(2008/06) June 2008

JP, you are slightly better, my first visit cost me $250+. I nearly fainted too....I'm seeing him on 15th and 23rd. Aiyah, 3 of us wun get to meet each other then...

cactus79, dun worry, im sure you will be able to see the little flickering dot tomorrow and you will be so amazed

Err, btw how much weight have you all put on already? I have put on 3kg liao and all the weight seems to have gone to my butts and thunder thighs... sign

cactus - At the end of the day, its what comfy for both you and your DH lah! Good luck with tomorrow. Hope that you can see and hear the HB!

roxy - He!He! Ya lor...timing does not match! So far, I have put on 3kg also

ermm... ladies.... $250 for first appt is ok lor..
my first gynae i went costs me close to $400!!

So that's why we changed.

then went to Dr Lee, still $210 lor.

heart pain

Thanks, roxy and JP!
I can't wait to see and hear the heart beat!

I've put on maybe less than half a kg. Can't tell if it's just weighing machine not sensitive or what. I don't have water retention but my tummy is quite fat. It's not baby. It' sjust me. I'm a pear shape.

Hi Linda,

My Gynae said she dun want to give me iron pills now cos of constipation. So i just be more careful not to overtire myself to avoid any "fainting" possibility.

Hi roxy,
Hey! I was charged disposable gloves 4 sets all diff sizes hor!! kekeke... Only when I scrutinised the bill then realised lor. Not to mention all the syringes (for my drips) I was charged for!!

Catcus
I dunno abt others, but I was given the choice to choose my anaesthetist prior to delivery. Though for my first, I didnt choose. But I had a good experience with him so I think for my next I will elect lor, not sure if it will cost more. If a lot more, then prob wont elect le.

And i agree with you that we not staying in hotel! No need so fantastic stuff. Mt E also no birthing ball, jazzuci leh... Then again, i doubt I can use them then when I am all strapped up in bed with the fetal monitoring machine.
But a single bedder was a good decision, cos i get peace and quiet to rest when I wish to and more room for my guests and not afraid to disturb others when we make noise.

Hi ellysia
In that case, try to get iron from other food source. Do you take beef? Good source of iron. Or try iron fortified bread or milk.
I am alternating lor, sometimes take once a day, sometimes once every 2-3 days.

Hello ladies, seems like my package is one of the most expensive one here. I am paying $2,500 for normal delivery (which I am hoping I can go for this option this time) and $3,500 for C-section. The package excludes blood tests, detailed scanning, vit pills, normal scan and preg consultations + 1 post natal consultation.

As mentioned by roxy, I also cannot stand 2 bedded or more pple in a ward, so hopefully my husband let me chose a 1 bedded room in TMC (which is spacious, can have many pple visiting at one time without being too crowded).

I have been having bad ADS yesterday. The food I had eaten yesterday seems like cannot throw out or cannot be digested. Felt very bad throughout the day. Haiz, I am praying for MS to stop.

Sheepy,

I dunno how long implantation bleeding suppose to be.

Anyway as long as yr scan show that your bb is fine, it shd be okay. Dun over worry too much abt the discharge.

Yr $400 is really overcharging. Mine is also around $200 for first visit. The rest is around $100plus.

I dunno whether to sign package at end of this mth (end of 1st trim) cos the nurse also sugggest to sign at 20 weeks which she think is more stable.

Hi Linda,

My MIL told me she has MS throughout her whole pregnancy for her 3 children.

My mum told me she has bed rest when she had me. And she has bleeding up to 7/8 mths when she had my brother.

I heard liao also scared. Hope MS will go away soon.

Linda,

I can't take beef, i am buddhist.
But i like meat a lot so still not so bad, eaten other meat.

I also hope my hb will allow me to take 1 - bedder.

Veniz,

I have strange cramps since saturday. Sometimes is the muscles at uteris pulling, sometime is womb contracting, sometimes is cramp. Slight feeling here and there. Sianz.

Cactus,
I also can't take fish now! I used to love fish, but now dun like fish anymore
so sad, cos i know fish is good for the baby.

re: hosp, for me i think the most impt thing is actually location. i want somewhere near my home and easily accessible. cos i think most of the facilities are about the same in the hospitals, and if it's normal birth should only stay there for 2 or 3 days.

Hi ellysia
Your siblings? The SIL who puked thruout, the other sis also not very comfy during pregnancy too.
Iron found in red meat mainly. Try spinach too.
Popeye the sailor man remember? Broccoli also can and it's got good folate contents.

Hi verniz
My SIL was very lucky, she checked into her 2 bedder in the morning, then her room mate was discharged in the afternoon. From then till SIL was discharged, no one shared the room at all!! Save $$ leh.

I still considering for this time though HB prefers single. But he wont be able to stay with me le (cos of my girl mah) and I am afraid of being alone in the hospital room leh.

Hi Kylene
I agree with you. Location more impt. I would have prefer Mt A (nearer to hme), too bad my gynae only delivers at Mt E. And cos I delivered on a sunday the first time, I was so worried abt traffic jams along CTE.

