(2008/06) June 2008

How to continue breastfeeding when starting work:

You can try the followings when you are still at home:
1. Breastfeed on one side and pump on the other if you just breastfeed one side.
2. Pump after each feed

You may not get much expressed breastmilk initially but you will note that the supply will increase after a few days. Collect whatever amount you can collect and store for future use.

When you go back to work, it is best that you pump during your baby's feeding times. Or one in mid morning, one at lunch and one in mid afternoon. You should breastfeed directly before leaving home and breastfeed immediately after reach home from work. If this is not possible, then pump twice as you have stated.

You will feel engorgement and milk leaking especially during your baby's feeding times for the first few days after you return to work. You need to allow your breasts some times to get acustomed to the pumping schedule. After a week or so, you will note that your supply will drop during those times you cannot pump and your supply will remain or even increase during those times you can pump.

BMSG conducts Back to work workshop for working mothers like you. If you are interested, please contact our Administrator, Ivy, at 63370508.

Long time no post liao... So many new mummies and so many babies photos...
They are all so adorable..

Cynthia, hope you get well soon..

Veniz, I wish I can go to yr place, but I started working since last week liao..

hi veniz
I contacted the spree organiser n she said spree is over... so we order from hackley?

veniz - 1 tubing n 1 membrane
felicia - 1 tubing
piyo - 1 tubing
roxy - 1 tubing

veniz, u are making me so sad i cannot join the gathering n the food!! Cannot change to tues then maybe feifei,iamsnow and I can join liao? keke :p

anymore mummies want to order medela/ameda accessories? Haven hit us$50 yet ...

hi MLP
Are you going to reorder your pump? If we havent hit us$50 yet, is it ok if you help us order the accessories to be shipped together with your pump..the accessories are all very small..shouldnt take up much space,we can help each other to defray shipping costs also...
Im sorry, havent heard of freestyle before, as am using PIS

Btw, Im thinking of ordering some california baby products
http://search.store.yahoo.net/cgi-bin/nsearch?query=california+baby&first=30&only=0&categ=all&catalog=vitaglo
Vitaglo is the cheapest so far, as compared to drugstore(even though drugstore has a 5% discount on top of website prices) I strongly suspect isaiah dry skin is caused by johnson n johnson, too much chemicals, want to change to C bb to improve his dry skin n eczema...Anyone want to order as well? ^^

<font color="aa00aa">Wah, so many mummies is goin t Veniz's house? Aiyo, make me so 'xin yang yang' leh. If is not 1st day reporting to work, i sure join liao.
Ah Mor, then ur Ashley had someone together to tear Veniz's house down. haha...... (Veniz, u must be saying 'heng ah, felicia cannot make it.'. heehee.....
Veniz, no problem, after we start work, we still can arrange to met up in IMM de.

Cynthia, dont worry is not ur germ lah. I think i had been lacking of sleep , tats why. Now i got sexy voice liao oso. haha.....</font>

Hello Veniz,

Can i join in your gathering on thursday (21 Aug). Thanks thanks...

My ger ger borned in 26th May, 2008 (TMC), by Dr. TC Chang (Though EDD on 8th June, 2008)

<font color="aa00aa">roxy, i just wanna reply you on the tubing and now saw ur post, so ok shall wait for next updates.

Btw, thanks for the milkbag. Can i check with you the bag can really store 250ml??? Tats seems a lot leh. Coz i afraid will burst when frozen leh.

