(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia,

You're making me look forward to the NT scan even more now. Really can see more clearly ah? Is the scan over the tummy? Drink water before the scan? I can't wait to see bb again..

oh... I think it doesn't matter when we do those blood tests.. just that we must do them before delivery cos our bb may need special attention/treatment from the medical team if we have any of those diseases.

Hi Twinky, I'm very surprised by the position that your company is taking with respect to O&G MC and ML.

In fact, MOM website says that ML can be taken 4 weeks before and up to 8 weeks after child's birth. With mutual agreement, 28 days can be taken up to 6 months from after child's birth.

It is very strange that your company will consider MC as ML. ANd even more strange that your company allows you to take "ML" when you are more than 1 month away from EDD. It can't be correct loh. Company policy cannot over the law lah.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html#eli

Me bk frm my oscar test liao...Everything was okie, bb normal =D...My thalessmia results are not out yet...

During the oscar scan yest, can see bb's legs, hands, hand, nose bridge leh, so amazing, he/she was sleeping, I have to fake a cough to get it moving so that they an measure e tissue behind his/her neck =D...hehe..

Gynae gave me milti vit, calcium pills and fish oil yest...Hv to start taking since i am in my 2nd trimster now =D...

JP,starmoon,
Please update my EDD, it has been change to 29/05/08 =)...But i weill cont to be in this thread hor...=D...hee..

Ellysia,
Tink I know which one is you liao..keke...will u wearing a white tshirt and black pants? hehe...

Me also can see my bb's fingers lor, so cute hor...

iamsnow,
so amazing hor, cos bb seems to hv grown so much liao...really looking forward to see him/her again next mth =D..

salmonfish,

My next appt is 2 weeks later cos i plan for travel next mth so will be doing a check before that. Then i be getting my 2nd trim supplement on next appt too.

feifei,

correct leh. I wearing white t-shirt with a raintree pix. How come u know is me. do u come alone or with hb.

twinky,

then no choice lor. maybe u can save on cab fare on yr 2nd trim. Ajunied tat side is quite bad.

cactus,

On the GST topic yes. My co also tried paying everything b4 the hike to save the gst increase.

wow u recently married only?

Cactus,

I oso nt sure..Yesterday my acct. told me..So i was wondering..

Then later i went to MOM website and look for details. But nv mention anything on this oso..

Anyway, wait for MOM to reply back and c hw is the outcome..

Actually my co. consider quite gd oredi..Allow us to take leave as and when we like..Working hours oso quite flexi. Even if late or go off early, my boss oso close one eye one. As long as dun affect work, he is ok..

Sometimes i juz say i nt feeling well, boss wil let me off as early as ard 3 plus..My standard workign hours is 8.30am to 5.30pm..But usually i wun b in the office until 9.30am..Hehe..

salmonfish,

I dunno leh i sit at front row facing TV, then later at the blood test section i change lor.

Anyway i am probably the only one who want to bring hb in for my blood test lor.

WAH U ALL GUESS WHO I AM LIAO, CAN TELL TELL LEH which one is u all leh. i been looking looking yest.

Cactus,

Somehow i remember you r in the ROM thread under Peony Jade Rest or the Nov'06 ROM thread. izzit?? I find ur nick very familiar leh..

FeiFei and Ellysia,

So fast in your 2nd tri?? I tot 2nd tri start fr 14th WK?? My EDD is onli 4 days different fr u & i'm onli 11th WK nw..

hi twinky,

MOM never mentiona nything specifically but they said this -

ML can be taken 4 weeks before and up to 8 weeks after child's birth. With mutual agreement, 28 days can be taken up to 6 months from after child's birth.

So it is very strange that your company lets you take ML so early in your pregnancy.. not that you will be delivering next month.

but it's good that your boss is good to you. that's very important.

cactus & twinky,

Actually cos we have to wake the bb up to move his position, so tats why bb is awake and is moving. Else if yr bb happen to be asleep n in correct position, u may not be able to see any movement le.

