(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia, oh izit? thanks then i must go shop shop liao bcos i cannot fit into normal clothes - must wear maternity so got to spend $ liao hehee wan to buy more lucky color to wear bcos CNY sure gamble mah

Hi Ellysia,

My doctor calls the blood test + NT scan the Triple Screen Test.. I didn't realise it is also called Oscar. Yes. It is 90% accurate.It's the NT scan alone that is only 80% accurate.Sorry for the misunderstanding!

cactus,

The way they explain.. v confusing sometimes.

I got the Oscar brochure at home.. my gynae usu give me brochure for any test.

I was given a brochure when I was considering whether or not to go for the test... but it was just called Package A, B, and C. So I wasn't aware of the terminology and just went along with what my doctor called it.

I feel so tired today. Spent the entire weekend clearing up space for the baby. Now there's a nice nursery corner in our room at my parents' place.
So exciting! For my ILs' place, just have to bring a crib in, and clear 2 shelving units for the essentials...
That's easy to do.

<font color="0000ff">haiz.. u all bot ur CNY clothings? im not sure if i shld buy maternity wear or buy baby doll dresses..

ZuEn, last week feel slightly better, can still go NTUC walk for a while, I hope my condition improves and hopefully can go back to work in Feb.

Felicia, ya going for detail scan on friday, looking fwd lei.

morraine,

Buy both lor.

I bot all my CNY clothings ored. I just went to 2 maternity shops only, too tired to reckee around.

did any of yr bb kick u at night? Mine sometimes kick me at nite and i woke up few times during the night. So sleepy.

morraine,

Buy those maternity clothes tat dun look v big type lor. I bot some that looks like babydolls just that it got more gathers in front.

Actually babydolls also can but eventually also cannot wear sooner or later.. so a bit waste of money unless u are wearing them back after pregnancy.. cos i usu dun like to wear babydolls cos they make me look pregnant even when i am not.

morr,
then go for babydoll dresses.
not so funny cos i know a lot of non-preggie ppl also wear babydoll dresses. also can wear after giving birth, that's my thinking lah.

girls,
i just read about this gender prediction kit in "baby" magazine. maybe some of u already know but i just got the mag over the weekend. was quite excited to know that can find out gender through urine test with 90% accuracy but then it's too late for most of us with our detailed scans scheduled liao.

Tera,

Ya i just saw it recently at Guardian Pharmacy.

Actually no hurry to know gender since ored pre-determined ored, even if know also like that.

Teragram,
I got to know the gender tester on magazine oso. But is not cheap. If remember correctly is cost $60+ rite? Anyhow, most of us had oledi knew the bb gender.

me oledi brought some maternity blouse for my CNY. Me cannot wear those babydoll dresses as i'm quite big size loh. Will look funny leh.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia &amp; tera~

ok ok i think i wil go for babydoll instead.. coz i have quite a no of dresses from my previous pregnancy as in i bot from m)phosis and GG5 so dun wanna buy more already this round but coz CNY so had to grab some new clothes onli..</font>

Ellysia,
Actually i'm more curious to know how accurate it is. :p But i guess if they dare to state 90% accurate they must have tested quite a bit beforehand. Hehe. Agree lah, gender's already fixed, but depending on how early u can test with that, it may be good for those who needs to buy bb clothes before 5th mth (eg travelling to US) and knowing the gender might help.

Felicia,
Yup, not cheap, almost 60 bucks. Guess going for detailed scan def more worth it cos can see bb and know a lot of things at one go, hehe.

morr,
I like GG5 dresses, v nice!
I used to walk past the shop one way to work and will always marvel at their dresses on display. Sadly enough, they dun look v good on me. haha.

<font color="ff6000">tera~

ha ha i wore their dresses throughout my first pregnancy.. coz tat period they had lots of empire cut dresses so just nice but they are not cheap though.. though at that point of time, i kip saying can and WILL wear them after i deliver BUT.. haha.. i refuse to after delivering.. luckily they came into use now

btw~ any of u went to Macau before? just wondering anything special to look out for over there coz though travelled quite a bit but never got my feet on tat island before *lol*</font>

<font color="ff6000">so boring today at work, later during lunch time got to sneak out to visit my gf who jus delivered yesterday

liew~

hee yeah yeah but their dresses tend to be more low cut therefore need to wear another tube inside if not too 'revealing' for work wear leh.. haha</font>

Ah morr,
get babydoll dresses lah! you dun haf to put on materniy tops so fast! you so slim! Btw, can pm me your Acc no??? Thanks!!

Going macau? CASINO!

Hi tera, Ellsia and Felicia,
I haf not found out the gender yet and won't be doing so till maybe after CNY? maybe can try the kit but ex lah! hahaha

anyone feeling discomfy/pain at the lower abdomen? like some nerve/ tissue out of place like keep tugging? I felt it whenever I wake up and about to get out of bed.. wondering shd pop by gynae or just wait and see..

