(2008/06) June 2008

i bought my pumps during the taka bb fair.. usu can get good deals/ package during that time...

mrs wong always said (and i agree), if u really have the intention to BF, should invest in a good one at the start. and the tmc nurses @ parentcraft would always recommend duo pumps (either avent duo or medela PIS).

in case some of u not aware, u can try the 2 difft breastpumps @ TMC parentcraft. jus need to make appointment. but do bring along a milk bottle and the cooler bag to store your EBM. if u dun hv the bottle, TMC will put your EBM in those glass bottles.

i tried both avent duo and medela PIS @ TMC parentcraft before. both are good, but it's a personal preference that I like avent brand :p. moreover, all my bottles are avent, so it's more convenient to use back an avent pump. if not, gota transferred the EBM from medela bottle to avent bottle.

but in terms of the number of detachable parts to be washed, PIS has lesser parts to be washed than avent duo.

Feifei,
Low blood will lead to headache? Aiyo.. I thala minor lah, sure low blood de. Trying to stay off panadol.
My friend got the Medala electric single pump, but not much chance to use cos her bb refused to be breastfed and her milk ss got cut off very shortly. She wanted to sell to me at $100, warranty until Oct 08. I tot of paying more to get a new one with full year warranty.. Why is teh warranty 6 months niah? Shouldnt it be 1 year? Ya, me oso intending to buy nearing delivery date, but if Taka got good discount during the bb sale, maybe can grab then.

iamsnow,
You are not alone. I am fretting over breatpump, bb stroller and car seat now. So many brands in the market. Aiyo..

Ellysia, pm188,
Any idea how much is the PIS model? Is it a duo or single pump? I am quite hestitate to invest in too good a pump. My friend bought hers before delivery and even bought bags and stuff with the hope to continue to breastfeed after maternity leave. But her bb refused to cooperate and her breast milk dried up before the full month..

Tera,
Stupid right.. CNY eve then have to tahan until 3pm.. By then, can only have reunion dinner.. Have to rush from 1 dinner to another. -.o"

feifei, that's what I think, baby could be drowsy.

Ellysia, Tera, Lengleng, I email my gynae last night, she said baby could be drowsy and ask me to monitor for the next few days.

roxy, baby not yet move till now coz I got the take the medicine last night.

pm

I also tot directly latch on but my colleague suggest i bring along pump in case bb can't latch then still can let bb drink breastmilk.

Zu EN

The best recommended is PIS electric pump (dual) which cost $700plus. My colleague who bf more than 1 year for both kids is using. Supposely is the most branded of all pumps.

I dun tink i can sustain to pump so long, maybe at most 3 more months after maternity. So i considering to buy ameda electric pump instead which is half price of medela one.

Before deciding on the electric pump, colleague also recommend me to get manual pump first then later get electric pump if got milk supply. But then again i heard comments that if use manual pump can't get much let-down and milk supply will cease, so electric pump is still recommended.

So i am considering to get a manual pump then see how. But which manual pump is good?

hi all mummies,

I am from Jan08 MTB thread,
*If anyone is keen to buy medela mini electric breast pump, i have one to let go since not using anymore. Only used less than 10x, still new & bought in Sep07, warranty ends Sep08. PM me if u r interested for price*

PM,
I will be using avent bottles...so did tot of using Avent pump but afew frenz said not so good, they strongly recommend the medala mini electic lor...so me now also at a loss, duno which pump to buy...

feifei and pm,

I have indeed heard that avent one is not so recommended.

If use other brands, still can use avent storage milk bottles to store EBM right?

