(2008/06) June 2008

iamsnow,

I tink barley is not so cooling. I heard tat if barley is boil in another way it can be heaty instead of cooling (not v sure abt tat), i also drink it occasionally.

I tink it also help to regulate bowels too.

Btw, i have also boil red dates and longan water over the weekend, also quite blend.

However, i tink it is too heaty. Cause me to have fever yesterday and flu came back. I guess i cannot take red dates, too heaty for me.

Saturday i went to eat Aijensen, stomach bloated like 5mths and i have heartburn for some time before it reduce.

Sunday I have flu, fever, diarroeha, heartburn, MS. Everything. Can't even eat anything. Its horrible. Then nite time i keep shivering though i worn many layers of clothes and under blanket.

cactus,

I tink last mth my MS is non-stop, usu last until dinner time. I also have same feeling as u, want to vomit but air or water come out.

Recent 2 weeks MS have come and go sometimes, on and off. I guess probably bec' we are nearing end of 1st trim.

it's really good news if the ms ends loh, Ellysia. I think most of you leadies will hit 2nd trimester before me.. cos my EDD is end June...

I tink MS starts frm as early as 5th week and peaks around 8 to 10 weeks or maybe to 11 weeks.

Most people will stop MS around 12 to 14 weeks. But some can be as long as up to 20 weeks, or throughout whole pregnancy.

Iamsnow/cactus, thanks for the clarification on the DS scan. At first, was a little upset that the scan will not be carried out by my gynae but now that I know its the norm, Im feeling more at ease. My next appt with Dr SF Loh is on 1st Dec, Saturday. Wasnt aware that Dr Loh will be away from 6 Dec to 24 Dec. In that case, who will attend to his patients who deliver during this period?

Hey zuen, welcome!

Like most of you, my MS symptoms havent been very bad (ie. only puked twice so far) but the continuous nausea feeling is awful and I feel absolutely listless and lethargic at workK.hmmmK. I wonder if MS symptoms are psychological as mine seem to be most pronounced at the beginning of the work week and improve as it gets closer to the weekends.

btw, can anyone advise as to where Ill be able to get bra extensions?

snow,

bra extension can be purchase at maternity shops.

Usually at the counter section. Its quite cheap about a few dollars or 10-20 dollars (if selling in packet).

If not u can consider maternity bra from perfect mum. last week i bot and its really quite comfortable and the double padding avoid the nipple to be seen (cos it pop out too much).

Hi Snow, I think MS is worse if we are physically tired, and if we are thirsty/not drinking enough water. Perhaps work environment does make us tired and airconditioning results in us drinking less than usual? I dun think it's that physchological.

I wonder if it is better to puke or to feel nausea. Since breakfast, I have this "food-struck-in-the-chest" feeling.

Whenever I go toilet, I tot of inducing vomiting. But I hate vomiting just as bad.

Maybe just like wat Ellysia said, MS turns bad nearing the end of the 1st trimester.

ZuEn...
for me...i rather puke it out...i try to induce vomitting too whenever i visit the toilet... usually what comes out is saliva...but it made me felt better though!

I have spotting more often on weekdays at office. Weekends at home rest and less stress will have less possibility of spotting.

It is true that rest and less stress on weekends will help on anything.

Ellysia,
Oh dear...sounds terrible leh...how u feeling now? better? hope u recovering lor..

me also feeling nausea..hiaz..

janken,
I see...Bery fast one lor, jiayou...

feifei,

Ya lor.. yest nite is the worst. I dunno wat happen, i been facing hot and cold at the same time. shivering even though i wear 2 t-shirts and under blanket, keep feeling got wind at stomach area.

then later, i broke out some sweat and fever seems to be ok (i did take 1 panadol before i sleep).

I suspect is cos diaroehha and fever come together tats why feel so unwell. I tot today cannot come to work ored, but wake up better liao.

Now is MS, feel want to vomit then so much air inside, i dun have appetite to eat leh.. dun feel hungry.

I read that continued stress (to which we are able to adapt) will not cause risk of miscarriage to increase. But once in the while type of stress (which ours bodies cannot adapt) may cause risk of miscarriage to increase.