I guess frm week 10 onwards can see bb move liao (frm wat i read in this forum lah).

feifei,

u ored get yr supplements.. me still waiting for Dr Wong to give on next appt leh, which shd be my 13th week lor.

Btw wat tonic u intend to take?

cactus,

Wah like tat u is v efficient lah. Me married last year Oct. BB is our 1st anniversary present

twinky,

Gynae did say i am entering 2nd trim liao. I guess shd be next week.

Ellysia,
Hehe...cos saw u with ur hb mah...hehe...rem e couple sitting beside u when u made payment at the oscar counter? hehe...thats me and hb =D..yest u din see your gynae? My gyane told me its time to take fish oil, multi-vit and calcium pills wor...next wk will be time to apply stretch mark cream also....

My next appt will be on 28th Dec, hopefully by then I can see bb's gender cos will be in 17th wk then =D.

salmonfish,
I was there yest at 9am leh...was wear a black tshirt lor....Wat abt u? hehe..me kept looking ard lor, cos i rem got afew ladies doign oscar yest...hee

Twinky,
Ya lor, 2nd trim liao =)..EDD also moved 3 days earlier lor =D....bery soon ur turn lor..when u going for oscar?

feifei,

Me not doing oscar..Gynae onli suggest NT Scan..Which exclude the blood test that Oscar has..

NT scan doing on 26/11..Which is next monday..Then next tri-wkly appt wif gynae is on 1/12..

ellysia actually i don't remember your faces... haha.. wasn't paying attention coz' thinking of my baby #1 at home.

I was wearing green with hubby in the morning...

feifei black shirt?? what time were you at acj in the evening?? I was there alone at ars 4:15pm... think i saw a couple there... maybe it's you? wearing glasses sitting facing the wall??

hi gers, so much posts within a few days. was feeling so sick tat i didnt log on at all.
welcome to all new mommies.

jus back from my blood test & feeling light-headed, now sitting in office. if dun move too much, should be ok. goodness, it is so expensive, cost me $460+....tat's a real big tear to my pocket....
OSCAR on coming friday, hope everything is ok. colleagues n biz associates commented tat i dun look preggie at all.
they compared me to another colleague whose EDD is mid-May 2008, tat's abt 3 wks ahead of ours & it is a 1st preggie as well but she reai looks pregnant...whereas i dun, so i m reai worried now. can oni wait till fri cos my gynae is in surgery & couldnt c me jus now.

hello babycupid and cactus..
wow so cheap ah your tests? My blood tests costs me $133. I asked the nurse can dun do or not, she said must do. Those HIV, hep B, rubella etc tests... all $$$$

ellysia, gratz on your tests results being ok
Think I can only know mine tomorrow or day after... so nice, your bb is 6 cm liao, mine is only about 5 cm now..

I'm back from oscar test liao. Very fast, scan only took 10-20min and including waiting for draw blood etc ( they drew 5 tubes of blood!!) , whole thing only took 45min.
As usual, baby is sleeping and refused to move despite probing from radiologist and mummy coughing. Baby was sleeping with 1 arm on top covering his/her face.. after many hard coughs, baby woke up slightly nodded head, used his/her hand to rub eyes and went back sleep :p
Radiologist refused to help us see baby gender, says too early to tell.. but she did tell us baby neck thickness is 0.1mm, normal... phew. She said most DS children is 0.25mm or more. Neck thickness is 80% accuracy, coupled with blood tests then become 90% accuracy

Hi all~

I had my oscar yesterday and the results are good. 1:25000+ Baby was waving at us ytd haha

I will be going back to see my gynae before my Hong Kong trip and she said we should be able to see the gender by then.. Hopefully bb will cooperate

feifei,

OH!! I remember u liao. I was stuck at my counter cos the supervisor is telling someting to the counter staff leh. I saw u look at me and i look back lah :p I rem u more cos i was tinking how come we come together but i am stuck at the counter so long. Then later after my prolonged scan i come out i didn't see u liao (then i realise mine take so long lah).