TF, yesterday i brought the freezer liao. Will had the freezer deliver to me today afternoon. I got from Harvey norman @ $298 (chest freezer, Techno brand). In fact i go to courts and their price is much higher @ $328 (if i remember correctly)and tats w/o delivery charges of $30 leh. Didnt go to survey at carrefour or giant coz no time and i desperate need a freezer liao.
So, u can consider harvey as well when u r getting one.</font>

Felicia, thanks. Me will scout around since i may go back to work. will note ur price

Veniz, Is man allowed in your hse gathering? The only man tat is nt working n looking forward to see 20 mummies n 20 babies is interested to join n none other than my hubby..hoho..so when we all bf, we chase him out of hse..haha

Nice meeting everyone at the JP gathering yesterday, although we didnt have a big round table, but we had fun moving to the other table to chat with mummies, just too bad we forgot to take some pictures?

roxy,
for dry skin, you can try Lactacid for bb, you know Lactacid got 1 feminie wash, they also have this other Lactacid for bb bath, its made of milk &amp; PH balance, check it out at Pharmacy, recommended by my friend, I've used it for my bb and it is good, I've used J &amp; J for my #1 before and caused him to have rough skin even until now, he's 8yrs old, eventhough I switched to Cetaphil after sometime

MLP,
Ya lor. Good exercise, but I think I will end up getting one arm stronger than the other. LOL! I do latch her outside, but more like snacks to her, cos she can take really long to latch a full feed.. Normally I will bottle feed her EBM. when she gets cranky, I latch her and she will usually be instantly pacified. I always feel so heart warm when that happens. Hehe.

Feifei,
I busy carrying Lil ZuEn wor, no time to take pix and chit chatting. ;p

anyone has lobangs for mooncakes? hehe...

TF,
Me okie lor, busy with work, studies, bb..hehe...Now my feet dun swell liao...it has subside after i gave birth, thankfully..hehe...Hows ur bb?

nss...
so issit tat it's not encouraged to freeze BM and rather to give those fridge ones?

i had some in my freezer although not much cos usually i will EBM and give the next day liao.
those in freezer are used when im out for the day or the fridge ones are finished..

so does it work better this way...im still contemplating whether to stock more in the freezer. cos i started working liao...in case MS drops.

tf, tks!

nss, tks for sharing. think i'll feed half fresh &amp; half frozen then. at least still can stock up in case ss drops.

mrswrx, piyo &amp; veniz, jackplc then
will not be bringing bb so all can eat in peace hehe

aiya bb crying liao...

feifei,
She's growing well. HB and I waiting anxiously for her to grow up. Visit her blog for photos ya. Hehe.

shycloud,
My bb is drinking more than wat I can ss. So good to store more.

Thanks for the welcome BabyCupid and feifei

Veniz,
My girl was born in Mt E. Tot I could deliver naturally but end up it was a emergency c-section coz my girl poo poo inside..
Hospital bill was really huge.
She was 3030g, 53cm at birth.

zuen..
ur right..when my bb grow older she prob need more than i could supply..ok better start stocking up now..lol.

btw my gal is drinking lesser and her hours are stretched longer...why? so stressed up.

she used to drink more and every 3 hrs..sigh!

not chubby liao...skinny skinny skinny

Opps...miss Mogudog. Thanks for the welcome too :p

By the way, any mummies here have skin rash after confinement? My skin feel super dry also... Is this due to hormones?

<font color="aa00aa">veniz,
spoke wif my director, he is ok wif me taking leave on 21st aug. so pending no other issues coping up, i will be at yur plc on tat day. 1st time taking lil gwen out on my own wif no help, so kinda of kan cheong too. keeping my fingers crossed tat she be "guai guai" on tat day. will ve to monitor her behaviour now till next wk liao. btw, roughly wat time r we looking to be there until? cos i ve to c if i need to bring along my pump or not lar...
sure, can come to me abt hr issues if need be. will try to help as much as i can

piyo,
u r not alone, i also cant fold my pram, after speaking wif veniz, think i prob just carry gwen in my arms &amp; take cab back n fro from veniz's place.

morr,
u make me laf till my sides ache wif yur colourful descriptions of mr cane n all...

sharon,
i jus passed by tat shop on sun (10/8) &amp; saw tat they still ve the tub. unfortunately i dun ve the name of tat shop. The add though is AMK Central, Blk 722 (opp AMK Polyclinic) Unit #01-2835.

