(2008/06) June 2008

usually you take EITHER Oscar or Triple Test.
if the odds are not favourable then you will be asked if you want to take the Aminiocentesis which is a procedure where a big needle is inserted through your tummy into your womb where a small amount of fluid surrounding your baby is extracted. this fluid will be sent to the lab for testing of Downs Syndrome and it is 100% accurate.

wah, so many terms.....

ellysia, if they need a few tubes, they will only poke u once, but change the syringe. wont poke u a few times.... so dont worry.

kylene, I also had bad MS yesterday. was on the way home, the feel like vomitting when I was in the train. then when I off the train, I merlion.... my hubby got a shock, coz 1st time he witness I vomit....

sigh...singapore is such a "nice" place hor? sigh...but then again hor, sometimes when our tummy not too big hor, think pple also don't dare to give up seat...coz dunno if we r just plain fat or preggie leh...i mean, sometimes i see ladies hor, really not big not small, really dunno is just tummy or preggie leh...scared if she's not preggie, then v. paiseh wor!

juliet, sometimes really difficult to differentiate. I have a friend who's not married, but has a big tummy. she was offered seats before, so pai seh loh..... i think some pple may feel insulted.

it's not ppl 'don dare' they pretend not to see. as our country becomes more and more prosperous... they are more conscious abt themselves rather than to other ppl.

iamsnow, at least u merlion outside train. imagine if u merlion inside train.

I also been tinking whether i will merlion inside train.

Seats - I do not expect people to give up their seats for me lor...as much as I wish to, but sometimes we never know the reason behind their not giving up seats... But I also wont hestitate to ask for a seat should I feel faint or not feeling well.

However, I realised when your tummy is REALLY showing (and dun look a cross btw pregnant and fat), more often than not, people will give up seats for me. Like iamsnow mentioned, some pple scared kena mistaken fat as pregnant.

hmm...sparks, but last time hor, me also like that leh...like i look at the lady, dunno whether she preggie or not coz tummy not v. big mah..then i try to see whether she got wedding band n is wearing flats...but sometimes really dun dare coz afraid if not preggie, then the lady sure angry mah!
eh sharon, ur HB got a good idea leh! hahahahha...

back from my check up...finally can ditch duphaston!!! yippie!!! saw bb so active...keep moving arms and legs then i asked gynae if the limbs are formed and then he said yah and pointed to me that bb is moving arms and legs and very active and keep turning. gynae said it is a good sign cos means bb is healthy. bb now is 31.3mm and i asked to opt out of blood test and OSCAR and gynae was fine with it. he said it is not compulsory to do it and explain to me why people wanna do the tests. will be seeing bb in a months time.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>9-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>janken</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>tubbykat</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Serangoon North </TD></TR><TR><TD>paulnelaine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Ubi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

Ya, Singapore is a very 'considerate and friendly' country.

Yesterday I saw this mother carrying her 17th mth old baby and two big bags standing. I always see her in MRT so talked to her, asking her why she never moved in so that she can try to grab a seat (she from tiongbahru to boonlay). She said its ok, used to it and the pple in middle jammed the place that's why she cannot move in. Two stops later, I saw a seat and exclaimed loudly there is a seat, quick, move in. The pple around us do not even bat their eyelids and didnt give her a chance, so the seat was taken by a healthy selfish 30s man. Only till buona vista, I saw pple getting up, i led my son to standby the empty seat so that nobody can take it up again, and offer to this lady and her baby.

Those pple, I really have nothing to say. They pretend to sleep nevermind, worst, I hate them staring at me (when I am carrying my son) as if I am a kind of freak without wanting to offer seat to me.

juliet,

Got few times after i went to buy maternity wear and i purposely sway the plastic bag in front of people, they also pretend not to see.

good for you starmoon! always a joy when can see baby during checkups ya? i know some friends whose gynae do not scan with each visit, i don't think i will enjoy that.

veniz! that's crazy! i hope that man have a bad fall! *gggrrrrr*

we got to think of some other ways to make pple give up their seats! :p

Starmoon, can see bb's limbs already ah? so fast..keke...i hope i can see some action when i go for my next check up on 28th...

Starmoon, glad to hear you are well and baby active!

Ladies, maybe you will like to fold some plastic bags in your bags so that when needed be, just take one out to use, can also use for keeping wet umbrellas. I very ks, always have at least two with me, one for wet umbrella and another for just in case.

