(2008/06) June 2008

sharon, me oso had mushroom swiss a couple of days ago. indulge bah....

ellysia, normally i go weekday lor cos last time can take time off mah...so go weekday can eat snake. hahahah

juliet, u tempt me with ice cream soda...nottie nottie.

stretch marks info:
a few months ago while i was in australia hor, i saw a tv programme, they perform experiment on stretch mark treatment
1. using commerical stretch mark cream
2. using oil
3. using laser treatment.

the first 1 shows no obvious results.
th second one shows that the skin only become smoother, but stretch marks still there
last one got obvious improvement.

but the programme is not targeted at beauty commerical treatment for laser ley. just a health programme bah. but i feel that mummy will still apply so that at least we feel we are doing a good job, if really stretch marks dun go away, we done our best liao. if totally no apply, then we will self blame that we lazy and regret later lor.
hehee

starmoon,
i think your gynae may be right ley, depends on own skin elastic. actually the cream helps a little only hor? could be due to genes too? me follow my mum no stretch marks ley. i guess i am very lucky. but i seen my friends all got stretch marks all very very sad like wat u say. but hor they never apply cream.

I went to see my company GP just now and she asked me to consult my gynae right away. Although having no symptoms could be nothing to worry about, it's best to be safe. She explained that sometimes the Hcg levels shoot up and levels off for a while. So that explains why some days we can have a lot of pregnancy symptoms whereas for other days, we don't feel much. She also explained that usually for below 6 weeks, there isn't much MS. The full onslaught of MS will be felt at around 8 weeks.

After that, went to see my gynae and he did a u/scan for me. Can see a small waterbag but he mentioned, it looked only like it was at 5 weeks when according to my last menses, it should be around 5.5 - 6 weeks by now. Sigh... very worried now. He took a blood test today to check the Hcg levels and will be taking another one on Monday to see if the levels have increased. I'm now taking Utrogestan pills as well. It's hormone pills to simulate progresterone. I hope everything's fine and my Hcg levels shoot up soon. Really envy those of you out there with pregnancy symptoms. At least you know everything is going well. Now, all I can hope for is that baby grows well. Sigh...

iamsnow,
I think you should make an appt to go see your gynae asap cos we'll usually know our body better than most. If you think there might be a problem, best to have it checked out and don't procrastinate like I did. Now I wonder if I had gone yesterday, would it have made a difference. Maybe higher chances of success.

Please pray for me k.

Krispy, keep ur spirits up! My bro's SIL dun hv ANY symptoms for all of her 3 pregnancies(she's now preggie w/ her 3rd)!

Hi Krispy,

My gynae actually told me that symptoms will appear 6wks n complete around 9wk. I have a friend do not have any symptoms and her baby is doing very well. Not to worry.

iamsnow,
I was actually a patient of Dr Loh last time when I was diagnosed with dermoid cyst. He removed it for me earlier this year and he's fantastic. Not much pain after the surgery. So, after that, continued seeing him but the consultation hours are super long and can only see him during normal office hours or in TPS. Only knew about TPS after several months of taking leave and mc to see him.

A few weeks ago, hubby and I decided to go for a 2nd opinion cos still no success in TTC-ing. So we went to Dr Fong. He wanted to start me on Clomid in my next cycle but hubby was gonna go overseas, so planned to start in Nov. But surprise surprise, found out I was pregnant earlier this week. Was quite panicky yesterday so started getting more info etc. Called Dr Fongs nurse who told me to wait etc.

This morning, still no symptoms, so I chatted with Dr Loh via gmail. Just asked him if it's ok etc and he wanted to put me on Duphaston right away. Called up the nurses at KK to ask if I could see him and they weren't very helpful. One said he's not in the clinic now and wanted to pass me to the Sandra at Clinic D (Dr Loh's clinic) but instead, she passed me to another nurse. Then, that nurse just told me Dr Loh is in, and when I asked if I could see him, she told me she couldn't help me there. I also wanted to find out what Duphaston is for and if I could get it from the pharmacy but she just said to come collect it since Dr prescribed. Asked me to go collect before 5pm. Sigh... Like I can just drop everything at work and go collect it. I don't even have any family members who aren't working to help me collect it and hubby isn't in Singapore.

So, in the end, went to see my company GP lor. Needed to at least get some expert opinion to understand if what I'm going thru is normal etc. I think it's a good idea to have our doubts checked out by a doctor even if it seems like it's a very very small thing. Just to be safe.

krispy,
me also waiting for the blood test report to check on the hormones level ley. if the result is OK, i think we should not worry, bcos really got some mummies no symptoms one and bb is OK. alamak, if the result is NOK, the i have to be jab lor. anyway i am taking duphaston now hehe
dun worry so much lah, wait for the report first :D

yup yup. I'm trying my best to stay positive and listening to the advise of my doctor. Stay at home, rest, sleep early etc.