Star,
I not sure if we r toking abt the same one. Here’s a pic though doesn’t show very well. The tub is 90cm by 84cm (I think). The green colour in background is the tub n it comes wif the float in the pkg. there is a build in thermostate at the side of the tub &amp; once water heat reached 38 degree celsius, it will change colour to red to highlight to user tat water is too hot for bb.
Btw, u be heading to veniz’s hse next thurs? wanna to share a cab there together?

Anyone else wan share a cab down to veniz’s plc from the north?</font>
1630610.jpg

Hi nss,

Have u got a carrier? I'm thinking of buying one. After all yr research, which brand is gd?

My hb said that as long as it's gd n highly recommended, he dun mind paying cos he just dun want to carry the stroller ard.. It's very heavy n bulky. He's oso interested to use the carrier to bring bb ard..

<font color="aa00aa">sharon,
noticed tat i missed out filling you in on some parts of yur qns. no, i do not have the contact number of tat shop where i bought the tub from. but yes, the tub, float, tubing &amp; pump all come together packed into a rectangular box with handle, so yes, can fit into boot of car nicely.

RE: BM
noticed tat my BM supply starts to decline these past few days from 220ml per session to 160ml-190ml. anyone has face tis problem b4? no change to my lifestyle nor diet...wonder is tis a sign tat BM supply will be stopping automatically? hb will like me to BF bb till she is 6mths old ley but wif this ss dropping, i wonder if i can tahan another 3 more mths...?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">shycloud,
i pump oni 3 times daily &amp; have been doing so for the last 1 mth already. namely 7am, 3pm &amp; 10pm daily. i cant increase the no. of pump sessions on wkdays cos of wk. no menses yet ley. if ve menses, at least i dun feel so puzzled...</font>

hi felicia
No worries.. Normally I put abt 230 per bag, no problems.. once I tried 300 and still ok, just the milk bag very fat :p Let' wait n see wat MLP says, whether can she help us order or not.. if not I will go and order today

hi lala
welcome! My gynae same as urs :p

hi janiviy
Welcome.. ur gal has such pretty eyes!

Hi Fennie
Thanks for your recommendation. I will go and search for this brand. I always thoght J&amp;J is good for babies, instead so many chemicals inside causing bb to have dry skin...

Re: float, if buy more have discount, please count me in as well.. thanks!!

hi crystal
My ss also not very good now.. Now I dun even bother keep track of how much I pump.... if have feed, if dun have then stop.. very tiring to keep pumping

hi shycloud
Im in same situation as you, Isaiah also drink very little and skinny skinny... never chubby in first place.. yesterday saw all the babies ydae, so chubby so cute!!

hi jessica
Piyo strongly recommends ergo carrier... i will go and search see where have lobang.. if have, maybe we can organise a spree

zuen,
hehe..me too..

shycloud,
no wor...i liked snowskin =D...Durians or others also like..hee

roxy,
I hv 1 Ergo carrier but more for bigger bbs wor...if u hv lobang for e carriers, pls let me know also hor..tks ger =D...

<font color="aa00aa">I feel very heartpain now coz just throw away my 240ml of EBM. Coz this morning oredy sore throat and then start hvin running nose. So, i took medications and i very kiasi, afraid the medication will passed to my baby thru BM. So i throw away the ebm.

feifei, for moon cake, every year our company will had some restaurant or mooncake seller come to our company to sell their mooncake with some promo. But is too early now, to know wat promo they had lor and if u r interested, i can update you when i got the info.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">roxy, thanks! But if too bulky will take longer to defrost leh. Currently i'm using Lansinoh and had been keeping 180ml per bag.</font>

feifei.. sure

felicia, pls update me if have any mooncake lobang too... i also need to buy, thanks!!.. that time i threw 450ml EBM away coz i was thinking how come thawed EBM have such a fishy smelly smell... regret so much... u can try save 180 - 200ml per bag also can... i put more per bag just to save on bags

hi jessica
Piyo said that for Ergo, the weight is distributed more evenly, hence not so painful and can be used up to 3 yrs... whereas baby bjorn has a eight limitation and more streneous on back.. must wait for piyo to come explain, she is the expert ergo here

hi all, wow so many posts to catch up.

