(2008/06) June 2008

Hi all MTBs,
do try to get hand me downs clothes from friends/relative,
our babies will grow so fast that they won't have chance to wear all the new clothings that you buy.

hi tera
Dun worry lah... I had a great delivery for the first time, so I am pretty open abt it. I also hope it will be the same for this little one. I am sure you will have a smooth delivery too.

Hi veniz
I also heard Mrs Wong is good

Wow! Your granny very good life, got so many great grandchildren.
Very fun to have babies around the same age, esp during gatherings. My group of close frens, 4 of us had our kids in 2004, and ALL girls. hahaha

Mee siam.... yummy...u reminded me, but now raining cannot go buy. Later going to JB for wedding lunch...yummy!!!

U all toking abt the Mrs Wong classes.. seems v informative.

But i tink most likely i will go AMK hub branch classes cos is v much nearer for me.. travelling to TMC every week is tiring.. cos no direct transport and need to go by cab.

Hope the AMK class be good too.

Yesterday me and hb go out to celebrate my bday.

We went to a jap restaurant.. eat a very interesting fish. see picture. These 2 pixs are actually the same fish.

1113666.jpg

1113667.jpg

hi ladies, where is this amk place where mrs wong is? i'm thinking of prob going there for classes too. nearer to my hse.

how much does she charge?

Veniz,
Do take good care of yourself. Our immune system is weaker now that we are preggie, so do try to increase intake of Vit C and also more rest. I have also been having cold on-off, everyday sure sneeze a few times. My appetite tho' has improved, is still not the same as pre-pregnancy, usu only can finish half of the food. I understand about the no-mood for food cos I'm also like that, sometimes really dread meal times cos I really dunno what I want to eat. Let's hang in there, I think it should improve soon.

Wah, your grandma is very "xin-fu", so many new grandchildren to carry and sayang next year.
I can just imagine how your family gatherings next year onwards are going to be lively cos of all the babies! Like what Linda said, when the kids are older, they can also play with each other cos of the close age-group. Nice!

Linda and Veniz,
On attending antenatal classes, is there a recommended time to attend, will attending the classes in March be too late? Or it's really up to individual?

iamsnow, I think the amk place you are talking about is the thomson parentcraft center rite?

It's located inside AMK hub, at the 3rd floor just beside the food court. Very easily accessible if you are going by train.

Ellysia, happy belated birthday! Hehe, the fish although look black but nice rite? I know there is one jap resturant below paragon call akashi. Their fish also highly recommended.

Saw the earlier threads on you guys discussing about childcare and just like to share my point of view towards chilcare centre since I used to work as a pre-school teacher.

Generally for myself I would prefer sending my child to a childcare center as early as 18 mths as I believe in early intervention on children's social development.

Much as we think the child is better under a nanny, there is no rite or wrong in this depending on the area we are looking at. If you are looking for a wholistic development in a child, childcare centers are recommended as your child will not only learn to be independent at an early age but they also develop better in social development. Reason being they get to interact with their peers and will learn to share and negotiate as well as wait, compare to being at home, when they are the only one and gets their way all the time.

In CCC, the child will also follow routine. There will be story telling sessions, art and music sessions compared to staying at home where I do not believe my in laws or my mum will be engaging my child in.

Of cos CCC also have their cons too, children fall sick more frequently in childcare as some selfish parents despite their child is sick, will send their kids to the center and spread the virus. child is likely to fall sickly more often in their first 2 yrs in childcare but will gradually build up their immune system when they are about 4 years old. So if those parents are planning to send their kids to childcare, maybe you'll have to work out a plan on who will be caring for your child if they fall sick.

Just sharing my personal views towards childcare center. Of cos everyone have different views, but for myself, I'll send my kid to childcare next time as I believe strongly in social development. I believe that it is a skill that once one have, it'll benefit the child in the long run easily when it comes to interaction with others be it in school or at work force.

Hi Linda and Teragram,

Ya, she very xinfu. We are one big close extended family, she on hand has more than 10 great grandchildren liao, and next yr with 5 more coming. When I gave birth to my son in later half 2004 that yr, also total of us 4 cousins together gave birth from Aug to Oct. This time round the merrier.

Teragram, if I am not wrong, normally they will schedule MTB who are in 6th month to attend. By the time the classes finished, you will be in early 8th mth, where start of 3rd trimester begins. You can call up to check. Their phone no can be found on TMC webbie.

Ellysia, happy belated bday! Nice to see you eating grilled fish instead of raw ones, heehee. The fish looked nice and healthy. Should be a wonderful meal for your rite?

