(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Lamb,

That's a very nice age gap that you've got. actually, I'd love to have 2 kids of my own evntually. Close age gap. say, 1 or 2 years apart.

Tok abt bloatness, last week when i have severe LS, i lost a lot of water and gas tat my stomach suddenly become flat.

Whenever i drink ginger tea and lose some air, the stomach will look flatter. So i really tink it is bloatness.

cactus,

Ya 1-2 yrs are the best, so "xin ku" also one go shot and some clothes can be shared
toys can shared too. Even next time books can also share and save cost.

Btw, does BF stall menses? i.e. no menses while BF? I tot last time home econs got say but i cannot remember.

Hello Lamb..

Y shy to post?? We r all very nice ones..haha..**so thick skin yah** Welcomez..

ND, tinyfeet & ellysia

When i in 9th wk my bb is 3.4cm..nw 12th wk is 6.16cm..When i'm in 5-6wks..my bb is 0.77cm..

cactus,

Shiok rite..Juz wake up..Somemore raining..nice weather to slp..Me juz nw b4 lunch nap in office for 10min..Too tired & giddy liao..Lucky boss out-station..haha

twinky,

Mine is 6cm at 11 weeks, then the scan doc still suspect tat i give wrong date for last menses, she tot is 12 weeks.

But later at gynae clinic, measure abt 5.6cm lor.. so v strange. Anyway i dun bother just follow gynae advice where she has push forward the EDD by 1 week to 3 June.

I heard tat EDD will change later by bb progress so hard to confirm now also.

All along i haf been doing tummy scan leh..Even at 5-6th wks, gynae oso do tummy scan..no vaginal scan..

Ellysia,

Nv hear b4 tt BF stall menses leh..

Then got those books for FTB?? My hubby haf been reading those books and magazine tt i bought. So he know wat to eat & wat cannot eat..Cannor bluff..He is oso e one who teach me to drink Anmum milk one..Coz his frenz taught him..I think he noe more abt pregnancy than me..So he wil always say 'dun ever try to bluff me and escape fr my 'mo chang'..haha..

Soyabean,

Actually i seldom eat yellow noodle even b4 pregnancy..so shld be ok bah for me..

twinky,

My hb lazy to read pregnancy book (also no surf net) so he blur blur abt pregnancy. Tats why i eat wat he also dunno good or not.

He find reading pregnancy book v strange so he bot a book for father to be. I roughly see, the book is written from a men's perspective. We saw the book at Kino when i am shopping for a pregnancy book.

One day while my mum makan dinner with us, we are eating veg at a restaurant and my mum said cannot eat Kang Kong cos it will cause leg cramps cos it is too cooling. Then my hb imm say like tat next time cannot allow me to eat liao. sob.

So u see, the less they know better lor, we know wat can eat or not, just control ourselves is better haaaaaa.

BF cannot stall menses? I tot last time women use to do BF as a way to delay next pregnancy. Anyway i know it will help the figure to resume better. My colleague BF for 1 year.

catus,
beta for dem but nitemare for me .. lolz

ellysia,
but even my doc sae it is big~! I was tinking probably im on the smaller size so it looks more outstanding or mayb twins~! *faintz*

twinky,
thks for the welcome
Aniwae beside yellow noodle, I oso noe tat cannot eat too much curry too..

Lamb,

How can. If twins, then at 6 or 7 weeks can tell ored. My gynae can tell me mine is not twins at 7 weeks checkup lor.

I have a colleague also look v big, hers at 5th mth even bigger than another colleague at 7th mth. But she say her bb size is okay but waterbag is big. So maybe is bec' waterbag is big??

Anyway as long as yr bb size is the correct size, it should be fine.

Hmm... I thoguht I posted soething on breastfeeding stalling menses.

yes, breastfeeding exclusively stalls menses. the key word is exclusively. but don't use it as an alternative to birth control cos we ovulate 2 weeks before our menses comes.. so we never know when we may be fertile again until it may be too late,.

Just to share, a very well known doctor did not detect a twin pregnancy until 4 month! Apparently during scanning sessions, 1 twin would always hide behind the other twin. It happened to my colleague's sister. Her twins are 10 years old now.

Cannot eat too much curry. How much is too much??

