(2008/06) June 2008

pkdust,
no worry.. evrything sure going smooth.. actually you can ask ur hubby whether last time did went for any blood test or not (the result may shown thalassemia result). but i suggest let them to chk again for sure.

Lunch time give in to craving, i eat claypot laksa. I tink they put too many msg, now i still feel thirsty even though drink a lot of water liao.

K Ong,

Yr boss must be a male right?

Just like my boss cannot understand why need to eat a few times during a day. He keep saying i can just eat my breakfast at home and lunch eat more then dun have to eat later.

Babyjo

I like the Blood Bank donation logic truth tat u put it. The more we give, the earlier whoever in the Q gets it to better use. Than to wait till the day we nd to use ourselves n even then the matching is low too. Whn we really nd 1 day (touch wood) just pray that some kind souls pay it forward, like wat we do today.

Ellysia,
I did triple test and not Oscar test which is done in the 15th week onwards . Hence the results is much later.

Thanks Teragram. Yeah your explaination does help.

pkdust,

I see, but my clinic also offer to do the test alone separate from Oscar/triple test.

Anyway i heard tat it is a v rare case to have a kid tat has it. So dun worry so much.

pkdust

If your hubby has recent thorough blood test result, can use. In my case, we told our gynae that my hubby did his 2-3 years back, n she say its ok to rely on previous result cos guys blood test dun change much over years. For woman, must take latest after pregnant

K Ong,

Heee.. i tried to curb it, will only eat once a mth or 2 mths.

Now is quite worrying bec' having high sugar content, dunno how to reduce intake except avoid soft drinks and carbonated drinks.

Hi pkdust, My hubby jus had his blood test taken yesterday...cos doc say i oso hv tis low blood ting...result shld be out today...but doc says if he doesnt call me..means everitin is ok..i hv been prayin so hard tat he doesnt call..;P
Quite worrying rite...shld be fine..don worry ok..

Hi gers,
Had a good cry and a long 3-hrs sleep. Didnt want to stay awake and corrupt my tots. I feel very numb now. Hb still at work. He is trying to rush back but stuck in office. He is just as helpless as me. Nothing we can do now, just waiting for the amnio test results that will be out tomorrow or Thursday afternoon. After so many bad news, I am really dread calling the clinic for the outcome liao. Wonder how to handle the news when I am in the office.

Tinyfeet,
I was more hopeful yday. I read about that statistics also. After hearing the news from the nurse today, I started to wonder if I am that 1 or 2..

Teragram,
Nope, the gynae didnt call me. I called up the clinic instead and the nurse was the one who told me about some NT thickness, which I still cannot understand wat it stands for. She sounds uncomfortable and just said to wait for the amnio test results. I guessed amnio results is the most accurate, so the gynae dun see any point to alert me on wat was detected on the detail scan bah.

pkdust,
I am oso suspected thalasemic bcos of my super low iron count/ red blood count or something. However, it could oso be iron deficiency. Yday just drew blood to test for thalasemia again. if I am +ve, then hb has to do blood test liao. However, I just did a amnio test, so I think they can test the fluid directly to check if there's anything wrong with the bb bah.

Ha.. i had my 1st Katong laksa at Holland V 1 mth back whn hubby eat. Cant resist. Whn tat bowl in front of me, i still hesitate to eat, afraid of the coconut milk gives stomach wind. End up, e'thg ok :p

K Ong,

I had a friend oso hvin MS till she give birth. Her MS is really terrible, tat she vomitted a few times into her office dustbin and even dirtied the carpet. She said the urge of vomit just came and she dont had time to rush to washroom. Her boss, a male was so unhappy with her.
Just cannot understand why all this bosses cannot understand. Who wud want to do such embarrassing act if we had a choice?

pkdust, nur,
I think many women are thalessemic, while most guys are not. So dun have to wirry too much. Jia you. I am trying to jia you too.

K Ong, Felicia,
I am oso worried that my boss cannot understand. My boss = lady in her early 30s and she is a super workaholic. As a result, she expects her subordinates to put in the same amount as her. She is that kind who can work 24 hours if there's is a deadline to meet.
I feel super pai seh to have to take MC yday & today cos it is peak period now. At first, I was quite glad to go back to work tomorrow cos I have a deadline to rush. Now, I am wondering how to survive until the amnio result is out.
Was comtemplating to take leave on Thurs just in case bad news..

