(2008/06) June 2008

starmoon - OIC, maybe that's why lor. Your legs wasn't that swollen. Ya lor, we also will be signing up soon. His charges also increased.

Kylene - One way to check for water retention is to press the legs, ankles, etc.

Linda - Wow...3 yrs still same $$$. Lucky leh.

Miracle - Congrats!
As per Linda, it is indeed true that some people are just lucky (no MS at all) and other really kena teruk. I too understand how you feel as I had a MC too before I had my son. This is my #2. Just hang in there, be positive and rest, rest and rest. Mood swings are norm too.

Mogudog - I have asked my obgyn before and he said "in moderation" if really need a caffine kick. I am a tea drinker and I still drink.

Aiyoh, today darn teruk. Puked out bfast and lunch. Cannot tahan...

Hi linda and JP,

Thanks for your advice. Ya i guess just resting well is the key for now. I had a good break. On leave on Fri, so got to enjoy thurs - sunday. So good. Went out alot too.

Just get tired easily..other than that still feeling quite normal except for some occasionally cramps at times. Will see how things go for now. Just have to keep reminding myself, if its meant to be mine, it will be.

Mogudog,

Regarding caffeine, yes i still take every morning one cup when I'm pregnant. Cos if i dont take, i simply cant perk up to work. But i limit it to one cup though which is my norm when I'm not pregnant. I think it should be fine...so far my two boys are healthy.

I guess it's too early for me to say... I'm entering my 7th week now and so far, no MS too. I'm considered lucky? Or is it because it's still too early?

I'm also super worried la. But nothing can be done. Just pray and not tire myself out. Cramps when I walk too fast and then i'll start my spotting all over. Not that the spotting stop. It just comes back more. =(

I dont drink coffee at all. But does drink tea once a while, but after knowing of this pregnancy, I've totally ditch it. Reason it's also because tea is acidic and i'm having too much gas in my stomach already. So i totally dont touch now.

Other than that, try to eat lesser seafood, I'm a super prawns lover... can eat it everyday kind. So i reduce that. Other than that, nothing already.

Hi Starmoon,

I also wake up several times at night to go toilet. The worst was every 2 hours from 930pm to 530am. Worse than alarm clock. I've been sleeping at 8pm+ these days..

I'm told the cause of frequent urination is the growing uterus pressing down causing sensation of full bladder. To combat this, I limit my drinks in late afternoon and evening. These days I juist wake up twice every night. Usually around midnight, and another time around 4am+.

I'm interested to find out the cost of the antenatal packages and what it comprises of. Would you be able to share the following info:
The doctor that you are seeing;
Package commences from which week;
Cost of package;
Inclusions of package (consultations, urine tests, blood pressure tests, scans, vitamins, etc?)

Many thanks in advance!

mogudog,
is 2.51mm or 25.1mm? Cos at my 8wks my bb is 17.5mm.. if Dr Wong nvr say anything meaning no problem.. maybe u see wrongly? 2.51cm?

hi tinyfeet,
i did not sign a package and she didnt mention anything abt package either... usu from wat i know, most gynaes oni let patients sign up package after 1st tri...

hi girls,
any of u having heartburn? i think i am... i keep having the feeling that there is food stuck at my throat. it gets very bad at night as well. i hv to prop up a couple of pillows to sleep. for a few times already, i even puked out the remains of my dinner b4 bedtime.

Hi MTBs,

I have bad skin problems recently. Initially is near perfect skin, now pimples outbreak and some skin rashes here and there
I dun even want to see the mirror. Wonder any of u encounter same problem.

My MS seems to subside recent few days (but still feel a bit), this week is the 10th week already. Hopefully by end of month will have fully subside.

Now i am taking duphaston to curb the spotting. I been experimenting and I think spotting will increase more if i walk too long/too fast/ stand too long/too fast or too stressed up. Normally during weekends seem better.

Over the weekend i cook red dates with duck soup, read somewhere in other forum that red dates curb spotting (dunno how true) but i am trying. The fact that i am still having slight MS comfort me.

