(2008/06) June 2008

no, my child only due in june.

i am with christ the king. maybe, the practice at my church is different. to do baby baptism at my church, the parents and godparents has to attend 2 classes before birth and then 1 more after birth.

i thought it should be the same practice is all catholic churches?

wendy - i went on st mary's website:
"• Parents & Godparents are required to attend a preparatory session a few days before baptism. The infant will not be baptised unless parents & Godparents attend this session.
• Please check the Church Bulletin for the dates of the next baptism and preparatory session. "

hi juliet, you don't really need godparents, either godmother or godfather will do as well... hence, just ask your SIL as godmother is sufficient to fulfill the requirements!

wendy - ya, am aware of that..but felt it would be nice if bb got godparents (both catholic)...coz i really want to bring him up in the catholic faith...if i can't find suitable couple,then will go to my SIL...:p

in ctk, the practice is different... the parents and godparents should attend the 2 preparatory classes after the 5th month before birth. i believe it could be also because when the baby is going to be due and just born, the parents where got the time to attend the classes... plus, touch wood! if there is a crisis and the baby must be baptised immediately... sigh, know what i mean...

ya...i get what u mean...anyway, diff. churches may do things differently although theologically, it boils down to the same thing...just different styles of doing things...

hmm... i know what you mean... i also prefer my child to have godparents, that's why my choices are all married couples. ;)

maybe keep your sil as a backup as maybe your brother will baptised soon! does your brother go church?

yeah, as long as the end result is the same! anyway, the most impt is how to bring our children up in the faith.

if end up like my bil who is a cradle but never go church service again after his confirmaton, also quite sad...

Zuen,
I thought no news mean good news? Because in my first pregnancy, I also go for the ammino test and the nurse told me if they never call me that means everything okie. But I still give in to the temptation to call them after waiting for around two weeks (that time dunno can pay extra to get results faster) Then they told me no prob with my results.

Anyone feeling movement from baby? I am in my 18th weeks now and I felt something wriggling right at the bottom of my tummy. Dunno if it is baby moving. I really like the feeling : )

ZuEn,
Jia you! Keep us posted.

Juliet,
Understand the godparents part but if really cannot find, then SIL as godma is good enough esp since your bro also embraces the faith. Wah, you not bad leh, RCIA sponsor. Me, like TF, sunday goer. Quite alot time of times, the converts are more active than cradle catholics.

Wendy,
i see. so are u expecting a gal or boy, do u know yet?

juliet, it is okie! your child will bring you back to the Lord. ;)

if that is the case, the chances of your brother baptising is quite high. you can ask your sil first and your child can still call your brother godpa. when your child is going to be confirmed, then, add your brother's name into the confirmation cert. ;) after another 14/15 years, your brother may be bapstised & confirmed by then!

Ellysia, felicia, shycloud, babycupid, ah morr,
so actually quite a few buddhists ard too

Ellysia,
maybe can try? can amortise the $$$ among 2-3 babies? some friends told me babies born really alert, calmer and more relaxed but some say no effect...

pkdust,
yes, that should be your bb moving. i sometimes feel baby kicking also. something like an extra heart beat at your tummy. er... don't know how to describe. the feeling is quite wonderful....

just bk from luncheon.. feeling better than this mrn... called my gynae ppl liao.. they say may due to BP or Sugar level... got several possible. haiz... every stage sure got different symptoms to me..

hi telegram, not sure if my child is boy or gal as the last scan can't see the deciding factor. hahahahaha... know what i mean?

anyway, it doesn't really matters. my boy can wear pink and my gal can wear blue!

<font color="0000ff">Thanks to those who have emailed me ur contacts

<font color="ff0000">~lunch date on 14/01/08 (mon) @ Raffles area @ Beppu Japanese Restaurant @ 1pm~

- piyo
- K Ong
- morr
- Juliet - got contact already
- TF - got contact already
- ellysia - got contact already
- luz

Teragram - coz me is a convert, so had to go thru' RCIA mah...so since i've been thru it, quite a good program, so continue as sponsor lor... :p

wendy - my boss wants to be godpa too! hahaa..but he's not catholic la..so can only be "unofficial" godpa!! LOL.

pkdust - me can feel bb kickin' too! last nite he kick me so hard leh...3 times..after the 2nd time, i got the daddy to put hand on my tummy, so daddy felt the 3rd kick too! :p

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

yeap! coz all never mention on religon so have the mentality its all Christians or Catholic here

juliet,
wah, ur boss so cute. i can't imagine my boss as my kid's godpa cos he's not a very kids person. but luckily he's been quite accomodating towards my pregnancy :p

wendy,
yup, get wat u mean, haha.
healthy bb good enough ya? in anycase, ur bb's gonna be cool cos he/she will carry off any colours, hehe.

pkdust,
i just reached my 18th week and have not felt any movements. sometimes, i also not sure if it is my own imagination or if i m trying too hard to feel any movements. haha. fren told me she felt the kicks in 20th week so i am eagerly awaiting that. :p

morr,
i email u tonite hor. cannot access those webmail at work.

haha... my child will also be having a list of "unofficial" godmothers (my gfs booked the position)... hee hee... my husband told me to settle them myself as he don't want the child to be confused.

iamsnow,
Its not really kicking . Really dunno how to describe the feeling. Sometime its like something wriggling inside and at times it seems like something rotating or something just seem to "drop" inside the tummy. But its normally at the bottom of the stomach. Think it should be the movement of bb. Really amazing !!

yeah telegram, healthly is the most impt!

my kid will wear clothes in any colour! i don't see any reason to restrict colours untill the child is old enough to reject it. ;)

so, i am not waiting for sex of baby to do shopping. afterall, you could have a surprise at the delivery ward! i heard of several surprises among my friends.