Also, some MTBs here recommend the preserved ginger from 'meiwu', thus I went to get 100g last sat. This really helps. When I feel nausea or smell unpleasant smell, once i pop a piece into my mouth, I feel very relieved and 'normal'. Quite happy with the taste and effect.

mary,

I also prefer gynae to scan for every visit. Even if it cost extra also won't mind, cos at least can have a peace of mind.

Yest nite i am too stressed. I wake up in the middle of night. Then also have disturbed dreams and shouted in sleep.

juliet, wat to do. They are just selfish lot. Once when alighting the train, some 'nice' gentleman step onto my son's shoe's heel and made it came off. He just murmured 'sorry' without picking his shoe up, and just use his feet to kick the shoe near me. I was very upset, so was my 3 yr old son. I told him, its ok, some pple is like that, next time he will not do that as it is no good for him to follow that gentleman's footstep, thinking his shoe is a mini football.

Ellysia, you shouted in dreams again? (or was it another MTB here who mentioned she shouted two weeks ago?). Opposite from you, I had a wonderful sleep yesterday. Slept at 9pm and woke up late somemore, hehee. Previously, when I slept at 9pm, I will wake up at least 3 times in night, with headache and horrid dreams. But last night, it was good for me, maybe because I dreamed of my inconsiderate colleague hinting that he will tender his resignation next yr, that's why. So bad of me.

veniz, most (if not all) sg men r quite hopeless...i can see the difference in my office b/w the few angmohs and sg guys...vast difference...

ladies, i think no point complaining about inconsiderate people becoz they will always be there when you need a seat most.
i suggest if you are feeling faint or really weak and need a seat, tell the person sitting down that you really need to sit down. if all else fails, sit on the floor till you feel better. otherwise if you fall from fainting it will be bad for you and baby.

hihi..

pls add me to the list

tinyfeet
30th june 2008
Dr Mary Yang
gleneagles
first baby
upper serangn

oh...whats a heart burn??

juliet, I agree with you. Are the angmohs in your company from UK? When I was at UK for my company's training, my extended colleagues are so gentlemen. They helped me carry my stuff, brought me around for dinner with their spouses, opened the car doors for me to get up and down the car, etc.

When I told them please don't, we never get such treatment from guys in SG, they were like say 'How can, these are guys' job, why are asian men so MCP?' Find them quite shock with our type of thinking.

BabyCupid, oops blur me, type sala. My next visit 1 Dec, will be doing the OSCAR test as well. When's ur OSCAR ?

Hi tWiNkY, I am not taking any milk supplement. I will puke if I took milk stuff, even multi-vitamins I also stop coz my vomiting is very bad. Currently only taking folic acid.

Hi Ellysia, you know when can start to take package with Dr Wong ?

Hi Crystal, yes I did check with my gynae, she limit 1 cup per day nia, that's miserable for me lei.

Veniz, your dream is very funnee
I wake up once to twice a night, depending on what time i sleep. also dreaming more but often cannot rem what i dreamt

veniz, my cols r from US...they r generally gentlemen, but then sometimes they can be v. insensitive in other ways...americans always think they r a big deal here...guess that's also coz sg pple treat them (and other angmohs) differently bah...

ellysia,
i took the thalassaemia and the rest HIV, etc.. but not the oscar.. oscar i doin it on 22 nov..
they poke only once and draw two tubes one shot..

Veniz,

Yes it is me. Whenever i am too stressed, i will shout in sleep. Scare my hb when he married me but later he also get use to it. However since i have been married this problem has reduced but recently maybe i am overstress with pregnancy and it came back again.

Mog,

U can start take package either on 12 weeks OR 20 weeks. there is a price difference of abt $100 plus. Ask the nurse (dun ask gynae cos nurse more familar with the package details) so u can decide earlier whether to take or not. Its much cheaper cos i tink it covers consultions, scans & vitamins up to delivery.

On 2nd trim our appts will become once per mth unless any emergenies. 3rd trim will be once every 2 weeks and towards last mth will be once per week.

I also cannot take milk, will want to puke or feel upset.

