(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia,

I tink calcium is really needed. Becos last mth during my checkup at 11 week, i didn't see much bone development. But at my last scan on last week (18+ week), all the bones structures are visible. Therefore, calcium shd be needed or else how to form the bones structure etc.

TF,
me? this is our #3... kekeke...

Felicia,
try chocolate milk,
or make half cup of MILO, then add half cup fresh milk.

TF,

So eating sweet really will make the bb jump around right? Hee, tats how i find out accidentally.

Wat is yr clinic? How come got so many goodies?

Juliet & babycupid,

I am also with ACJ, didn't receive any goodies bag. I also didn't receive any milk samples, maybe cos I told gynae i am lactose intolerant.

Felicia,

Can u take yogurt drink? Yest at NTUC i saw on yogurt drink, per serving gave around 165mg calcium. Though it is much lesser than milk but still is something.

I took Nutrisoy soy milk, per serving around 450mg calcium. Plus calcium pill (600mg), shd be enuff to reach 1000mg.

babycupid,

ACJ has those bright pink multi-vits. I just change my multi-vit tablets to the bright pink one.

So much better.

chiam, went to bed weighing 52kg yd nite n wake up to a 54kg tis am. i tot my scale has been damage n keep weighing at different time today but i still get the same result. reai dun understand how in the world i cld ve gained 2kgs overnite w/o eating... reai chiam... *sob* 1st time my wtg goes up since preggie...

Zuen: take care n dun worry too much for now yeah. will keep u n yur bb in prayer.

feifei,

To relieve water retention, u can try to put yr legs up above yr body level whenever u sit. (get a setee or something to put yr legs on) It will help to make the blood flow away from yr legs and reduce leg swollen. This is wat pregnancy book advise.

Leng Leng

Going for #4? Good, like to hear mothers like u procreating as many as possible. God's gift. I will nt stop at one.

Ellysia
Ya, i got the tip fr u. Today when i told my gynae to confirm for me the gender, she said see if the legs open. I told her sure open one cos i eat sweet. She surprised on this fact. Then i told her i got the tips fr the motherhood forum n she laugh...keke
I'm wif Adelina Wong in TMC. I tot most fr TMC would get it.

hi ellysia, i tot so too. how can skip gaining 53kg mark n go on to 54? but it seem to be ley...dunno whether water retention or not also but no fingers n legs seem swollen so far...

TF: my congrats on yur mickey again...

Ellysia/ Leng Leng,

ok, will try Milo with fresh milk. In fact i was wondering if i can continue to take my pre-pregnancy calcium supplement. The brand was Nature's way. Saw it stated 600mg. Before preggie, i had started taking calcium pills and stop it when i know i was preggie.

TF,

I also got the tip from another forum topic (somewhere i read) that eating sweet before scan will make the bb move (in the Oscar topic i tink), cos some forummers have probs of taking scans cos bb not in correct position, they take sweet to make bb move.

Then got 1 appt, happen tat hb took a sweet frm the gynae clinic (they have a lot of sweets there) and i took one then nurse say i can go in. When i go in, i surprise to see bb move and wave hands bec' previous scans he has been sleeping.
Then last week checkup i do the same again (eat sweet) and he move again.

Lets try during each scan to re-confirm whether this is true or not :p

crystal,

cannot imagine how to gain 2 kg overnight.. suspect is water retention.

During the week when i have serious LS problem, i lost 1 KG. After problem resolved, i gain back the 1KG. So water really makes a difference on wt.

liew,

I went on haircut on 12 week after 1st trim, but didn't do any colouring or rebonding anymore.

It is better not to do colouring bec' sometimes they may accidentally apply on yr scalp and chemicals will affect bb.

