(2008/06) June 2008

Just came back from obgyn's appt. Dr said BB is OK. EDD pushed to 24th June now. Will see him in a month's time. MS very bad - puke bfast, lunch and dinner.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> Age</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> Gynae</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Child #</TD><TD> Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 30-May</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 1-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> TMC or Mt A</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 1-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 3-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>tWiNkY</TD><TD> 24</TD><TD> 3-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Yishun/Khatib </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD> 29</TD><TD> 4-Jun</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 4-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD> 25</TD><TD> 5-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD> NUH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD> 24</TD><TD> 5-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 5-Jun</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD> 29</TD><TD> 5-Jun</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ZuEn</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> 6-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 7-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD> 30</TD><TD> 7-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 8-Jun</TD><TD> Dr TC Chang</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>sharon818</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> 8-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> Mt E</TD><TD> 4th</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD> 29</TD><TD> 9-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD> Mt E</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD> 22</TD><TD> 11-Jun</TD><TD> Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 11-Jun</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>janken</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 11-Jun</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh</TD><TD> TMC or Mt A</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>tubbykat</TD><TD> 34</TD><TD> 13-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 14-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD> 30</TD><TD> 15-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 15-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD> 30</TD><TD> 15-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Chua</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 19-Jun(TBC)</TD><TD> Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 19-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysnowflake</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 22-Jun</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Bukit Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 23-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>soyabean</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> 23-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Bukit Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>paulnelaine</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 24-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD> 34</TD><TD> 24-Jun</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Serangoon North </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 25-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Devendra</TD><TD> SGH</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 25-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Chew</TD><TD> Mt E</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 18-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD> 28</TD><TD> 26-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 26-Jun(TBC)</TD><TD> Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinyfeet</TD><TD> 27</TD><TD> 30-Jun</TD><TD> Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> 1st</TD><TD> Upper Serangoon </TD></TR><TR><TD>piyoz</TD><TD> 31</TD><TD> end Jun</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> Anchorvale</td></tr></table>

Linda,
U are right that this area ppl worked mostly till 6pm.
I opted to be on this flexi work schedule where I can come into office anytime (of course reasonably sane hours, not like 2am) and just make sure I work the 8 hours. I used to come into office at 9.15am then I will leave at 6.15-6.30pm, thereabout. But ever since I was pregnant, have been finding it v difficult to wake up on time, so told my boss i will work the 10am to 7pm shift.

Is your workplace near to your home? How do you usu get to work?

haha, McDonald's milkshake ah? Can, can tempt me! Cos I am going Suntec later so maybe I will get one!

JP,
thanks for uploading the chart. glad to hear your BB is ok.
MS is tough, no doubt about it. my worst was not able to keep both breakfast and lunch down but yours is all meals. have you tried ginger tea? it seems to work for most ppl.

My gynae told me my edd is 13 July... now realise is 26 June.. hehe... therefore i decided to join the June baby... i was born in June also.. but mine is Gemini... haiz.. i prepare gemini lor.. i dun like cancer.....

Teragam - Thanks!
When I told my obgyn about my MS, he smiled and say, its a good sign. Means bb healthy.
Ginger tea and other ginger stuff worked for my #1. But this #2...haiz!

Thanks JP. Actually me hoping for June-Gemini baby also. Geminis always very easy going people.

I used Ginger tea to cope with my morning sickness also. Other than that, I try not to take plain water too much. Try to rest more as well. Tiredness will worsen MS. My MS almost gone liao, occassionally still feel like puking, but earlier on, I woke up every 4-6am in the morning to puke.

hi kelcqi and icegal,
welcome!!

Kelcqi, u must be really glad MS is almost gone ya?
I can't wait for mine to be gone. Am still getting bouts of naseaousness but it's more bearable now compared to 2 weeks ago.

JP,
Based on what obgyn has said, it does make MS a little more worthwhile right, cos it means bb is growing well.
Jia you ok? continue to try to find something that works for you eg smaller and more meals, lemon in water etc.

Hi Ellysia,

I don't regularly take cordeyceps so can't tell if it's heaty for me. I only take it if I take more than 2 weeks to recover from cough. Cordeyceps boiled with some pork is good for cough.

