(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Crystal, I'm glad tat u r taking things quite postively.. Maybe u can look for some part time jobs in between so it's oso not too stressful..

I think oso try not to push forward your delivery by c-sect.. Premature babies are abit hard to look after and they tend to fall sick easily.. Better consult with your gynae

Hi Dear All,

Sorry to intrude ... I am from Sept 07 thread. I have 9 pieces of Brand new Pigeon safe secure safety pins... I brought at kiddy palace for 2.50 would let go at 1.50 inc postage via normal mail.. thanks to pm me if u are interested... is brandnew packaging intact not open at all
thanks for viewing my post!

Me feeling so sick..cough, flu & headache + terrible MS..nose stuck..breathing gt difficulties..

Think wil nt b posting anything liao..will be back when feling better..

Take carez..Buai..

Just now before 12pm i'm also went for vomit again... haiz... feeling sick too..
but now after lunch... feeling better liao.. hee

Hi Linda,

During the time when u in labour, only yr gynae and nurses check on u right? Are u alone in the labour room with yr hb or there are other mummies in the same room? Will other gynaes or doctors be coming in the labour room to see u or pass by?

During my mum's time it is quite bad, she doesn't have an assigned gynae cos its ward C. She said many male gynaes and doctors and trainees just pass by and passed remarks on her private part.. those men dirty jokes, making her feel v uncomfortable.

Hi Ellysia,

sorry for hijacking the qn meant for Linda... I'm feeling so ill I need something to distract me from feeling uncomfy...

Delivery suite is 1 woman per suite. Not several women grouped together. you can't see what's going on next door although you may be able to hear.

If your doctor is a private doctor or if you are a private class patient in a restructered hospital, your gynae will have to deliver for you. MOst of the time, your gynae will be present only during active labour and not before. If your gynae has many deliveries on that day, your gynae may have to shuttle to and fro between different moms at the same or different hospitals, but he/she will try to deliver the bb for you. Beofre your gynae arrives, or if your gynae has left you for a while, you will usually be attended to by an experienced nurse (in private hospital) or a junior doctor or an experienced nurse (in a govt hosp - your choice).

It's a different story if you are subsidized patient at a govt hospital. The junior docs/trainees will deliver for you and they work on a shift system so whoever is there will deliver for you. You may see different docs througout your labour.

cactus,

have u taken panadol?? Better take panadol, too feverish is no good for bb. Just make sure the temperature stays not too high. If possible, take some orange juice (but not together with medicine or within 1 hr before/after medicine) and it will greatly reduce yr feverish temperature.

My hb went to overseas for work 1 week during last mth and i also have to sleep alone for 1 week. Plus we stay in our own house, so i am also alone in our house.

twinky,

If u find yr nose stuck and give u probs in breathing, u can get the liquid to unblock nose blocked from GP and they will give u tat is safe for pregnancy. I got 1 from my GP which is also safe for children (milder than the oner for adult but it still works), it can help to unblock half or full for 4 hours or longer.

Snow / Sparks: txs. Will start looking after my AU trip cos I be going away for abt 3 wks in mid-Jan, will be CNY when I come back to town. So will keep a lookout then.

Liew: my T-test was done together wif oscar, the nurse draw 3 test tubes of blood.

Ellysia: I didnt want to take the chance tat anyone can jus see me intimately mah. Tats y I go for a lady gynae to start with. Even the nurse at my gynaes clinic keep asking y I so shy

hi cactus,

thks for answering to my question. In tat case i am not so worried.. tat why i chose a female gynae.. cos i dun feel comfortable being inspect by another guy even if he is gynae. feel v weird n uncomfy. If it is only nurse then shd be fine since most nurse are females.

crystal,

*Pat* *pat*.. dun worry too much then, no choice since this happen. I am sure u can find some part time job.. at the bright side at least now the market is good, and not at the time when market is bleak.

eh, i also v shy one lor. u are not the only one. I also feel uncomfy even if nurse n gynae see only.

wah lau...am so bored...whole day co. email down..can't do much work...si beh fed up...want to go off also scared...i sit here until wanna sleep liao... :S

hello..me back..

Seems like today alot of MTBs here are sick..including me.. =(

Keep coughing and coughing..i tot my cough cured liao..ended 2 wks later cm back again..dunno izzit nt enuff vit C or wat..finished the antibiotics gynae gif me oso no use..haiz~~

Ellysia,

Me nw using vick to ease blocked nose and rubbing on throat so wun cough so much..so 'xin ku'..somemore today MS worsen..feeling nauseaous the whole day..no mood to work..

