(2008/06) June 2008

Leng Leng, your 2nd birth story is just amazing. I really want to be like you. I dun want to be in hospital for so long cos the clinical environemnt stresses me out. :p I hope to stay out of hosp for as long as possible, as long as it is safe for bb and me, and as long as I dun need any pain relief yet.

Ellysia,

So far, I've managed to fit my appointments into the days when I already applied to go on annual leave. It's just next year, dun know if I can take unrecorded time off for appointments. Hopefully can loh. If cannot then never mind. Next year, I have 31 days of annual leave to clear.. company's policy for 3rd ML month is only 22 days. I will need to spend about 6 half days and 4 full days at appointments, so it's about 7 days gone if it cannot go unrecorded. So I have 92 half-days to clear after the 2nd ML ends loh. If I deliver 23 June 08, end of ML is 22 Aug 08. 92 half days is about 18.4 weeks. About 4.5 months. Hopefully I can work half days all the way till end of the year.Should be possible... keeping fingers really tightly crossed. I really want to spend more time with bb, but can't imagine myself stuck at home with bb 24/7. so I applaud the patience and dedication of SAHMs! My boss told me she's okay with me taking 3 months at a go, or working half days... to exhaust everything.

cactus,

OIC. u got so many leave.

Next year i will have fresh 22 days leave and 14 days MC. I used up all leave & MC for this year.

Most likely will use my MC for gynae checkups. But i may save some appt to be on sat morn so i dun have to use too many MC.

cactus_79,
just stay around the hospital lor,
if water bag burst, take taxi to hospital.

Me too,
can only lie down there,
cannot walk, cannot eat.

Yah Ellysia, the only fear I have is how long outside the hospital is safe for bb. I guess really have to discuss this with the doctor nearer EDD.

cactus,
wah, envious leh, 32 days leave! You seem to have it all planned out which sounds good to me, if I can, I also want to work half day but I know my co. won't allow it. I same as Ellysia, for next year, got 22 days AL and 30 days MC so i will also try to utilise as many MC as I can. hee.

Leng Leng, I'm very scared of such limitations too. Can only lie down there, cannot walk, cannot eat. I'm going to have a good chat with the doctor nearer EDD. Hopefully he'll be receptive to my requests. I think so far, it's not uncommon for MTBs to request to have limited monitoring, and to walk around. The only prob with walking is if monitoring lines need to be set up.

I also hope my water bag dun burst so early.. cos if burst, likelihood of infection will start and usually must admit immeidately even if contractions are not strong..

Ellysia, I wasn't aware we can use MC for appointments. I need to check with HR....

cactus,

No need to check with HR. As long as yr gynae is fine to give u MC during yr appt, u can use the MC. I know some gynae dun give MC for appts.

My gynae always ask me if i need MC or not.. cos she can give MC for appts.

Hey Leng Leng, thanks for the link. It's very useful!

Ellysia - it's ok to eat but eat light meals once you feel contractions coming along. Dun eat heavy meals.

cactus_79,
once at delivery ward,
they'll stick some monitor to our tummy to monitor baby's heartbeat,
cannot get down from bed liao.
YES, can use MC for appointment,
so book appointments in the MORNING!!!

cactus,
My company recognises the MC, no issue. I will tell my boss in advance that I have a medical apptm and then produce the MC after that.

My birth
Contractions at 6am, told HB but he ask me go back to sleep...
Sleep, wake, sleep till 830am
Contractions timed then were abt 5-8mins apart but each lasting only less than half min.
Bathe, wait for HB bathe.
Left house about 930am to go eat McDonalds breakfast at AMK. But end up tabao Mac's to Bishan Park to eat cos HB got the scoccer ball to return to his mates for their weekly session.
Ate the packed McDonalds at Bishan Park.
Went to hospital at 1115am, wanted to delay more but because scared sunday Orchard shopping jam.
Checked in 1145am, admitted into delivery suite by 12 noon. Epidural requested for at nearly 2pm.
Once there cannot come out, baby borned 1611hrs.

hi girls i am back from my appt with gynae, looks like it's another boy!
a bit disappointed la, but what to do right hehe.
hoping the hot dog will turn into hamburger by some miracle :p i also didn't expect so fast can see, now almost 14weeks only.

the chinese calendar said i will have girl lei, looks like it's not zhun!

