(2008/06) June 2008

hi iamsnow, my gosh! Sounds like you had really bad luck at the clinic! the doctor I saw was very detailed and nice and reassuring. But one thing lah.. we don't need to be engaged in streneous activities to have ligament strain. It's prob not "tear" but a strain cos uterus is growing....

i'm leaving home liao... going for ward tour in the morning, then the NT scan and appointment in the afternoon. Will update after I'm back!

baby Jo - Your gal's a dear. I think she's going to have an attitude that she grows up... a striking personality. And high forehead = very smart.

Hi iamsnow,
wah..bad experience wif KKH 24hrs womans clinic huh...how come they so sarcastic..bad service leh...anyway..everitin shld be fine..dun worri ya!!

ya, really 'suay' to meet such an inexperienced doc....then she very rough also. extracted some discharge from me for testing. so rough. so painful.... sigh.....

Btw, anyone bought breast pump from hackely equipment website before? Just wanna check can we order online instead of calling them up

teragram

Can help to update the list...
EDD 10 june
Dr LC Lee( KKH )
1st child
Toa Payoh

Hi Gals, i know some of you actually go thru the OSCAR test during the 11th wk, did your gynae comment on the nose of the baby. Did they manage to scan the nose? I was ask to go back in jan for the nasal bone scan. Is it normal? Cos heard that nose is a main indication for down syndrome. Need ur advise. Thanks...

LEHCAR,
manage to scan the nose? not so sure ur qns... cant see bb nose or what? for what i know my oscar scan is scan our bb neck thickness (not more than 2.5cm thick)

Priscilla, Lehcar and liew,
Have updated your details.
Will post chart later cos it takes up quite a bit of space.

She tried to scan for nasal bone but didn't manage to get it. During e 11th week is the nasal bone detectable? I'm worried cos heard from someone that nasal bone is a crucial detection for DS.

lehcar,
i not sure also. but not to worry. if your gynae did not raise any alarm, should be ok. u going back to measure again right?

Lechar, blood test is another alternative way to detect DS and other abnormality. but that is done when we are 20 weeks

just wanna share my story abt DS. When i had my 1st girl, i did a triple blood test (no oscar at that time). The result turn out tt Im very risky under a ration of 1:181. I was very very shock, hw could a 22 yrs old mum gt such high risk. End up i was ask to go for A.fluid test (due on woman who are over 35).

Imagine I have to wait for 1 weeks for the results. I cried and cried, afraid that something gg to happent to my bb. Moreover, the gynae asked me to thk abt it whether to abort the bb if the result turn out to be positive (I was already 20 weeks pregnant).

Luckily, the result is negative and from there i got to know the sex of the bb (99% accurate). As for the 2nd child, did both test. Blood and Oscar

Hi lehcar, I had just completed my oscar screening at KKH on Monday. In addition to scanning so as to determine the thickness of the neck, he also checked to ascertain the presence of the nasal bone. According to him, DS babies usually have very flat facial features. Hence the presence of the nasal bone serves as an added assurance that the baby is fine. However, I was at 12+ weeks when I had my oscar test. Hence in your case, the non-detection of the nasal bone could be due to the fact that the test was carried out at your 11th week. Dont worry unduly yeah?

Hi MTBs,
Don't want post-natal stretchmarks? This is the product! Frens and I had used this and we all do not have stretchmarks after giving birth! No unpleasant smell and prevent itchy tummies. Preggies should start using from 2 months onwards and increasingly increase application. As I have given birth, this is overstock; 2 tubes (200ml) at $100.

2 brand new mustela stretch mark creams pack that comes with a bag to let go.
Interested:
http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/auction/238818080

Email me at [email protected]

morning gals

Priscilla,
ya short term momeory
I can forget wad I had for lunch, whr did I put my stuff, wad I wear yest etc.. like 'ah ma'.. haha

babyjo,
cuties
share wif u gals my ger too

1120255.jpg

lehcar,
nt to worry la.. i tink detectable fr 15-18 wks, 11 wk is stil to early

Thanks Snow, what time is ur appt yesterday? During my scan, it's 6 plus. Did u manage to scan everything in e first scan? Not sure whether it's becos e doc in a rush but thought everything can be done at a go and understand from other MTB, if the baby is uncooperative, they will go out,walk ard and then come back aft a while to re-scan. The doc who did for me ask me to go back in jan for another scan. She also didn't tell me it is becos baby uncooperative or she can find the bone.

