(2008/06) June 2008

hi Veniz,

I also love western food during this pregnancy. Dun really like Asian food. But sometimes will try to force myself to eat some chinese food cos i dun want to end up too heaty.

Felicia and JP,

My mum also used to tell me that my bro is coming and i cannot beat her stomach or play punk etc. I guess i was quite guai so always help my mum with stuff. My mum always tell me must xiang qing xiang ai with brother cos only 1 sibling.

I guess as long as u have tell yr 1st kid properly and nicely on yr pregnancy and coming 2nd kid, shd be fine. Just need to keep remind 1st kid that he/she must take care of jiejie/didi bec she/he is younger but you will also not forget no1.

Veniz,

One way to avoid no1 being too clingy is to get no1 to help out to take care of no2. In tat way, he/she won't feel left out. Tats how i get 'familar' with my brother. Then my mum change to school bus for me (instead of bring me to sch directly) and let me mix with other kids lor. It all helps i guess.

Though sometimes feel mother a bit unfair cos all attention goes to brother bec' he is a difficult one. But i guess this kind of feeling is hard to avoid.

JP.. me seeing Uncle Cheng tmr... going for detailed scan...ur 14th is regular visit only? Which means u might need to wait 1 more mth for detailed scan coz now only see him once a month...

Zuen .. stay strong! Will they be calling you today?

Thanks starmoon... hope bb co-operate tmr and everything is alright with him. Looking forward but yet dreading it...

Btw ladies, i bot the tempur back cushion yest liao. Cost $235, hb bot for me. I guess i put at home cos the seat is more uncomfy whereas office one i put a normal cushion.

JP, my girl is coming to 14 months now so not sure if she will understand even if i tell her got bb inside. MIL tells me she knows when i am preggie wan and they will be nottie during this period....kinda agree cos initially she very nottie but now back to normal. As for clingy, she can be so sometimes but other times she is oso quite ok with MIL so not too bad. But in the nite, she will surely look for me. Sometimes i will hold her hand and rub on my tummy and tell her inside got bb so u cannot bully mommy hor but hor i guess she prob dunno wad i'm saying oso. yah, looking forward to the detailed scan so can know gender of bb.

roxy, dun worry, everything will turn out well....oh so fast u know your bb gender liao....at my last check, Dr Cheng says can't tell yet. Y u dreading it?

Felicia, tell me about our #1 being first grandchildren of both sides of family, not only yours may be spoilt, my son is already spoilt. As currently he is taken care of by my MIL and goes PCF nursery, he always tell me he everyday noti to his grandma and shouted at her, etc. I told him cannot but my in laws too dote on him that it became natural to them for all these small abuses. As my parents seldom get to see him due to their irregular working hours, they also dote on him rather than teach and scold him. So its really up to us to teach the good ways to our children.

iamsnow,

No promo but I have robinsons card so can earn rebate. I bot at Robinsons. They have limited stock and dun carry a lot, so if dun have then have to order. There is warranty for the cushion, if out of shape can return back.

ellysia,
i think it should be a good buy. my colleague bought their pillow. she say use for a few years already. still in good condition.....

Veniz,

Really hard to teach our children for us working mother right? I also scared my ILs will over-dote my kid and end up spoiling him.

Planned to let him go playgroup when he reach 18mths then i will try to fetch him to and fro so can guide him better.

ellysia,
then have more babies,
your ILs will have no time to spoil all of them.

Hee leng leng.

Maybe for me not so bad cos I am not staying with IL or my mum. So if want to be more independent will be easier i guess.

btw for u all who are ored mummies, can share whether u speak to yr kid English or Chinese or both?

ellysia... yes detailed scan is tmr.... hope everything turns out well..

starmoon, my last check with Uncle cheng at week 14, he also couldnt tell gender.. but last Mon, I hand itchy went to visit another gynae then he told me he sees something between baby legs, so presume it's boy. And he commented my amniotic fluid seems low, hence baby like no space to move/grow which has made us so worried. So, duno what Uncle Cheng will say tmr, but I tink he will not scan for me, just look at detailed scan pix, duno he can tell or not...*worried*

Tok abt staying separately from parents, nowadays the flats prices increase so much tat my colleagues say cannot get married liao cos cannot afford flats. V jiat lat..

<font color="ff6000">Yoz ladies!! Im back after 2 days leave.. finally settled my ger in the pre-nursery class.. but now a new problem arised.. she does not seem to like my new maid
simply refuse to let her feed her, bathe her, nor touch her
end up.. everything oso done by me or hubby.. so tiring

roxy,

OIC, do share with us on yr detailed scan. I want to know how long it takes also bec' planning to go hospital tour on the same day if possible.