Nope Dr Wong didn't give me supplements yest, she is a bit distracted yest. I did ask her when i am abt to go out of her room. She said will give me on my next appt ( 2 weeks later). I tink no harm lor cos i heard if take supplements will worsen constipation.

roxy,

Its okay, just 1 cm difference. Glad to know yr scan went well too. How come your one draw so much blood?? Mine only 3 tubes.

crystal,

Dun worry lah. Not everyone who is preggy will look preggy.

Dun be bothered by wat they say.

Good day ladies,

This thread is really moving so fast in the day.

Zuen, u must rest more. Bleeding can be dangerous in pregnancy, try to bed rest more. I heard there is this "An Tai Yao" available rite?

My gyne also gave me hormone pills so that cramps reduce and will make baby latch on more firmly. Apart from that, my hubby told me those chinese medication shop also have tonic to help in settling the baby.

Ellysia, I also eat, but hubby controls my diet cos he scare I get fat due to fries, plus fried food might worsen my outbreak. True enough, my appetite got better since 1 wk ago, I weight myself at the gyne, I pound on 2kg. Scary. Hubby so happy, he said weight gain means baby growing. I told him later baby grow too big, I can have natural delivery, must c-section, how?

My friend fed his wife ate so much, she gained 23kgs during pregnancy, cannot have natural birth, in the end c-section. Baby is 4kg. He went to the nursery and ask the nurse which one was his baby, he nurse look at him and reply, just look for the biggest baby, that's yours. And true enough, his baby is like giant compared to others. I hope this will not happen to me...

Kelcqi,

The "an tai yao" in medical hall, try to avoid eating. My mum said her gynae told her to avoid chinese herbs during 1st trim including "an tai yao" bec it may cause "huang dan bing" or other complications to the bb.

Anyway the hormones tablets given by gynae is ored an tai yao but in the western medicine type. Dun take 2 types or may clash.

How come yr fren fed his wife so much. Not v nice to force wife to eat too much or encourage her right. Just eat when hungry lor.

Gaining too much wt may sometimes bring other complications like high blood pressure even after pregnancy and increased sugar may lead to diabetis.

My mum keep telling me to watch out for fats and stuff like tat cos cannot make the bp increase too much etc. Its not v healthy.

I agree with u tat fast food make us gain wt v fast. I eat a lot of western food and fast food 1 mth ago so my wt is then 2 KG gain but now i cut down so my wt has reduce by 1 KG. But bb has grow so not tat worrying.

ellysia... tink 3 tubes for oscar, then 2 tubes for the prenatal screening, hiv, thessamela etc. Your doctor is so nice to call you personally... Mine will be the unfriendly nurses calling. Did you manage to see gender?

Yes crystal, I also dun look pregnant. In fact I guess most of us here dun look pregnant yet. Most importantly as long as bb is healthy can liao.

kelcqi, be careful wat chinese herbs u take. Some herbs might not be good or might cause miscarriage. Safer to check with gynae too or go to trustworthy medical halls

roxy,

I didn't look at the gender area leh. I see the hands waving i am so happy liao, didn't notice lor.

The scan doc got zoom in at the leg section for us to see (maybe hint hint for us to see ourselves) but i didn't take particular attention to see also.

belsi, our costs shd be similiar cos RH. Just tat i read the other mummies here OSCAR & Antenatal tests seem to cost so much lower, tat got me wondering if we ve been overcharge lor...

roxy, the cashier told me $360 for OSCAR & $70+ for the Antenatal which is the 3 test tubes of blood, urine which i was told will be tested for HIV, HEP, Rubella etc.

ellysia, txs for yur assurances. been telling myself tat too but when pple ard keeps comparing, i do reai worry abt my 'little hammy' - whether he/she alrite or not n starts thinking wild tots. actually, sheepys' incident reai haunt my tots till now although some time had passed...

crystal,

Same here. Me also been tinking abt sheepy.
My spotting still haven't stop, today spot again.

Sometimes i am worried too. But sometimes will have heart paipitation and i know i am feeling the bb heartbeat too. Then also will have nausea too on and off. So not so worrying.

yr cost is quite similar to mine, tink shd be fine.

