(2008/06) June 2008

twinky,
My ms or rather ES started during my wk 10 lor..hiaz...tot 1st trim going to be over liao, shd be better... wat does NT test consist of? slightly diff frm oscar test?

hi feifei, NT test is just the scan to measure the thickness at the neck area. I think OSCAR is the NT test PLUS a blood test. Both are to be done between 11 to 14 weeks. They can be done on the same day.

twinky,
My ms or rather ES started during my wk 10 lor..hiaz...tot 1st trim going to be over liao, shd be better... wat does NT test consist of? slightly diff frm oscar test?

Re: DS test

iamsnow,

Not that i know of. If i am not wrong, my gynae told me there is 2 DS test to opt for. Oscar is taken 11 to 13 weeks and is $300 (blood + scan), 90% accuracy. The other test is around 15-20 weeks but is only 85% accuracy.

Sharon & iamsnow,

If u can't finish food, no choice but to ate little then have other food like bread/biscuits to eat later lor.

I also can only finish 80% to 90% of my normal meal intake. But yest nite cos fever, i only eat 10% of normal dinner intake.

feifei,

I am now not sure if tmr i can take the test or not.

My diarroeha didn't stop and i went to see company doc ored. Hope it will stop tonight. If didn't stop, maybe have to postpone tmr appt.

Hmm... I think there's some confusion about the DS tests. Maybe this link will help clarify issues.

http://www.kkh.com.sg/SharedCMS/Templates/Singhealth%20Generic%20Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fPatientHealthLibrary%2fWomensHealth%2fFirst%2bTrimester%2bScreening%2f&NRNODEGUID=%7b727896BF-19C4-425B-898D-B6F519D98A5E%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#premier

SUMMARY POINTS

Ultrasound scan of nuchal translucency (NT) at 11-14 weeks is the single most accurate test for the screening of Down Syndrome.

The packages are :
Package
Tests
Detection Rate
Results available on
Price

A
Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks
80-85%
Day of scan $157.50
B
Blood test at 11-14 weeks
90%
2 working days after blood test $315.00
C
Blood test at 15-20 weeks
90%
2 working days after blood test $245.40

Note :

The blood test in Package B measures PAPP-A and free beta-hCG. The blood test in Package C measures alpha fetoprotein and beta-hCG.

So I think there are 3 DS tests which we can opt for.

(1) NT scan at 11 to 14 weeks (KK charges about $150 for this)

(2) NT scan PLUS blood test at 11 to 14 weeks (KK charges about $300 for this)

(3) NT scan at 11 to 14 weeks, blood test at 15 to 20 weeks (KK charges about $250 for this).

I think (2) is called the OSCAR or Combined test.

package 3 or C with blood test at 15 to 20 weeks is called the triple test. supposedly oscar (package 2) is more accurate

I think these are the different tests which the restructered hospitals offer MTBs. Not all hospitals/labs/doctors may offer all 3. Also, package C may be the least popular cos essentially, it is as accurate as (B), but need to wait for a bit before doing the blood test. I don't think most women would be prepared waiting to know the results of the test. Most pple will just go for Package A or B. If we think we are low risk (from age alone, accuracy is 30%), we can just choose Package A first. If scan is not desirable, then just add on the blood test (making it package B).

actually, none of us here are over 35... so I think our risk of DS bb is very low. The noticeable increase in having DS bb is after 35. 35 to 36 interval.

I asked my friend who is a dr (not specialist) - she says that although if age 35 and above then the risk of having DS bb is much higher, lots of obgyn will screen all their patients regardless of age. this is cos altho risk is higher if >35 yrs old, there are more women in the < 35 age group who are pregnant. hence it makes sense to screen all regardless of age

I think the obgyn will offer to all patients, but ultimately whether they want to take it is up to individual. I've decided to go for the NT scan since it is non-invasive and if it's not good then I'll opt for the blood tests as well.

I visited the thread - oscar test.. many of them belongs to the high risk even though they are age 27- 28.. but bb is normal after the 'chou yang shui' test..

I read on forum that the Oscar test give a lot of false results cos it is more on the safe side, giving people anxiety bec' they gotta wait for 1mth to take another test for 100% accuracy results.

My LS is really bad, i hope is not food poisoning. Gone to toilet 4 times ored

Take care, Ellysia. Remember to drink lots of fluid as LS can lead to dehydration. Did your company doc give you mc for the day? Try to go back early and rest.

