(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff0000">piyoz*

ha ha ha *blushed*

cactus*

but just rem to ask him to lug the bag along when he dash to the hospital! ha ha ha

tera*

real life experience mah so must share..

The talk about VE really make me feel very scared and uncomfortable now. Sometimes I just wish I can be put to sleep and when I wake up, the baby is beside me. Maybe a C-sec can do that. hehe

pkdust, if possible, try to experience contractions before you go for c-section. it's an amazing part of birth. I've not been through it but other mothers tell me that. :p

Ladies, happy new year again in advance! me logging off liao!

cactus,

then that's very convenient for you =)

Maternity pads and disposable panties, hospital will provide one set first. If not enough, then we use our own.

I finished 2 packets of Kotex pads within my 3 day stay. so opened up my own mat. pad after that.

RE: Maternity pad
Hospital only provide the tie string kind. So good to get those stick on kind. I like the Madam Pureen maternity pad. Very thick.... like super big loaf of bread, but very good cushioning for the bottom.

cactus,

After water bag burst, go home to fetch?

Like my case, got no car and no place to store also. Have to put at home le.

maternity pads i understand hospital got give but my colleague say the quality they give not so good so buy outside one better.

Why need extra pillows? Tot hospital usu give 1-2 and more pillows one. U need laptop during labour?

If i am not wrong, i read somewhere cannot take fotos during labour but can take after labour.

I understand that 1st one, after water bag burst can still be v long to give birth one. Many hours. So no hurry on the bag wat. Ask hb to fetch and back, maybe just 1-2 hrs at most.

But i do agree need socks at least, bec' change into hospital gown will go barefeet.

but once in the delivery ward, cannot wear anything. undies also cannot. so no socks leh.

ya, during labour cannot take photo. Anyway, too gan jiong to take photo also.

OIC.. cactus.

Anyway i tink for me, i just put bag at home.
If everything smooth, i be at home and my mum agree to come over to stay so she can take of me during the day. If waterbag burst, mum will fetch cab for me, then we inform hb to rush down.

If emergency then i set off from office then ask hb to fetch bag from home to join me at hospital ba.

ellysia,

ya, don't like that part too. some more the gown is tie at back kind. feel so uncovered.

Don't remember feeling cold. Probably too painful to feel cold. Bit warm in fact. But the husbands do feel cold. So must remember to pack a jacket for them.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

tat is wat they say lor but gynae allowed us den.. im even busy msging my frens when i was in the midst of the long labour.. of coz not the pushing phase la.. the lull period phase..</font>

morraine,

OIC cos on epi lah..can relax a bit.

No TV at labour ward right. i no see TV.

Then maybe have to bring some music and books liao.

it all depends on how u are admitted, if u are admitted and pushed to the normal ward first den ur things wil be there mah

got tv la.. i was watching scooby doo i stil can rem..</font>

piyoz,

I always see mothers with bb and hb being pushed from one floor to another. Mother will look tired but happy le. Hb will just look dazed.

morraine,

I tot if waterbag burst, they straight put inside labour ward one.

One of my colleague case is, during one of her checkup gynae discover she ored dilate 2cm liao. So tell her to check in the next day. So check in next day, put epi, break waterbag.

ellysia,

Last time I deliver at MEH, got TV. This one will be at TMC, can't remember got TV or not.

Heard RH has all the cable channels.

depends i think.. anyway for mine is induced labour and was supposed to be warded first but no rooms available that night so i was sent to the delivery suite straight away instead and slept there.. ha ha ha

piyoz*

yeah GLenE oso have those cable channels</font>

ellysia,

ha ha.... probably hb too bored with all the waiting. mummies just very happy whole thing is over.

I took quite a while to get used to my son's look. Very strange feeling to see him for the first time. but of course very happy =)

cactus : good on you to plan ahead ! i'm also a planner
even a short weekend trip, i'd put everything down in an excel sheet and strike it out when i've packed it !! keekeee

am not sure if you are keen to bring your bpumps to the hospital ? I didn't for my first, and she was really sleepy on the first and second day so i had to borrow a pump from the hospital to pump - and dunno if it's just me being particular, but the parts were sterilised in a mixture from the sterilising tablets which smelt real bad !!! but no choice - cuz my bpump was still sitting at home - unopened !!!

Mor : my hubby very blur too la, for the first one, brought camera but didnt charge the battery !!! hrmp - was so angry with him - cuz i didnt get to view the birth

best to have your hospital bag in your car or at home - in my case, it was at home and i was re-packing and packing just before leaving for the hospital !!! heehe nesting instinct ?!

i also brought along a cute little stuffed toy - to put in that trolley bed thingy which they place our newborns in. cuz it's quite hard to identify her in the nursery - esp when visitors wanna go look at the nursery window - you can just say "oh, my baby is the one with the <barney toy."

ha ha they look very weird rite!! when i first saw my ger.. i was like.. HUH???????!!!!!

K Ong*

agreed on the identification purpose thingy, for me is my gfren bot me some balloons so we tied it to her cot</font>

morraine,

glenE so good?!!! MEH only has the local channel. Some more reception very lousy. Watch a while only I want to sleep. I was admitted 6am, so no show to watch at all =(

ha ha my tv was on from 6am all the way to 6pm when i delivered.. i recall watching the cartoon channels oso coz i tot shld stay happy and den wil feel lesser pain wahahahahaha</font>

<font color="ff0000">ok ladies.. me logging off already.. enjoy the festive holiday and eat more ladies!!! take care!!</font>

just curious, if we were check in to hospital at nite due to mild dilation, but still long way from actual labour, we are supposed to sleep in hospital but wat about our hubby? Can they oso stay there w us while waiting for our labour to come?

morraine, angel_z.
Saw your nicks in the BP which selling bag organisers...Hows e quality of the organisers huh? cos me tinking of getting one...