Ellysia : no ! my bosses are females !!

Felicia : yah, i have a little puke pail next to my work desk - in case i cant run to the toilet in time. As if we want to puke - it's the most horrible feeling !!! worse than giving birth in my opinion :pPPP

Male boss just simply dun understand.

My male boss can even comment people take maternity leave 3 mths v shiok can enjoy life at home.

I guess bec he is rich and has maid at home, probably he dun understand the problem of taking care of a kid.

If lady boss is married with kids one, usu more understanding.

if those not married type or dun have kids type, sometimes may be jealous of subordinates with kids and will give prob.

I know another team female boss will give exception and subordinates can take time off for gynae appts even if they have no time off entitlement.

I know my male boss is v kiam, somemore his ex-subordinates never have any preggy one. So he canot understand preggy and kids committment. Thus i didn't even ask for his permission for tat exception but i quietly take MC/leave.

But now since i always easily fall sick, i tink i better keep my MC and leave for urgent use.

ZuEn : pls do be positive

best to wait for the results and let the DOC (and not the nurse) tell you the news ok ??

yah, some women bosses may have had easy pregnancies (or maybe they also had MS but forgot !! heehee)

Ellysia : actually, i tot males will be more understanding, cuz they cant go thru pregnancy and wont realise how it feels like. Unlike women, who may have gone thru pregnancy and child birth, they have that "been theere and done that" attitute and cant understand why some other women have it worse than themselves ?

For example, my ObGyn whois a male is so much more understanding and caring than my old ObGyn who is female. I feel more at ease under his care.
This pregnancy, my MS is 10 times worse than my previous pregnancy, and my ObGyn ran tests to ensure that there was nothing else causing the MS.
For my first pregnancy, my Obgyn just said "oh, that's normal" and didnt really reassure me.

Nur,
Looks like there's nothing much I can do but to continue to trust in God. Trying very hard to remain hopeful.

K Ong,
Normally when I call the clinic, I wun get to speak to the doc. If bad news, then the nurse will ask us to go down to see the doc for explanation. The nurses will not reveal details and dun want to reveal such details over the phone. That was wat happened when I got my triple test results. The period after the phone call until the gynea visit was horrendous. I sit inside my office and dazed..

I supposed the same thing should happen for my amnio test results bah. If bad news, then they will call me (or tell me when I call) to go see doc for explanation. Aiyo, I get kan cheong just by talking about it. Haha.

K Ong,

My male boss is a super niao boss. He is like a women character in a male body. Always pick on small small things one.

bec of the eating food issue, i shouted at him and we didn't tok for few days. And i really feel he is unreasonable and petty on such a small issue. So normally when i go travel i will buy stuff for him, this time round i go travel i dun bother liao. In fact, if i am not preggy i may consider to resign just bec' of this matter.

After give birth, i tink i have to monitor and see if he is understanding enuff. If not pro-family, will have to see can switch job or not lor. Although my company is v pro-family but if boss is not, how to survive.

I am a bit worried that when i need to bf a few times in office, dunno whether he will complain tat i am not at my desk or not.

Last time i want to study for masters, but the timing is early so i want to ask for exception to go off 30mins earlier and come in earlier. He told me if i got night meetings, i must cancel all classes and attend to work first. I haven't even start and he ored say until like tat. End up i didn't take up the chance to study masters.

ZuEn,

For my case, if small matter, nurse will call. Big matter gynae will call.

Then for my Oscar results, gynae called me and i was so worried. Luckily it is bec' she just want to re-confirm my EDD date due to some difference of EDD from the scan test.

Maybe I feel its nt a male or female thing. Its abt a person how they feel balance or imbalance in heart. The imbalance one will usu be insecure abt things going on around them n as a result behave to stop others wif their judgement. Whereas the balance person will show care n concern, cos they feel n receive love themselves.

K Ong, you rest assure, I will carry on, unless any thing happen then too bad. Actually I am not so bad, not much vomitting just dun feel comfortable with most asian food, and dun feel like eating main meals (rice, noodles, anything with garlic). But hor, when I went hog's breath for steak, my sickness all gone after I chewed the first bite, thus going back for their steaks again soon, yummy.