Cactus,

Better take care..Dun play play wif fever ah..better c ur gynae or take 1 panadol and rest well..

iamsnow,

me oso counting down..guess wil be leaving slightly early today..reali nt feeling so gd..keep wanting to doze off..

hi ellysia
Catcus answered your qn liao. Just to add, in my case they will only come into the room when they need to check you or when you call for them. Rest of the time, alone with hb, can watch TV, read or snooze. Cannot eat though. I didnt hear any one else screaming (ahaha...my fren did and it scared the shit out of her) but I could see from the machine I am hooked up to, how are the other women contractions coming along in other rooms. My guess is tt they all took epidural. hahaha

thks Linda for answering my Q

twinky,

I have been suffering from flu on and off for 3 years ored. I have sinus problem in sec sch days which goes off after I moved house. But 3 years ago, my sinus problem came back and on top, i have frequent flus. Most serious flu is 1 whole week totally blocked nose and mucus totally not moving. I almost die of no breath i tink.. even if i use the liquid to unblock, it will come back after 4 hrs and its terrible.. at this terrible period my hb propose to me haaa.

Anyway if vicks dun work for u (bec it dun work for me), u can get tat liquid frm doc but must get the one safe for pregnancy. It is really effective and can even stop flu sometimes. Cos my flu gets more serious over the last few mths when i have MS too, i can understand the horrible feeling of suffering both problems together.

just went to clinic to get medicine for fever and flu... didn't bother taking MC cos already half day over. need the medicine to help me survive the weekend...

yah... going to zzzzz throughout the weekend... just have a dinner to attend tomorrow.. parents' friend... going to peranakan food place... true blue, or blue elephant.. cannot remember the name.. sigh.

I dun plan to get cordyceps. fruit juices and fresh fruit work very well for me. cordyceps so far is only good at stopping cough.. but I dun really have cough when I'm ill.. usually flu and fever.

ya cactus...

Rest well..me wil oso need to rest well too..

ellysia,

i intend to get after i back fr korea..coz btw 4th mth to 6th mth, it is bb development of organs, esp. lungs..and my colleague told me cordycep 'bu' lungs one..so i taking so my bb wil haf a stronger immune system..and 2gether wif me BF oso..my bb wil b very healthy..yeah yeah..Hehe..

Twinky, yes. My grandma told me cordyceps is good for lungs.. that's why if have long term cough, it is good to take. Another thing that is milder but good to take for cough is nan bei xing, with apple, and pork. Boil into soup.

Hi Cactus_79: now pregnant can still take nan bei xing? cos was advised by the sales person at Fu Hua .. its not advisable to take during preg ..

I didn't know about that! My MIL cooks nan bei xing in soup for me.... she said once in a while is good. Maybe I should drink less of it now! Thanks for letting me know!

Hey gers: just back from a session wif my other colleague who is 5+ mths preggie who also kenna retrench. She wasnt taking it too well & her boss is not reai being sympathic. Apparently when she ask how co can retrench her now when she is preggie, her boss told her he didnt realize she was pregnant. PLS LAR! Hers is so obvious cos her tummy reai big n she had been wearing proper maternity clothes since her 3rd mth. She also called MOM already who told her they cant do anything for her cos she is not into her 6th mth yet, so company no obligation to pay her maternity benefits, if paid will be @ companys own discretion. She is now so pissed. I told her that I didnt feel too good either but we can oni look forward lor. I told her at least she is better than me cos she can use the remaining time to bond wif her daughter, I can oni face the 4 walls. SianK..

Linda: thanks for clarifying the labor process, good to hear it from mummies wif experience. To me, tat is still untrodden grounds, so fearful lor. Reai V abt SITEX I meant? Then I go ahead on sun but today can check it out lar. but sun may not ve the model I wan too, rite?

Cactus: e last time I gave tuitions was in college days when I need to earn my pocket $ lar. So long already, lost touch wif syllabus. Later teach kids the wrong things then die. Maybe data entry work or something can be consider lar but my contacts in the industry thinks I m kidding. One of them even ask me if I m testing his intellect. How could someone of my level want to do data-entry jobs. ArrrgggKK *hug hug* poor ger, do look after yourself over the wkend can? Tell yurself hb not ard but bb is keeping u company also, okie? Pm me if u need someone to talk to lar.

Elaine: oh dear, so now is yur elder boy ok? I didnt know of tat, oni read in preg bks tat baby can survive outside womb from wks 27 onwards, so I tot can shorten everything then I can go get started back on work n all. If bb is reai going to be in danger, etc I will reconsider definitely. Dun wan hb to blame me next time.

Belsi: i m actually not positive but faced wif the colleagues ard me, some of whom are in worse of situation than me n I reai dun wan sympathy from colleagues who are not being retrenched, I hve to act like I m ok lor. When at hm, alone, oni I n hb know wat I m going thru. N of cos u gers here r on the receiving end of my moanings as wellK.

Hi twinky, try VICKS to clear yur flu, it works for me. My gynae taught me when I complained abt mine e other time. Tis time round cos my flu, etc last over a mth, she gave me antibiotics which she say is safe for pregnancy. Now I m much better oreadi.

I read in website for 12th week and 13week the bb will need calcium to develop bones etc..

But my gynae haven't gave me any calcium supplement yet and i have problem drinking milk. Anyway, i will get from her tmr i guess.

Ellysia: same here. I also feel shy wif oni gynae n nurse ard, my gynae always ask me during every scan y I so uptight

Cactus: I second the gers, best to take 1 panddol if reai bad. I take quite frequently actually cos of my margarine. My gynae say to take oni the normal green/white pkg one without all the added/ stronger, etc, maximum up to 6 in 24 hrs. cos she say if she prescribe, she will also give tat. It is very safe for us now n ve no harmful effect on bb at all.