ZuEn,
PIS is a duo pump. dun really rem the retail price.. around $600+ (or maybe more)? sorri, coz i bought avent, so looked more into pricing for avent. avent duo is retailing at $799, i think.

if you are keen, can also get a 2nd hand one which many mummies are selling. can get one around $300-$400. main expensive item is the motor. if u r worried about hygience issue, can buy spare parts of avent or medela directly. if not, i tink sterlize them properly would be fine too.

for your friend's case, i think coz the bb doesn't want to latch on. could be due to positioning problem? actually, u can still BF w/o bb to latch on, so a pump is still useful and you can give the best milk to your bb.

feifei & ellysia,
avent not bad.. i tried both brands.. works fine for me. my frens used avent and all of them like it..so i guess it's personal preference. TMC parentcraft recommended both and they have more avent duo pumps than medela PIS at the parentcraft room. i actually asked mrs wong which one to buy and she was the one who recommended be to get avent instead of PIS, tho prices of both are similar.

feifei,
ur frens used avent single/ duo pump?

ellysia,
can still store EBM in avent milk bottles, jus that you need to transfer.. so one more additional step, which oso means more things to wash and sterilise.

I tink i may buy a avent manual pump before delivery. Then if got good supply, then get an electric pump for usage at work.

I saw avent ISIS manual pump cost around $80.

If end up with 2 pump maybe also good, i keep manual one at home and electric at office, then dun have to transport pump to and fro office.

Mog,
Since gynae also mentioned that bb might be drowsy, don't worry too much.

ZuEn,
Ya lor, so sianz. Can't wait for 3pm to quickly come!

Feifei,
The warranty for pump is usu 1 year right? I might be going with friend to Robinson's next week to get the Medela pump cos she got the membership - she mentioned got sale.

going off @ 1pm...
To all MTBs:
May the Lunar New Year bring you Prosperity, Wealth and Happiness. All the best for the RAT year! gong xi fa cai

Ellysia : my experience with pumps :
i bought the avent uno isis - electric pump - it was really very very good. i like the let down control and the suction. however, like what the other mums pointed out, one side will leak like mad, so you have to put pressure on the nipple to stop the flow on the side that is not being pumped.

I also bought a avent manual (abt 70 - 80 bucks) for office use. I find that it's pretty easy to assemble and to use and am happy with keeping it for my second one.

Hope this helps !!

Ellysia,
The PIS cost $700+?? Faint? Wat if not enuff breast milk? Then the breast pump will be wasted lor. I think I will only consider the cheaper range. Probably budget about $300. Cannot imagine that the breast pump will cost more than the car seat or stroller.

I still have 2.5hrs more to go.. My neck super long liao. Some of my colleagues have taken full day or half day leave. Now the office so empty, all the more no mood to work. Super painful.

ellysia,
avent manual is good. i use it when i went overseas.. coz can pump anywhere. but if bring electric ones overseas, need to always find a power point, which is not feasible always. robinsons having 20% sale now too.

ZuEn,
duo pumps are always ex... PIS and avent duo prices are comparable.. hahaha.. i also never expect breast pumps can be so ex until i started to look for one. dun harbour the thot of 'wat if not enuf BM' :p must tink positively, then can stimulate more milk

i'm leaving @ 1:30pm...

shycloud,
Must take leave wor. Knock off at 3pm today. If want to go off at lunch, still consider as half day leave. My Company is very particular about timekeeping de, need to clock in and out everyday. If late or go off early, then will deduct pay de. Bo bian, I am in the labour intensive industry. Most importantly, both my bosses are around. No way we can sneak out. Can only guai guai wait for 3pm.
Cannot surf net too frequently too. Sometimes my IS dept track the web sites that we go to, especially during office hours.

pm188,
Hehe, I must start pyscho my bb to drink my BM when she is out to make my investment worth.
I never expect breast pump to be so expensive. Haiz.. another major expense to take into consideration. I hope to breastfeed after returning to work, but my office not family friendly. So might not be possible..