Hi gers,

Good Monday morning.. another week to go.. I am opening my eyes big, big, looking at the 2 PH to come. Hehe.

Teragram,

I sneeze a few times a day too recently, esp after I crossed the 12th week. I tot it is bcos we tends to suffer from block nose in the 2nd trimester, a result of the thickening muscus (or something).
I dun fall sick easily and I suffer from flu probably once a year or never, so sneezing is rare to me. But I have been sneezing everyday since. Everytime I sneezed, I will get block nose. -.o" I dun think this sneezing = falling sick, but it is sure irritating.

hi ladies!!! it's another new week!

ar.... counting down to this fri. then i can see my baby again...

my tummy seems to have grown suddenly over the weekends.... aiyo....

Leng Leng & Kelcqi,

Ya the fish is black bec' it is smoked or baked i tink. But it is really very tasty! And the inside when we eat the meat is white lah, i didn't eat the black parts. Cos i have phobia of fish but still manage to like this fish, i guess if anyone dislike fish like me can attempt to try

It is the jap restaurant next to Cedele at Level 3 of Wheelock Place. Hot restaurant, cos their reservations all full but we manage to squeeze in, then later a lot of people are queuing. Their sushi also very nice!!

Kelcqi,

I also agree with you that have to send kid to CC as early as possible for them to learn to be sociable and independent. At home, grandparents will dote on them and i dun tink they can learn to be independent. My little brother is an example lah. He have problem tying his shoes laces even when he go kindergarten and have problem on discipline to wake up on time etc. Even until pri sch still have problems and more shy also. My mum regret and said should have sent him to CC.

iamsnow,

I dunno if the classes hold at AMK is by Mrs Wong but anyway it is near my house. It is at AMK hub just next to foodcourt.

cactus,

Dunno why u are so particular on the hospital room? For me, I think since only stay a few days, no need to bother abt the look or facilities lor. As long as I get single room, shd be fine.

Actually the Gynae is more impt lor. Make sure u feel comfortable lah.

As to whether gynae is good at handling complications, i tink almost every experienced gynae will know how to handle complications. Maybe a specific gynae is better than all complications or very difficult complications. But that does not mean you will need them anyway. Unless you are age 35 and above, i dun tink tat u really need a top gynae who can handle every complications.

ZuEn,

I also get sick very easily and the stupid flu dun go away.. sickening. Maybe also bec' recently the flu virus going around is very bad. I have colleagues who keep coughing and sneezing but can't cure too, and they are not pregnant.

Veniz,

Dunno is it due to big eating har, this morning i merlion!! First time merlion and is actually after 1st trim. But i suspect is bec' this morning i took fish oil tablets and probably the fish oil break halfway when swallowing, cos i smell very strong fish smell throughout and burping fish smell! So smelly..

Tera,

TMC course start at 20 weeks of pregnancy but i understand from MTB here that we can book earlier in advance

morning ladies...
had a terrible moment on saturday..
was happily on the train towards orchard when i suddenly felt giddy...next moment i start to see stars..and everything in front of me seems very bright...i knew i was gonna blackout soon.

quickly i signal to my sis for us to get down the next stop...she kept asking am i ok? she commented my face literally turned white even my lips!

luckily i managed to rest @ the next stop and drank some water and took a slice of ginger peel. i slowly regained to my normal "blood".

scare the hell outta me...its the first time i've experienced such during preggy...i hope nothing's wrong with me...prob the weather was kinda cold and hot...i also broke out in cold sweat...

shycloud,

maybe it is normal. I guess maybe the train is too crowded and not enuff air, plus u are standing? Normal to feel fainting. Yesterday when i do laundry at home, i just stare up (looking at my clothes hanging) and suddenly feel very giddy and almost fainting. I guess shd be normal.

Tats why now i dare not take MRT to work liao.. too stuffy, sometimes fainting, tired, wanna vomit also.

ellysia..
yes im definitely standing! i was thinking maybe i din had enuff for breakfast..

i'm lucky cos my workplace is away from town so the trains are generally not overcrowded. plus i get a chance to grab a seat.

kylene...
i will only be taking the blood test on my next gynae visit. a body check up few years back suspect that i may have anaemia...but i din go for further checkup.

however, i have already pre-empt my gynae that i need the test to determine if im anaemic plus also to test for thalessemia..my major concern

hi ladies, good morning!

seem to be getting better tis wk....hb n me will be heading down to look at bb tis sat again...tis wk in my 15th wk...

cactus,

Actually, dedicated doctor is more important.

