(2008/06) June 2008

iamsnow,

Yup i wanted to sleep on my back but will cause backache also.. sigh.. but backache got so painful tat i wanted to sleep on my back yet cannot sleep.

Also intend to get a back cushion for office. U know where got sell good ones?

ellysia,
I always start sleep on my sides, but dunno why always end up on my back. before pregnant, I wont end up sleeping on my back one leh....

i saw those back support at challenger (funan centre) before. not sure where got sell. I managed to get one from my office admin...

Ellysia

Try Tempur, see if you like it.

How cum u gals are back n mine is buttock or pelvic area. Some more I'm in to 16 wks only. Maybe I walk too much whn shopping then.

Hmmm, I also from ACJ but the nurse also never give any goodie when I sign up for the package, maybe next visit I ask the nurse.

Ellysia, I agree the bright pink multi-vits is so so so much better than the light pink ones. Only the fish oil sucks !!!!!

Been having craving for Orange Juice, makes me feel better. Just wondering if drinking those packet Orange Juice (MariGold / Florida) will cause adverse effect on the baby, I can drink about 1 litre a day, coz I don't like plain water at all.

iamsnow,

My colleague also got the back challenger, she said she get from the superstore at harbourfront centre.

TF,
I also get ache at the buttock area some times. :p

Ellysia,
I rem we were talking about back cushion some time back. I ended up with a Tempur one cos hubby got for me as x'mas gift. It's quite good.

been busy at work, no time come in.. poppin in to take a breather :p

re: backache
try prenatal massage.. it helps! me going for it once I hit more than 20wks.. so far no aches yet..
I think we should sleep more on our left over time? Can't rem the reason though..

Hi mogudog,
You have craving for orange juice? me2 lei! last pregnancy, I like ice lemon tea.. this time I like orange juice.. but I worry bb will develop phlegm? 1litre is a bit too much? you should be drinking about 2l of plain water a day lei!

Hi Zuen,
Great to hear the test is over and you can get the results fast! you must rest well for this period

Hi gers,
I spent my whole morning playing games at home, haha. I am supposed to monitor if there's any bleeding from the wound and "v", any swelling of the wound and any leakage of amnionic acid from "v".. Until now, dun dare to go toilet, haha.

Roxy,
The measurement not accurate? I tot the person who did the scan for me is so good, one look and she can tell less than 18 weeks liao. Somemore she very young niah. Haha. To think that I believe her. Now, I oso duno which week I am in.

Ellysia,
I rem somebody told me that financially, ger elder should be better. Bcos if both go uni and age gap about 2 ages apart, both the elder boy and younger ger will attend uni at the same time and it will be a burden to the pocket. I think abit too far liao. Haha. But if you ask me, I oso prefer boy 1st, the no pressure liao.
Hb and I wanted 2. Boy or ger, still 2.

iamsnow, Tinyfeet,
i oso get backache, at the end of the spine. I get it when I dun sit properly. Then when I try to walk, I feel like a old woman. haha.

Tera

So is it bcos u walk alot? Lately, if walk more than 1 hour w/o sitting, can't tahan. Some more shop wif mum, like as if I'm the old woman huh..then once saw a Tempur display bed in mall. Sat n rest awhile, the back so relieve for awhile. Phew, so shiok. I still can recall the relieve mann.

*piyo* - like that cham la, I drink only about 2 to 3 glasses of plain water the most !!! I hate the taste of plain water. I like lemon honey, orange juice, apple juice ... so long it's sweet I like. Maybe I check with gynae see whether OK a not.

I'm in my week 16, but having backache oso. Now i cant sit too long hr in office. So, normally i'll take a walk around my cubicle or had some chit chat w my collegues.
This few days start to had sleepness nite coz i had to wake up in the midnite to relieve myself.

mog,

My mum said cannot drink too much orange juice bec too acidic and "liang".