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

kaoz.. slim ur head la.. if slim den dun need to buy new clothes lor ha ha..

i msg u la.. the PM system cannot make it one.. waste time onli.. ha ha

abt the discomfort, i have for a few times and i asked my gynae abt it before and he said sometimes its the position we sleep in and oso mite be my intestines coz the place where i point to him at my rite side.. he say are places where intestines are located

Morraine,

me went there before but was on a day trip with travel agent. Quite rush. The agent brought us to some famous tourist place. Ya, the egg tart is nice.
When r u goin there? I think now jetstar got promo, rite? one free one!

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

oic.. yeah im going to HK and Macau on 8th and back on 12th.. ya ya i heard of the portugese egg tarts rite? </font>

MOR,
that rite.. most of their clothes i need to wear extra tube top... but still nice.. even now all maternity clothes i still can't able to wear now.so most of my clothes are bought those babydoll dress and clothes..

*piyo*
The kit is tempting hor? But ex lah, I agree.

Hey, I also get the tugging discomfort a few times esp when i get out of bed. I will check with gynae when i see her this week but morr's reply is quite reassuring.

morr,
You ARE slim what..hehe. i am intending to visit macau as well and i've also never been there b4, only impression is casinos. :p if there's no replies here, will check with hubby tonite and let u know. He's been there 2 years back.

Mor,

u r goin during CNY! SO nice. I keep telling my hubby i want to travel before i deliver, and he was quite reluctant as he's so scare if i get into problem like fainted (i got anemia) or food poisoning lah when in oversea. So sien!
Yup, the portugese egg tarts, i luv it!

Teragram,
Ya tempting but nothing beats seeing for yourself during the scan right? haha

morr,
slim means slim, even tera agrees!

Tera and morr,
so the tugging is normal.. at times I just lie on my bed, wait for awhile b4 I get up to see if it subsides.. been getting it over the weekends..like somewhere in the tummy kena pulled like that..

Teragram/ Piyo,

yaloh, the test kit ex loh. Hopefully this coming check up, my bb will co-operate lah. I hope to know bb gender before CNY, coz sure everyone is going to ask me the same question.

Felicia,
Me2! then if get the kit, you test liao you will still doubt mah! come CNY pple will sure ask! but if I go c gynae 1-2 days prior to CNY, bb only 19 wks, bu4 san1 bu4 si4.. so thinking if I still get the tugging feeling, maybe go c gynae this week, sun4 bian4 see bb cooperates can see gender not hhahaa...

Felicia,
Your hubby is protective and concerned abt u that's why dun want u to travel.
Wah, the egg tarts in macau so good ah? I must also try it then! Yah, I guess during CNY, ppl will usu ask gender so hope ur bb co-operates, hehe. Good luck!

*piyo*
I think no harm seeing gynae this week and try ur luck. Hehe.
At the very least, can clarify on the tugging feeling.

Feifei,
Hb and I went Suntec to walk, walk on Sun. After 1+ hr of shopping, only bought 1 top for bb. Till now, havent buy much for bb. I am worried that there will be too much to buy in my 3rd trimester, then cant walk liao. Now, no urgency leh. Hb say can leave the buying to him if I really cant walk much in 3rd trimester. I think better not, haha.

Luz,
Bo bian. CNY coming and I 2 weeks never clean my house liao. Heng my house not much stuff, so easy to clean. We shifted in in Dec 07 niah, so generally quite clean. Hehe.
Hb helped to wash the toilet. Although not very clean, cannot compliant too much. ;p

Mog,
Jia you. We preggy very poor thing. Dun rest oso cannot. Rest then worried that boss and colleague not happie. -.o"

Morraine,
If dun want to spend too much, can try babydoll at This Fashion. Cheapo way out, but can solve the problem temporary. I think they brought in alot of babydoll dresses due to CNY.
As for Macau, I spent 1 day there when I went HK 2 years back. They have some churches to look at, but closed very early (I think evening time). Did not explore the casino. The lanes and roads are very complicated. Ended up doing shopping and eating. Haha.

<font color="ff6000">tera~

ok thanks for asking ur hubby but its ok if u forget.. haha.. can excuse u!! hmmm yeah wil definitely go to the casinos
try my luck there since they say preggies are one lot of LUCKY ppl!! ha ha ha

felicia~

ha ha its good ur hubby is concerned over u mah
im used to travelling during pregnancy as long as its after first tri and im feeling fine myself as of now, i wil go ahead
coz when #2 is out.. doubt i can travel much already

piyo~

tot u arranged to have ur detailed scan before the CNY liaoz?

tera~

the HK egg tarts are NICER!!!! *drool*

zuen~

ok thanks for the Macau info
and ok will try to see This Fashion clothings but are most of their clothings are free sizes?</font>

Hi Piyo, the blood test i took is actually called extended alpha-fetoprotein (AFP). I haven't heard of the names frequently mentioned here like NT, Oscar, triple screen etc. But probably it seeks to find the same objective as those I get here.