GURLZ, am so bored...it's only 2pm now...so tempted to go home coz boss not around...so sian...dunno how to tahan for another 4 hours...

hahaa juliet,
surf net and keep on refresh the forum page :p
dat's wat i did ley hehee

krispy,
yup REST very impt, dun gan jiong hehee

thanks starmoon...
much appreciate on your updte & inclusion...
actually ladies - i got craving for my sashimi...wonder if ok to go for a couple of pieces or not huh? jus to satify the crave...? i know gynae says cannot lah, my hubby also forbid me to eat but hiya, also dunno how to describe the feeling of longing so badly for sashimi...siao oreadi, still ve so many mths to tahan..
had duck noodles for lunch, so full now...

Hi krispy, do stay positive! Don't be overly worried by your company doctor. Most GPs prefer to err on the side of caution because they don't really understand O&G as well as specialists. You'll be going for your first scan soon and I'm sure it will be fine! Remember.. worrying is not good for bb!

hey krispy, dun worry too much, k? i m sure u be fine. i also ve minimum preg symptoms. Just check wif my gynae at my last appt and she said actually tat it is good. i m at 8 wks oreadi n she does scanning for me every visit n i can c the baby's heartbeat oreadi.
so dun worri, u may be the few who dun ve the symptoms? one of my colleague here is also preggie at 4-5mths and she had been suffering since the 2nd mth onward till now, so guess it varies from pple to pple lar... it is so bad for her tat there r days where she said she jus feel like throwing in the towel oreadi. so dun wish for the symptoms, okie? so long baby n u r fine n healthy, tat's good enf lar....

hi juliet08, i know wat u meant...
jus certain days the cravings get so bad tat, wow...wan eat also cannot eat, reai dunno how to survive...

chiam....friday is here. reai no mood to wk... but still ve one stupid rpt to run, so sian, so many numbers but dun feel like working too.... *sob sob*

mushroom swiss!! I also want!!! Me also no appetite for alot of things, keep feeling bloated, feverish.. but once I hear mushroom swiss, appetite immediately comes back!!!

crystal, I tink better not eat, though I did eat 1 piece of sushi yesterday but it's cooked. Did hear of some mums eating when pregnant and they are ok.. so it's up to individual I guess...

starmoon, back from Dr Cheng visit liao? Hope you didnt have to wait too long today to see him... that time I was at the clinic, I saw this very pregnant lady with a big tummy, there were no seats available, but got a lao ah beng accompanying his wife, buay zi tong, never give up his seat to the lady.. so inconsiderate, I hope he will know what it means when his wife next time kena same situation...

krispy, don't worry so much. Dusphaton is meant to increase hormones and stabilise the pregnancy. I'm taking duphaston and progynova too, 3 times a day. At least you saw sac now and it's not an etopic pregnancy. 5 - 6 weeks might be too early to see sac and now you are only 5 - 6 weeks, it is very difficult to get a correct age of baby coz it is so small. In addition, the machine plays big part also. last fri I saw Dr Cheng with his high tech machine, bb was 7w2d.. then sun suddenly hospitalised, scan using normal machine,bb become 6wk6d and shrink in crl. I got such a big shock and thought the bleeding caused baby to shrink. Dr Cheng assured me that it's because the machine is too old and not accurate and true enough the next scan I did with his high tech machine, it reflected me as 8 weeks. So it could also be that the machine that was used to scan you is not that new, and hence not so accurate too.
HCG levels are supposed to double every 2-3 days. I took at least 3 hcg tests when I was having bleeding that time and everything turned out ok. I'm sure your levels will increase and you will get good result on Mon. And now it's too early to have MS symptons so dun worry about MS... my gf had no MS throughtout pregnancy and now her boy is 3 months already!!

krispy, i think very difficult to get dr loh. but at his hr, he is at the pte suite. u call the pte suite to look for him. ask them whether can leave the presciption at the counter and u collect tomorrow. they are open tomorrow morning also.

crystal...ya...me also like that...i see sunny side up also buay tahan...but wat to do...bo bian lor...tahan tahan!

me also no mood to do work..am stoning in the office now...wanna slp liao...

me also no mood to work.... it's friday...... haha....

talking abt mushroom swiss, I've been craving for quite some time. but my office here and home no BK......

HI Starmoon,

I go during weekdays but i didnt take the time-off cos my boss more stingy, so i only take leave. I heard that Sat is v packed so i only go on weekday.

re sushi/sashimi, it's ok if it's prepared fresh and clean process. I mean, i bet the japanese continue to eat sashimi during pregnancy...but can't compare coz their sashimi SOOOO fresh! here, put on the belt for so long...n hving flown the fish in dunno how long...so it's not as fresh one la...

that day watch the "nu ren wo zui da" show (Queen) on ch 54, one of the guest she also got eat sashimi when she was preggi..but she was in japan...

