter because there is no difference in outcome of the child. Having said that, I plan to breastfeed if possible, but I won't sweat or be too distressed if I can't breast feed.

hi Tera,
yup, we'll be staying with my parents. our plan was initially to stay with my parents till June 2009. Not sure if the plan will change. I've a gut feeling we will stay beyond June 2009. have to monitor housing prices. Even after we move out, until our child(ren) go into primary school, we will ask my parents to move in to our new home. But chances are we will stay within 10 minute drive away from my parents.

Cactus,
Thanks girl, for the assurance on FM vs BM.
I also dun want to beat myself up over the inability to BF.

It's good to stay close to bb caregivers cos travelling time can be a killer. I know of a friend who rented out her own place and then rented another place so as to be closer to her auntie who was taking care of her son.
My ILs place is about 10 min drive away from my place but I kind of wished my parents' place was near as well. :p They are about 20-25 min drive away (with good traffic).