I really like curry a lot lor. Like that then i cannot cook curry chicken leh. My hb and mum like to eat my curry chicken.

cactus,

So it did stall menses. I tot i read in home econs textbook before. Can't be use at birth control but at least won't "get arrow" so early after giving birth mah.

Cos my hb's fren hor, she give birth to 1st one, 6 mths then 2nd one liao. She scared not enuff nutrients for 2nd one lor.

Wah cannot detect twins until 4 mths?? Then jiat lat, my stomach so fast fat liao.. hope not twins leh, cos my grandma side got twins history.

ellysia,
keke..i haf nt even go for ny scan yet... even my doc oso duno cos I go to polyclinic one (u noe la as goverment one veri long one)& scanning & test wil b scheduled nxt wk at KKH
Cant wait for the 1st scan~!

i am now in hk waiting to fly back to spore.. my flight delayed.. zzz.. mus wait till 7pm.. jus to do some update on my oscar test result.. my result is good.. the reference point for my age is 1:700+ and my result is 1:15000.. so now my next appt is on 29 dec.. to see my bb gender! kekeke...

Lamb,

OIC!! U better go scan early cos need to check on growth size etc. Polyclinic v long queue leh.

For me, i check as early as 5th week cos i have spotting & worried so want to confirm. Cos i have a colleague who got etopic pregnancy then another just have a MC. So after hearing such incidents, i also v worried need assurance.

cactus...
u r right... BF does stall menses... but for some women, their menses still come back even when they are bfg. and yes... though bfg means menses doesnt come, but it doesnt mean we dun ovulate. so it's still poss to get preg even when bfg. and dats even more dangerous cos we dunno when we ovulate if we are bfg and no menses somemore...

Ellysia, the key word is "exclusively" breast feed. meaning, breast feed as much as the bb needs to drink. don't supplement with formula. once you do that, there is a risk you may be fertile again. it is nature's way of ensuring that sufficient nutrients goes to the bb you are breast feeding withotu being too taxing on your body.

actually studies have shown it's best to wait between 18 months to 5 years before the next child. the 2nd child will have a better birth weight. but I think I'd probably not heed that advice.. cos never know.. 1st child may come easy..2nd child hard. My SIL has been trying for some time for her 2nd child. her 1st already 2 years old. her own SIL has a 7 year age age between 2 kids.

ellysia,
curry wil cause 'yellow' too... so moderate ba.. nxt time u cook, let me noe I help u 'fen dan' abit.. keke .. I love curry too

I wanted to do the scan fast but dey r just too draggy
Imagine dey want to do the 1st scan at 20 wks.. faintz rite? I shld haf jus tel dem to refer me to KKH beta~! *sigh*

cactus,
nt too sure abt stall menses but I noe tat within the yr after delivery is the most fertile period for another one~!

cactus,

Having children is really a blessing lor, depend on fate one. Sometimes try cannot, dun try then get. My current pregnancy also not planned one. Somemore, my hb has been saying that we must start TTC cos no "good news" after 11 mths of marriage lor. Then suddenly menses didn't come then i check kit and it say pregnant liao. I almost cannot believe it.

Lamb,

Sianz lor. so no curry for 7 mths. Maybe i limit to 1 curry per mth heee. Not tat bad right.

Wah i forget liao, just now lunch i still ask the fan cai stall to put curry sauce on rice leh.

hey Lamb,

there is a way to get the scan done earlier and quickly. just go to KKH's 24 hr clinic and complain that you have tummy pain (cramping is normal for some ladies during early pregnancy - I experienced it). private rate scan and consultation is at about $87 there.

haha! Yeah, Ellysia. A child is really a blessing. cannot plan for such things.. if they come, they come. Just have to constantly save up for the child before the child arrives.

cactus,
During my 1st preggie, I went to KKH but gt a referral letter fr poly just to get more subsi .. keke but advantage is:-

1. u wil nt get to c a permenant gynae which is to sae tat ani gynae on duty tat dae can c u

2. u wil nt get to scan ur baby as & wen u like..(cos scanning can oni b done at hospital) nt like private u get to scan the baby on every visit (shld b)