Babycupid & feifei,

I hope the needle they poke won't leave blue black on our hands cos i have bad experience at some other place where inexperience people poke and leave blue black and painful on my hand.

ellysia,
for my case.. mine is perfectly ok.. without any blueblack.. but not for my hubby.. both his blood test oso ended up blue black.. kekeke.. he said cos his flesh tougher muscular.. chey..

hi all... wonder if u guys still remember me, cheekymonkey.

Just to let u guys who rem me, dat i wont be coming in so often in the near future.

I lost my lil one.

Supposed to be 9 weeks ytd at gynae check, but size of fetus was at 6 weeks.

Sadly, 10 days ago, 2 nov 2007, had a antenatal check and doc confirmed detection of heartbeat.

Yesterday, 12 nov 2007, went for another checkup to see growth.

Sadly, heartbeat has stopped and size hasnt grown.

Sent to hospital for virginal scan, and 2nd opinion confirmed it.

I'll be going to the clinic to induce it, or evacuate it whatever you call it.

Gynae calls it a missed abortion.

I call it a miscarriage.

I'm fine but will not be checking this site after i post this message.

I'll be back with another healthy baby after i finish recuperating and the short confinement period.

All the best gals.

I wont be in time for June 2008 EDD.

All the best.

cheekymonkey

starmoon, u are in your 11th week now is it? can see hands and legs kicking already ar? so next week when I go for my check up, hopefully I can see the same thing.... hee hee...

sharon, I saw a maternity shop selling a t-shirt which has printed word "I'm not fat, I'm pregnant!" that was a very interesting t-shirt I thought..... haha....

cheekymonkey, sorry to hear that. do rest well and I'm sure you'll be pregnant again soon!

Ellysia,
I see...alot of blood lor....

Its the FBI card = Fist born incentive card...Valid for 2yrs...I took the form liao, will be applying on 20th morning before i go take my oscar test...

starmoon,
Happy for u leh....bb active good lor =D....so when is ur next appt?

Babycupid,
hi ya =D

Wow starmoon, so happy n excited for unow u make me look forward to see my too next fri.

Today tummy been cramping the whole day, hope everything ok.

Mog, my gynae also limit me to oni 1 cuppa per day, either coffee or coke. So no choice, stick to my 1 cuppa every am, w/o which I will get a real headache by afternoon.

During my last checkup (9 weeks), didn't see the bb moving cos it seems to be sleeping. But can see one little hand and 2 legs up.

11 weeks can see bb moving ored?

iamsnow, I saw that shirt before.... haha.... very cute words. BTW, read that Japan gives out round badges to pregnant mummies, so that pple will give them seats in the crowded trains. but think singaporeans see tag already, also can eyes closed go zzzzzz immediately.

Juliet, ya, angmohs think they are big deal, esp those from US. When my angmoh director did interviews for sales pple, those guys was in 'awe' and even mentioned that this is one of the best interviews they had.

Kylene, ya, my dream very good leh, in morning I woke up, I felt happy just thinking of it, hehe.

Ellysia, its ok, coz I will sometime call out or cry when sleeping and having bad dreams. Luckily I dun dreamwalk, action like my bro (I used to dreamwalk when young, now no more).

cheekymonkey, very sorry to hear your case, I am sure you will be up and about, bringing good news to us once more!

hi piyoz, interesting website. the chart says I will have having a boy. be it boy or gal, as long as healthy, I will be happy....

im abit worried...1st checkup was on 2nd Nov...the nurses scheduled me for 2nd appt only 1 mth later...is that normal? im seeing you gals going back for appts like very 2-3 weeks.
im eager to find out about the growth of my BB...as i know miscarriages are common especially in the 1st trimester...

can anyone advise??

iamsnow,
ya lor, more important is for baby to be healthy =) Around 16 weeks can know gender, provided bb is cooperative. If shy shy, hide hide, then will be bit later. So think from around Christmas onwards, we should be able to hear all the good news.... then can start shopping shopping shopping!

kylene,
Just for fun =) don't know accurate or not.

janken, how many weeks are u in already?

my gynae scheduled me first visit on 8th week. coz i think before that, it's quite difficult to scan.

iamsnow,

If very confirm results will be 20 weeks. I read that gal is easier to tell, boy need to wait 20 weeks then can tell.

janken,

What week are u in now?

iamsnow, ellysia, piyoz..
8th week was my first visit...so by the time 1 mth later i will be in 12th week already...