Okie time to knock off soon 12 mins to go.ciao gers. C u all on mon!

crystal,

Actually if u wanna apply for data entry but the employers tink u are overqualified, u can just dun display yr uni cert. i.e. just put yr schooling education to A levels.

But i tink if u apply for part time job, they probably dun bother abt this so much becos u can say u got family and need to take care so u dun mind a data entry part time job.

I remember when i have attachment in another company, there is a part time lawyer consultant who is a mother, and she do part time is so to take care of her kids. So professional jobs also have part time. Just get those job agencies to help u find.

I dun tink we mind tat u pour yr troubles here.. afterall this forum is partly for us to vent our woes! It help to release stress a lot

crystal, am also looking into data-entry/word processing/proofreading jobs leh..wanna keep my options open coz if opportunity arises, i would prefer to be sahm leh...

again, dun dwell too much over the lost of job la..no good...take a rest mah...9 yrs of working life leh...time for some good rest...
remember, huai de bu qu, hao de bu lai!! :p

My ulcer giving me a bit of problem.. tinking to get those ulcer cream off the shelf.. do u all tink it is fine? or need to check with doc?

Asking a private question here.. btw do u gals find it harder to get intimate with hb during this period when our breasts are getting more sensitive? I mean to making love. Though i can't do anything now cos i have spotting, just wanna find out cos i find tat my breasts have lost the usual sensation and sometimes sex drive can be crazy (either high or super zero).. v strange.

hi crystal,

oh... my boy is now 15mths old. except for being a low birth weight baby n e jaundice he get... he is fine. Growing well but abit on e smaller size maybe becos i'm on e small built too. Anyway e Jaundice he get is cos by breastmilk so it only goes off when he is 3months old but hubby still thinks tat if we can wait till 1-2wks longer our boy might not get breastmilk jaundice. GUYS dont go through wat we go through so forever they wont understand wat we r suffering........

Hi Catcus and all mummies to be.....

I also have fever and flu 2 weeks ago.....and a terrible headache. I did not want to take panadol and try to "ren" and drink plenty of water. Finally, my temperature went up to 39 degree and went to see my gynae and he actually mentioned is ok to take pandaol....as long as does not exceed 8 per day and is better than having a high temp. Anyway..i eventually went to KKH 24 hr.... and was prescribed antibiotics.

Actually... quite worried too dun know too much western medication would affect or not...

Today no chance to use the com. So reach home come online.

SIgh, Me so angry, I told hubby tell him go tell his bro if he wanna do it, be responsible and change the bedsheets. He said he don't wanna put his bro in a spot since his bro gave up the room when we got married. Tell me bear with it. Urgh. He said at most 2 wks we change e bedsheets n bring to laundry. I said no, every week, he asked me to bear the laundry cost. $%^&*() His bro should be paying loh. Go hotel also need to pay money loh. Sigh, I hope we'll move out soon.

My MIL at home also never stop the couple from entering the room. Everytime still tell me now pregnant cannot this and that in the room on the bed. Can u imagine? If baby next time anything and they blame me, I'll expose his bro n push the blame back to them cos they allowed all these things to take place.

My PIL will never treat me like their own daughter one. Everytime if they see me n hubby having tension, instead like usual PIL always blame their own kid, they blame me said I made hubby angry. Sigh. Letting off my steam here.

My hubby visits this forum to read on ppl's experiences also. Don't care he thinks I'm airing dirty linen. Sigh, must cool down, else affect baby.

Ellysia,

U experience depression before also ah?

Depression very weird one. It's like u no longer feel sad or terrible. U just feel so numb. And when you cry, you just ended up feeling so gd. That's what I went through.

My friend asked me why I had depression and what was I thinking then, suddenly now I cannot recall liao.

Anyway hubby and I cant lock the door cos his bro's clothes share our cupboard. Instead, it's my PIL who always lock their room. Weird.

Ellysia,
i don feel to making love at all during 2nd mths till now.... just feeling weird and may worry will hurt our baby.. mmmmm... but my hubby understand too... hee

ellysia,

my hubby find my breast more & more interesting, he always like to touch and feel how big it have grow...we make love once a week, just than now feel abit dry sometime...as need to help him release stress mah...

hi chelz,
my hubby tested thalassaemia and he is alpha minor.. and i tested negative.. so gynae said its ok.. for my hubby test is only $18.. and for mine.. thalassaemia, HIV, Syphilis, Hep B and dunno wat something like some vaccination we took when we young (to test whether the vaccine is still there) cost $88..

i went to toapayoh caranno.. the cheap cheap plc selling maternity.. i bought 10pcs!! 2 skirts, 2pants,1 dress, 2 shorts and 3 tops.. spent 251! bery cheap..

Hello Mommies / Mommies to Be

I'm new to this forum, hvg Crystal mentioning abt the June mommies here. Great to learn more from this site.