(2008/06) June 2008

On the coffee intake, gynae also said not more than 1 cup per day. My colleagues also said the same thing, so i guess is alright if u take 1 cup per day.

For me i have no craving for coffee (i am a non-coffee drinker) but i have craving for coke and milo which has caffeine intake too, i also limit not more than 1 bottle/cup per day as a gauge.

Ellysia,
happy for u that ur MS getting better =)...Duno y this few days, i kept on having e nausea feeling...this is my 11th week, tot 1st trim going to be over liao, haiz, the feeling is getting worst...

Tinwky,
I also hv lots of phelgm lor..soemtimes wan to vomit but come out all phelgm, transparent one..hiaz...

Miracle,
Me 11wks liao =D..will be doing my oscar test next tues =D...

All,
Me having this nausea feeling this few days, duno y...all along for my past 10 wks was ok...haiz, tot 1st trim ending liao, so should be better...hiaz...

Cactus,

For mine is unlimited visit to gynae (even u fall sick oso can go to him) and scanning. I haf a urine test for every visit (for protein & glucose). Then for vitamins and folic acid, oso included into the package.

Wat else is included can't reali remember liao..More details will be provided yah..

feifei,

Mine is 10 weeks now, next week 11th week. My appt same as u, also next tue. Also nervous but try not to tink too much.

MS is at its peak at 3rd mth. But i know some people got MS up to 4th month, some as worst as up to giving birth! Is yours due to too much air? If so try ways to reduce air, it will help.

cactus,

I read in other topics (in this forum) that private hospitals and govt are nowadays v competitive and not much difference. However i understand from colleague that if got complications (need to stay longer), govt is much cheaper. If normal birth, both shd be quite similar.

starmoon & lala - Ya, even the nurses get them mixed up sometimes. Whenever I go, they will ask LC Cheng or TC Chang. Then I say LC Cheng then they will go to TC Chang's files...he!he! I been to TC Chang once for my last PG when LC Cheng was on leave. TC Chang does look like LC Cheng, wonder if they are related? he!he! My next appt is on the 19th. And yes again, I too will be taking a 1-beded just like for my #1

Cactus - You are going to SGH ah? Yup, I think the private and gov rates are pretty competitive. My pkg is $2275 which includes scheduled consultations, std urin dip stick test, US Scan at they obgyn clinic, all types of delivery, all hospital visits after delvery and delivery check-up.

TMC tour - Yup, tours are conducted every day in TMC. Will not be going coz have this is my #2. There's also classes conducted at Parentcraft for 1st time parents. Will not be going for that either coz attended it liao for #1.

MS - Still as bad. Can puke until everything comes out...aiyoh!!!

Hi Twinky,

THanks again.It's alot of info that you've provided already. I'd be interested to know how much the pacakge is and from week what can we go for the package. No hurry to dig out that info lah. I'm just curious cos I suddenly realised alot of places have packages from week 12 onwwards and I have about a monht to decide now.

cold rainy day....

Went see gynae last Fri, my little is 5 half weeks =) edd can't tell yet, maybe end june, early july.

Dr Adrian sure talk very fast!!! Good thing hb and I went in prepared with all the questions to ask him.

Got a copy of the scan too. Bill comes to be $155. Can check with you all if this is the usual amount to pay per visit? Or is this high cos it's my first visit. Don't know when to take up the $550 unlimited package too. Any advise?

cheryl,

Going for my second visit next week. Will be 7+ weeks. Hmmm, will probably sign the package.

Angie,
They did mention the half half payment for the package. Will probably pay the $275 like you too. Balance must pay after 12 weeks is it?

JP, me oso like u took the antenatal class when i had #1 so not taking it this time.

this is the last info i have:
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK TAN</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

Starmoon, you missed mine..
Nick: lala
EDD: 8th June, 2008
Gynae: Dr. TC Chong
Hospital: TMC
Child #: 1st
Area: Woodlands

Having slight nausea today (back again), didn't enjoy my lunch. Last few days no MS, enjoyed my meals so much

Hi Kylene,

My SIL was deciding between TMC and Mt A. She decided on Mt A cos she said the nurses there are more caring. If i decide to go private hosp, I'm likely to choose Mt A too.. partly cos I'm a Mt A baby.. hehe!

Lately I can't eat fish at all. Very very strong adversion to fish. Can't even bear to hear the word "fish" being spoken.

Just now had strong craving for sour plum drink... immediately went to nearby 7-11 to buy... feeling really satisfied now.

I didn't use to be so fussy about food until lately...

I am fussy abt food and have cravings even before i am preggy. Now preggy, my cravings has turn to a stronger preference/aversions and food choices become v limited cos the dislike list become longer..