Morning ladies....

Ellysia,
Enjoy your trip hor, take care...

Maryann,
Wk 14 can see gender liao? wow, me getting excited cos my appt is this thurs =D...Hope I can see my bb's gender too =D...

Congrats to having a boy boy...Gyane is 100% sure its a boy boy?

Hmm...tot the calender is at least 80% zhun de...Or maybe it really depends on when our egg is fertislies hor...

Leng Leng,
Tks for all e links, so useful lor =D...

Maryann,

Let's hope that it is the leg or hand that the doc sees instead. ;p Anyway, congrats!

I am gg for my next appointment in my 16th week.. I hope bb is cooperative and "open" then. I still have 2+ weeks to my next appointment.. My neck has grown longer.

Morning ladies!!

Leng Leng - thanks for the links!!

I'm going for my NT scan this Thursday. Feel quite "junior" compared to most of you who have crossed over to the 2nd trimester. I'm still feeling on and off morning sickness, but nothing too delibtating. Thank goodness!

morning ladies!!!

this morning had mee soto.... wah.... soooo satisfying.... hee hee...

i realised i now like to eat malay breakfast. mee siam, mee soto, mee rebus, lotong..... haha... all unhealthy food!!!

lengleng,
yaya.. something like tat too.. but nvr feel it till today anymore.. it mus be continuous awhile den can really feel..

babycupid,
lay down on bed, sideway,
hug a large booster,
arms & legs over the booster & wait patiently,
we should be able to feel this "fish" feeling at about 12-16th week.

You can ask hubby lay down behind you,
one arm under your head,
the other hand between the booster & your tummy,
he will be able to feel it too,
my hubby was very excited during our 1st baby's movement,
now.... numb liao... hahaha...

how does it feel to have bb moving in you ar?

I'm in 15th week now. don't think can feel any movements... or maybe i cannot tell...

iamsnow,
u must stay in a quiet, cool room,
then with your warm hand touch your tummy,
wheb BB feels the warm, BB can react to it.

If tummy is not cool enough,
then lift your clothes for a while to cool it,
when BB feels the warm, BB may react to it.

When's your last scan?
Can see BB's limps already?

Leng Leng,
really? wow, tonite i go home try also lor...hehe...so excited de hor =D...hee...

realised that I gets hungry more easily recently...tink bb is beginning to absorb more liao...so wat we eat is wat bb absorb....I hv a silly question leh...frm the food we eat hor, how does bb absorb frm it?

lengleng,
actually last nite i feel abit.. but its bery mild only.. bery bery mild.. cant really koe if nver go take note..

THanks for the tip, Leng Leng! I'll give it a try in a couple of weeks time! I'm about 12.5 weeks now.

Feifei - I'm also getting hungry more easily!! I read somewhere that we are burning calaries up to 25% quicker due to heavy bodies, and higher body temp. I don't think bb is taking the food from us per se. Our bodies still digest the food, the nutrients are broken down and by omosis (can't remember how to spell!), passes through blood vessels/capillaries, through placenta, to bb. So nutrients get to bb through bood

shycloud,
that's normal,
when we're hungry, our blood sugar drop.

Take note on the timings that you get hungry,
e.g. 2 hours after your meal, or 30mins b4 normal meantimes.
Do take some food about 20mins b4 getting hungry,
cause our digestive system is slower now.
Else try to drink warm milo/milk when feeling hungry.

I realise for my previous 2 pregnancies,
when "baby" is hungry, I'll feel nauseous,
so don't let BB go hungry,
we may avoid the morning sickness syndrome.

HTHs.

hi shycloud, since I experienced morning sickness, I realise it is aggravated by being tired, lack of water and being hungry.... I still feel the same.

lengleng,
my next visit is this fri. but last visit, already saw the limbs. hopefully can try tonite... hee hee...

I'm having leg cramps since 2 weeks ago already. not sure how to solve the pblm. really tempted to go for foot massage to relief a bit.... haha....

shycloud, i have the same feeling as u. so the trick for me is to always eat and eat. snack all meals and small items ... not heavy meals.

babycupid,
enjoy the mild ones now,
at 5th month & above,
they will be KICKS & PUNCHES,
then you'll jump out of your sleep... hahaha