(2008/06) June 2008

morning ladies! this morning is really terrible. feel so giddy. walk also cannot balance. keep swaying to one side.... feel like vomitting also.... and the worse part is, in the mrt, there was one empty seat. I almost sat on it. then one young lady pushed me aside, said excuse me and sat down. wah lau......

cactus, next week I going for my down syndrome test also. not sure how much though.

Morning all~

Wow.. So many of u going overseas, I'm also going Hong Kong in Mid Dec.. Hopefully my ms and tiredness will subside by then.. I've been sleeping at 9+pm every night.. haha

Cactus, think the Oscar test range ard $300+.

Janken, I'm oso craving for Din Tai Fung xiao long bao but no time to go.. Think muz go by this weekend =P

Piyoz, the result shows I'm expecting a boy.. This is my first so boy or girl is ok for me as long as he/she is healthy can le

BTW how much is Dr Adrian Woodworth package now? c section specifically

WElcome Sharon!

What a nice weather to sleep in... sleepy in office too. Today breakfast is Malay Spicy Bee Hoon hehehe.. wanted something more stronger taste lo.

Angie_bb,
Excited to see the head oh... Actually last time I went for NT test. Actually also very accurate so not to worry too.

Planning for trip?
I also planning for a short one sometime next yr at resort with hb & DD. Maybe wait till i reach 12weeks whereby everything shld be more stable.

I believe lots of us MS shld be getting better esp we are over 12weeks soon!!! Lets keep it up yeah

i going to phuket with my hubby in mid dec.....
the flights are almost full. and a lot of hotels not avail already.... wah.... heng we managed to grab something. but rates are really high during that period.

Morning ellysia, hmmmmust find one of these days to go Perfect Mum to check this out.txs

Yup Mog, agreed wif u on the cuppawent library yd nite n loan tis bk, titled pregnancy sucks hahahhaha.wat an appropriate title.

Gers, guess wat little experiment I did tis morning? I purposely took out tis book pregnancy sucks on the MRT today & read it wif the title in full view of the passengers who were seated down. Lets see, there is tis 20+/30 yrs old woman who immediately took a glance at my book title & proceed to figet with her watch then promptly shut her eyes all the way from Yio Chu Kang MRT to City Hall. The 30+ India guy next to her immediately took out his hp and took a sudden interest in it all the way from YCK to Doby Ghaut Station. Tis really tells me how gracious Singaporeans are, yeah? I always dunno wat to say..

Hey Starmoons: yup.cant wait to see wat he / she looks like..the anticipation will kill me

Feifei, actually my gynae encourage me to travel in my 2nd to 3rd trim before bb comes along. She said tat so long physically I ok n bb ok, she think tis is e best time to travel, if not after tat, can forget abt traveling for quite a while.she could be ritekekekkee

Cactus, the nurse told me my test for the DS will be done at 12 wks as part of the OSCAR. Will check wif my gynae again when I see her next fri to re-affirm.

Not steady lah Angie, 4th baby but the worse ms ever and I am feeling like a 1st time preggie mum all over again :p

Finally hit my target of 4. Going to close factory after this. Thinking of ligating with my current delivery. Anyone has went through ligation? Can advise the after effects/cost Thanks!

Cynthia,
I find it more interesting when i saw bb's legs.

Dr Adrian very smart ... I only asked him "can my hubby and I ...." He knows what I want to ask.
He said it's ok to do it cos no bleeding. Kekeke.

THanks for sharing the cost of the NT scan, ladies. I was told the NT scan with 80% accuracy is $150. NT scan plus blood test is $300. This could be the OSCAR test... I'm probably going for the NT scan. Mine's at KKH.

hi sharon, the book is "pregnancy sucks - wat to do when your miracle makes u miserable" by joanne kimes. the author herself jus had a baby ger n she shared all her experiences, mainly the not so +ve aspects wif readers. it is written in a pretty comical sense & she noted tat after going thru this preg, she is ascertain of one thing - her daughter is going to be an only child.

reai interesting & a gd read for fun reading.

halo,
i was recommended by quite a number of my frens abt an instructor Rita teaching prenatal class at Bishan. Rec'd quite good feedback abt her.
i am interested to join unfortunately all her sunday classes are full.=( She needs a min of 8 people to start a Sat class. Her charges are superb reasonable, $100 for 12 classes ! (1hr-1hr15mins/lesson).
So anyone who's interested? Do give Rita a ring at 94872845 if u are interested or need more details. She's superb friendly & approachable.

Really hope to start a class soon!!!

Nana

cactus, u doing at kkh? u doing the scan only or plus the blood test. i think there are a few diff package..... when u doing? i doing next week at kkh....

hey belsi..
wow...DTF rocks rite? i MUST have my share this weekend..HB must be thinking the BB very
"pampered" must eat good stuff! haha

hi cactus, ya, i think it's that 3 package. i not sure what to take. I'm 29 this year only. actually the gynae told me can don't do at my age. but i wanted to do just to be rest assured.

i also doing at TPS....