Ladies, I've got a question. Does anyone know how our doctors determine our EDD apart from counting from our LMP? It can't be due to the size of the embryo right? cos what if embryo is developing abnormally slowly, doctors can't just change our EDD and decide that things are normal? And at this early stage, doctors can't see the embryo's functions yet to determine age? I'm just wondering.. cos based on my LMP, my EDD was 25 June 08. At my 8th week scan, EDD was reflected in the scan print out as 22 June 08, but my doctor told me that she will still take 25 June 08 as my EDD because not much difference in the dates. Maybe the 2nd moms on this thread can shine some light as to how doctors determine EDD and why EDD changes from time to time? My curiousity.

hi cactus,
my dr says the EDD from the early scan (according to size of baby) is more accurate than LMP. she called it a dating scan. LMP not accurate cos we all ovulate at different times, not all on D14 of the cycle. she also said early is more accurate than later cos most babies are abt the same size in early development but as they grow bigger, other factors like genetic will come into play.

i think all drs have different managements due to their training. but most of the difference is not very big so it doesn't really matter. maybe that's why your dr took the EDD based on LMP.

Yeah.. perhaps. after all, EDD is just a date. Very few women actually deliver on their EDD. I was just curious more than anything!

I just ate a rice dumpling! So hungry!! I find myself getting very hungry easily these days... I can't eat much per meal, but I have a tendency to eat lots of small meals throughout the day. 630am, 830am, 1030am, 1pm, 330pm, 630pm, 830pm...

small frequent meals are good! I wish I can do that to. due to the nature of my work, I have to sit at my desk from 8am to 1pm. only occ I'll sneak a quick bite in-between clients.

I guess I'm quite lucky cos the office culture is such that we can go out to buy food nearby and come back to nibble at our work stations.... oh well... I guess the downside is I'd be putting on a lot of weight then.

Morning cactus and kylene and all!

Ya, quite quiet today. I think Feifei and Ellysia are doing their test today.

cactus,
hehe, i will be joining you in the weight gain!

kylene,
heh, seems like my EDD will be slightly earlier than yours then based on my 8th week scan.

girls,
i know this topic has been discussed before but wanted an update - have any of you already started wearing maternity clothes? i haven't but my current clothes are getting quite tight.

I have worn a maternity dress once cos it looked like a normal dress. Other than that I bought several dresses cos they feel more comfy. I try to avoid wearing separates cos the waistline cannot fit anymore.

janken,
take care.
i had a bout of throwing up this morning after i brushed my teeth, the gagging reflex. but because haven't eaten yet, so only threw up water and gastric juice. ok, sorry for the lucid details, tmi.
btw, is your spotting better?

I haven't started wearing maternity clothes yet. only loosened the button on my pants/skirts ( re-sew the button abit further away) . I'm used to separates. but i think i may need maternity bottoms soon.

I started wearing maternity bottoms since week 7!! Cos I'm pear shaped to begin with... so whenever I put on weight, the fats go immediately to my tummy and my upper legs... xian.

I'm still wearing normal tops.. but looser. I used to wear G2000 shirts to work but not anymore. cannot button properly especially after meals.

ND's girl,
Dresses sound good.
But I seldom wear them to work, i usu go for seperates which is why I am having this problem with tight waistlines. But I'm intending to go and get a couple of maternity dresses in time to come.

Kylene,
I think someone has posted on it but just a reminder
(if you like Perfect Mum), there's a promotion now, buy 3 and get 50% off on the 3rd item. But it has to be either all 3 tops or all 3 bottoms. So maybe you can check out this weekend.

Mind if I join? My EDD on 14 June. This is my second child.

Those who were asking about why EDD changes. Usually the first visit is v early (around 5-6 weeks) and the baby is too small to measure. The EDD is then calculated using the LMP as a rough gauge, but it isn't accurate as some ppl don't have regular menses. The dating scan is done from 8-10 weeks, when it is most accurate, by measuring the length of the baby in the ultrasound. Later on, our babies will grow at different rates, so you can ignore all the EDD changes done after the dating scan (8-10 week scan). As the name suggests, EDD is Estimated Due Date, so it's not fixed anyway, just used as a gauge.

Teragram,
I've always had problems with toothpaste, always gag, even with 1st pregnancy. My dentist once suggested I use children's toothpaste. You might want to try if you find your normal toothpaste offensive.

hi babyD, welcome to the thread! Have you decided where you would be delivering your baby yet?

Wow... there's quite alot of 2nd time moms on this thread yeah! Lots of stuff to learn from you ladies!

Hi babyD,

Welcome!
How old is your #1? I was also one of those stumped by the different EDDs given to me. Thanks for your explanation. My EDD then is roughly 12 to 15 June. Pretty close to you. You should be in your 10th week ya?

Hehe, I'll give children's toothpaste a try. Thanks for the tip.

i wld like to join this thread too

my EDD 21 June, TMC n my gynae is Lawrence Ang.

....this is going to b my 2nd child.

hi bbD,
how old is ur 1st child?

Thanks Taragram! :D MY MS not totally gone yet, still feel like vomiting at times. But appetite better now. Always getting hungry every 2-3 hrs. Sigh, at the rate I am eating, sure get fat very soon. Only thing I don't understand is why I always feel so bloated. Kept burping away.