Ellysia,
are you still on duphaston? try to rest more, you are right. it worked in my case. actually, my spotting continued even after 1 week of bedrest but gynae said it's normal cos of the old blood discharging itself (there was some bleeding inside my womb). Like you, my MS is slowly subsiding, thank goodness!!

ZuEn,
Personally, I think it really depends on your body. Try not to induce unless really v xin-ku cos might end up more xin-ku. If the food wasn't digested properly, it will prob come out by itself as in the body will reject it. I couldn't keep my breakfast down during the first 2 weeks of MS but this 2 weeks, it's mainly feeling nauseous but never throw up anything kind.

Janken,
Don't worry too much about the spotting. I had it for about 1 month before it's gone. In my experience, if it is fresh blood, please make an apptm with gynae asap. If it is brownish or pinkish, it is usually quite alright. as what most of the gals have advised, try to rest more, don't walk too much and do not carry heavy things.

I see my colleague at 5th mth is so good, can eat so many meals and look okay leh. Really envy.

Btw, i went to Eu Ren Sheng to ask on the dong chong cao (cordyceps). It is really v costly. The medical hall got sell capsule type ($100plus per box) and herb type.

I saw on the box of capsule it says pregnant women have to consult doc before eating. So i ask the medical hall and they say capsule is factory made and not recommended for pregnant women. They then recommend me to get the herb one.

U know how much the herb one cost?! one small box is $1500 (after discount). The cheapest is half of the small box $800 and they can grind it to powder form, say can last many months as no need to take a lot per time.

I tink i wait until bonus time then consider whether want to buy cordyceps cos my immunity is really v low and i dun want my kid to be like me.

cactus,

u know how much ZTP sell their cordyceps?

Teragram,

I have 1.5 mths of spotting ored!!
Tat is why gynae also concerned.

Sometimes i am worried, but MS assured me that bb is still ok (hope so).

Janken,

To reduce spotting, really have to stop walking too long. And walk in smaller strides. Dun stand too long too.

No carry of heavy things. As to wat is heavy thing, as long as u feel u are exerting yrself, it is heavy. Tats why gynae said.

Dun be too stressed. I scolded an architect last week on the phone and end up a bit "dong tai qi" and spotting increase on tat day.

Hi Ellysia, I dun know how much ZTP sells their cordyceps.

Some things to note about cordyceps though. Some medical halls insert metal/lead into the cordyceps to increase their weight, but I believe ZTP is okay cos my mom used to buy from there and when I eat, I've never come across any lead/metal.

Also, when you buy cordyceps, there are different grades. But actually the pricing is the sameif you consider the quality. For the cheaper types, you will notice the "tail" (inedible bits) are very long.. and for the more expesive types, you will notice the "tail" is very short and the worm is very fat.

morning everyone..... today on leave..... today morning went to mac bf and come back to sleep, now just woke up.... hee hee....

snow, during the period where sf loh is on leave, there will be a covering gynae. but he scheduled my visit to be after his leave.... so my next appt is 6 weeks later. which is week 18.... think should be ok bah. if really don't feel safe, can go to the covering gynae.

i bought my bra extension at e2. 1 for $1. quite cheap. i saw some shops selling at $3.50. some even quote me $5.....

cactus,

yah i tink i only dare to eat either Eu Ren Sheng or ZTP one. Hock Hua i am not v sure also.

I dun want to buy too big quantity, hopefully to get around $400 amt cos i want to try out first to see whether my body can adapt or not. Cos my body is heaty and sometimes certain herbs i cannot take.

I went to see ZTP birdnest, they have promotion now buy 4 give 1 free. And true, the container i see more strands of birdnest (as in thick strands) than Eu Ren Sheng one. See ored know liao.

Ellysia,
Oh dear...seems so terrible leh....u got apply some oilemnt? poor ger, hang on ya, =D...When u see ur bb in ur next appt, u will be happy..

btw, u going for oscar test tmr also? I can't rem who else also going for oscar test tmr liao =D>.

Re: covering gynae

I tink it is good if the clinic has more than 1 gynae, bec in case appointed gynae is not available, got other covering gynae to assist. If the clinic is only 1 gynae, i feel it is more risky.

Ellysia,

Yeah..I feel Hock Hua's quality has gone down through the years. Not as good already. For bird's nest, I feel Eu Ren Sheng not as good as ZTP. Lo Hang Kar dun even need to say loh... that one is not strands but bits. The $ we pay go into packaging and advertising.