ZuEn, Please dun cry. Dun think so much, try to do something when you are home. I am sure you and baby will be fine. Maybe the nurse picked up the wrong report and read to you. Think positive ok.

Ellysia, ZuEn, really some bosses, they only think of themselves or their own pple and not staff whom they treat us MTB with no sympathy? Just my thinking as I dun understand that my mgr can lament on how difficult his wife is dealing with her pregnancy (her MS stopped after 1st trim) and push me to do all the jobs which they are lazy or cannot be bothered to handle.

Opps TF... haha Tink I blur liao... im normally a very blur person already, pregnant liao even worse...

Regarding bosses.. my boss is female and 1 yr younger than me.. but she is a very understanding boss, colleagues also mainly female and just gave birth last year so all understanding also.. im very blessed to have them

Zuen, dun cry pls. Everything is in the hands of our Abba. I half look forward and half dread my coming scan too to see fluid level but Im staying positive coz everything is in His hands

ZuEn,
I think the only thing we can do now is to pray very hard. If feel like crying just cry because they said pregnant ladies are very emotional. I think I also become more emotional after I got pregnant. But dun worry, I got a feeling that yours is a false alarm. Triple test got many false positive.
For me, I will ask my hubby to go for the test. I feel that everything is fated. I want to give birth to a healthy baby because I dun want it to suffer after it was born. So if it is not healthy, I have no choice but to abort it. Its all in God's plan really.

Veniz : hog's breath !!!
is this the one at Chijmes ??!!! U lucky girl !
hehee, all this talk abt yummy food is making ME hungry !

ZuEn :
*hugs*

Ellysia : how ironic is that ? that your Company is pro-family but boss is not !
it's how we make the best of the situation.

Like what TF said, a stable and secure and happy person is a truly concerned person

Veniz, Roxy, pkdust,
I think the crying did me well. Too much pend up emotions le. Helps me to calm down and think properly too. Just that i have this low-grade headache now.

Roxy,
Jia you too. I am still putting my trust in Him. Looking back, it had been a difficult journey and we have come so far. Though I got bad news since Friday, God has been encouraging me thru' His words. So I am trying to focus on His words to perk myself up.

pkdust,
i hope that your instinct is accurate.
ya, we will oso consider to give up the baby if there's anything wrong with her. Just that very she bu de. Havent really sit down and discuss that. Still waiting for the amnio test results. Moreoevre, have to pray about that decision too. Afterall, He gave us this baby.

Wah, so many Mickeys this year ah. Everyone seems to think mine is another Mickey too. I know that most old folks will want BB Boys as their 1st grandchild is like the last son of the last generation. (Hope I got that rite)
But hor, my mom said, if no girls, where got boys? Girls only can get PG...he!he!

weight gain - Please MTBs, don't be depressed. Its good that you gain weight. That means BB is growing. Don't worry about being overweight coz if you really are,OBGYN will sound out one.

Hair cut - Not to sure about other mummies, but when I was carrying #1, at my 3rd semester, was always HOT, HOT, HOT. So, cut my hair into a bob...wah, so shoik after that....he!he!

Roxy - Thanks!
Seeing Uncle Cheng on 14th. U leh?

Zuen - Rest well and be positive! Still keeping you in my prayers!

Starmoon - Wah, you also long time no log=in ah? When are you seeing Uncle Cheng?......

hi roxy
dun worry too much since Dr Cheng asked u to do detailed scan this week so shld be able to see liao if not he wun ask u do and waste money de.

hi JP
yah me long time didnt come in liao...same like u.
busy with my girl and festive season. me seeing him on 19th for detailed...u doing detailed scan on 14th?

Ellysia/ ZuEn,
Well, i think to had an understanding boss is by luck. My ex-immediate sups is a married woman with kids, but she nvr want to understand our situation at all. All she care is her ownself . For example, if u happen want to take leave on the same day as her,she will not approve our leave thou we had indicate the leave in advance in our leave projection. So, in the end i left the company just before i decide to settle down. I dont want myself ended up depression during pregnancy at tat company.
Current company is pro family. They even had BF room. Bosses was quite understanding oso. So, i consider myself lucky to be in the company.