My mum got ward B for my brother (as compared to me which is ward C) and she has an appointed gynae who is supposed to be very senior and experienced. However when my mum is admitted to hospital earlier than due, the gynae dunno why retain her in the hospital for 1 month. And he get his students to experiment on my mum. It is a horrible incident according to my mum. Also, in the end when she is due, the gynae just said he is not free or dunno what, he didn't turn up.
And guess wat, my mum still end up paying for his fees though another gynae deliver her bb.

Since your hb knows the gynae personally, i tink he will take care of u better.. so there is a plus factor if u deliver at SGH. However, dun be overly concerned on the gynae tat u over worry too much. Just pick the one u are comfortable with.

ellysia,
u ate sushi!??! envy envy...

My kids are in CCC already,
my girl's been there since 20mths old,
my boy since 18mths old.
I do agree that they learn lots of independance,
my boy can wear his sandles at age 23 mths old.

have u all thought of staying in what kind of room? kkh only have 1 or 4 bedder. 1 bedder seems to be a bit lonely. and very exp. i scared 4 bedder will be too noisy. cannot rest....

Ellysia, I noe the restaurant, The sun with Moon, good food, but rather expensive. If you can, go for their lunch, more value for money. I went there when it first opened during their first month, and wow, the food was nice. Recommended to quite a no of friends who do love it there.

cactus, I think due to your family upbring, you do really do very good plans in your future including choosing of hospital. In fact, it does depends on what you are looking for, thus if you like what you feel about the hospital and gynea assisting you in delivery, go for it. Most importantly, you feel happy about it and dun get stressed over the choosing part thats all.

Some of us here find that as long as we get our needs, we will be ok, its really up to individual.

cactus,

What i mean is to find a gynae who is dedicated and also have experience in complications. But need not be the top gynae or famous gynae that is well known for handling complications.

Bec i am not sure if those popular gynae or famous gynae will have the dedication or the time to spend on each patients given that they will have more patients than others.

What i prefer is those medium experienced and somewhat popular but not very popular type.

At 24th week of pregnancy of my #2,
there's complication & nearly gave birth.
May be due to the papaya I ate that cause the contraction.

Estimated cost for baby to be warded IF he's born,
is around SG$40K++ if we choose B Ward,
the clerk advise hubby to choose C Ward,
that will reduce the bill by half.

Luckily my contraction was controlled by the lots of injection and medications I took,
followed by full bedrest for 3 months.

SO, depending on the health of baby & mummy,
if all is well, do choose A Ward,
if there's complication,
go straight to KKH Women's Tower A&E.

i tink i feel my bb!! its really like butterfly fluttering inside me.. bery amazing feel.. hahahaa

Leng Leng,

Yup i ate cooked sushi - california sushi very nice! Later i also try ebi and eel sushi but not as nice. Yes it is expensive, i treat hb

iamsnow,

I will choose 1 bed cos hb can stay over and no restriction on visiting hours plus i am a light sleeper, won't be able to sleep if share the room.

babycupid,

So early can feel??!!

I can only feel wind growling..

Leng Leng,

Yup my colleague also went to KK when she has complications bec' it is cheaper although she has decided on TMC.

ellysia,
this is a bery different and special feeling.. not like normal wind growling and hungry.. is like a butterfly inside flipping its wings

hi all!

regarding epidural, i am all for it, with how advance science is now, epidural no longer has those side effects (mainly backpain) associated with it in the earlier days. if not for epidural, i probably would not have been able to deliver my GIANT BABY naturally, he was born 4.475kg and 54cm long.

regarding big babies, don't worry, your body will most likely be able to handle natural delivery, to ease the pain of childbirth, why not just take epidural? and i speak from experience because like most first time mummies i was very afraid when at last scan my baby was estimated at 4.2kg so i opted for c-section. but my gynae was so nice, she advised me that since this is my first baby i should try for a natural birth. if really cannot push out then bo pian go for c-section. so i decided to try and pwah! baby came out even bigger than estimated (4.475kg insteadd of 4.2kg) so see! don't worry, your body will be able to handle it if you try

regarding Mrs Wong's antenatal class, i found it averagely helpful only becoz most of the information is found in her 3 books. so if you want to save money on the classes can just buy her books.

on another note, last friday night i had contractions pain for the whole night, i was very worried and called the clinic the next morning. the nurse told me to rest more and not to exert myself and to monitor. as i had no spotting she said most likely it was me overexerting myself that day. pain was better on sat and subsided on sunday. today i will be meeting my gynae for 2nd appt, hope everything's well, will update!