Hi all, found this very interesting piece of new : Anxiety & Pregnancy article (long but worth the read), backdated yr 2005

Anxious moms-to-be may have kids with behavior problems

FRIDAY, July 16 (HealthDayNews) A woman who is anxious or stressed while pregnant is at greater risk of bearing a child who will develop an anxiety disorder or behavior problems, a new study says.
The period between 12 and 22 weeks of pregnancy were found to be particularly crucial for increasing risk, said Bea Van den Bergh, a psychologist at Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium.
Van den Bergh is lead author of the study, published in the July/August issue of Child Development.
Maternal anxiety during that period was associated with a heightened risk of a child developing hyperactivity symptoms, "acting out" behavior problems, and their own anxiety problems, Van den Bergh found.
Doctors have known for years that a woman's emotional state during pregnancy can affect her unborn child.
The new study adds to previous research finding the same link, said Van den Bergh, but with an important difference.
"The strength of this study is that questionnaires on the behavior of the child were not only completed by the mother, but also by the teacher, by an independent observer and also by the child," Van den Bergh said.
In the study, Van den Bergh's team evaluated data on 71 mothers and their 72 first-born children, collecting information while the mothers were pregnant and then when the children were age 8 or 9 years old. The mothers reported on their anxiety levels throughout pregnancy. When the children were 8 or 9, questionnaires were completed by the mothers, a teacher and an impartial observer, with complete data collected on 52 children.
The data found that "anxiety during pregnancy explained 22 percent of the differences children show in hyperactivity symptoms, 15 percent of the differences in "acting out" and aggression problems, and 9 percent of the differences in anxiety, after controlling for other factors such as smoking during pregnancy, birth weight and mothers' anxiety after the birth," she said.
Van den Bergh subscribes to the "fetal programming hypothesis," which states that certain upsetting factors that occur during sensitive periods of a fetus' development can "program" certain biological systems in the unborn child. This programming can predispose the child to certain diseases and emotional disorders, she said.
The finding doesn't surprise Dr. Diana Dell, an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology and psychiatry at Duke University. "I think it's very much in line with what animal data has been suggesting for a long time and human data for a shorter time," she said.
"What this study is saying is, moms who are under constant stress in the second trimester, those children have increased rates of some developmental disorders in childhood. When a mother is anxious or depressed during pregnancy that's not a neutral impact," Dell said.
If a woman needs help dealing with anxiety during pregnancy, Dell suggests she consider working with a therapist, learning calming techniques, or asking her doctor about other options.
Stress during pregnancy is partly society-driven, Dell said: "Women are under enormous pressure to make perfect babies." Even if her obstetrician asks if she's feeling stressed, a woman may not own up to feelings of anxiety or depression, Dell said.
It's not easy for pregnant women to feel stress-free, but Van den Bergh suggests they try to relax as much as possible. "Try to understand that when you are stressed or anxious the body reacts and that [stress] hormones go to the fetus," she tells them.
"Try to cognitively cope with the situation, for instance when you are in a traffic jam, to keep control," she said.

-- Kathleen Doheny, HealthDayNews

Found this article in US pregnancy forum.

Another one

Boy or girl? 38 fun ways to guess your baby's sex

What could be more fun than trying to guess the sex of your baby-to-be? Everyone wants to get in the game. Don't be surprised if someone you've never met stops you at the grocery store, offering a prediction of your baby's gender. For hundreds of years, expecting moms have relied on time-tested methods of guessing their baby's sex. Even though these old wives' tales are far from foolproof, they are certainly more fun than their more reliable successors, amniocentesis and ultrasound. Enjoy guessing your baby's sex!

It's a boy if:
You didn't experience morning sickness in early pregnancy
Your baby's heart rate is less than 140 beats per minute
You are carrying the extra weight out front
Your belly looks like a basketball
Your areola have darkened considerably
You are carrying low
You are craving salty or sour foods
You are craving protein -- meats and cheese
Your feet are colder than they were before pregnancy
The hair on your legs has grown faster during pregnancy
Your hands are very dry
Your pillow faces north when you sleep
Dad-to-be is gaining weight, right along with you
Pregnancy has you looking better than ever
Your urine is a bright yellow in color
Your nose is spreading
You hang your wedding ring over your belly, it moves in circles
You are having headaches
You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived the number is even

It's a girl if:
You had morning sickness early in pregnancy
Your baby's heart rate is at least 140 beats per minute
You are carrying the weight in your hips and rear
Your left breast is larger than your right breast
Your hair gets red highlights
You are carrying high
Your belly looks like a watermelon
You are craving sweets
You are craving fruit
You crave orange juice
You don't look quite as good as normal during pregnancy
You are moodier than usual during pregnancy
Your face breaks out more than usual
You refuse to eat the heel of a loaf of bread
Your breasts have really blossomed!
Your pillow faces south when you sleep
Your urine is a dull yellow in color
If you hang your wedding ring over your belly, it moves from side to side
If you add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived the number is odd

feifei,

yes i saw at perfect mum got similar top (just different colour). Their top n dresses actually quite trendy, top is abt $40+/-.