Now i get hungry more easily, used to get hungry by 5 hrs, now 4hrs after meal will be hungry. Have to eat biscuits, snacks etc to top up.

hi soyabean,

I have heart paipitation and slight heartburn but usu in the morning.

I have blocked nose yest night, sleep with 2 pillows.

twinky,

Gynae says can drink Eno to reduce gas.

I am also taking yakult often for bowels and digestion.

I feel that ginger tea is better than ginger drink bec the tea make the ginger smell not so strong and more pleasant in drinking. I dun really like the taste but i force myself to drink, cos if dun reduce the air, MS is gonna be worse.

re:pimples outbreak

ellysia,

Pregnancy sometimes brings on acne or makes it worse. Higher levels of hormones called androgens can prompt the sebaceous glands in your skin to get bigger and boost production of an oily substance called sebum.

This extra sebum, combined with the shed skin cells that line your hair follicles, blocks your pores, creating an environment in which bacteria can rapidly multiply. All this eventually leads to the inflammation and skin eruptions of acne.

You might not be able to prevent the problem altogether, but here are some tips that may help:
Wash gently with a mild soap or cleanser twice a day, and if you use moisturizer make sure it's oil-free. Don't scrub your face with a washcloth, since scrubbing can make the problem worse. Instead, use your hands to gently wash your face.

Pat your skin dry rather than rubbing it, which can irritate acne.

Don't squeeze, rub, or pop your pimples it'll make the problem worse and could lead to scarring.

If you wear makeup, use products that are water- (not oil-) based and are labeled "noncomedogenic" or "nonacnegenic," meaning they won't clog your pores and cause breakouts. Be sure to wash off your makeup before going to bed, too.

Ask your gynae or doctor about using medicated gels or lotions. If your acne is severe, you may need to see a dermatologist. A number of over-the-counter and prescription products help clear up acne, but some of the ingredients haven't been well studied in pregnancy so don't use any acne preparation without your gynae's okay.

It's particularly important to avoid the oral prescription drug isotretinoin (Accutane), which can cause serious birth defects. Avoid using topical tretinoin-like Retin-A as well. Prescription antibiotic creams containing erythromycin or clindamycin are perfectly safe, but stay away from those with tetracycline.

Hi soyabean, I'm experiencing heartburn but usually only in the late evenings. I will sit up in bed for a period of time before trying to sleep it off.

I tink we r rather confuse on the mm & cm size..Haha..

Me juz went for my 2nd check-up on sat. My bb nw 3.4cm at 9th week..EDD is 3rd June'08.

During my 1st check-up, my bb is 0.77cm at 6th wk..

I went thru one magazine and found that at different wks..bb size is at hw big..But i can't reali remember nw..Will go hm & check & let all u MTB noe yah..

I will be doing a test in 2 wks time..Check for bb neck size for down Syndrome. Cost abt $90 as inform by my gynae..But can't reali remember what is the test name call...

Anyone also same as me?? Went for the test b4??

Helli Ellysia,

I read the Motherhood magazine and inside tot us hw to reduce MS..If can't stand ginger tea, can take ginger beer..

Me taking nw & keep burping alot..But i think dun take too much..coz quite sweet..

re:hungry

Eating during pregnancy many MTBs get the impression they have to eat for two. Realistically speaking you need to add roughly 300 extra calories to your diet each day during the second and third trimesters.
The simplest way to do this is to break your three large meals down into six smaller ones. That way you'll be eating during pregnancy roughly every 3 hours. This will help curb hunger pangs.

Pregnancy is not the time to count calories or the time to lose weight. It is the time to eat as nutritiously as possible. This means selecting high fiber, nutrient dense foods that will fill you up and provide you and your baby the vitamins, minerals and nutrients you need to thrive.