Ellysia, my boy is 10 ouces now (280 grams) and heartbeat is around 153 per min. Haven't feel his kicks yet. How about yours? Seems like you have been 'kicked'. =)

Morraine,

In fact i got 1-2 piece of maternity top i bot previously end up too big so i keeping them for last trim.

For babydolls just get those long types so can cover over maternity pants can ored. If u want cheap ones u can take a look at This fashion, i just went recently and bot 1 too.

I bot 1 more maternity jeans, a different design with some patterns in front so that it look different from the previous one i bot. Its a pity bec' i just bot a new Levi Jeans just 1-2 mths before i get preggy and then i cannot wear liao..
cos its v fitting type. My buttock and thigh immediately bloated soon at 7-8 weeks leaving me no choice but to get XL size maternity pants.

Hopefully can reduce back to original size after giving birth so i can wear back those tight fitting jeans. Dun like bulgy maternity pants.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

yeap i oso got a pair of maternity jeans during my first pregnancy from 9mos but tat day i tried on.. its still too loose though i bot the S size tat time.. this time.. cannot make it
so im still wearing my normal Levis jeans but coz they are mainly low waist so jus nice
&amp; donning back my old jeans after delivery was my first AIM too!! haha</font>

SF Piyo,

Mine is 366g.. at 20.5 weeks. Shucks dunno is it too heavy.

But i only gain 3KG leh.. where did he gain the weight from?? strange. Maybe it is bec' bones heavier??

morraine,

then u are super slim than me.. i have to wear those bulgy jeans liao. Main reason is bec of the thigh and buttock actually. They have expanded quite a lot.

This fashion babydolls got some free size, some got size. Some even look exactly as those i bot from maternity shops and it is only half price of those at maternity shops.

Go to those bigger shops maybe at AMK/Douby ghout/Jurong Point.

Mogu : do take care and rest well ! what is important is the bb's health and not work (at this time at least) ! keeke

Morraine : u lucky girl u ! i applied for leave to go back to KL over CNY and my colleague nagged at me to say i just got back from long absence (MC plus no pay leave) so i decided not to, and perhaps just go up over the weekend, looks like there's no long holiday for me this yr

go Casino !!!

Most of you know bb's gender already ! i think it's those due late/end of June who dont know yet - including me !!! hrmp.

Ellysia : i was going to say, yes my baby kicks me at night - but not the one in my tummy - the 1 1/2 yr old baby who sleeps next to me ! keekee

i'm supposed to feel movements earlier in the 2nd pregancy, but i'm so cluless as to what sort of momvements it is ??

<font color="ff6000">K Ong~

hmmm... cannot even allow u apply like maybe say 11th or 12th so u can go back for a few days?

heh so any instinct on ur bb gender?

Morraine,

I bot those empire waist ones also, looks slimer and not so fat.

K Ong,

BB kick me soft kicks so far, but maybe cos at night sleeping i feel the kicks more significant maybe. Sometimes he kick me at middle of night.

Got one night he kick me and i scolded him then the next day he dare not kick me for whole day.
Now he back to kicking me at night.. sigh.

ok but the This Fashion in JP always so packed den the clothes all over the racks leh.. so hard to shop properly

Morraine,

Now i go AMK one, got one at AMK central crowd is okay.

yah i know the Jurong Point one v jiat lat, used to go there last time when i am schooling at NUS.

U can also try another outlet, just next to Citibank (walk right side when u come out from Douby ghout MRT) When u come out from douby ghout MRT, take the exit to the road surface. left side is to PS, u walk opp directly to right side. Along road side next to Citibank got one 2-storey this fashion.

The Douby ghout one is not bad, usu not so crowded v easy to shop.

Another medium size one is at Far East Orchard but is not v big.

Ellysia,
mine is 385kg at 20wks 4 days lor...heavy also...cos still hv e placenta and those fluid weight lor..

ZuEn,
ya lor, my feet swelling now lor..so hor, guess 3rd trimster can forget abt shopping much liao...thats y now i trying to buy as much as possible =D>..Now only left with a cabinet, a breast pump and other small items only =)...

TInk its a good idea to start getting bb thngs now wor..

Teragram,
For my case, i checked the online gender calender, supposed to be expecting a boy, in e end, turn out to be a minnie lor, so guess its not accurate for me...

thanks for the location info

feifei~

try to raise up ur legs whenever possible and drink more water coz it will aid ur water retention problem