Thanks for the kind words. I'm actually now on Utrogestan prescribed by Dr Fong.

Btw, how much is your gynae visits each time. I'm beginning to feel worried. At the rate this is going, I think i'm gona be spending a fortune just consulting the gynae.

My gynae consultation charges are around S$50 for a short visit, goes up to S$80 for a longer one. S$77 for blood test, S$70 for scan and another S$30 for my meds. So, I just blew S$227 this afternoon. Heart pain.

I remember Dr Loh only charging me S$56.65 for consultation with scan included. But of course, waited for 2 hours to see him lar. Dunno why my current gynae charge S$70 for u/scan. So expensive.

haiz.. sashimi.. i dun like! phew~ kekekeke.. but i love cold drinks.. now cannot drink.. cutting down alot alot alot.. time now is 2.34pm godd....

krispy, dr loh charges are not very exp. but have to wait very long..... i switched to TPS. they told me charges is $10 more. but I believe the waiting time is shorter....

that time I 5th week need to see gynae, went to the one near my hse. he charge me $200+ for a less than 5 min consultation, which includes a scan!!! so exp.....

hi ladies, i will heel yur advice lah...ve to give my beloved sashimi a rest...though i m so relucant...my cockles too....

yup, juliet, sunny side up also my weakness + half boil eggs... now both also cant eat too...arrrggg...

i also wanna to stone but i cant cos ve to run tis stupid analysis rpt for the board members. but lagi no mood at all to analyise anything...

my consultation each time is $140 including scan, excluding medicine etc..
Perhaps your blood test is emergency blood test hence so expensive? Coz I thought normal blood tests cost abt $25 - $35

Me also super sian at home... my dog very sian too. Just looked at me and gave me a big YAWN.. :D anyone still keeping their dogs with them during pregnancy?

Hi Krispy,

I dun u dun have to worry abt no symptons,maybe for its a bit early to show the symptons. My Gynae told me the worst MS is at the 3rd mth. My mum also said the same thing.

For me, I have headache as early as 5th week (and i tink stomach bloatness started from 3-4th week before i know i am pregnant), nausea on and off. When nausea is worst, i vomit water out. It affected my mood a lot cos i dun enjoy food as much as i used to be, and food used to be one of my hobby (make myself happy).

So having no symptons may also be a blessing in disguise.

wah.. seems like many of us here loves sashimi.. except me! hahaha.. i dun take cockles, oysters.. kekeke..

roxy,
me me.. i have a dog.. shih tzu.. 6 yrs old.. urs?

babycupid, i have a male maltese, 4 years old...
Asked my gynae can keep dog with us now, he said ok as long as we clean hands after we touch them....

Just realised that June MTBs have more posting than May MTBs, though we are 1 month behind ... we june mtbs are more talkative hee heee XD

oh dear...all of us who love sashimi ve to give them up now...hope our babies know wat we going thru for them ley...
krispy, my every visit cost me (my hubby actually, kekeke...) $200+, after discount from his credit card, abt $190. i can oni sign up for the pre-natal pkg from 2nd trim onward which will cost $2600. but my waiting time so far maximum oni 1 hr. so think ok.
btw, i go for sats oni except for the 2 scans which need wkdays, then i take leave lor ...

HI feifei,

I am also worried abt the Oscar test, read from the Oscar thread that many people having positive results and have to test for Omni (or someting) to get a 100% accuracy result.. looks like it is not v accurate!..

Anyway i am very very scared of drawing out blood for blood test bec' i have phobia of blood (may faintz) gynae ored say wait give birth how..i also dunno.

arh oh...had been trying to cut down...so i take a few sips each time...heheh

me me! i got a jrt at home..but had to kick him out of my bedroom at nite now...coz i developed an allergic cough...had been coughing since last dec, until recently i kick him out to slp at nite coz preggie mah, then my cough miraculously stopped!

my jrt, ruskal, v. chong hei one leh...now still whines at nite for 5 min when we go to bed..haha..then morning hor, will whine abt the time we get up...dunno wan to scold him or what...but he's one adorable kid i picked up from SPCA a yr ago!!! love him to bits~

I think he may be rushing the blood test although there is really no need to lor since I still have to wait for the Monday test before can compare. Is your blood test also to check Hcg levels? Maybe the Monday one will be charged differently. I'm very comfortable with him though just that I think his charges are very high.

Juliet,
How long do you have to wait for your gynae? And can you just drop by cos you feel unwell or is worried?

For mine, today was really an unexpected visit. Maybe charge more for the blood test then? I also dunno. Or maybe Friday? haha.. I'm just trying to come up with more excuses. How much do they charge for the u/scan?

Even seeing the doctor and having an ultrascan will set me back by S$120 each time. That doesn't include any other medicines or blood test etc.