Tera,

thks, i am lazy to go down orchard and avoid orchard at all cost during pregnancy due to the crowd. Am tinking to go city hall robinsons if robinsons have. Tinking to get one for office chair as well as for home computer chair.

ellysia,
wat a coincidence that your colleague was at challenger! haha...

i know metro got tempur. but it's quite exp. i went to see before. my colleague told me sometimes metro got 20% discount on tempur. but not sure when....

ZuEn

Ya, sitting too. U r right, maybe i didnt sit properly too. And when i lie n put my body straight, wow, the relieve is gd after sitting so long. Ya, smtx the first pain is like walking wif the buttock stick out like old woman..keke

I also play games whenever i bored here. Either Tetris or get my hubby on msn to play wif me.. :p

TF,
For me, I think it's cos my home sofa is getting too soft, so the support not there. So after watching tv for too long, my buttock area there will start to ache. I can't walk v long nowadays, after a while, will sure find a place to sit down. Haha, it must have been shiok resting on a Tempur bed after a long walk, I can imagine!

Mog,
I also hate fish oil but bo bian, for bb's sake, must endure. :p

Ellysia,
Yah, nowadays I also dun go town much. I was there on sat @ paragon, and it was quite crowded. I think cos of CNY coming. Aiyo btw, coll just called me to ask me if i want to order pineapple tarts. Cannot resist all the goodies but must watch the weight. Hehe.

Mogudog
Besides, orange can also cause "suan" in spine area cos its acidic. Told by my TCM when we were trying to conceive n she told my hubby dun take Orange too much as it will affect the kidney.

Mogudog,
try drinking plain water hot or warm? else put in some lemon?

Ellysia,
We should be walking more from 2nd tri, aids in delivery and forms part of exercise for us.. swollen feet is more of water retention sue to high salt intake, less water intake etc

Pain near the spine end can be v jiat lat one.. i always have tat pain if i sit too long e.g. on a plane or bus ride.

My feet has pain few weeks ago, i use my feet massenger at home and so relieved. Its a foot bath as well as massenger, i bot from courts v cheap only $40. Last time i used to have feet severe pain if i stand too long or shop too long and the pain will persist for many days. After i use this foot massenger, the problem can lay asleep for several weeks before it came back again.

Tera,

I am not buying any pineapple tarts though i love them a lot. Gonna avoid pineapples due to a bad cramps i felt after i took thai food on 1 week ago.

Re: Exercise

Becos i used to have spotting, so gynae haven't give me the green light to exercise yet. So i only been walking.

Yest climb stairs up to my house, nearly fall down stairs cos head get lightheaded. Heng i quickly jerk up.

piyo(secret garden),

Colleague told me cannot walk too much or stand too much leh.

My mum said normal exercise can ored, no need to do extra more exercise.

Hi gers,
I just called up the clinic on the results of the scan. Apparently, they oso detected some thickness of the NT (duno wat is that), which might indicate spinal defects as well. The nurse asks me to wait for the amnio test results. Aiyo.. my heart just dropped.

Ellysia,
I am thinking whether or not to order. If order, it's more for family members to eat cos i know my mum sure tell me not to eat. :p

Re Exercise,
Intend to start soon, but have been procrastinating. Hehe.

This thread really moves too fast very hard to catch. Everytime i refresh there are new posts!

Oh, glad to hear some of you have backside aches too, thought I was the only one. So i guess it should be normal lah.

ZuEn
dun worry keep your mind away from the results, all these prelim results might not be accurate. Wait for the actual full report.

ZuEn

Your baby neck scan was done y'day? In tat case, would it nt be accurate cos u did it so late. It shd be done at early stage (nt past certain week) else it is invalid as the thickness grow. Tat's wat my nurse told me when the last time i wanted to postpone the date later.

TF,for me i dont think the pineapple tart wil cause us any problem, coz it was been processed. In fact i think all the nutrient oso gone after the 'burnt'. But eat moderately.

can eat pineapple tarts lah. eat in moderation. I also love pineapple tarts. ate a few already. ok so far. i think as long as don't eat too much should be ok.