Wendy

Ya, same here. Smtx difficult to reject the unofficial godma. I've a close friend who wnted to b my child's godma even way b4 i pregnant. Her reason is she see bazhi n she shd hv 3rd child but she dun wnt, so tot by making my child her godchild, she wun get pregnant for the 3rd. Got such thing?? Funny people around..haha..

pkdust, think I had the same experience, it's not really kicking, but something wriggling or tapping at the bottom of the tummy. I am into my wk 18, the feeling I get only started 2 days ago.

hey tf, i have heard of this before. it depends on how deep is your friend's belief in fortune telling. some people even want a specific month or animal year... the world is made of different individual! ;)

yeah, i find it very hard to reject my gfs... so have to see how things goes when the child is born. sigh...

Felicia, coz I am quite weak after become preggie, very easily will be giddy and feel like wanna faint, no energy to do anything, so hopefully taking chicken essence will help.

Mogudog,

I remember i asked gynae b4 on the chicken essence thing, he said is ok to take, but nvr said is evryday lah. Maybe u drink alternate day?

And u can try take 'pau sheng'oso.It can 'bu qi' You can put 2-3 slices into ur cup and pour hot water and soak for a while. But dont take too much oso. This is the easier method lah if u dont hv time to boil it.
Another drink i usually take at office is red date with longan. I use the same method as above. This will help to 'bu xue'.

morraine and piyo,

Ya lor, i tot all christians and catholic here.

Tera,

I am in 19th week but also dun feel any significant movement of bb yet.

mog,
ya take chicken essence better also.. everyweek i will take chicken essence and bird nest too.. i'm too weak liao. my weight till now not yet 50kg.

<font color="ff6000">on baby movements i think its very individual.. some say 2nd pregnancy can feel faster, some say others.. just be patient and those amazing movements will be felt soon!

Ellysia, felicia, shycloud, babycupid, ah morr &amp; piyo, I was born buddhist (more of taoist coz buddhist is vegetarian), marry a 'free thinker' taoist so now is a free thinker. will go temple pray also, but now seldom. My mil on off will bring my son to bugis 'kuan yin temple' pray. My son is a 'godson' to Kuan Yin coz she asked me to let him be (as she said he cheeky and noti, need her guidance to stay on right track). That time I had problem with him, thus went to temple ask her for guidance (also on work guidance). She really 'zhun'.

Sorry if I offended the Catholic and Christain mummies here.

<font color="ff6000">Veniz~

oic
dun worry la i doubt u wil offend any mummies here coz everyone have their own religon and beliefs</font>

Veniz,

Yup i also go temple to pray at times and ask for guidance on work etc. Also pray for bb

But the temple really a lot of people, normally i prefer to go around late noon to avoid the crowd.

I dunno want to bring my bb to temple or not bec' me and hb agreed to let him be free thinker so maybe not but i will quote bb in my prayers.

My MIL and my mum are all free thinkers now. So tats why during my wedding, we dun have those praying ceremony or watever, its all quite simple

Tera,

me also tot me is the only one.

Me really dun feel anyting significant. I only feel 1 kick on 2 weeks ago and a butterfly feeling on one night. But i am not v sure if it is bb kicking cos it is like a few secs only.

piyo(secret garden),

Me not v sure how to buy tat babyplus or got any other cheaper alternatives.

Then on another website i read, it recommend not to put earphones or music too close to tummy cos if too near may be too loud for bb, in fact stereo music bb can hear v clearly ored.

If mozart has the same effect then it be a cheaper alternative :p

hi veniz, no worries! singapore is a free society. i believe in religon and racial harmony, don't think anyone will be offended.

i heard of the guan yin's godson. from what i know, your son has to be faithful to guan yin throughout. if he ever wants to convert or not pray anymore, he must go back and tell kuan yin first.

i have a friend who was not very smooth in life, went to see a fortune teller. the teller told him that when he is young, he was a god son of 1 god but now never pray to him anymore. he went back to confirm with his mum. after he realised that it is true, he went back to pray and everything went smooth for him.

Wendy,

Wow also got like tat.?

me and my parents used to be Soka religion (japanese buddhist) but we sort of become free thinker when i was sec school, but i was like "batipsed" or someting like tat from young. Dunno we just self declare free thinker but my mum still keep the praying stuff at home.

Felicia, thanks for the suggestion, I will try the pao sheng and the red dates with longan.

liew, perhaps can try Felicia method to take the pao sheng and red dates with longan drink.