(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia,

U can take a cab instead.

liew,

Maybe u can get yr hb to sing song to yr bb. My bb also used to be shy from hb. But after hb sing song to bb (i told him highly recommended by forummers and force him to sing :p), bb seems to respond to him.

My tummy belly button ored pop out liao. If material of top is thin, can see the belly button.

Movement near buttock not comfortable le.

angel_z
Now i have 2 boys, they r happy to hear the news that they will have lil sis to play with...........my hubby got no chance to feel the bb kicking when he put his palm on my belly...

At East Shore for 3rd delivery, 4 bedded they will upgrade to 2 bedded. For my 1st n 2nd i booked 2 bedded.....

sharon,
TMC has valet parking, but the parking fees is still based on the number of hours your car is parked at the carpark. unlike nuh, which i assume is a flat fee. on top of that, you may still want to give tips to the TMC valet staff. so all in all, more ex.

angel,
TMC's 1-bedder are very popular. the nurses and mrs wong oso said that if at the time of admissio, there're no 1-bedder, then have to take rooms of another category. however, if there are any available 1-bedder rooms, they will then give it to you.

Yup, my mum told me about the belly button.. She said it will turn out totally..

Danryan,

REally? They are boys and they very happy to have a little sis to play with ah? So cute.. Didn't know boys like to play with girls..

Ellysia and Liew,

Thanks for the tip! Will get my hubby to sing song to baby too.. heehee..

for mummies who are seeing Dr Ang, not sure whether u heard that if you book 4-bedder room, TMC will give free upgrade to 2-bedder room. that's actually good news

TMC's 2-bedder rooms are quite good too. I stayed there while my No 1 had jaundice. however, no one next to me during my stay, so i still get '1-bedder' privacy at a lower rate :p my hb also stayed with me in the hosp :p

angel,

For me i will get 4-bedder and upgrade if there is a need. I will be in NUH which i think will not be pack ba. For other ppl's visitor, at least got ppl around u n hear their laughter mah. If I alone in the 1-bedder room when my visitors are not there yet will feel scare leh.

As for TMC... I'm not sure leh. after hearing what you have said, I may get 1-bedder in case wan to upgrade to 1bed no bed.

Hey gals,
I went for my DS yesterday. Was quite disappointed because it was rather brief and not in detail. Mine was conducted by the gynae. I dunno how long it takes but guess it is less than 10 mins. Though she did shout out some figures for the nurse to record down, but I never get to see the report. I remembered during my DS for my first baby in Eastshore, the sonographer did do a very detailed one for me with lotsa scan pics and after that a report given. I really dunno if I should do it again with another hospital.

After the scan, when I ask my gynae how is it. She just mention no abnormalities detected and that my baby is not small. Think I will end up with a BIG minnie. She said will be around 3kg plus. Come to think of it, I dun even know the current weight of my baby : ( Then she told me baby is in a breech position. But its still too early to worry about the position.

And I realise I gain 4.6kg in total. My last checkup was 51.5kg and yesterday, to my surprised, my weight is 53.2Kg. Also dunno what I eat for pass few weeks that my weight gain is 1.7kg. Actually I heard its advisable to gain 1 kg per month.

pm188,
Yup, i know that under Dr Ang, we'll pay 4bedder room package but auto upgrade to 2 bedder, but now sure if we opt to upgrade again to 1 bedder, need to top up how much?
Your hubby can stay w u in 2 bedder room?

angel and liew,

U can also sometimes tok to yr bb abt yr hb and tell him/her to be guai and listen to daddy.

Sing song, i heard is to sing nursery rhymes for best results.

pkdust
in one month u increase 1.7kg....while i gained almost 4kg in 28 days hahahaha.....can't imagine wat is my total weight gained thru the pregnancy..

ellysia,
my hb did talk to him before... but only few words and say hallo or what are you doing inside... No wonder my gal not keen to listen to him...

Re: Upgrade to 2 bedder from 4 bedder... the upgrade is only done if the 4 bedder is not available. If sway sway that day, 4 bedder is available, TMC will put you in the 4 bedder.. the upgrade is not auto one....
That time i stayed at both TMC 2-bedder and 4 bedder before.. both also quite bad experience... people moving in and out, lights on/off etc, cannot sleep. Then sleep 2 bedder, I got such a noisy inconsiderate neighbour who talks so loud and repeat her hospitalisation story to everyone that even I can repeat... and the 2 bedder is very small as compared to 4 bedder so can definitely hear your neighbour...after that 2 experiences, i changed my mind to stay 1 bedder.. initially wanted 4 bedder free then hope free upgrade de
Hubby can only stay with you if you are staying in 1 bedder. Same for baby.. tink your baby can only be with you if you are staying 1 bedder...

For TMC valet park, can request them to park at the open air HDB car-park. They will drive the car there and you will be charged HDB parking rates.. much cheaper. When hospitalised, TMC will give you 1 pc of season parking which is a flat $4 per day regardless of hours...

pkdust,

your gynae is at which hospital?

My gynae said avg wt to gain is 2KG per mth during 2nd trim.

Felicia,

Maybe u shd ask yr clinic to get a better idea.

liew,

Previously my hb only speak to him, also like u say.. hello and good night. bb no respond.

Then i force hb to sing song last week. The 2nd time he sing the same song, bb kick!

Now sometimes hb tok to me, he will kick also. Last time no response to hb one.

I am still not v sure as this is recent, i try to experiment more in the meantime.

But no harm trying, u all tell me whether got use or not.

HI , I think TMC always got this few upgrades de la... cause my Gynae Dr caroline also say can help me arrange from 4 bedded to 2 bedded...
BY the way, im now in my 19 weeks.. i should able to feel bb movements right?