Hi Kylene,

Wats the nosal bone measurement for ?i had a NT scan last fri..didnt measure leh??? Doc jus said NT scan looks fine...so i opted out for Oscar test...

princess_mummy,
reduace a little lah,
or just use the noodle, add vegetables, egg, chicken/fish to make the soup sweet.
Can pre-prep the stuffs into small portions in the fridge,
then a little seseame seed oil & light soya sauce to taste.

Lamb
your bb so chubby like hamburger so cute!!

long time never post here hehe nothing much to contribute but been reading religiously.
Went for my NT scan last week. Baby was very uncooperative hence was asked to walk around until bb turns to favourable position. Changed to another sonographer made me toss and turn a few times total scanning took me 1.5 hours.

Did u all do any blood test together with the scan cos I din only the scan which results was normal.

Prior to scan my gyn took some blood from me which i forgot to ask him for wat cos was too scared of the needle and forgot everything. Mtbs seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth any feedback?

hello..

R u all still cautious abt the food u all taking since alot of us here in 2nd tri liao..

Other than those high in vit. A, cold & raw stuff, deep fried & oily food, pineapple/papaya/watermelon/orange, any other things still need to avoid or take lesser??

It seems like these days when i eat outside, i reali gt no idea wat to eat..those feel like eating one cannot eat..so jialat..

Lehcar, my scan was in the morning. I completed it at one go. Thereafter, the gynae keyed the results into the system and generated the DS probability. The initial reading (excluding blood test) was 1: 2000+. Subsequently, when the blood test results came in on the next day, they called to inform me that the probability is now 1:10000+. I believe (but not entirely sure) the detection of the nasal bone is merely to reinforce the test results and may not be conclusive on its own since I noticed that most mummies did not mention about the nasal bone portion when they posted their experience on the oscar testing. Hence, I think as long as you have a reasonable/good reading from the NT scan and blood test, your baby is most probably fine.

Nur, the scanning for the nasal bone was merely to ascertain the presence of a nasal bone. Detection of a nasal bone = Lower DS probability. No measurement of the nasal bone was taken.

hi nur atiqah,

like snow said, the nasal bone is part of the scan for DS. my gyne said to think of all the scans and blood tests as pieces of a puzzle - the more we know, the better it is to come out with the estimated risk of DS. of course, none of these is absolute - it's just a gauge. so lehcar i think u don;t have to worry too much, if the neck thickness and blood tests are normal, then the nasal bone prob not so impt. also it may be due to baby's position that the nasal bone wasn't seen during your last scan.

ND's girl,

Me oso seeing Dr Adrian..For me, my blood was taken after NT scan..It was actually on the day of my normal tri-wkly regular checkup whereby he pass me the NT scan test result & did the normal check for me..

I did ask him wat is tt for & he told me is to test for Hep. A & B..He drawn 2 tubes rite??..Maybe he wanted to send all the blood together for test lo..Mine was drawn on 1/12/07. On tt day, alot of the MTBs who see him had their blood drawn..

Thanx Kylene & Snow...understand liao...all tis neverending test realli confused me..during my 1st child i oni had normal blood test...doc didnt even tell me abt other scans...faint!!!!

Hi Twinky.. i fully agree wif u ...go out and nd to crack head on wat to eat..basicalli hv not interest in food ...my 1st trim jus passed and i lost 4kg ler....:p

Hmm.. it seems like this journey is such a tough one. Trying to conceive (which my hb & I tired for a while) was only the 1st baby step. Then have to worry about MC, DS, deformities.. There are still so many other syndromes/ defects that can only be detected after birth. Haiz..

I have heard of so many cases of abortion bcos of deformities, DS, etc. The more educated and informed we are, the more we worry.

At least I noe that I am not alone. I have not seen my bb since the 12th week (I opted for triple test instead of OSCAR). The next time I will see bb is in my 16th week (after Xmas). I cant feel the bb and there is little or no MS (before or now). Lots of times, I wonder if things are alright inside. Haiz. Where's the joy of a MTB?

Hi fei fei / roxy: thanks! Must make it a pt to ignore her when she call me next time when I not ard. Reai dun understand how come have such pple. So old already n still so childish. Sian. Dunno whether is it because of her tat I end up wif real bad abdomen pain since yds afternoon. Thank goodness, subside today oreadi.

Shycloud: I checked with ZTP staff who advice me to go for those that states specifically for prenatal & postnatal and that limits down to only a couple of choices. So I am now on the waist tonic bu yao jin. No birdnest for me, tried the bottled one one evening & almost threw up my entire dinner, so birdnest is out of me for preggie no matter how good it is suppose to be. Reai dun like the taste.