Ellysia, feifei,

I think you ladies will be fine. Still young. Under 35 years old. I'm only going for the NT scan in mid Dec... if the results from the scan are suspect, I'll just request on the spot for the blood test to be done.

ellysia, the bird nest promo which u saw at ZTP is those concentrated ones? take 1 tablespoon that kind?

actually i'm thinking of buying those 1 bottle single intake one. so I can heat up the bird nest. those concentrated ones I cannot heat up, coz put in fridge....

anyone taking chicken essence now? my collegue suggest I take chicken essence coz I've been very weak since I got pregnant.....

cactus, actually my gynae gave me hosp leave for 1 week. coz last fri when I saw him, i was coughing like mad, with flu. he ask me to rest at home.... but i think i will go back to work on wed..... pai seh. already on leave for so many days since i was pregnant....

cactus,

I dunno why yr blood test can choose to do only after yr NT scan.

For the Oscar test, i tot blood test and scan has to be done together.

iamsnow

yes tink it is concentrated.

cactus,

me turning 30 years old in 3 weeks time. so not really young too.

ellysia, if DS test is the same as Oscar test, then i think i know why.

For DS test, u can opt to have 2 kinds of blood test. 1 together with the scan, or the other is in wk 14-15 (if I did not remember wrongly). it's an either or option. both blood test are testing for different things. but the accurancy is 90% for both. but there is a price difference.

Help MTB! when you do not have the appetite to eat and have been losing weight (eat less then 8 mouth every meal), what you will do/eat? I feel cold very easy seems like I'm getting weak.

hi janken, wat did u eat for lunch?? u ate too full? how abt drinking some soda water to burp out the gas?

sharon, i also get very weak. but to help eating, i will eat food with stronger taste to increase my appetite. eg tom yum, laksa etc. at least a few more mouthful.... i still cannot finish the entire serving. then have more meals instead. take small bites during morning tea break and lunch tea break....

same same... Eat what also no use. Feel hungry but feel like vomit when 1 spoon of food in mouth. Haiz. Cannot only drink milk & milo everyday.. no gd for baby. Dunno how sia.

Hi Dear mummies

sorry to interupt i am from Sept 07 thread.. Just to say I have got a brand new tube of avent nipple cream and half a pack of avent disposable breast pad.. willing to let go at 12 inc postage .. Thanks to pm me if u are interested.. mean while enjoy your pregnancy!

Babies are really a wonder and they really bring joy to our life!
U all would get to enjoy and see ur babies soon.. take care!

sharon, milo very heaty. initially i also take milo to fill up my stomach. but got too heaty.... so do not take too much.

Ellysia,
Ya lor, keeping my fingers crossed =D....hope to see u there tmr =D...kee...

cactus,
Tks ger....dun worry, u will be fine also =D...All of us will be okie and will give birth to lovely bbs =D..

Hi Ellysia,

Sorry for not replying earlier! I was out at lunch! Had yummy beef hor fun!

Anyway, there is the combined test which can be done at 11 to 14 weeks. There is also the NT scan which can be done at 11 to 14 weeks. NT scan is 10% less accurate than the combined test. The combined test is actually the NT scan PLUS a blood test. Combined test is $300. NT scan is only $150. Cos I'm only 28, I decided to just do the NT scan. If results are abnormal, I will request to do the blood test on the spot. I mean, take blood on the spot. Cos my scan is at 240pm, see doctor at 350pm. Can know results of scan on the same day. I'm sure they can take blood from me on the same day too. Oscar test is also known as the combined test. http://www.fetalmedicine.hk/en/oscardetails.asp

Hi Sharon,
Instead of eating what you normally eat, maybe you can think of things which you enjoy eating now? If really cannot eat anything at all, then maybe you want to check with your doctor if you can take supplements or not. And what type of supplements.

Cactus,

Your NT scan $150? Mine onli $90..I wil be doing my scan next mon (26/11). Supposedly to be this friday..But TMC slot full..So gotta wait a few more days..

My MS initally i tot subsided in the morning..but nw after lunch, puke out watever i ate..sianz..Me oredi into 11th wk liao..stil puking..so tired~~