Ellysia

Ya, I took it in all my scans aft i read fr u. Maybe in my next gynae scan (nt the detailed one), I dun take n see hw. And we test. Ya, hands up, legs up.. so many action inside until gynae say, wow so active..haha.. n its gd so, the gynae can check more n tell me more things

leng leng, ellysia,
my hair rite now super long and its quite heavy easily sweat. my mum only allow me go for haircut after 7th mths. gosh...

liew - got ban tang meh? must wait until after 7 mth?? me intend to cut after CNY..mine also v. long liao, n got a lot of split ends...

ellysia, i also cant imagine lar, can oni weigh again tomolo to re-affirm or ask my gynae at detailed scan next wk... cannot ve read wrongly cos i ve been @ 52kg like forever...been telling hb oni 2 days back tat how come now i 5th mth still wtg oni 52kg, dunno bb ok or not. now suddenly boom additional 2kgs.... chiam or not like tat

liew,

So Jiat lat?? I tahan for 1st trim bec' i heard pang dang to cut hair during 1st trim. 3mths i ored cannot tahan liao.. if u read past threads i been complaining.

So on end of 1st trim i imm went to cut hair ored. How to tahan. Plus i know many MTM will cut hair during last trim also, some even cut long hair to short hair cos confinement is v hot one.

TF,

Ya gynae say bb active is good means healthy. So eat sweet and see bb move is better hor.

me went for hair cut when i'm about wk12. Dint do any coloring or rebonding lah, coz still afraid side effect of the chemical.
Now my hair easier become oily. Anyone had the same problem?

Finally I can log in..haiz..

Ellysia,
Talking abt the class hor, I called in Dec, then told them I wan attend e class in Jan, then hor, they ask me for my name, hp no, and ask whether i intend to give birth at TMC...then next ting they ask me go down make payment liao wor....

So now where u attending e class?

Tks ger, will try this method when i go bk tonite cos really swollen like pigs legs now =(.

juliet,
me also nothing when i sign up e package..Before that my gyane gives me some milk samples only...hmm..

Tinyfeet,
Congrats on mickey leh...tink really alot of mickeys here hor =D..
Tink i will try to take sweet next mon before i go for my detailed scan lor...hee..

All,
Do u all know how do bb absorb wat we are eating? meaning after our food digested, then bb gets e nutrients?

crystal,

I only heard tat some people will have wt boom during 1ast trim, esp those who didn't gain much wt during 1st and 2nd trim. Then becos of the wt boom, they will more easy get stretch marks.

And i also heard from colleagues that most people will gain a lot of wt in 5th mths onwards. Maybe next mth we will really bloom.

Hi liew
I went for rebonding 2 weekends ago. Wanted to beat the CNY price hike and look nice for CNY.

Hi TF
Wow! Mickey too.
Many mickeys this year. My girl's monkey year, all female. funny.

Hi Crystal
Water rentention could be due to over high salt intake too.

feifei,

My hb said his bio class teach tat when we eat food and digested, nutrients are flow to bb through placenta. But placenta is not exactly connected to our body tubes but nutrients can be passed to placenta. Then when bb pass urine etc, also will be through placenta.

Oh ya the leg put up method, u have to do it constantly and try it everyday when u can. By right, we will have this prob at last trim but not 2nd trim. So try to avoid/delay this prob as much as possible.

For those who are having Mickeys, is your tummy more pointed and not much fats around the hips? I heard they say those who carry boys does not have such a "clumsy" figure.

feifei,

I dunno why but somehow when hb called up in dec, they just brush him aside and only take down his name, said will call but didn't call. Then we went to trip etc so maybe they cannot get him or wat or they never call, we also not sure. Anyway we forget to follow up after come back frm trip only until recently roxy mention then i remember. Lucky got u gals around.

I manage to squeeze in Jan Monday class but is another nurse conducting, not Mrs Wong. Dun want to wait until late March to attend.

felicia,
Hv lor, my hair and face becomes more oily now..

Ellysia,
Ya lor, me tinking of triming off my long hair cos will be going for a haircut next wkend =D...
Do u intend to bath during confinement?

pkdust,

Yup it is true. Looking frm behind, me still have "yao" waistline. Stomach if look from in front, cannot see much. But if look sideways can see it is pointed.

I have gain fats on hips, which is sudd gain during 1st trim but not a lot of fats.