To all Mummies and Mummies-To-Be, Happy Lunar New Year. May the year of the Mouse bring us all prosperity, happiness, health and wealth

ZuEn,
dun worri... things will work out well for your bb and you
tell u hor.. if feed BM.. can really save alot of $ than if you buy FM. If i'm not preg now, I would have continued giving BM to my boi. FM very ex, $30+ per tin and can last only about 2 weeks or so.

is there a spare room in your office? seek permission to use it as a pumping room lor. if not.. go to handicap toilet, which I know some mummies do that if their office does not offer a pumping room.

Happy Lunar Chinese New Year! MAy everyone enjoy good health, happiness in the year follow that follows.

Next yr we'll have an addition to go visiting le.

Tera,
3pm liao.. Yippee.. gg off liao. Waiting for hb to come and fetch me. Never eat much during lunch, feeling hungry now.

pm188,
I oso hope that I can continue to breastfeed wor. Like you say lor, can save $$. My company no handicap toilet de..

Re: bb movement
I think my bb holiday mood too. Havent been moving much today.. aiyo.. we mummies worried over everything.

Gong Xi Fa Cai!!!

I won't be able to log in as much as I would like to liao cos my company just ban Singaporemotherhood early this week! now can only log on from home..

re: breastpumps
Yes PIS is the best! was using that for my 1st ger for 13mths! hope I haf a chance to use it again this time

WOW today is the 1st day of CNY nobody post anything yet. guess all of us are busying visiting relatives now. me too... very happy mood hehee chat again on monday :D

Hihi gers,
I am back at work. Luckily it is only half day today. Yday played MJ until 11+pm. Now my eyes can barely open. Looks like most MTBs will only come back on Monday... any poor soul working like me?

Linda,
So fast? Lucky you. I only went visitation at parents' and friends' place. Nobody give my bb any bao leh, only I give people. Dun dare to go relatives' place, else sure give ang bao until siao.

ZuEn,
I've started work today today
but like you said, good thing it's only half day. wish I have a long weekend though.

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
U started work today? sianz hor...

Linda,
Wow, so fast u hv angbaos for ur bb? ;p.

Kylene,
U also start work liao? jiayou lor, bery fast over de....

Hi Zuen, Kylene
Never mind, a while more the half day will pass.
I played MJ till 2am and chat till 430am!! LONG LONG time no such priviledge already, must make sure full cos when Maximus is out, wont be able to do so for at least another year.

Received angpaos for the little one only from grandparents and 2 very close frens from MJ table last night lah. I went to a cousin's house and in there, one short 23 angpaos. Very shiong. hahaha... But every year still go cos really once a year meet up liao.

Could someone please update for me? Just had my detailed scan today and baby is 332g at 20 weeks. Confirmed we're having a minnie. Hubby is ecstatic cos his family usually has boys.

Btw, also realised that the measurements for transcerebellar diameter is slightly lower than the average although still within the normal range. Does anyone here know what that indicates? I'm only seeing my gynae next week to ask him. Am feeling a little worried now although the sonographer said there's nothing to worry about. Would feel better if I knew what it actually means.

Linda,

I also told hubby that this yr is the last time I get to have fun, cos next yr will be stuck wif baby liao.

My hubby and my side, together we already gave out 70 over Ang Pows. Cos my side all bring maids and partners. Monday still have to give my colleagues, another 20 plus more to go. Sigh... My colleagues all thick-skinned one. Already asking for AP before new yr, one even buay paiseh, told me if I give 4 bucks AP, I'm very stingy. Waliao, boss only give 10 bucks, he expect me to give as much as boss...

I'm still on leave. hehe.....
Happy belated Lunar New Year to all of you!
Seeing that all of you were discussing on on the breastpump. I had some comment. My frenz is currently using Medela mini elect pump for about 6 mths only and she had sen for repair once. And she told me this pump is quite noisy.
She told me Medela PIS is quite good but the price is bit pricey oso. And i oso saw that some mummies recomend Ameda, which cost around $300+.

Btw, anyone had any idea that TMC had breast pump rent service?