Roxy, I am anxious to get my pump in before start work so I called Hackley last night already and confirmed my order early this morning. Last nite said their system down so they email me in the wee hours to confirm. Pai sei...i see ur side haven confirm so didnt 'ham-tum" the accessories in also. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed it will arrive before sept.

nss, the back to work bf tips are good! cleared up some of my queries...esp i seldom give ebm when on ML. kam siah!

feifei, u joining us on any gathering? how's ur little one doing? how many weeks liao? like wat ZuEn said, no time to take pic. haha...eat &amp; chat with bb sleep. then gotta carry them when they cry...haha...okok, next gathering i try to take for u...

ZuEn, yup! latching them n seeing how secure n contented they feel is a wonderful experience. =)

<font color="aa00aa">Roxy, sure sure!

Talked about fishy smell, i remember one mummy posted here tat she threw away the ebm coz got smell (was it you?), after reading it, everytime i'll try to sniff the ebm before i warm up for my lil ger.</font>

roxy, sori for my late reply above. went for gynae checkup jus now....

woah piyo,roxy n felicia, u ladies can really store so much ebm while tbf bb now! how u all do that?

roxy, jesslyn, i'm also keen on carrier (actually my hb) so wld be great if can find out more...piyo, wru?

felicia, think i miss the fishy post so i dun smell bef feeding, gd idea incase turn sour (yogurt liao)

mlp, were u fr nyp? i saw the pics in yahoo grp &amp; find u familiar...

crystal,
maybe its due to stress...try not to think so much of having enuff MS. worst come to worst you can sub with FM. dun stress yourself too much.

roxy,
ya see u mentioning from prev post that isaiah is underweight...let's share some info on their daily feeds...will PM you..dun wanna bombard this thread.

feifei,
my co. will order some but dunno from which supplier yet. will keep u update once there's info. btw HSBC cards has some promo for mooncakes
check out this: http://www.info.hsbc.com.sg/content/singapore/personal/cards/home_away/promo_mooncake08.php

felicia..
usually i will taste the BM myself b4 giving it to my gal to make sure it doesnt taste bad...but daytime difficult cos MIL will feed her...can't possible ask her to taste my BM rite? she prob will freak out! lolz.

Veniz, wah seh .... eclairs somemore, my favourite lei

star, I'm keen for the trial but gotta wait till my girl is better, she got a bit of flu now

Janiviy, yes, I got very dry skin after confinement, I scratch till my skin bleed sometimes, already tried to put lotion but doesn't seem to help. Nowadays I use Aloe Vera gel to soothe the "dryness".

TF, yah my eyes really "da stamp". Can't blame me la, coz can't take own sweet time to shop anymore unlike last time :p I told my hubby to go and buy the stroller too. Seeya this Sat at KKH.

Hi Shern, veniz and mrs wrx,
Normally for meals, I dun bring bb else cant eat in peace!

I wanna suggest Jack's place for lunch cos they have lunch special! then after that adjoin to TCC or the kopitiam downstairs for lim kopi? If you wanna go TCC, I have the disc card

Zuen,
you are her pacfifier! I also pop Nicole into my nehs when she is cranky..that's the fastest way to shut her up :p

TF/Veniz,
You just reminded me that 21 Aug is my elder's excusion day! I mayb late for lunch liao but will still come.. then hor, I got same prob as TF, My hubby is on leave! can he come? keke that will make it 20women, 20babies and 2 men?:p

Felicia,
The chest freezer cheap lei! your milk must be ba ba!

Y dun you take 1 day AL then join us at Veniz's place then start leave the next day?

HI Shern and Jesslyn,
I am here! just login cos prob with my maid again! aarrgghh! wat do you wanna know abt the carrier?? c if I can help :p
http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

Hi Crystal,
D you still latch bb at night or b4 you come to work? if only pump no latch, BM will dop gradually...got drink enuf fluids?

Actually carry bb and go straight to Veniz hse is the easiest! haha