3. not as caring as private gynae

4. very very draggy, svcs nt as gd as private

As my 2nd one, I was told tat I can visit the gynae at poly instead of gg to KKH but if scanning is needed, u stil nid to go KKH so I tink is the same la... might as well go KKH beta at least if I requested to do a scan or wad I can do it on the spot, im sure the gynae wont sae no rite? Unlike my situation nw hw to wait & wait

but hor KKH A&E is using virginal scan lei which i personally dont like (i suppose most oso feel the same) if gg, probably wil go for private but i hear tat nid to drink alot of water to scan ma?

ellysia,
me too, haven save .. haha .. here in dere out especially nw is festive season

cactus,
actually i haf nutting against the doc, it is just hw the system wrk ba.. but to compare KKH & poly, I wil go for KKH

I stil go bk KKH again cos I haf a smooth delivery dere ya

But im in my 13 wks nw so which wil dey use to scan? keke...

Do u all feel ackward wif the vaginal scan??

Me oso haven start saving anything for bb..Haha..Like so bad..Staying wif in-law too..planning to get a hse onli after birth..

hi Twinky,

yah.. i dun like vaginal scan but no choice. if cannot see bb then scan already also pointless right? but so far, doctor will always try tumy scan first. if cannot see clearly, then will use vaginal scan.

I'm presently staying half half with parents and ILs. after birth, not sure will stay with which side. See which side can look after bb. will move over to my parents' place when bb is 9 months though... then will stay with my parents until bb is 2 years old (we'll try for #2 then).. if have #2, then we will prob buy a 3 or 4 bedroom place... if only #1, then we'll buy a 2 or 3 bedroom place.

cactus,
agreed wif u cos jus wen appointment yest & no heartbeat detected yet (was used on a hearing machine)

twinky,
but the property market is on a up trend nw but does it affect on buying new hse?

ellysia,
ya.. in airport.. they have free internet usage.. so log in to post.. now still waiting.. really zzzz..

Morning ladies....

Babycupid,
happy for u...can't wait for u to come bk =D....bery exciting hor, few wks more then can see bb liao =D..

Lamb,
Congrats...Feel free to join us ya =D...U haven been to ur 1st scan? How many wks u in now?

Hi gers,

So depressed this morning cos I look so fat in all my clothes. Had a hard time choosing wat to wear to look slimmer and my DH kept rushing me. Sob, sob.. I hope to look real pregnant soon. Now I oni look FAT!

Hi Tinyfeet,
When I went for my scan at 9weeks, my doc told me that the normal size should be about 2cm and mine was 2.05cm. It was about 4.5cm in my 11weeks.

I always wonder if my bb is smaller than it should be cos the other gers' bb are so much bigger than mine. But since the doc didnt say anything, I take it as ok.

Morning fei fei..

You are early.. I tot only I start work so early.

Can't use internet during working hours. See you all back at lunch.

Morning, fei fei! Morning Zu En!

Zu En, if you have asked for a copy the scan print out, you would be able to see the estimated EDD based on the scan, and/or the estimated age of the bb. For me, bb was at 1.9cm at 8 weeks. scan print out noted that bb is at 8 weeks +/- 2 days, or EDD is on 22 June 08. That's a couple of days before my EDD (based on LMP calculation) on 25 June 08. The doctor said scan done at 7 weeks + is the most accurate to "date" the pregnancy.. therefore, they call it a dating scan, but doctor continued taking my EDD to be 25 June 08 as it was just a difference of 3 days.

hi ladies, so much postings to catch up on. didnt log in yd cos something happen in office. our CEO announced the 2nd wave of retrenchment exercise & tis time round, i m in it as well... so will ve to join starmoons & JP as SAHM till bb is born ....

Morning to all

Hi feifei,
nw in my 13 wks, gg for my 1st scan nxt Tues

ZuZen,
me too
nw in a stage of duno wad to wear!

cactus,
I was told by the doc tat if the dating doesnt make much dif (nt more den a wk) dey wil stil base on LMP calculation

morning ladies!!!

crystal, i thought there are labour laws to protect pregnant woman? they cannot retrech pregnant staff right???

Hi Lamb,

Thanks for shining light on the dating and calculation. The doctor didn't tell me that much. She just said 22 June and 25 June very close.

Hi iamsnow, labour laws in US perhaps. NOt in Singapore. They can retrench anyone in Singapore but the employment contract is likely to provide retrenchment benefits.

morning ladies! i am back in SPORE!!! i mISS spore!! hahaha..

feifei,
when is ur nex appt? mine 29 dec..