WOnder wat can i use them for hor..hmm...

piyoz, thanks. I tap tap my tummmy a lot of times already, baby still doesn't move.

Ellysia, I will drink honey water and try to see if baby moves.

Tera, I try not to think of it for now, but baby still doesn't move.

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR!!

See that everyone discussing about water bag bursting and admitting into hospital..

Wa.. i'm impressed that some of you can watch tv when giving birth and can rem too? Power..

Hi feifei,
Which bag organiser ah? The Alexi bag organiser ah?

If its alexi bag organiser, its good to use if your bag is messy.. i found mine useful cos i have alot of barang barang in my bag and very difficult to find things..

Mogudog,
dun tink so much ya..bb could be drownsy, and then sleeping de..

Angel_z,
ya lor...the bag organiser...=)..WHich one u bot?

I bought small and large one.

Small organiser - for normal working bag (currently using now)

Large organiser - intend to use it in diaper bag as diaper bag that i bought doesn't come with many pockets..

Like i said earlier, its very useful.. Now my working bag is so much neater and i won't be like crazy woman frantically searching for things inside my bag, e.g. thumb drive (so small), hp, coin pouch, keys, hair clips...

Mog,
Try drinking something sweet and then sit down or lie down and see if bb moves. Can understand your worry but it's likley that bb is drowsy from the medicine. If tomr morning still dun feel much, then give your gynae a call to see if you can schedule a visit for peace of mind.

Halowz gers, morning feifei,
Happy new year too.. Still have to tahan until 3pm then do the mad rush from IL's place to my mum's plc for reunion dinner. Yday night, I was still preparing the ang baos. Duno got unplanned kids appearing or not, haha.

Re: Headache
I had been suffering from headache recently. Normally only one side (left). Bearable but super irritating. Woke up wit a darn heachache this morning. Think it will plague me the whole day. I read that headache is one of the preggy side effects, is anybody else suffering the same fate?

Re: Medala electric single pump
Any comments?

ZuEn,
U workign til 3pm hor? me so sleepy leh...din sleep well last nite...

Is it low blood?

I am tinking of getting e medala mini eletcri pump also...$193 before discount lor...but warranty for only 6mths, so can only buy in May or april....U also intend to get this pump?

morning ladies!

finally cny coming! long weekend.... yippi!!!

talking abt pumps, i'm totally clueless on what to buy.... sigh....

Mog,

If u sit or lie still, bb tend to move more. Drink sweet water then lie down/sit down awhile and see how.

feifei,

I understand that the medele mini electric pump doesn't last long. seems to spoil easily.

It is their PIS model that is the recommended and good one.

Zu En,

Ya tink headache is pregnancy problems le.

I had it sometimes on and off also.

morning ladies..

<font color="0000ff">Happy Chinese New Year</font> in advance!

Re pumps
My coll who has just stopped breastfeeding (she only stopped when her son turned 1 YO), recommended Avent and Medela.

ZuEn,
I also can only go off at 3pm..

I intend to buy a manual pump first to try out. Which manual pump is good?

Btw do we need pump for hospital stay? Or no need pump?

Good morning all... finally a long break for all of us!! Today I was on half day but work from home, so now happily surfing internet at home while leaving office email on :p

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone!!

Mogudog, dun worry about baby moving k... now is too early for us to feel baby movements yet. I understand your worry coz 2 days ago, my baby also refused to move despite my heavy tapping and even shaking stomach... also got worried... then late at night he suddenly decided to move.. has baby moved yet?

Ellysia
U can bring along to hospital in case u need it urgently....sometime for the 1st time bb don't know how to suck nipple....just in case...
As for me, i never pump my milk....my 1st son luv it till he is 13 months then i conceived my 2nd bb....while the 2nd son only 3months he breastfeed

morning ladies

Happy CNY!

Re breast pumps, the most recommended ones are Avent and Medela. Avent manual is good. For electric pumps, Avent IQ isis (single) and duo or Medela PIS are the better ones. I used to use the avent isis.. quite good and it comes with manual parts. so convertible between electric/ manual. later, as i continued to BF, i changed to duo.

duo pumps are good coz when we pump on one side, the other side wil leak. when i was using single pump, i put the avent breastmilk collector shell at the other side to 'collect' the leaking BM. alternatively can also use breastpads to absorb.

the downside of duo pump are that u have more parts to wash and it's heavy, esp if u intend to bring to officeto use after ML. i brought it with me everyday to work + working bag... super heavy and 'unglam' lor :p not forgetting you still need to bring empty bottles to store your EBM and ice cubes to keep them chill.

ZuEn,
I dun have headache.. but i heard it's common.. esp if you also experience sleeping difficulties.. do take care
rest more during the CNY hol.

ellysia,
hospital does not provide pump. u can bring it if you wanna try to pump. but usu for the 1st 2-3 days, only have colostrum, so if your hospital stay is short, maybe dun have to bring breast pump. up to your personal preference

i actually only started pumping after 2 mths.. jus before i went back to work. before that, was direct latch on.