I find that when there is no MS, the food aversions are better.

Cactus,

For me i dun bother abt the package or cost.. cos my colleagues a lot of them took TMC and they say good, so i just take TMC then my hb also pro-private and his colleagues also recommend TMC. For gynae we initally wanted the popular one but hb called the clinic for 2 days and they didn't even return call. So i feel not fated, then i happen to see recommend on Dr Jocelyn so hb leave a email to her clinic then they immediately called up, the nurse make me feel comfy and so far gynae also nice so we decided to stick with her.

hi mummies....

I have no MS but this cold sweat cannot be avoided when i am in the 1st trimester.

today is my 1st cold sweat in the train...blackout n almost pengsan but stand still till the next 3 station then ask the lady who want to sit b4 me to give me the sit....very3 drenched of sweat...going to be like this till my 1st trimester finished...

omg danryan thats quite bad..

do u need to take iron pills?

I feel fainting last fri when rushing some work at office. My boss dunno i am preggy (and i feel awkward telling him on intention) and he has been pushing me to rush work as usual.

yes this my bad experience fr my 1st and 2nd pregnancy..

btw, thanks to all mummies to explain about the OSCAR thing...coz i am now 37 n already 38 when my EDD on mid June 2008. But for my 2nd pregnacy i was 35 n i didn't go any test...

piyoz - I think its about there. However, its up to the individual obgyn lah. That's why for us, we will sign up for the pkg on our next visit.

BabyCupid - OK..thanks!
Me also..MS is horrible today.

Starmoon - Thanks for generating the list! *muah* Can add me plz?
Nick - JP
Age - 34
EDD - 23 June 08
Gynae - Dr LC Cheng
Hospital - TMC
Child # - 2
Area - Sgoon North

Thanks again!

Ellysia - So envy! MS hits rock bottom today. Puked bfast and lunch already...haiz!!!
Strange cravings are a definately when we are PG...he!he!

Kylene - Why don't you go for the hospital tours before you decide?

Danryan - OMG..*sayangx2* Did you inform your obgyn about this?

JP,

Tok abt touch wood MS came back today but at least last 3 days have enjoyed.

Now feeling want to vomit then the feeling of stuck at throat. Been eating "cheng Pi" to ease the feeling away.

So many postings...
Seeing gynae tomorrow, hopefully can have the little one wave hello.

Hi Catcus,
yes, KKH might not be the cheapest, cheap only if you choose MO as your "gynae" and you wont have a fixed doc to deliver your baby type. But it is (IMO lah) the best facilitated hospital for women and baby.

My Gyane is Kowa Nam Sing, he delivers only at Mt E. his package starts from 5 mth, you pay $900 for monthly visits till 36 weeks, then twice monthly visits, then once a week visits till you deliver. Includes ultrasound scans, urine test and consultations. His normal delivery is $1500 (pay $900 deposit, rest from CPF) and includes one FOC post natal checkup after one month.

My previous bill at Mt E (normal with epidural) is $1050 CPF, $1300+ cash.

Hi ellysia
My gynae prescribed iron pills for me. i took them all thruout my first pregnancy... but for this round, i didnt. constipation leh... not even lots of fruits/ salads and yakult helps..

Hi feifei
My SIL had MS till she delivers for both of her kids. Anyone in your family similar?

And starmoon, do include me
Nick: linda_thea
EDD: 9 June 08
Gyane: Kowa Nam Sing
Hospital: Mt E
Child #: 2
Stay: Woodlands

hi starmoon
how come u paid so much cash for the hospitalisation for bleeding then? Both times I was warded for 2 - 3nights each, I only paid about $100-$200 plus cash, but perhaps coz I chose a 4 bedder, so cheaper
4 bedder made me realise I will definitely choose a single bedder for delivery. So xin ku liao still got to tolerate neighbours yakking all the time, lights on and off... no more for me!!