Ya gynae will check on the fluid one. During my last scan last week, gynae also check how much space in my waterbag for bb to grow and move around. I still have some space at both corners but bb prefer to squeeze in the centre.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

for my ger, we have a weird communication method.. i speak to my ger in english den the daddy speaks to her in Teochew (their family dialect) coz he is afraid she might not be able to learn the language in future.. *heh* coz we have tot it over tat chinese will be learnt in school gradually so no worries on tat issue</font>

morraine,
that's cool! cos teochew is my dialect group, hehe. and my parents make it a point to speak to my older neice in teochew sometimes. she can understand most words but can only speak a smattering like she is a teochew nang, she is 4 years old etc. v cute to hear it coming from someone so young.
i also intend to let my child learn some cantonese cos hubby's cantonese.

roxy,
1 more day to go! feeling excited for u, hehe. let us know how it goes and if mickey or minnie.

morraine,

OIC but nowadays i see many kids keep speaking English but Chinese is v bad. Then their English also not v perfect.

Last time i keep speaking Hokkien and Chinese to my brother end up his Hokkien is super good but English v bad and Chinese is so-so.

maybe i ask hb to speak to him in English and me speak in Chinese lor. Hokkien i can teach him when he grow up.. cos dialect not so impt nowadays. My hb spoken English is better (me better at writing)

My hb parents dun speak dialect at home cos they belong to different dialect grp. So my hb dunno dialect only know some cantonese (self-learn) so i guess i can only teach bb Hokkien (which my hb only know v simple simple words).

bb can learn simple words at 6mth ored right?

<font color="ff6000">tera~

ha ha our families are total opposite coz my hubby is Teochew which is ur family dialect and Im a Cantonese which is ur hubby's dialect!!

Yeah yeah coz my hubby's nephew can speak fluent Teochew and its very smattering i agree and usually elderlys will be shocked when they realised the little one can speak so well</font>

yeah it depends on ur opinion
coz for us, we find that dialect shld not be lost after generations and generations passed as we realised more n more of the younger generations are not able to speak their dialect unless its Hokkien which is commonly used and they mite pick up in the future, my personal point of view la..

kids can absorb all kinds of language taught since very young even when your baby is born, just speak to him/her daily like an adult.. u will be amazed by how much they can absorbed when one fine day, they can speak and the way they reply to u</font>

ellysia, roxy,
few days different... lets we counting down the days for detailed scan... was wondering whether this detailed scan got including 3d or 4d scan or not leh?

<font color="ff6000">liew~

from wat i understand, 3D or 4D scan must be paid extra to get it but im mite be wrong though..</font>

tera and ellysia... yeah 1 more day! Will let you all know tomorrow... I tink the detailed scan should be quite fast bah? my appt is 11 and im scheduled to see gynae at 12, so whole thing shouldnt take too long... praying hard everything is fine.

liew, 3 more days for u for scan! Must be very excited too!

morraine,

I scared speak too many language, he may get all mix up and become rojak language.

Maybe i tink Hokkien is v easy to learn and most guys will pick up in army though its all the bad language, can teach him at later stage slowly.

<font color="ff6000">liew~

yeap!
during my #1 time, our gynae did not have the machine, therefore if we want the scan we need to do it separately somewhere which he recommended and its quite costly.. after thinking.. we decided to opt out coz we were thinking.. its ok! kip it as a surprise! </font>

roxy,

I tink process same as Oscar scan. Also depend on bb position. Then maybe need to do more measurements. So could be a bit longer than Oscar one.

My colleague says 3D scan can see bb face v clearly.

morraine,
haha, oh my, we are complete opposite.
my cantonese is CMI (cannot make it) so got to rely on ILs and hubby to teach. but i think it's good to teach the young ones some dialect cos as it is, already quite lost at our generation.

All,
I have a qn on hiring maids. Hubby and I are intending to get one to look after bb and PILs will help to keep an eye on maid while hubby and I are at work. I am intending to hire maid around May. Given that I will be due in June, is that too late? As in may not have enough time to change if I don't find her suitable. But prob is that if she comes in April, I don't have anything for her to do at home. Any comments/suggestions?

will not la.. i read before in some education books that kids can absorb all kinds of language being taught when young and its the best time to teach them there and then</font>

liew,

I dun tink detailed scan got 3D.