Ya..Me too dun look pregnant coz i'm oredi on the plump side..

Sometimes i wonder izzit my tummy growing bigger coz of bb growing or is my fats?..Haha..So far i haf nt put on any wt..In fact, lost 2Kg due to MS..pple may c me as plump & nt preggy..

Sob~ Sob~
1082994.gif

Twinky,
I see..bery fast will be ur turn lor.. =D..

salmonfish,
Evening at ACJ, u also wearing green hor? wear specs also hor? sitting opp e counter?I tink I know wich lady is you liao..keke...yup, me sitting with my hb facign e wall, then we change to the wooden seat there =D...hehe...

Ellysia,
keke....tink i saw u at the blood test there lor...u were holding a cup of water hor =)..

Roxy,
My bb's neck thickness is 0.22cm lor..gynae told me its good cos if hit 0.3, its abit high risk, 0.4-0.5cm, bery high risk...How big is ur bb now? Mine is 5.5cm lor =D...ur EDD got changed?

really bery happy to see bb hor...

belsi,
=)....so touching to see bb hor..Ur EDD got changed?

Janken, me also craving for steamboat. Keke... I was telling hubby on Monday nite also. But he doesn't like steamboat, so no steamboat for me.
Usually where you have your steamboat? Wanna come out and we go have Tom-yam steamboat?

Ellysia, my friend anxious for the baby so fed her alot of food loh. My hubby also anxious for baby, also ask me to eat. But recently I only seem to like western or fast food. He dun allowed me to take too much cos I had outbreaks plus he said too fattening. So I stick with normal food, but cannot take cold drinks. Last week I was in Japan, I hack care, drink coke. So happy!

Roxy and ellysia, me didn't take those chinese medication, only take bird nest and doc's medication. But hubby always ask me if I have spotting. Cos the medical hall person told him if I had spotting, need to take dunno what...

Crystal, where you had all your tests? Mine only need 200, i read in May thread others only paying 100 plus. I already feel kanna chop liao.

Roxy / Ellysia, txs ladies for putting my heart at ease, tat i m not the oni one not looking preggie.

Kelcqi, so happen i was checking on the "an tai yao" when i went ZTP medical hall over the wkend & the guy there told me 1st trim better dun take cos will result in side effect. he didnt elaborate on wat side effect n i didnt ask either. but he said if wan, can get from 2nd trim onwards.

i was actually there (@ ZTP) to get the concentrated bird nest. original px @ $73 less member discount, 1 bottle @ $65. now promo buy 5 get 1 free equates to $60 bucks per bottle.

crystal, I see. So it includes oscar, then it's pretty normal. Mine overall costs $420 so about yours too....

Btw, for those MTB taking oscar in TMC, can consider applying for FBI card. Membership costs $148 but got 10% discount for oscar(save abt $30 liao), $100 off hospital bills etc. Can apply on same day of oscar...

Ellysia, at least your scan doc zoom in. Mine just say too small cannot see gender and didnt even bother. Is your gynae giving you weekly jabs to stop spotting? But your baby is growing so healthily and so active, so no need to worry

Hey..

Can i noe does any one of u haf pets at hm??

I bought a Jack Rusell puppy before i noe i am pregnant. And nw i'm pregnant, my MIL & colleagues keep telling me cannot carry or go near my puppy. He nw onli 5mths old. Need alot of my attention and very sticky to me.

Most of the time i am the one feeding, cleaning him up and playing wif him. But my MIL dun seem so happy. She say wait my bb very ez kanna asthma coz of the dog fur. But i hack care..