Cactus/Kylene,
Thanks for the info on the NT scan/DS test. I will be going for OSCAR on 5th Dec. Kylene, I realised we have the same EDD. You going for your test on 4th Dec ya?

yah... if dehydrated, ms will get worse. If cannot drink plain water, can try flavoured water or diluted juices or some lemon juice in water.

ellysia,
ya lor.. so i wonder wat the test for? ended up make ppl go thru the agony and go for the chou yang shui test.. aiyo..

hi Ellysia
How much is ZTP selling for one bott of concentrate?

iamsnow,
Could be the longan you gotten. I normally put abt 5-6 longan, same amt of red dates without the seeds into metal container and pour boiling water inside, cover, then ready to drink after it had cooled. No need to boil. But taste preference differs from person to person.

Hi Teragram,

I have ored max my MC for this year and thus i didn't take any MC.

Really v jiat lat this year, max my MC cos i done eye operation, then take out wisdom tooth, plus now easily sick.

Company policy is if no MC, have to take leave. As i have ored take leave for travel, if i need to take MC i have to cancel my leave (i.e. my trip).

So if really food poisoning i dunno how. Cos feel wanna vomit but everyday ored nausea how to tell? Stomach a bit pain here and there but everyday stomach also not comfortable due to air, so again confused messages.

I just hope it won't affect tmr test then i can at least rest tmr at home after test, and hopefully everything is ok.

cactus,

doc got give me salt (dissolve and drink). Maybe i take that later.

Linda,

I dunno how much, didnt ask the person.
I may only buy at January cos i still have those normal bottled ones at home.

Anyway bb will absorb the most frm week 20 onwards, frm wat i know.

babycupid,

ya lor, if u see the thread on Oscar u will see how people grumbling. Then the "chou yan shui" test will have some risk in MC mah. Maybe this test is trying to avoid the risk, cos if take and is ok then no need to take any more test mah.

Hi Linda, the concentrated one is selling at $72 (I think) at ZTP. It's less than $80/bottle. Yah.. I also hear people say that if we take during 2nd trimester, it is more for bb. If we take it now, it is more for us.

sometimes, I think we can be too smart for our own good lah. but the human mind works such that if there is a chance that things can be proven to be normal, we will take the chance to find out if things are normal.

aiyo Ellysia,
my heart goes out to you. cos i ever got food poisoning before and it's horrible.

ok, rem to take the medicine doc give and take more fluid in the meantime. one alternative is to drink the isotonic drink H20, good for replenishing salt i think. then go back on the dot later (hopefully u can la). and rest well tonite. ya, it's tough to differentiate the food poisoning and MS now. hang in there!

Babycupid,
True lor, if the oscar test dun turn out well, imagine how worried and sad we will be ...hiaz...do u hv e link for the oscare test?

Ellysia,
ya lor, me also no mc liao, tmr taking leave to go for e test....

Oh dea,r hope u feel better later...

It is tough to differentiate any sickness now! Even fever, also hard to differentiate. Doc keep saying v hard to tell, so dun want to give fever medicine even though i feel feverish.

If mild fever i prefer to sleep on bed then let it sweat out, much better than eating medicine.

I took u all advice, i take the salt now. Seems better leh dun feel vomit leh, maybe is MS hor.

Hi Ellysia,

the salt will also help prevent dehydration so it's good that you continue taking it, especially if you don't feel like vommiting anymore.

Hi catcus/ Ellysia
Wow, so if buy 4 free 1, then one bott less than $60. Quite ok mah, no need cook somemore. I dun mind eating now, hahaha... vain pot me wanna look nice mah, esp when I normally dun eat when not pregnant. An excuse to indulge myself.

hi Ellysia
Take care... Now we feel sick more easily also cos our body very easily tired. Now I have flu every other day lor. Very sian to have blocked nose.

feifei,

Me also take leave for tmr. Although my appt with gynae & test are both in the morn, i took whole day leave.

dear gals,

thks, me feel horrible, having u all here divert my mind. Really low energy to leave my seat leh.

kylene,
actually, i am a little confused about my EDD cos in my 6th week, the gynae told me it's 15 June 08. then on my 8th week visit, i realised that she had referenced the EDD on my ultrasound scan which states 12 June 08. Will check with her the next time i see her which date it should be.

don't worry too much, believe things will be ok.
do keep us posted. but the 2-week wait is quite long huh, sigh. I was pretty tempted to bring my next apptm forward. hee!

Linda,

Agreed, i also have flu everyday and medicine dun seem to work! So weak and face look pale also.

Actually food taken for 1 trim maybe transform to fats if not absorb well. So take care dun overeat during 1st trim.

Hi telegram
EDD during 1st trimester is calculated on our LMP (last menstrual period). However, conception takes place after ovulation which we are not able to pintpoint exactly when. Hence, EDD is usually not confirmed during 1st trimester and is subjected to changes measured by baby size. Normally after 2nd trimester will have no more changes liao.

Hi catcus
Well, pregnancies are getting more 'troublesome' and slightly 'unreasonable' in our generations IMO. Or maybe we are having too many types of chemicals in our daily living products & produce.