Lean proteins, vegetables and whole grains are excellent choices to start with when eating during pregnancy. Keep in mind the more fiber you consume (in the way of fruits and vegetables) the less constipation you will have to battle throughout your pregnancy. High fiber foods also fill you up and keep you feeling fuller for longer periods of time. If your diet doesn't naturally incorporate a lot of high fiber foods, you should gradually ease into a high fiber diet. Too much fiber all at once can contribute to bloating and excess gas, a problem some MTBs experience during pregnancy without any assistance from their diet.

ellysia, me oso having breakout....huge pimples and red ones. recently, i've been using ruyi oil to apply on my tummy (to help reduce wind) and throat (to help ease the nauseous feeling) and then i think the skin on my throat more sensitive cos i'm getting rashes now so now i stopped applying on my throat liao.

Do u all have alot of phlegm in your throat??Everytime after puking, i tend to haf alot of phlegm in my throat and is making me very uncomfortable.

And this reali make my cough terrible..I haf been coughing for 4 weeks..Stil nt getting any better..Make my MS more worse..

Hello Twinky,

My EDD is close to yours.. Mine ard 8th Jun,08.
Just went for my first check on friday with Dr. TC Cheng from TMC and he told me i was 9wks 5days. Initially, i thought it was only 8wks.

He also mentioned that my next appt which is my 12th weeks, have to perform Oscar and blood test. wow.. cost about $300, $60 each..

what about your rates with Gynae from TMC? same rates? hmmm.. next appt also have to decide whether to sign up with the parckage or not.. what's the rates they giving you? Have anyone of signed?

Have any of you toured TMC? :p

Hi Linda, JP and Miracle, thanks for the re-assurance. Coz my thinking is that caffine make my baby shrink. I like to drink cafe latte, cuppcino, all osrt of coffee I like.
Initially when I cut down, I get headache and nausated so much that I was feeling so terrible. Like drug addict like that. I told that to my gynae and she
allow only 1 cup per day. At least better than nothing, heheh, thank you

Hi Babycupid, the pic shows it's 25.1 mm at week 9, so which is 2.51cm. At week 7, my baby is 12.7mm, Dr wong didn't mention anything but she got say like it's a bit slow compared to
my last visit.

twinky,
i think the neck size test is called - nuchal translucency - I'm also going for the test in abt 3 weeks time.
some obgyn will also add blood tests to the above test - all to check for possibility of down syndrome - but of course not 100%

starmoon,

I think our skin has now become more sensitive and prone to skin problems. So have to clean face more often than before i guess.

starmoon,

I think our skin has now become more sensitive and prone to skin problems. So have to clean face more often than before i guess.

Lala,

I have not toured TMC. So far my clinic only give out package for consultants up to give birth, but does not include any hospital giving birth charges.

I guess doctor will let us know at 2nd trim or 3rd trim on hospital packages.

ellysia, dun think itz the cleaning...more on hormones. sometimes cleaning too often may also cause breakout. my first one i oso ganna...only got better in 2nd or 3rd tri. guess juz hafta ren in the meantime.

cactus, me last nite not bad....slept around 12 plus and only woke up around 5 plus to pee...my drinking still same as before. guess juz hafta wait till 2nd tri then will be better lor.

sheepysheep,

have u went to see gynae already?

feifei,
im seeing gynae this thursday. just fixed appt a while ago. U are in how many weeks now?

Mog are u petite in person? Cos if u are petite in person maybe bb will be smaller too.

Cos i am quite big size, i figure will be similar size. I am 6 pounds when my mum give birth to me.

One thing i am worried is both me and my hb have big heads and i am worried if bb is similar will be harder to give birth.

starmoon,

Dunno i read in pregnancy book the only way to reduce the problem is to clean more regularly. Cos i used to be v lazy, i only clean when it feels v oily (maybe once a month) but now face become high maintenance leh.. feel v ma fan.

On the waking up, i have wake up few times a night, usu near morning though. Not sure whether wake up is to pee or not but surely has become lighter sleep.

mogudog,
kekeke.. so is 25.1mm la.. ur previous posted msg stated 2.51mm.. hw can it be.. kekeke.. i tink shld be ok one.. nex visit booommm...