Leng Leng,

Ya lor. her gynae told her to go KK or else it is going to be very expensive bec' her bb has to stay in hospital for few mths due to too early born.

mary,

Do take care.

Btw for the course, the instructor will demonstrate right? Esp on bb feeding?

Cos i remember many years ago i accompany my mum to KKH for her course when she had my brother.

ellysia,

wk 15 soon.. if the feeling jus nw only 1 beat or 2 beat den mayb i will tot its growling or wind.. but many beats... i tink mayb urs oso bb movement.. but shorter.. so tot its wind..

babycupid,

maybe.. me didn't notice what it is. Me also going to week 15 this week.

iamsnow & cactus,

I tink if want to upgrade at last min may be harder bec' hospital may not have enuff. What i see other forummers suggest is to pick 1 bed or 2 bed then can downgrade later if want to.

I guess downgrade is easier than upgrade.

Hmm.. on the topic of costs,if we go to KK 1bedder, the cost with complications may be the same or higher than Mt A. It is much cheaper if we go to B2 ward. What one of my friend's did was to go to polyclinic when she was told by her private doctor she had complications during pregnancy (she had not yet signed on package). polyclinic imemdiately refer her to KKH. She stayed B2 ward. Like that, cut cost. cos hers was complicated pregnancy, she saw only associate consultants and consultants during her pregnancy and delivery.

I gonna wait until gynae ask me what room to choose (cos i understand clinic will call on our behalf to book) then choose.. will try to go for a hospital tour before that..
maybe after attending the childbirth course then i sign on hospital tour then.

My colleague said the cheapest bb items are sold at the Taka bb fair. Do u all know when is the next fair??

on the topic of epidural and labour, I recently learnt it's not only the weight of bb and our pelvic structures, but also the position of bb. If bb's head is not down at birth, or if his/her backbone is against ours, it's likely to be a more difficult labour.

Yah. Leng Leng is right. cannot downgrade unless can show financial inability to pay. But that means, we need to be darn poor loh to downgrade. An easier way out I think is to leave the hospital, go to polyclinic, walk in again as subsidized patient. That's assuming haven't admit yet lah. If already admit then cannot.

Like, if we are private patient at KK, we cannot deliver at B2 or C wards. Unless we leave KK, go polyclinic, ask for referral back to KK.

mary,

Ya with dummy dolls right? So still got demonstration lah.

My mum said she wanna attend the course with me leh, she wanna learn cos she be my CL during ML.

cactus,

Like tat is v ma fan.

How about people like us who is private hospital? Can we walk in govt hospital w/o going through polyclinic?

I tink if got complications will be v scared and in pain liao, how to wait for the stupid queue at polyclinic.

Like my colleague case, her water bag burst when she is just at her 2nd trim end. Her bb is 3mths early born lor.

Hi Ellysia,

You can walk in to private hospital but if you dun have polyclinic referral, you are treated as private patient. Can only stay in A and B1 ward. If you go to MOH website, you will note that A ward fees is just a bit less than 1 bedder in Mt A. (50th% at KKH for 1 bedder is at $5358 for c-section. 50th% at Mt A for 1 bedder is at $5883 for c-section). The real savings is when we stay in B2 or C class.
Actually, complications may not mean pain or bleeding. For example, your private doctor may tell you that your placenta may be too low and may be a complicated pregnancy. Or your blood sugar is too high or bp is too high - high risk prengnacy - likely bb too big... etc. you can go to polyclinic when you are free... say you want to be referred to KK. dun need to wait till really in pain or bleeding mah. The prob is if you already buy package with private doc, then will be sim tia to give up the package.. so must do calculations right to see if should continue with priv hospital or transfer to KK subsidized.

ellysia,
no chance if there's complication to go polyclinic lah,
but the positive part is,
the baby will not need to "travel" from the private hospital to KKH,
most private hospital do not have facilities for babies,
they'll be transfer to KKH,
this 30-45mins are very critical for babies....

That's why after 2 kids,
I'll still choose KKH.

leng leng,

U mean TMC dun have incubator for early born bb??

cactus,

If dun need to stay in hospital too long but need to do c-section for complications, I tink i will still stick with TMC. Dun feel safe letting KK do.

Actually u all can consider getting an insurance policy on complications pregnancy. I had a insurance policy with my Great Eastern insurer on complications, it will help to subsizide some cost if got complications.

ellysia,
I do not know,
it'll be good to ask TMC.

There may be more complications,
like heart, lungs, brains, etc. etc...
We never know...