Like in older generations, got fish eat very good lo, now people still cannot eat deep sea fish. My mum's time got bird nest eat laugh until mad lo, still scare this and that. very diff lah.

Up to personal belief, I still continue to use my daily products, eat my daily produce except those I find irritating now tt my sense of smell changed. Moderation and happiness ARE the key words. Happy mummy = happy baby!

hi ellysia
Yah!!! tell me abt it!! I looked like AUNTIE now lor. Keep complaining to my hubby regarding it esp when yesterday he commented I look "bloated" everywhere.

Kekeke... now I can eat I very happy lor. I think able to eat is a fortune...esp when MS hits. Never mind, pregnancy is an excuse to be fat, after delivery then diet bah!
take care of baby yourself, sure slim down fast!

cactus,

Birdnest not cleaned properly, maybe is referring to those feathers? I know if feathers or any feather components is the one who may cause allegy.

Eu Ren Sheng told me actually nowadays those birdnest sold are all cleaned properly, so actually not v hard to cook too.

Ellysia,

Hmm.. i still find it hard to believe that feathers or feather components cause allergy or asthma loh.... I thought allergy or asthma is caused by an over reactive immune/self defence system of our bodies. Perhaps the TCM reasoning for allergies and asthma is different from western medicine .... 4 of my aunties and my mom took bird's nest throughout their pregnancy. Only 2 out of 13 children have allergies/asthma. That is below national average, I believe. Further, one of my uncles have asthma so it could be an inherited thing and not a feathers thing. Then again, if we hear of something, it's better tobelieve if it doesn't cause us too much inconvenience hor. For me, I can't give up bird's nest... I'm quite a glutton.

Yes, these days bird's nest is better cleaned.
espeically those sold in the box are better than those sold in loose form.

Linda,
Thanks for the clarification on my EDD. I guess it won't be fixed till my 2nd trim then.
Like you, I also v happy when I can eat now. I still rem I was super satisfied with the Ya Kun kaya toast and teh-c I had last week. Cos that was one of the rare times I actually enjoyed the food. Hehe.

Cactus,
5 more min to you knocking off. I can only go off at 7pm. Then again, I started work late, at 10am.

cactus,

Yup i also won't give up drinking bird nest. Anyway it is nice tasting.

Just tat again, take our gynae advice - to take in moderation.

I think through and finally realise tat the reason for my LS is bec i forget to wash the red dates & longan when i use it to brew drink on sat evening! No wonder been having LS since sunday.

Teragram - I officially start work at 9am.. but informally start work at 815am....

Ellysia - ai yoh!!! You need to wash and soak the red dates before you cook lah! Poor thing! LS since sunday. Next time must be more careful k?

I'm leaving office liao. catch up with you ladies tomorrow!

on the herbs to take, i tink cordyceps has a better effect on our bb than bird nest, cos bird nest mainly is for complexion. However i understand cordycep is heaty and i haven't taken before, dunno wat is the effect.

cactus,

I am blur in nature then even more blur when pregnant (cos memory worse). So stupid of me hor. sigh.

hi teragram
yeah! Now that you mentioned Ya Kun Kaya... aiyoh the thot of crispy bread in my mouth... yummy.
Into dry stuff these days like fried bee hoon, fried chicken, toast etc... My MS is such these days tt I can eat breakfast and lunch but not dinner.

I also knock off at 7pm. Where do you work?

Hi ellysia
Aiyoh!!! Pregnancy does make one more blur... Do be careful next time yah?

I am also more prone to eating dry stuff nowadays, find tat easier to absorb w/o ms.

Going back to rest, hopefully tmr be fine!

teragram,
I'm opposite from u... haha. based on my LMP, my EDD is 12 june but after scan on the 8th week, my gyne says according to size of baby , my EDD should be 15th june.

Linda,
haha, oh yes, the crispy bread was yummilicious!
that nite i had it, i was actually going to get a jollybean soya milk but Ya Kun which was just next door was too tempting so told my DH "eh, let's have ya kun instead la"..hehe.

I work in millenia tower, near to suntec/marina sq area. Oh, u knock off at 7pm too?
Whereabout is your office?

Ellysia,
Pregant woman tends to be more forgetful. Must rem to wash the next round hor?

Kylene,
hey, that's really interesting, the other way round from mine!
are you still working as well? knocking off soon?

Hi teragram
I thot offices in that area normally work till 6pm one? kekeke... Me in kampung ulu industrial park lor... that's why the working hours so funny... kekeke

Ya kun bread...have to wait till weekend lor, then I go Causeway Point to eat... Hey! Can I tempt you with McDonalds milkshake? ahahaha
Yummy!

hi Kylene
That's ok too... sometimes baby smaller leh? Anyway, wont know till later. Also, most women dun deliver on their EDDs lor. :p