(2008/06) June 2008

do any have a list of music or songs recommended which is good for the baby to listen now so that in future it will boost his/her creativity etc?

hi zuen,
the only info i know about spinal cord defect is related to folic acid. i read before folic acid is taken to prevent brain defect and spinal cord problem during early pregnancy... since i +ve, i only eat folic acid about 10 times. guilty. y your hb not free to accompany u? can he take leave? otherwise can you get your mum or close friend to accompany u plssssss

Hi Luz,
I oso read that folic acid helps to prevent spinal defects. That's why I start asking myself if my dosage is incorrect. However, if things are meant to happen, they will. Too late to do anything now.

My hb is very busy with work recently. I havent told my mum yet. No point getting her worry for me, since there's nothing much that she can do too. I will try to ask if hb is free to go with me, or try to join me when he can. Actually, I am not so concern about the amnio test. I am more worried about whether the doc will be able to give me an answer immediately on the spinal defects after the detail scan. If bad news, how? But I think neural tube defects (NTDs) oso need the testing of the extracted fluid to get results, so the doc shouldnt be able to tell me immediately bah. Cross fingers..

I was reading on the net about NTD just now. Then my hb saw me and say that I better stop cos I am only scaring myself silly. Ya, I think it is better not to be too educated at this point of time. I guessed there will be plenty of time to find out when the results are out and concrete.

don't worry too much. i have heard of a neighbour whose test wasn't too gd and the doc even suggest to discontinue the pregnancy. however they insist to keep the baby and guess what, after birth, the baby is perfectly alright.

so these tests are just estimation, not 100% accurate. so dont worry too much.

btw, i just went to ZTP. they have a very good offer. i bought 2 liang bird nest worth $300 and they free 1 liang ginseng (worth $150) and 1 packet of bird nest (worth $60).

initially i was asking about dong chong cao, then the person told me actually ginseng is a better alternative, have more benefits and more cost effective. so he told me of the promo of the bird nest which i think it's very worthwhile.

but do note that don't take ginseng from 7mths onwards, cos overtaking may cause the baby head to be too big.

Zuen,
Keep your smile on. We are all with you. As soon as you knw you are able to take your Amnio test, give a call to your hb to see if he can come down on time-off for 1-2 hrs, even if he can't take leave. Least there's someone to support your movt after the test.

Jenny
I read that Mozart Classical is suitable. The others would mostly be those found on the shelf for pregnant mothers or baby.

Roxy, Felicia, Ellysia
I just called TMC on Saturday and the lady told me that those due on June will attend the March Childbirth Education. Heard there's still vacancy for Weekdays n weekends. They will usu register u only aft your 20 week.

To register for the tour, just call to make reservation or at the frontdesk in TMC, nt thru gynae. Tour is either 11am or 2pm.

Zuen.. dun worry .. ur baby will be fine. In fact 1:277 is not such a bad result. In the thread I gave u, alot of MTBS had worst results like 1:48 and all tested ok. Place your trust in God and everything will be fine.

Hi Ellysia
The Feb classes are all full. Left only Sun slots and weekday slots.. that's wat the Parentcraft lady told me. They have reserved a slot for me in the Mar 20th class.. start so late haiz
I'm going down next Thur to make payment... Maybe u can call Parentcraft again and double check

Hi Jenny
I read over internet that ginseng not very suitable for pregnant ladies and might cause some defects... not sure abt it... maybe can research over internet.. actually not much research done over dong chong cao too but seems alot of MTBS have taken that and all say it's good...

hi roxy. thanks so much. will do some research on that. cos it was recommended by the medical hall.

hi tinyfeet, thanks. i will go look around.

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
Take care ya...Know today is ur test...Will pray for u later k....

roxy,
U mean the anentanl class at TMC? I am joining the 14th Jan class lor..really looking forward to it =D...

All,
Anyone expereince feet swollen yet? I am having this water retention liao...my ankle abit swollen for both legs, not very pain but swollen lor...Then hands sometimes bcome numn..hiaz...

Morning gers,
Thanks for the encouragement and prayers.

Jenny,
Ya, I know that there is no 100% accuracy. I think your neighbours very brave wor. Or maybe they were intending to keep the bb regardless and were just hoping for the best. I havent tot so far yet. Taking things one at a time. Hb and I will sit down and discuss again when the results are out. Hopefully good results, then the decision will be very easy. Haha.

Tinyfeet,
We had discussed about it last nite. There seems no way that hb can come down and accompany me for the scan. After talking, I still decided to go on my own. Tot of asking my mum, but she will end up becoming more kan cheong and more questions for me and I have to calm her down. ;p

Roxy,
Actually, we are more worried about the negative marker for NTD (neural tube defects). I havent heard any MTBs talking about it. Ya, we are trusting God. ZuEn is a special bb, he/she was given to us after lots of prayers.

Feifei,
Thanks for praying.

I dun experience water retention leh.