Hi kelcqi
WOW!!! 70 angpows!! No wonder why some people dun like CNY.... Very shiong leh.
I never give all my coleagues, only those VERY close ones last time. Now I work with hubby, so I also never give the rest of the colleagues. Save $$. Your that colleague, can ignore him/her, so big liao, not embarressed to still get APs meh? I also give $4 angpow for normal ones.

Tera and zuEn,
I also tot the warranty for pump shd be 1yr..but during e most recent Taka sales, I went to ask e sales gers, they told me its 6mths only for the medala mini electric single...Only for those duo ones, its 1yr of warranty ...hmm..

Kelcqi,
Really bery shiong leh...so many hor..hazi,...but no choice lor...

Hi all mummies to be,

First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I am from the Jan 08 thread and I have just delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08. Doing confinement now. My confinement lady is good and she has everything under control which is so important to me as a first time mummy, everything also blur.

Anyone interested in looking for a confinement aunty? I can recommend you mine. Just wish to share this with you all coz I understand the concerns and anxiety we face during pregnancy and still gotta think about confinement.

Morning ladies...

Back to work liao...abit sianz hor...

Hows all ur cny?

All mummies expecting minnies,
Are ur tummy big big? cos hor, when I went visiting, can always hear ple say "Wow, ur tummy so big leh, as if wan to deliver liao!"...i got abit offended actually lor....

Hi gers,
Good morning.. back to work...

kelcqi,
Wah, so many ang paos to give??!! I purposely skipped my parents' relatives cos I have got large extended family. Only went to my hb's side. His extended family very small niah, but ang paos have to be bigger. This year, we spent at least $1k on ang paos.. My hb was reading the newspaper yday and commented that the market rate for ang paos has risen to $10 each wor. Lucky kids. During my time, only $4 and $6 niah.

Feifei,
Warranty only 6 mths ah.. My friend got hers for 1 yr leh. If like wat felicia said, need to send for repair after 6 mths, then the warranty cannot cover liao (on the assumption that we buy before delivery). Headache. But I dun intend to spend too much on the breast pump leh. I dun think I can breast feed for long after my maternity leave.

Re: Maternity Leave
We are entitled for 3 months' maternity leave. If we want to take the 3 months' leave continuously but boss dun allow (due to short of manpower), how huh?
I havent discussed with my boss but got a feeling that I wun be given 3 full months at one go. Probably allowed to take pockets of maternity leave after the 2 months.

Feifei,
Morning..
As I did min visitation, I spend alot of time nuahing at home wor. However, I realised that I get very tired when I run around too much.
I am not sure wat is the "standard size" wor. I think that my tummy is reasonably big, but my hb tinks that it is small. Today is the start of my 22nd week.
Yday, one of my hb's guy friend asked me if I will be able to lose the extra kgs after delivery. So sad. I think I must have looked fat.. I put on 7.5kgs liao..

zuEn,
I see...duno leh, i saw e warranty card only 6mths for e Medala mini electric wor...Ur fren also bot Mini electric?

Re: maternity leave,
If I am not wrong, the 3rd month's pay is paid by govt...meaning the company will pay us 1st, then they will claim frm govt after we finished clearing our Maternity leave...

Most likely I will be taking 10wks of maternity leave, then the remaining 2 weeks will be taking in sept and in OCt...

Ahyo, guys are like tat de lor....I tink i put on more than you leh...My next appt is this fri lor...scary put on 2more kg...on average, I put on 2kg every mth/visit....haiz...

My legs also swell alot lor...one time even can't fit into my sandals so hv to buy new ones...

morning ladies....

RE: Breastpumps
Anyone know about Ameda? Heard not so expensive, and quite good also. I had Avent manual for my #1. Don't know whether should invest in electric pump for #2.... hmmmm???

My little one still keeping us in suspense... so now don't know whether boy or girl. But gynae said 90% girl. Going for detailed scan this wed. Think probably should be able to tell by then.