Kylene,

I think it's ok if we dun eat fish now. We need to eat lots of it during 3rd trimester though. Fish with lots of DHA and Omega 3.. which is supposed to help bb's brain development.

My MIL just cooked wasabi salmon fish for dinner. I managed to nibble some of it. Feel less guilty now. It may help if you go for fish curry or something stronger tasting. At the moment, I can't take preserved veg/tomato fish, or ginger fish or terriyaki fish.

Ellysia,
If you can't take beef, you can try take spinach. it's very rich in iron. Although liver is also very rich in iron, it is very rich in vit A so take it in small portions. I did the wrong thing some weeks back by drinking lots of carrot juice...

JP, cos i feel not necessary lor as i will not abort the baby even if the ratio for DS is high. I feel this is God's gift to us and we should just take it as it is. So no point waste the money to check lor. My first one i did everything cos i guess first one more paranoid maybe? hahahha....this time round i believe it shld be fine lah.

roxy, the last time he didnt tell me to opt out lor. from my own view, i feel dr cheng is more KS kinda doctor. he will wanna play safe in everything. for example, i had bleeding this pregnancy and when i asked if i can go to malaysia for a short trip, his advice is better not cos he said wad happen if i bleed then how. so i guess from his point of view he wants us to be safe lor.

the last pregnancy, dr cheng prescribe obimin multi vits and the DHA pills (fish oil) for me when i was in 2nd tri. your hubby really cute...u never tell him where got free things here wan. hahahah.....

Hi cactus,

good to know that u have decided wat u want

thks for letting me know abt spinach

Tonight i just went perfect mum again to buy some tops. Now my tops like bao ba zhan, need to buy looser tops to look nicer.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
Hope to see you there next tues =D...Me abit scare of e test next tues cos tink need to draw alot of blood for e tests....

If I am not wrong, will hv to go for the scanning 1st, then draw blood...My MS only started recently leh...tot 1st trim going to be over liao, everything will be fine..haiz..

Did Perfect mum has any new promotions?U bot tubes?

Roxy,
Ya lor...so sianz...but glad ur ms getting better liao =D....

I put on 1kg liao ...

cactus,
agreed =D.

Ellysia, sorry to hear that you have cramps on and off. Maybe have a small cushion place at your back area when you sit down, and when you lay down, place your legs on a pillow, maybe these may helps? I do feel strain sometimes sitting down, sometimes I feel better hugging something against my tummy which made me feel slight better.

Linda, ya, your SIL lucky leh. I was accompanying my cousin who was admitted 5 weeks b4 birth in Gleneagles last yr. She shared two bedded, and wow, I saw all types of patterns ladies who just given birth, sleeping next to her. Sorry to say, those from C. are the worst. Singaporeans are ok. One of the C. lady, go toilet, must many pple follow her in, cried a lot for small little thing, during every meals, when food delivered to her, she would exclaimed loudly that she need to do big business in toilet, made my cousin very put off. Not to mention, her mother and husband wore the same clothes to hospital everyday. You can imagine the 'scent'. Sorry, I am not against them, just my share of experience.

Gleneagles is the nearest to my home, but I dun really like it (although I can opt to go there) thus will choose back TMC, which is also consider quite near bah. Linda, I can't think of Mt E how fast can you reach there during the GSS period, evenings and weekends. The main road is always so packed during these timing/period.

Hi Starmoon,

Do include me in the list as well, thanks alot.

Nick: janken
EDD: 11 June 08
Gynae: Dr CH Koh
Hospital: TMC or MAH
Child #: 1
Area: Ubi

feifei,

I dare not think abt the blood test. I read somewhere they need to draw 3 testtubes of blood. At first i take half day leave, now i took full day in case if uncomfortable can go home rest. My appt with Dr Wong is in the morning, how abt u?

ladies, this morning hor, got a preggie stand in front of me on the train leh! i wanted to give up my seat but i don't feel too good mah...i threw dagger eyes to the guys sitting on my either side...but none of them gave up their seats! So angry...insensitive pigz...

juliet08..
dun get too angry..sometimes we just cannot help it...i too detest pple like this...they are just simply not considerate.

What goes around comes around! Stay happy always

hi Starmoon,

Pls included me in the list, Thanks

Nick: paulnelaine
EDD: 24 June 08
Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodworth
Hospital: TMC
Child #: 2
Area: Ubi

hi janken,
u r staying in ubi too??? next time our baby can play together liao...

hi ladies.....
My vomiting came back during e wkend and also yesterday, hai~ throw out all my lunch. Feeling very very tired recently too having bad headache whenever i feel nause too, Just crossing my fingers that all these is not going to follow me throughout the whole pregnancy again.

Ellysia,
cos me prepared liao...need to take e thalessmia test somemore, tink i will hv more than 3 tubes lor..hiaz...mentally prepared liao but stills care...hee....my oscar appt is at 9am, then appt with Dr Khi is 4.45pm =)...Will be able to know results by then lor...so after blood test, can go home rest...