Izzit true tt dogs fur can cause asthma to ur bb..I check wif my gynae..He say is perfectly alrite..I oso nv slp wif my dog..

hello feifei!!
No, tink my EDD is same. Last week at gynae edd got pushed forward,today edd back to normal. Bb only abt 5 cm now. You got your oscar results back already? Glad to hear your scan is ok.

crystal, ztp got promo ah? Ooh, then I better go buy liao... mai tu liao :p

tWinkt - i have a dog. He went thru' my 1st pregnancy till baby was newborn till now baby #2. no problem at all. I'm still carrying my baby #1 who is 8kg. my baby loves my dog to bits and is his very best friend.

ellysia, at least u ve MS to assure u. i don't ve tat + couple of wks back, i had 24 hrs of relentless dull cramps, so i reai worried. but e nurse at RH told me (when I called them up) tat if no spotting watsoever, then it is very safe tat baby is alrite. gut feel, i m still not convince though. interestingly i dun ve much preggie symptoms + craving also minimum n i lost my usual pre-preg habit of snacking.

twinky, i lost 3kgs. not oni biz associates who know i preggie comment i dun look preg. Just one colleague who didnt know i m preggie came up to me yd n asked me wat ve i done to lost wtg. i gave her a most surprise look wif my jaws dropping. she said tat a few of them had observed tat i seem to ve lost quite a bit of wtg n was wondering if i could share with them how i manage to do so, so tat they could lose wtg as well. under usual circumstances, i would ve been most happy. but now....? i dun think so, rite? *shrug*

Kelcqi, my tests are done at Raffles Hospital. when i got the bill jus now, trust me when i say i almost flipped. nvr tot it be so ex.

Salmonfish,

Does ur dog shed fur alot? My JR shed fur like no need $$ one..But pet shop say very normal since this breed is like tt. My hb haf to sweep flr everyday coz he scare wait affect my health..

roxy, yup when i was at the ZTP near my hse last wkend, they were having a promo of buy 5 get 1 free. i remember vividly cos the guy whom i was buying from was calculating for me how much saving i can get wif tat promo as compared to if i jus get 1 bottle wif member discount. i told him i need to try 1st cos nvr did like bird nests but now ve to try to take cos of bb. if u like, i can help u to buy. jus let me know lar.

wow, TMC still ve discount. RH's OSCAR dun ve, not even wif the DBS Ladies card.

twinky, i ve 3 hammies at hm n i still continue to clean & shower them n their cages every wkend. shd be ok so long tat u make sure after handling yur pets, u steralise yur hands before touching any food, etc. if u still ve doubts, best to ask yur doc abt tis.

Crystal, think the prices oni slight difference.. Coz I noe other places Oscar also ard $300+ average.. Dun worry so much regarding not looking preggy, think most of us here still dun look preggy.. U will get to see ur bb on Fri le

feifei, my edd remain the same
I'm hoping to push back the edd so that can meet my hubby's birthday on 15 jun but dun think possible haha

Crystal,

At least u lost 3kg quite significant and pple notice.. I lost 2Kg and ended one of my male colleague say i put on wt coz my face look rounder..Alamak!! Arrgg..

But dun worry..During our 2nd tri, our wt wil increase liao..But cannot too much..Wait very difficult to shed off..Esp. when i'm on the plump plump side..Hehe..

twinky, i hv a JRT at home too...adopted last yr from SPCA...he's my love man!

my MIL also kept asking me to give the dog away, am v. firm on keeping the dog...he gives me lots of company when my hb is out...love him to bits...

my cousin also got dog when his wife preggie...bb also v. strong now mah..already 1+ yr old liao...no asthma no nothing...tot it's supposed to build up bb's immune system instead?! :p

RH Oscar no discount
I still keep on double confirm with them some more... Zzzzz

Oh ya crystal, I have signed up the package le.. Remember to use wif DBS Ladies card to enjoy free baby massage

feifei,

I am drinking many cup of water after 1st scan cos the doc say bb position not the one she want so must drink more water and walk around to make bb move. Then also bladder not full for good scan yet. Did u hear me toking to hb to accompany me to blood test? Hee.

Kelcqi,

OIC.. but only 2nd trim then need to eat more for 2 person. 1st trim eat wat also go to ourselves one.

I tink i will only eat when i feel hungry. Cos now i still have ms, bloatness and slow digestion. I also cannot eat too much.