ZuEn,
wait for the amnio test results. in the meantime, just try to relax more. don't stress yourself too much.

Initially i also want to eat pineapple tarts during CNY, then i didn't listen to my mum. But after the bad cramps night, i dare not eat pineapples related stuff liao.

The bad cramps is at womb area and cause trouble in my sleep.

For the ChildBirth Education, is it a couple thing? I still hesitating to sign up cos my hubby nt in town. Then wait see all got partner i dun hv, especially the exercise part. Are yr hubby going for those signing? I tinking abt the March Saturday class.

Anyone considering signing the Cordlife Bank? Wat happen aft 20 years if we do nt use? Is this exclusively kept to own family or do they exchange like Blood Bank in the public?

Hi Felicia...my detail scan is at 2.30pm ..Doc Ang say after tat can see him..so will probably ask for MC..hahha

u goin holiday ah?
hhee...okie okie..next checkup i will tell u the date...

ORANGE JUICE : tink its rather true..abit too acidic...expecialli early stages..drink moderately shld be ok ba!

Hi ZuEn, dun worry abt all the test...NT scan oso not beri accurate ..relax..u & bb will be fine...cheer up!!!

Hi Zuen
NT is a neck thickness seen thru scans that also measures possibility of downs. However, dun read too much into it now cos scans not as accurate as amnio test, wait for the test results. We will be here praying for you.

ZuEn,

If yr family dun have history, shdn't be tat high chance.. so dun worry too much just wait for amio-test results. NT scan can also be false results one.

TF,

Not sure abt the cordlife bank.

I tink if yr hb cannot attend the course, u can get yr mum to attend with u. Need not accompany by hb but of course if u see others may feel left out too..

ZuEn

Going back to the books, NT scan (Nuchal Scan)shd be used between 11 to 14 weeks. So I tink may nt be accurate in your case if u pass 14 weeks already. Aiyo, why u get all the unnecessary news fr yr nurse in constipating manner. They shd wait for all result out then let u knw the concluding answer. So look bright side n arm yrself well.

TF,
My 1st ger was under Stem Cord. Stem Cord and Cordlife is private company so is keep to own family use only. If you chose to donate to Blood bank, then it'll be use by oth ppl. However, donation to blood bank you need to follow some procedure oso. And you might need to pay some fee to your gynae.

Nur,
well, actually me n my hubby are PR. During CNY we ned to go bak Msia. So i'll be taking long leave during tat period. With all the check up and scan i think i'll burst my MC this year. Sigh.....

I duno wat was the abnormality detected in the scan. I dun think it is Nuchal translucency (NT) but more like neural tube, cos the nurse says something about spinal defects. Nuchal translucency is more for down syndrome. The nurse wasnt clear and sound like she didnt want to say much, just ask me to wait for amnio scan results.
Anyway, it just doesnt sound good.

Duno wat to do now, just very upset.. Now, I am more worried to get the results..

Ellysia

Ya, I tot of my mum to go wif me. Just hope on Saturdays if he return on transit, then pop in. Ha.. i can't imagine my mum lift me during the exercise part..maybe i lift her..haha.

Zuen,
Neck thickness normally done bet 11-14 weeks for accuracy. After that not accurate liao.. that's what the nurse told me too.. That's part of the Oscar test.. wait for the detailed report ok..

TF,
everything in moderation, incl pineapple tarts? hehe

Cordlife banking, used exclusively for you and your family. That's y you pay annually for maintenance.

maybe Mrs Wong will lift you during the exercise? she always look for those who go alone to partner with haha

ZuEn : hang in there, wait for the full results to be out as that wld give you a clearer indication instead of NT Scan. Also, like what the others have said, NT sld be done in the 11 - 14 week.

Felicia

Any diff betw the 2 reputations (Stem Cord n Cordlife)? I got the brochure that Cordlife charges $250 per year. Hw much u paid for the other?