Cactus, just to share with you on the EDD thingy. According to my gyne is based on the size of the embryo. I got pregnant due to late ovulation, so went to one gyne, her first response was so disheartening. The min she saw my embryo, she said she's likely to deal with a miscarriage. Made hubby and I worried for 2 weeks for nothing. Hubby in the end even sadly said if really baby is unhealthy, maybe abortion would do us gd than further complications. In the end, my collegue intro me to Dr Fong Yang, I went to him and he ensured us that the reason is due to late ovulation and thats why my size of the embryo was so small when the other gyne saw it. Only worry was a big cyst beside the embryo. Thankfully all went well, now the cyst subside and baby growing.

Welcome, Nur Atiqah!

Thanks, Kelcqi for sharing! It was a good thing you went to another doctor.Was your first doctor inexperienced or just careless?

hi Kelcqi,
I am burping a lot nowadays as well.
It's got to do with the increase in hormones, esp progestrone in our bodies which slows down digestion. Glad to hear everything went well for you. Good thing you guys sought a second opinion.

Hi Catcus, welcome.
I'm glad I went to Dr Fong also. He's much more patient. The first Gyne I went was at this Theresa Woman's Clinic at AMK. I missed my period 3 weeks, had very bad cramps and imagine the first response we got. She very rough also. Did pap smear test on me so painful. I told hubby I'm never ever going back there again.

Teragram, how many weeks are you now? Me in 12 wks now, only started burping at wk 11. Can we take eno to curb the bloatedness and burping?

Hi Catcus, welcome.
I'm glad I went to Dr Fong also. He's much more patient. The first Gyne I went was at this Theresa Woman's Clinic at AMK. I missed my period 3 weeks, had very bad cramps and imagine the first response we got. She very rough also. Did pap smear test on me so painful. I told hubby I'm never ever going back there again.

Teragram, how many weeks are you now? Me in 12 wks now, only started burping at wk 11. Can we take eno to curb the bloatedness and burping?

teragram...
my spotting was discovered on sunday but its just for a day. the discharge resume back to normal yesterday...phew!

Kelcqi,
I am in my 10th week.
I have been burping a lot more ever since I found out I was pregnant lor. Seriously. As for eno, I have read on this thread it's ok to take. For myself, I take Yakult to help digestion.

Teragram, seems like our babies almost in the same stage. Yakult very sweet leh, must be careful of sugar intake cos some women are more prone to high blood sugar during pregnancy.

My hubby dun allow me to take eno cos he said all chemicals, dunno gd for baby or not.. Later I ask gyne see how.

Janken, you try to rest more ok? I heard too much movement can trigger spotting. So try to walk less and rest more.

busy busy...

I wonder if anyone is facing similar situations. I understand that frequent discharge is common in pregnancies. But this round, quite a bit leh. Mainly yellowish, not foul smelling, a little stretchy alike when we ovulating. Hmmm....

Hi Teragram
I started wearing maternity pants (those true waist ones, I am still too small for belly pouches) and my normal babydoll dresses. 2nd time really faster leh, I remember I still could fit into my normal clothes in 5th mth during my 1st pregnancy. Try Spring maternity. I got quite a few of their true waist pants, very comfy.

Hi Linda, it's normal. Anything from clear, to slightly yellow is okay. When it dries, it may get even more yellow. That'snormal too.

Hi Linda,

I also had alot of discharge. Mine is in white but like toothpaste form. Can get quite itchy at times. Did you tell your gyne about it? He gave me some gel to apply, but still itchy. Once it came out green like phlegm, Dr said infection, but never gimme anything to overcome it.

Try eating yougurt, some threads mentioned tt it helps.

Linda,
Okies, will go check out the true waist pants from Spring Maternity. Tell you something - I went to Perfect Mum yesterday intending to buy maternity bras but....their salesgirls really knew how to entice me and ended up I bought a lot more stuff than I had intended.

Kelcqi,
Thanks for the alert on sugar content. Will watch my intake - luckily I don't drink everyday. Good idea to check with gynae on eno. Heh, i also got green discharge leh. Will highlight to gynae the next time I see her. Yup, a gynae once told me before yoghurt is good for treating such infection.

just moments ago.. i disclosed my pregancy news to my boss...tot he will be unhappy or what. cos i have just recently been confirmed (after 6 mths probation) and the news may seem too early..

but he was happy for me! and he has given me the go ahead to take timeoff for gynae visits!...i feel so touched..but then again does it mean he expects me to work double hard for the extra perks?...i don't know

That's really good to hear, janken! A good boss is really very hard to come by!
Let's not think too much about what he expects of you. Just do your work according to your conscience.