ZuEn,
Hope your headache's better?
Continue to trust in God as he knows what is best for each of us and draw strength from his words. As for work, if you don't think you can concentrate then I suggest taking leave cos no point subjecting yourself to additional stress. Just my opinion. Alternatively, see how you feel when you wake up on thurs and decide, you might want to work to take your mind off.
*Hugz*

K Ong, haha, ya, hog's breath, but at vivocity. I ate the prime steak with black pepper and had mash potato, shiok! I will be going for Tony Romas this Friday, actually craving for Kenny Rogers, but always mix up KR with TR, so when I meet my friends will ask if they can accommodate to my needs. I have been looking forward to beef (next week another dinner for Korean BBQ Beef Ribs) so I do think I may be having another mickey. Lets see how my scan is first.

ZuEn, ok, at least you let go by crying, but please dun over cry ok? Your headache may be due to the crying, takes awhile to subside. Just keep praying and positive.

Starmoon - Am still trying my best to teach DS that #2 is coming soon. He is so clingy ever since I found out I was PG again. Is your DD like that too? Wah, so fast detailed scan liao? 14th is just a regular check-up for me. The detailed scan is THE one where they will confirm boy or girl. Good luck!!

Morning gers,
I am back in the office. Hopefully, work will take my mind off the amnio test results. But I think quite impossible. I have been thinking about it ever since I woke up. Kept waking up the whole nite too. Right now, I oso duno if I want the results to come quickly or not. Part of me wanted to escape. Haiz..
Anyway, I have decided that I wun call the clinic. Everytime I call, sure got bad news, haha. I will wait for the nurse/ doc to call me. I hope I can tahan the suspense. I am that kind of impatient person.

JP,
how old is ur DS?
My ger was 22mths now, and i oso keep telling her about #2 is coming. I'll always tell her inside my tummy got a baby. So she cannot sit or bump into my tummy. And whenever i saw picture of baby development in womb, i'll show it to her and explain to her, tats the bb same as inside mummy's tummy. She'll always laugh. I told her soon she'll be 'jie jie' liao, so she need to take care of baby. Every nite, i'll ask her to talk to the bb in my tummy. She'll do some talking but i nvr understand what she's talking.
But now, if anyone ask her where's bb, she'll point to my tummy.
Though i know she dont fully understand as she's still too young, but at least let her know a bb is coming is good enuf.

Morning ZuEn!

Dont keep calling the clinic, it'll make u more nervous only. Try to divert your attention to your work as much as you can. Or try to clean up your work station. Just find someting to do to occupy your mind.
Be positive!

ZuEn,
I agreed with Felicia, dun call e clinic lor...let them call u instead...if not, its bery distracting and gan cheong de....Dun tink negatively k...

Felicia,
Ur ger so cute hor... =D...

Felicia, your gal really cute, at least she knows. I think gals are more accomodating to mummies having another sibling, I was also like that last time when my parents told me I am going to be jie jie. My granny told me I even pray everyday to god that let my mummy has a didi for me.

JP, maybe you can show some pictures of baby in womb to your DS? Or when bring him out, say positive remarks on other kids having younger siblings? My son is 3yrs 4mths now, and he seems fine with me having another baby sibling for him. But I am not sure if the real baby is out, will he be so clingy or defensive or not. Scaring of this moment. Most mummies practise getting 1 or 2 two for their DS/DD and say that its gift from their unborn sibling. Maybe you can try this method and see how it goes. Do easy on him.

Morning Ladies..

pkdust, hubby took the test on the 7th..doc says results can be out yesterday 8th..he told me if everiting is ok..he will not call me..so far he hasn't call..thank God..i hope he won call in te next few days..;P

U'll be fine..not too worry...ok..

Hi ZuEn, no news means good news...not too worry Ya!!!

fei fei/ Veniz,
i had to make my ger understand that another bb is coming soon, as i afraid by then she cannot accept. As she's the 1st grandchild in my both family, everyone doted her so much that sometime i think she's being spoilt. So, afraid when my #2 is out, she'll either too clingy or defensive.
Whenever we saw a baby, i'll ask my girl to look. I oso try to bring my girl out to mix with my friends' kids especially those younger than my girl.