Lala,

We can tour TMC ah?? Hw to arrange?? Me wil b gg to TMC for the 1st time for my test on 23/11.

I already signed up a package from my gynae, Dr. Adrian Woodworth @ $550 during my 1st visit. Felt tt more worth it. But if we no need to decide on the spot whether to sign up or not. Coz they will offset the amt you pay previously should you decide to sign up later.

Hi Kylene,

I think u r rite..Coz i onli remember the test name start wif 'n'.,I wonder wat is the difference for btw this & oscar test?? Coz i noe Oscar test oso test for DS one..

Hi Mogudog,

R u taking any milk supplement?? Maybe you can take if u r nt. I am currently taking Anmum milk to promote bb growth..

Hello starmoon,

My gynae is TC Chang. Initially, i got them confused too.. wow.. the WC Cheng Associates have too many have the Chang and LC/TC/.C gynae.. so confusing..

when's your next appt? mine on the 26th Nov(Mon) 2:30pm. Hospital tour, the recept was telling me that i can register with the hospital recep for any of the schedules (i.e. 11am / 2pm). Tour takes ard 30mins.

Waiting for my hubby to be back from his trip before we go for the tour. maybe our 3rd appt with the gynae bah.

For the tour, i guess no hurry now. maybe can do during 2nd trim to decide what ward package to take. Heard that single bed ward is better cos more privacy. But may be v expensive especially if got complications and need to stay longer.

Lala,

No need advance booking for the tour?? If go there and register, can on the spot??

If possible, i would like to tour during my appt. there on 23/11. Since my hubby is wif me too..

Hi Twinky, you mentioned your package is at $550. What does it include? How many visits? From which week can sign up? Thanks in advance.

Lala, hahaha, i think sometimes the nurses oso confused...they will asked and asked if it is TC Chang or LC Cheng. My gynae is LC Cheng and I'm seeing him 2moro. Me not gg for hospital tour cos this is not my first time.
As before, I will still opt for single bedded as you never know who your neighbour is gg to be.

Hello Twinky,

Yes, you can book on the spot.. No need to advance booking.

oh no.. mine is $800 (booking fee) wor...
Per clinic visit : $0
Normal delivery : $1,200
Per day in hospital : $80
Post delivery check-up: $80

last visit, its consultation is $90. Ultra-scan $30 and urine test $5.

Just to clarify that NT scan is not to measure the neck thickness.

The NT test uses ultrasound to measure the clear (translucent) space in the tissue at the back of your developing baby's neck. Babies with abnormalities tend to accumulate more fluid at the back of their neck during the first trimester, causing this clear space to be larger than average.

Hi Ellysia,

Yups. already went to see gynae. He gave me pills to insert to stop the spotting. Still have abit once a while, on and off kind.

I'm seeing Dr Kenneth Lee at Mt A.

twinky, last year when i stayed there, we paid $1.8k cash to settle balance of gynae's package and hospital bill.

this year when i stayed for 2 nights as well for spotting, i paid abt $700 cash.

not sure how much is medisave portion for both....forget liao...will need to check my bill.

Sheepy,

Yr pills to insert is it painful? First time i read of pills to insert..

I started with Diane (medicine) then now is duphaston (stronger one).

Have u ask yr gynae why got spotting? My gynae explained that cos the water bag will grow "roots" and these roots get weak so they bleed. Thus the medicine is to strengthen our roots and make the pregnancy more stable.

Hi feifei / JP, thanks! Went to my GP on Friday evening. Having taken the medicines, now feeling much better than I ever was a few days back.

Starmoon / tinyfeet: u gers r not aloneI woke up at least twice to thrice every nite to run to the loo also.feel so tired cos sleep always interrupted & feel lethargic

Mog: I personally gets very bad headache if I miss my daily intake of cuppa in the morning.my gynae limit me to 1 max per day, so now I m on tat n so I guess shd be okmaybe u can do a double-check wif yur gynae on tis?