Hi pk
leng leng is right, we are SUPPOSED to gain 10-13kg during pregnancy. So if you divide it out, shld be around 1 kg per month. However, some of us lose weight in 1st trimester. However, onetends to pile on in last trimester. Again, it will depends on individual. I lost weight in my last trimester hahahaha....cos too busy playing mahjong in my 9th month during CNY.
Not true for tummy shape leh, when I was expecting my girl, I was very small and pointy too, from behind still got waistline at 9mths leh.

Hi felicia
Oiler scalp... common cos of hormonal changes. Some MTBs have oiler face too. Change your shampoo to see if it helps.

Couldnt resist temptation, went out and bought baby a pacifier, a teether and a feeding bowl (hahahaha...know the last 2 are WAY too early, but i know I will need them cos my girl's old ones spoilt and pigeon got 20% discount). nearly wanted to get a romper for his full mth too, but stopped by hubby. kekeke... btw, I thot the inflation rate is terrible!!! really, the things I used to buy for my girl 4 years ago were much cheaper than now!! A decent romper at Kiddy Palace cost $25+ now. Mad!

I am also feeling more frequent kicks now, although still light.
But it feels nice! Yeah!!!

Ellysia,
I see...at least hv another nurse giving the class lor..I feel e classes is more or less e same de...=)..

I see..so bb absorb through e plancenta...all along I tot is through e cord..keke..

Pkdust,
how to see whether tummy is more pointed?

cos frm my bk, ple won't know I preggi wor..only frm e front then obvious...

feifei,

Yes intend to bathe. most likely will use chinese herbs to bathe. From hosp come back to home sure have to bathe or else i feel v difficult to sleep leh.

Last time whenever i have high fever and even chicken pox, when i come back from doc i also bathe one. Cannot tahan no bathe if come back to home.

Then maybe later at home, i see how if hot n smelly then bathe, if not can postpone will postpone.

I read in forum feedback on Mrs Wong class, they said actually read the book is almost enuff liao but Mrs Wong gives more attention to her student even after delivery will visit them then if got problem can always ask her one.

Since u got Mrs Wong class, u can maybe find out more.. if got any info can share with us

pkdust,

mine is mickey.

Linda,

I still dun feel much kicks from bb, maybe still soft

feifei,

Pointed tummy - u gain less fats at the side or yr waist and more towards centre of yr tummy. As such, when looking frm front yr tummy shd look less obvious than from sideways.

Rounded tummy - u gain more fats on hips, bottom, sideways of waistline, i.e. no waistline.

Judging from my colleagues, gals seem to make mummy tummy bigger than boys.

Fei Fei,
You can see from your sideview whether the tummy pointed out. Because for those carrying gals, normally the tummy more rounded and weight gain at the back and hips.

Hi feifei
The placenta is a filter. The nutrients from mummies digested food, waste materials (carbon dioxide, urine etc) from baby are "transported" to and fro by our blood stream thru the umbilical cord to placenta, then the placenta will filter waste/ nutrients to mom or baby. Placenta is also filtering certain germs, virus, etc and act as a lifesaver for baby, filtering out even ciggrette nicotine from our bloodstream. Hence the placenta is VERY impt. however, there is also limitations to the function. Virus that are too small in molecular size will not be able to be filtered out and will be passed to the baby thru our blood stream. AIDS, small pox, rubella virus are some that I know can be passed to baby.

pkdust,

Judging from wat i observe from many peopple, this theory of tummy is abt 95% accurate.

My mum last time always discuss with me when i am young, so i am quite sensitive to tummy shape heee.

Dear Aunties

Mickey thanks you for your wishes. I look forward to more jie jie n kor kor to play with ya. Hey Mickey, Hey Minnie, Hey Mickey n Minnie Mouse Club!

TF,

So cute!!

U know.. becos me and hb have nicknames for each other, we always address future boy as little mouse. So surprised tat it turn out true in mouse year got boy heee.

liew,

Many of my colleagues went for haircuts throughout their pregnancy and turn out ok.

So i suppose shd be fine.

my tummy is pointed according to my collegues, but i had to wait another 3weeks for my next check up to see if able to confirm the gender.