Liew,
Not weight. My gynae says my baby seems chubby and its not small. I am more towards small-medium build and my hubby is tall but lean. I wonder how come we end up with a BIG minnie. haha. She said when delivery that time will be 3 kg plus . Very big for gals.

Ellysia,
My gynae at GlenE. If we gain 2kg per month for 2nd trim, then during the 3rd trim we should gain even more right? They say 3rd month is the time when we will gain a lot of weight. Dun forget we have to add around 2.5kg for baby weight during the 3rd trim.

felicia,
hehee.. seriously, i dun really know how much more to top-up, but you can use this chart as a gauge? http://www.thomsonmedical.com/fees.htm

my hb could stay with me coz there was no other patient staying in the 2-bedder room. private hosp will be more lax bah.. as long as dun disturb other patients/ no one complains. but if someone is sleeping next to you, then i tink hb cannot stay lor.

sharon,
even if you ask for 1-bedder right at the start, oso doesn't mean you'll get 1-bedder when u r admitted... depends on availability. that's what the nurses and mrs wong told everyone during my antenatal class.

pkdust,

How come yr gynae can predict yr bb wt at delivery. My gynae didn't say much but she also said my mickey is chubby but cos me and hb also medium-big size so she think it is ok.

I tot 2nd trim increase more. Sometimes i saw some preggy colleagues 2nd trim increase lot but come to 3rd trim, the rate slow down.

actually, if you look @ the rates, the difference betwn single and 2-bedder is quite great.. almost twice the rate but the difference between 2 andn 4-bedder is smaller. come to think about it.. single-bed also not cheap.. imagine spending $400 per nite for a hotel room.. can get quite a good room liao :p

tink the hosp rates have increased. i remember last year, single-room only $300+ and the companion fee is only $60 or $65. now it's $75.

ellysia,
i will ask my hb to do so... thks for advice

pkdust,
wow... that's great to hear ur gal gal is pretty well fine thr..

pm and felicia,

In that case, also have to depends on availability..

I guess it will be quite jiat lat in dragon year maybe.

Maybe just have a 1st choice and 2nd choice in case.

I cannot imagine how to sleep with a stranger in a hospital and w/o hb around.

Soyabean,
Ya loh...Dr Yang is so brief. A bit disappointed . Then I suspect she never scan the heart properly. Because baby is in a "funny" position so she said hard to see. Then she mention maybe will scan it next time. But later when I ask if baby's heart is okie, she told me even if there is hole also cannot see at this stage because the heart is so small. She mention a lot of abnormalities must wait till baby is borned then can detected. For this I agree with her loh. So DS is not 100% also. By the way, she still own me a 3D scan. Soyabean, when is your DS?

Ellysia,
What pm say is true. Actually must try not to increase so much during the first and 2nd trim because 3rd trim will balloon like nobody biz. Really afraid I will end up with a big baby then that time cannot do natural birth.

pkdust,

Really!! Jiat lat. I ored balloon recent few weeks.

Maybe i shd cut down on my recently enlarged meal amounts.

In that case 3rd trim will be v soon for us. For me i am now going to 23 week liao.

Roxy,
Me also hv e same concern as you lor, but hor, 1 bedder is really bery ex compared to 2 bedder hor..

Ellysia,
My ger is hor, when she is moving at nite, i ask hb to put his hands on my tummy, then she stop..Hv u start reading to ur bb? I just bot some storybooks yest, will force hb to read to her tonite..keke...

pkdust,

My EDD is 3 June. But when doing Oscar scan, the person say EDD is around 30 May.

Now is 22.5 weeks. By sunday shd be start of week 23.

feifei,

My mickey will stop moving whenever me or my hb placed hand!

The only way maybe ask yr hb to put his ears at yr tummy instead.

liew,
haha, i cannot help laughing when i saw that your hubby talk to your bb about how she is doing inside. but i think that is quite typical of guys.

pm188 and feifei,
my hubby also pointed out the difference and ask me to consider 2-bedder @ TMC.

since many of us are discussing about the hosp fees.. room charges etc... can read the links that I posted.

meanwhile, here's what TMC's t/c said about rooms:

"The Hospital cannot guarantee the type of accommodation desired because of emergency admissions. Efforts will be made to accommodate you in the type of accommodation you requested depending on beds availability on admission. All rooms upgrading will be strictly at the discretion of the Management.."

"In the event if a single room is not available on admission due to emergency admissions, we will convert a 2 bedded room into a single room. In such an event, the single room rate will apply."

teragram,
din knw abt the increase in fees until i browse thru' TMC's website jus now... hmm.. now maybe i will oso consider 2-bedder.

kekeke.. coz i jus delivered a year ago.. now gota spend $ on hosp bills again... abit 'siong' :p.. better discuss with my hb.. kekekek

I havent' weigh myself, i tink i may have gain 5KG liao or more by next checkup.

Last checkup i gain 3KG, which is 2 weeks ago.

ellysia,
hehehe.. so many of us delivering in Jun.. if we take 2-bedder or 4-bedder.. maybe some of us will be 'neighbours' in the ward :p

Ellysia,
Wow...then you will deliver must earlier than any of us here. But I heard 3rd trim only started on 28th or 29th week. 2nd trim is the longest. Wonder if you gals have read something like that before.

pm,

If we end up neighbours and all guai guai type, not noisy then not so bad le.

Worst is those unfriendly or those noisy one. i tink i cannot sleep. I always have problem sleeping at strange environments or noisy environment. Even i go travelling with hb, I have difficulty sleeping in hotels.

pkdust,

EDD is not accurate one lah. Delivery date depends always.

I always take it 1 mth before and 2 weeks after.
Cos i tink normally if 10 days after EDD still no sign, gynae may propose induce. Then if early birth, usu happen within 1 mth before EDD.