Juliet,
haiz, its like that lor, alot of ple won't give up their seats to preggi ladies one lor...so ke lian...

hello... ladies. Gd Mrng! Nowadays don expect ppl to give up their seats in MRT for preggies ladies hor... they sure to 'glue' to their seat if manage to find one! Pretending not to see old lady/man or even preggies hor! In-considerate ppls!

hi all, my first post here on this thread, didn't expect so many posts already by you June mummies

i am currently in my 10th week, so far slight nausea but no actual vomitting but dunno why already have backache! this is my second baby.

dear starmoon, please update me in your table.

Nick: tubbykat
EDD: 13 June 08
Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua
Hospital: TMC
Child #: 2
Area: Punggol

Cactus: heres details of my prenatal pkg from RH tat I promise u yd. $2600 (for natural delivery) includes mthly antenatal visits from 12 wks onwards, bi-weekly visits from wks 32-36 & wkly visits from wk 36 onwards, antenatal supplement, urine test for sugar & albumin, 3 routine ultrasound examinations, 1 post natal visit couple of wks after delivery. Additional $900 for C-section. Hope this helps.

Hi Veniz, topped u on the pkg tis time cos RH chrgs me $2600 for natural birth but C-section same as yurs @ $3500.
so expensiveactually was discussing wif hb if I shd chng gynae so tat we can dun spend so much but he prefers tat since we been seeing dr lee for the entire 1st trim n we r comfy, then stick to RH & Dr Lee lor...

Danryan: u poor ger.maybe speak to yur gynae u can prescribe u certain medication to lessen yur symptoms? *pat pat*.u take care of yourself yeah?

feifei, with my 1st pregnancy it was much worse, you can minimise the feeling by drinking H20! and also eating small meals throughout the day instead of 3 big meals. looks like i am the oldest mummy here hee hee :p

Haha.. Juliet, yesterday i went scanning at Mt E imagine I took MRT and stand from orchard to boon lay. Keep thinking I wear don't look like pregnant meh? Y no one give up seats. During the journey I feel cramp. Lucky went home no bleed.

juliet: obviously they dunno how to think lor...dun say men, women also the same lar. today i feel tired, so wore a maternity sort of dress. on my way to wk there was tis woman (abt 30+ / 40) sitting there n looking at me. i think she upon noticing tat i preggie will offer her seat to me but she then proceed to close her eyes n pretend to doze....goodness. so there i was standing in front of her all the way from yishun to city hall.... haiz....which by then both my legs all cramp oreadi..

Everymorning i have to take train from AMK to Raffles Place so no seat, no one give up seat too. Sometimes feel cramp and tired so bo piang.

feifei,
I decide on that day whether we want to change our appt with dr wong to evening, cos nurse say can change on tat day if still want evening time slot.

the 3 testtubes include thalessmia test i tink.

I am also taking test for thalessmia that day, same as u.

My hb suggest that i take cab in future for morning so as to avoid the MRT. Cos i work in raffles need to take MRT frm amk and usu no seat. But go home will have seat if i take MRT to Marina Bay and back again.

was reading thru your posts on offering seats. I'm really disgusted by singaporeans, sad to say. There was once where I wore quite a tight t-shirt. and my tummy is really obvious. the guy seating in front of me keep staring at my tummy. in the end, he decided to close his eyes and pretend to fall asleep!! really disgusted!!!

there's another time when I saw this mummy bringing in a kid of around 4 yrs old. he was yelling, wanting to sit down. but nobody offered him a seat. in the end, the poor little boy have to sit on the floor. and those seating in front of him all suddenly seems to fall asleep.....

aiyo.......inconsiderate leh.....

vomitted this morning
thought my MS 's getting better as last 3 days not much MS. this nausea thing is so unpredictable!

i see that some of u are taking the thalessmia test. is it necessary?

is oscar test the same as down syndrome test? my gynae schedule me to take the down syndrome test next week leh.

kekeke.. Ellysia and feifei,
i took the thalassaemia, HIV, Syphillis, Hep B is using 1 long and 1 short tubes..

iamsnow.. its like this. even those who are preggy in second trim and third trim also no seat one.

Today me worse. I was waiting for the lift at Raffles MRT (to go up to control station). As the crowd is too much i stop going in the lift (cos lift overcrowded). Then someone from behind push me and i fell into the gap when the lift is closing!

Luckily i use my hand to stop and the lift got sensor so it open. As the people behind dun give me space to stand behind i have to choice but to squeeze into the lift later. People inside the lift stare at me cos they tot i want to squeeze inside! but actually i was pushed in.

iamsnow,
oscar test is a test wif 90% accuracy for down syndrome.. there is 1 70% accuracy named triple test.. and 100% is the 'cho yang shui' kekeke.. so these 3 tests are for dwn syndrome test.. so its the same.. jus different cost and accuracy..

iamsnow,

If u taking the test at yr 11-13 weeks, it shd be the Oscar test. Cos the other test can only be taken at 4th mth or closer to 20 weeks if u opt out of Oscar.

Babycupid,

So u ored took those tests before? Hmm so i am not wrong if all test are taken together with Oscar will be 3 testtubes.

Can check with u, do they inject 3 times or they inject once with a hole then they put in the testtubes to draw? Meaning do they inject once on yr hand or more times?