You are seeing Dr Cheng tmr ah? Me was supposed to be next fri but I miss baby so fixed appt to see him this thur. Will prob sign up package then, but doent include vitamins and folic acid hor?

hi piyoz
I will advise you to take up the package on your 2nd visit liao. Then what you have paid for the 1st visit will be deducted from the $275, so you just pay the balance. Really very reasonable.

hi feifei
Oh dear, sorry to hear about your MS. Me also having MS now but seems to be slightly better than previous few weeks, hope its subsiding.
Me going oscar test next week too!! But it's wed, so will not get to see you all... seems alot of people taking it next tues...

cactus79, y dun u try dr adrian woodworth? $550 only for unlimited visits till the time you give birth, inclusive folic acid and vitamins. Very reasonable for a private doctor and he has 2 clinics, 1 at cck and 1 at sk and has nite clinic too. But his machine is not very high-tech, ie tink can only scan normal scan but not sure can measure/hear heartbeat and see doppler or not...if you dun mind that, Dr Adrian is a good choice

was out with MIL & dd to run some errand and just back and finished satisfying my MOS burger craving....now so full & sleepy. *burp & yawn* think gg for a nap now

here's the updated table
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>9-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Serangoon North </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

roxy - So, you will sign up for the pkg too? Me will also do the same thing for my coming visit. Not to sure when my OSCAR will be. Aiyoh, hope that I don't have to wait long-long for my next visit.

roxy, i was warded for 2 nights for bleeding but i took one bedded datz y paid so much. plus i went in to see dr cheng after clinic hours so his charges alone already $200+ i think for that night when i saw him. me oso signing his package 2moro. yah it does not include vitamins and folic acid...u need to buy separately. it is cheaper to get outside pharmacy rather than from him. for folic acid, it is so cheap to get at Unity Pharmacy. Me learnt lesson from #1 cos dat time dunno so get folic acid and vitamins from him. Then when finished i go outside buy then discovered i ganna ketok at TMC. hahahah....

Hi catcus
i think we have to comprise somehow... as long as you think you are comfy, why not? Time taken off work is difficult and i know how precious weekend times are too. Do what you comfy in.

Pte doc's package might be cheap, but the hospital they choose to assist you to deliver in might not be. Not forgeting, the gynae's package is one part of cost, the major is also the hospital cost. Usage of delivery suites is done by blocks of minutes, the apparatus they use, even gloves were charged, used one time by diff nurses and docs, medications, cost of pain relief etc.

hi JP
Yes I will be signing up his package next visit. Very shiong, every time see him burn big hole... must try to minimise hole size
When are you seeing Dr Cheng again?

hi starmoon
Dr Cheng will not encourage people to opt out ah? Some of my friends gynae always encourage them to opt out, say not necessary and save $ for them. What vitamins do we need and where can we buy ah? I'm not taking vitamins now, only take folic acid bought from Guardian pharmacy, cheaper heee. Yes, that time he charge me 200+ also coz I see him midnite, then my silly hubby still thought free and how come Dr Cheng so nice rush down.. pengz

Hi Ellysia,

I've been spotting ever since I'm tested positive on 24 Oct.

Have been to see 2 gynaes and also 2 GP. all said the same thing that it's implementation bleeding. But in my mind, i was like.. implant so damn long wan meh?

I'm given dupuston by gynae 1 (change because, we find her expensive but she's very nice).. then gynae 2, Dr Lee (whom I'm gng to stick to now) said, he'll give me pills to insert coz when my morning sickness sets in, no point i take oral pills. =/

So far, spotting has eased. But it still comes back once a while. mostly brown discharge. But no idea why today was pinkish/red and only showed up when i wiped, other than this spotting thingy, i have none of those things that you mommies are sharing.

Oh!! By accident, i found a rather good way to reduce air in tummy. I realised that if i eat biscuits, bread... etc etc, i don't burb as much. But if i eat a full meal, i burb. Maybe you all try that? Also never let yourself be hungry. I'm always hungry now, so i have lots of things handy to eat. And the air seems to not bother me so much now that i'm eating.

I'm really sorry mommies for being so descriptive up there.

Catcus - Why don't you go for the hospital tours with your DH and then see which hospital you would like to deliver in? Linda is right as my obgyn is $ 2275 (as mentioned in my previous post) and the TMC room rates is $380 per nite for a 1 bedded. Anaesthetic fee for epidural or general anaesthesia is also not included in the pkg.

cactus, Linda is right, there was once a pt gynae that I saw at Mt A. He charged me for the disposable gloves he used to examine me during ultrasound scan. I got such a shock when I saw the bill!

I'm sure all the anaesthetist will be very experienced in whatever they are doing. By then the labour pains are probably so much we will not even notice the epidural being given! Coz actually government hospitals are not really that cheap also if you compare to private ones. Only if you choose those non-assign gynaes, eg every visit different gynaes..if you choose those assigned gynaes, I think their charges are comparable to private ones. Most importantly, as long as you are confident and comfy with your gynae is good enough.

JP, you are slightly better, my first visit cost me $250+. I nearly fainted too....I'm seeing him on 15th and 23rd. Aiyah, 3 of us wun get to meet each other then...

cactus79, dun worry, im sure you will be able to see the little flickering dot tomorrow and you will be so amazed