I also bot 2 bras. They said must wear bra with padding cos during pregnancy, nipples can be protruding so need to have padding. Then they said must wear bra while sleeping to support the shape. I spent $200 after discount for 2 top and 2 bra, xin tong.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>sharon818</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>9-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>janken</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>tubbykat</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Serangoon North </TD></TR><TR><TD>paulnelaine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinyfeet</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Serangoon</td></tr></table>

Sparks,

Thks for yr article, v useful. I also suspect that this could be true cos my mum when she had my brother, she is more stressed so my brother tend to be more anxiety and pessismistic.

Looks like i must try to be more optimistic and less stress. Since this pregnancy i have been worried over more things.

Thanks for posting the chart, Starmom!

Can I trouble you to add in the doctor's name for me if you happen to update the next time?

My doctor is Dr Devendra. Thanks in advance!

hi girls
Had my checkup yesterday and baby is now 37.22mm and doing the cha cha with i saw it on ultrasound. 10 weeks and 4 days le and I have starting wearing maternity pants and have dig out all my maternity wear. hahaha... Put on 2 kg le.

Gynae has informed me tt I do not have to undergo chromosomal tests. Only my blood test at 15-16 weeks. And if I dun remember wrongly for my first, my 'NT scan' was done on ultrasound leh, no additional charge, cos I was asking doc abt it, then he showed me the back of my girl's neck and said it wasnt too thick hence quite safe.

Hi crystal,
Glad you and hb decided on a gynae. Makes everything seemed more stable and assured.

hi starmoon, can you add me to the list? i posted the details b4 but i think this thread moved too fast u might hv missed it. :p

soyabean, 31, 23 jun 08, dr mary yang, gleneagles, 2nd, bukit panjang.

went for my checkup last nite. gynae says baby abit smaller than expected, but nonetheless still can see the heartbeat. and my weight has dropped 1.5kg due to morning sickness. she ask me to go see her again in 2 weeks time. hopefuli baby will grow more then. i guess i reali need alot of rest, but kinda tough cos still got a 3YO to take care.

hi linda, interesting to c yur baby doing the cha-cha yeah? out of curiosity, was yur baby moving, was tat how u tell? the last scan i had i oni saw the heart blinking & mine bb then look more like a peanut shape & not moving....

actually, m thinking that stress quite subjective rite? will also tell myself to be less stress after reading the article tat sparks had shared....

here's the updated chart...cant wait to add the gender column. think another few more weeks.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>sharon818</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>9-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>janken</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>tubbykat</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Serangoon North </TD></TR><TR><TD>soyabean</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Bukit Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>paulnelaine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Devendra</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinyfeet</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Serangoon </TD></TR><TR><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>end Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Anchorvale</td></tr></table>

Hello Crystal,

i saw my bb dancing too.. You need to look carefully at the monitor when the gynae do the ultrasound scan.. you can see your bb hands and legs moving.. like dancing.. i saw that too.. awesome..

wow u all can see yr bb moving liao.. me also hope to see on my next appt

Tok abt stressed just throw temper at 2 person this morn.

hi starmoon,

Can help me to remove the "(TBC)" next to my EDD plus update my age to 31 and Area to Katong the next time you update please? A million thanks!

hi ellysia,
got to really concentrate on the screen to see the baby move cos the movement is not v big. that was for my case. i saw it at my last visit when i was only 8 weeks plus but the baby really did move! v amazing. the gynae saw it first but i missed it so what she did was press gently on my stomach to make the baby move a bit and it did! hehe.

Share this info with all of u here....

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Babys Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodwards Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

Hi Sparks,

except for breast pads, nursing wear, diapers, some clothes, handkerchiefs, and a baby's cot plus mattress plus mattress protecter and the bedding set, I plan to just wait and see what people will give me just before and when the baby's born so that I won't buy duplicate items. Also, I think the hospital will be giving us some liquid to clean the bellybutton area, so no need for us to buy from outside?

I'm just wondering if it's okay for me to wait and see before I start buying, cos what happened to my SIL was, she started receiving things like sterilizer, breast pumps and stroller soon after the baby was born. She actually received 2 strollers, 2 walkers, 1 sterilizer, and 2 breast pumps... not to mention tons of baby clothes, bath foams, etc...

WOW Sparks indeed a long list.

I have a list I believe left at my house PC, spreadsheet a rough MUST BUY IMMED stuffs. I check it out and maybe download here let you all have it. As i have break down into IMMED MUST BUY / AFTER 1 MTH / LATER STAGE etc...

besides, i know Mt A gives their customers 'baby bath tub' aft they discharge... the extra tub can brought to yr baby's care giver place.

Ellysia,
Ya lor, maternity wear is ex...hiaz..

Sparks,
Tks for the informations....hehe...I did hv some of the signs that was mention leh...

Linda,
bery excited to see bb moving hor? me also looking forward to seeing him/her next wk..kee

no problem feifei, we are always 'stressed out' at work and unable to 'release' it. The posts serves as a gentle reminder to all hard-working mums.. pls do not get too stressed okie?