Re: TMC Childbirth Education Classes
I was oso intending to book a slot last Fri. I called and nobody picked up the phone. Then I called teh clinic for the blood test results and got the bad news. So, I am waiting for everything to be cleared (amnio, blood test, detail scan) before calling up for booking. I hope to join you gers in the class too.

TF,

Thanks for your info. Well, i think for the tour maybe i'll call to book when i know when is my detail scan date.

ZuEn,
Trust everything will be fine!

Good Mornin Ladiess..

Hi ZuEn, my colleague once told me tat if God can grant you to conceive..he will also Grant u a healthy baby...don worri too much..
My fren is due in March..Gynea told her tat her bb has spine defects...wanted her to inject some kinda of medicine but she refused..trust in God ..she believe prayers are more powerful...after a series of test..results r perfect..bb is growin well...dun be sad..u will oso be fine...

Morning ladies!!

So sad, monday blues again...

Zuen, dun worry, im sure ur amnio will be successful today and rem to ask whether is there any express results or not...

feifei.. lucky u! Got slot in jan class... I called parentcraft and they said for jan class, too early for me, only abt 20 weeks then.. and feb all fully booked, even the sun slot also gone.. urgh!! Guess no choice got to go for march class.... I booked mar sat 1230 - 230 class so if anyone booking same slots, we can go together!

3 more days to detailed scan! Can see baby again and hopefully confirm gender, am so looking forward to it. Have prayed over amniotic fluid level, im sure God has heard our prayers. Anyone going down to tmc this week too? Next week 5th month liao, so fast! And tummy still not showing yet haiz...

roxy,
this week detailed scan? can see baby again.... excited right?

mine is next fri, still a long way to go....

parentcraft at TMC? not the AMK one right? I asked if AMK got class, they say AMK no classes....

roxy,
cos I called them since dec lor....next wk me also wk 20 liao =D...just nice to attend e class...cos was tinking by march, tummy shd be big big liao wor...ya lor, if hv kaki, then can go together...U joining Mrs Wong's class?

Lucky u, 3 more days...I hv to wait til next mon for my detailed scan...hee... Ur tummy not showing yet?

zuen, take care n b strong

feifei, last week chatting abt water retention and now u got it liao ah?? hmm yup not painful, but sometimes will get the numb feeling. rem to keep your legs up using a foot stool whenever possible and be careful with salt intake.

nur, chances of both parents got thalasimia quite low.. my hubby also got thalassimia, i dun have.. so if one parent dun have that's fine :)

eh, who's gg for Mrs Wong's class? what's the slots like? My doc hasn't ask me to join any classes yet but since Mrs Wong is a hot fave, maybe need to sign up earlier?

luz,
ya lor, me got it liao..hiaz...somemore constipate lor... =(..

LengLeng,
Me taking normal meals, drink abt 6-7 glasses of water cos feel thirsty easily...

juliet,
Morning =D...Me will be joining Mrs Wong's class next thurs...I booked it since beginning of dec cos heard its bery popular one =)...TInk u hv to call and book earlier also wor...

feifei,
old wife's tale - not enough water or too much salt may cause water retention in pregnant woman...

Thirsty means u need to drink more water.

feifei... tummy got a little bulge only... seems more like fats than pregnant.. i keep fretting over my tummy wondering y so small and yet I already put on 6.5kg, my mother tell me like that better, if now 5 mths so big, next time full term will be super big and xin ku... ur tummy very obvious liao ah? lucky u!

iamsnow, yes I tink it is at tmc.. mrs wong classes are all on sat... 1230 - 230 and 430 - 630... and perhaps a morning slot

Good morning ladies,

Do u know of any good caterer that does buffet lunch on 2nd day of CNY? I called a few and it seems that only Neo garden is available. But I am sick of eating their buffer every year. Can anyone recommend?

roxy,
Many people dun really know that I am preg even though I am 17 weeks. They looked surprised as I din put on much on any area except tummy.

Felicia,

For the hospital tour, i understand no need to sign up. They have daily tours around 11am i tink (check the website for details), just go to the counter and join in their tour can ored.

babycupid,

Yr bb is bigger than mine. Me is 18+ week and my bb is 11cm (1 cm smaller than yrs).

muffin,
I tried gim tim buffet before. quite nice. at reasonable prices too. but not sure if they are available for CNY.

feifei,

How come yr class can start so early?

Actually i recall that after u told me in forum, i imm call to book ored but they only note our names down then never call back for 1 mth
I also called in Dec but how come they never booked for us.. sigh..

sigh, looks like we won't be able to get a slot soon.

ellysia, iamsnow and babycupid..
Oh, u all managed to measure CRL ah? That's nice. Bb was too curled up ( in inverted C position like Ellysia) to measure.. so gynae measure head and waist circumference instead...only remembered his head circumference was 4.4cm...

muffin, so nice u never put on weight at other area... my colleagues already commented i put on a lot of weight at my hips haiz....

juliet, the classes are not that exp.. abt $228 and you get 10% discount for FBI card member... btw, those mummies going for detailed scan at TMC pls rem to bring FBI card along, get 10% discount too

ellysia, now not too late to call for march class. Jan and Feb all full. You can call, make a reservation then send a cheque over for payment. If not, I'm going down tmc this Thur, maybe can help u pay too

hi roxy and feifei,

Apparently there is some misunderstanding and the person at Parentcraft said she dunno why when we call in dec, we are not booked for any slot.