Cos i saw in the scan room during my Oscar scan, they put detailed scan and 3D scan separately leh.

Wats the use of 3D scan?

if not much use, actually no need to pay the extra $$. Ored checkup etc so ex liao.

Veniz/ Ellysia,

Is really hard to teach our kids especially if they are brought up by our IL or parent loh. I oso saw a trend like Veniz's son, that my ger will dare to hit my MIL. I'll scold her when i saw that but my MIL just keep quiet loh. My FIL more jialat, he will let my ger climb anywhere she likes. So now if i take out my weapon (cane) my ger will either hide behind my IL or shout for my IL to carry her.
So i plan to let my ger enrol to childcare after my #2 is out, at least let her learn to be more obedient in childcare.

Ellysia,
My ger can only understand mandarin. As for English she only know some wording like eyes, mouth, hair, ball etc..
My IL dont speak english, so my ger can pick up when i try to speak english to her. But my collegues said is ok, as kid learn languages very fast, so when i enrol her into childcare, she'll pick up english easily.

<font color="ff6000">tera~

I can provide u Cantonese lessons for a cup of milo.. ha ha ha

on ur query on maid ~

U are in the same scenario as me when i was preggy with my #1
so let me share with u wat i did...

If we are delivering in June, wise to get the maid to come in late April or early May coz u mite not noe if *touch wood* either u dun find her good enuff and needs to change, at least u still have time to do so OR in case u mite deliver early leh..

If u bring her in late April, can just let her get used to the surroundings and daily housework which is necessary first so that she wun be like the moment she reaches Sin, den baby arriving soon den she has difficulty coping with both housework and baby.. give her ample time to settle down first
dun have to worry on nothing to give her to do.. let her spring clean the house and oso get ready the cot and wash all babby's clothings and packed them nicely in the drawers first.. this can last her quite a few days already.. coz for me these are the things i asked her to do coz baby clothings i made sure they are washed before my baby wears them and i got her to snip off the labels oso coz im afraid mite irritate the baby</font>

The other day, i went to perfect mum to pick up some amended clothes. Then end up buying more cos their CNY collection has arrived and the new ones are more pretty. But v xin tong, i tink i spend $2K altogether on maternity clothes so far.

To tink last weekend i just went to Spring and bot some too. And last trim dunno still need to buy more dress or not.

Veniz/ Ellysia,

Is really hard to teach our kids especially if they are brought up by our IL or parent loh. I oso saw a trend like Veniz's son, that my ger will dare to hit my MIL. I'll scold her when i saw that but my MIL just keep quiet loh. My FIL more jialat, he will let my ger climb anywhere she likes. So now if i take out my weapon (cane) my ger will either hide behind my IL or shout for my IL to carry her.
So i plan to let my ger enrol to childcare after my #2 is out, at least let her learn to be more obedient in childcare.

Ellysia,
My ger can only understand mandarin. As for English she only know some wording like eyes, mouth, hair, ball etc..
My IL dont speak english, so my ger can pick up when i try to speak english to her. But my collegues said is ok, as kid learn languages very fast, so when i enrol her into childcare, she'll pick up english easily.

ellysia...
my sentiments too..does all gynae encourage going for 3D scans? if not really necessary, can save the $$$ for other tests/scans instead...

ellysia,juliet,
you'll right.. since our mthly chkup so ex already i think no point for 3D or 4D scan anymore. unless i cant wait to see my baby face..

Felicia,

Yr no1 is how old now? cannot join playgroup yet? u staying separately or together with in laws?

Its really v hard.. hopefully when kid goes to sch can be more disciplined. Hope it is not too late lor.

This part on beating elders can be serious if not treated when they grow older. Cos my mum dote a lot on me and bro so we also a bit "climb over" her one.

liew and morraine,

Then i guess we can save up on the cost.. if want to see face just wait a few mths can see liao

tera - my cousin had the same problem too. he got the maid in a mth b4 bb due so that she can learn the housechores etc first instead of being thrown w/ everything - house, baby, cooking...
I guess it helps also if the maid has got her own children back home so they may already more or less know how to take care of bb...(w/ supervision of coz)

liew - keep some suspense till bb comes join us outside! :p my ex-boss wondered why i want to know gender b4 bb comes out...says like tat no surprises! haha...

juliet,

My gynae keep trying to find out the gender for me hee, even if i dun want to know i also will know.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia &amp; liew &amp; juliet~

ha ha we can slowly admire our babies when they are out SOON!!</font>