MS
Chiam, now coming to end of 15wks then I start to ve MS, must be a late developer

crystal07..
hmn...i prob will look out for more chinese tonics when im into last trimester...

wa lau, me now having sore throat leh..think its bcos i drank 2 sips of "pao sheng" when my mil brew it few days back...argh irritating!

kelcqi,
Oh dear...Dun mind my saying but if I were you, I dun care lor, tell them you wan to sleep liao and ask them to come out lor..if they dun come out, u go in lor, and stay inside lor...Cos for normal case, the gf shd feel paisei and come out mah...

All,
Me excited cos hv an appt with gyane this afternoon...Hope bb cooperate lor =D..

Thanks Gals for ur advise. Will have to wait till 2Jan to see my baby again! a very long wait since my last scanning is on the 26Nov!!!

crystal, just ignore that senior... oh dear, you having MS now? My MS was very bad for me initially.. but so happy kinda trailing off and appetite increasing.. try to take more small meals to curb MS..

Feifei... ooh, gynae visit later ah? Let us know if can see gender or not? Must be so exciting!

twinky.. my back also aching.. i ask my gynae can i twist my back to relieve my back muscles.. he said yes, we can do it if done gently.. so maybe u might want to sit down, place your hand on the ground behind u and twist slowly.. help to relieve backache for me...

i put on 5kg liao!! cannot imagine how many kg i will have put on come full term....

btw, do u all get tired very easily now... now i must sleep by 9-10 pm... super tired.. in the past, i can sleep at 12-1am no problem...

Yes Roxy,

I get tired very very easily..i would prefer to lie down than to sit..i sit oso wil feel tired..whole body wil ache like mad..

I very rough one..scare i over-exert and kanna the bb..dun dare to stretch so much..

Crystal,

Me same wif u..MS seems to be getting worse..whole wk not much appetite..keep feeling nauseaous..nw in 2nd tri liao stil like tt..

Zeun,

I think we wil haf more things to worry when our bb is out to see the world..

U haf to worry whether kid is healthy & growing well? which sch to choose when reach schling age? studying well? will turn bad or nt when reach teenage age? whether can find a gd job to support themselves after grad? when married, haf to worry if their family is happy? & many many more..haiz..it wil b a nv ending worry..

Finally nw i can understand my parents better..

you all think can eat bak ku teh??? today i had tat for lunch. then a group of ladies (one of them is pregnant also)walk pass by and one of them commented tat cannot eat cos the soup contains Dang Gui.... i thot should be ok? anw the soup is oredi inside the stomach liao.

Talking about feeling tired, I am feeling very tired now, haha. Maybe it's the after lunch syndrome or maybe I just went to Mango which was having sale, super crowded! Went with fren who's 20 weeks preggie and she was v excited abt the sale cos she said that Mango got quite a few dresses suitable for preggies. So for those of you who are Mango fans, might want to check it out over the weekend.

feifei,
Keep us posted on your apptm, ya?

lehcar,
Don't worry too much, everything should be fine. my next apptm also on 2 Jan!

ZuEn,
I guess it's this period of time when we don't go for regular screening and hence lots of apprehension about whether bb is growing ok or not. It should get better once we are more advanced and can feel baby kicks? But by then i guess it's a different set of worries, is baby too big, too small, how come today less kicks? I think once we start on this road to motherhood, worries cannot be avoided. Twinky is right, more thigns to worry about when bb is born so do try to enjoy the process now.

Ya ND,

Agree he is fast & painless..But after tt i gt bruise leh..haha..

Maybe i nv relax much..u c him at which clinic? Me seeing him at Seng Kang..Wil b seeing him next mon again b4 i go korea..Usually my check up is on saturday..but this time is exception..

Twinky
i see him at SK also. My next appointment with him is next Fri, i usually see him in the evenings. How's the queue for sat?

hi ALL mummies,

can i join?

Nick: aprilmum
Gynae: DR Dolly Wee
Hospital:
Area: Seng Kang
Child: #2

i'm now in wk 15
hope you all dun mind i join in

ND,

Sat q quite long..if there earlier, the waiting time ard 45min..but if u later abit, waiting time wil take more than an hour..

I was there last friday evening to c him for my cough..coz cough juz simply dun go off..And i was surprise that the waiting time less than half hr..maybe i wil change my appt to friday..so can go straight after work..