Now they left only Jan 14 class (other nurse - not Mrs Wong) and March 19 (Mrs Wong class).

Becos my EDD is 3 June, it is almost in May ored. So March course will be too late for me.. so i am skipping Mrs Wong class, going for another nurse one in Jan. Maybe i will buy Mrs Wong book (she got published book) as a backup info.

Thanks Luz...ya i do hope tings will be ok..
cos during my 1st preg i don hv tis at all ...
Do u know if 1st preg don hv thallasmia ,2nd will have??

roxy,
thanks for the reminder to bring FBI card for detailed scan. this wed is your detailed scan right?
i am also intending to sign up for the classes, you taking march weekends ya? will check with DH if he's ok with weekends and then call to check. scarly full by now.

Nur,

thallasmia shd be standard for any kids bec' it is inherent in parents. If both parents are fine, any subsquent kid shd be fine i tink.

Tera and roxy,

I didn't obtain the FBI card, cos hb asked the nurse at our TMC clinic and nurse said unless we attend many classes like Yoga etc, else it won't be worth it. So hb didn't obtain the card.

roxy - i tot the classes about $500 leh...hmm...I didn't apply for FBI card...anyone got the list of docz that can apply FBI discount? Not sure if i can get any d/c for my dr...

Ellysia,
If you sign up for FBI, you will get 3 books by Mrs Wong (not sure if those are the ones). There's one on pregnancy and another on breastfeeding, i think. Must go home and check.

Oops Ellysia,
Just saw your post on hubby not getting FBI card. Then maybe can just check with the shop if they sell, I believe they do. Cos I saw the book being displayed in one of the shop's window, the one near to the FBI/hospital tour counter.

juliet,

As long as u are delivery at TMC u can obtain the FBI card. Check the TMC website (facilities and services sect) for info.

Tera,

OIC so if sign up for FBI card can get the 3 books? Since i am not attending Mrs Wong class, i suppose it be better to get her books.

How to sign up for the card? Must we sign up at TMC?

ellysia.. me edd about same as u!!
But the nurse told me march 20th class is ok for me.. coz will end abt april, still got 1 mth to go before edd. she told me jan classes too early... hmm aiyoh, we same edd, but nurse says different things...my colleague in GlenE says they only allow u to take classes after 8 mths!! So rushed!

She published 3 books that u can get free if u sign up for FBI card. If u stay/work nearby, can come take from me to photocopy/read..

Teragram.. im going this Thur.. cannot wait! When are u going? Ive been praying hard and im sure fluid level will increase. I signed up for Mar 22 class liao... 12.30-230.. hope can see you there!

juliet/ellysia
FBI is good if u plan to deliver in TMC. Costs $148 with some freebies, like the 3 books, slippers etc. When delivering in TMC, if stay single bed, will get $100plus off hospitalisation bill for u and bb. The 10% discount entitles you to save Oscar test $30, detailed scan, $18 and prenatal class about $25. And if sign up for Cordlife cord blood banking, can save alot with the FBI card.. same for some vendors like Sweetest Moments full month cake got 10% discount. Dun tink gynaes give discount on FBI cards.. only PD

iamsnow,
thanks I will give them a call.

roxy,
not necessary a good thing as no one will give up seats or help me. I went to one family function and a relative even offered me alcoholic punch as he din know! hahaha

roxy - i wanted to sign, then dunno y drag until now still didn't do anything yet...

for now, me already took package for oscar (over n done w/) n detailed scan..dun think they'll backdate the d/c rite? if i dun go for class, then no point me get the card liao...

Tera,

march class still has slot but left only late March. Better call early.

My colleague has complications that time and she end up deliver early. And bec' she wanted Mrs Wong class, she got a v late slot. End up she can't attend the class bec' she ored deliver by then. Lucky Parentcraft is ok to refund her cos' by their policy, the course money is non-refunable.

Thus i tink it is better to attend early esp the 1st 3 classes are on pregnancy issues, last 3 classes then on bb issues. If attend in March will be 7.5mths, a bit late to learn on the pregnancy issues.

Ellysia,
Just go to the counter, near escalator (also near to the waiting area for ppl who have cars parked at basement) and request for form to fill up to apply for FBI. Can do it on day of detailed scan cos entitled to discount straightaway. They will give you a letter (temp card) then the card they will mail to you. Oh ya, as Roxy mentioned, you will get a goodie bag (with Mrs Wong's books, bedroom slippers etc).