(2008/06) June 2008

MOOMOOKO,

me also have loose stool and passing wind. Maybe it is due to the drink and food we take. Currently my CL puts Black dates in my drink which helps in passing motion, so I have been having loose stool.

For the wind, think some may get it so that's why some confinement food includes ginger as gingers help to "get rid" of the wind in us.

What did the doc say?

hi sarahteddy,
Is your stool ver frequent?
Mine is very frequent in the night from 11pm onwards...about 4 to 5 times throughout the night. It can be quite disturbing..sighh...my gynae gave me a jab to stop the diarrhea..but later on it still comes back...he said if it still recur..must do a culture on the stool to check. Hmm....but I've talked to a massage lady..she said it's normal to have loose stool after delivery leh...but my gynae did not give me this assurance that it's normal...sighh...
very worrying....

MOOMOOKO,

sometimes I would need to go to the toilet twice. I think it could be due to the food we eat. Any black dates in your diet?

<font color="aa00aa">Jenny, u can resize the pic, by right click on the pic and choose Edit. Then select Image , Skew/ Sketch. And reduce the % accordingly.</font>

Veniz : those chinese desert shops sld have ! if not, i buy the instant black sesame powder in a tin (from health shops) and make my own - yummy !

This is taken from the C.S. Mott Children's Hospital website.

How Do I Know My Baby Is Getting Enough Milk?

You can't see exactly how much milk your baby takes while nursing. However, you can tell whether breast-feeding is off to a good start if you know what to look for. The following patterns are typical of well-nourished, breast-fed babies during the first month of life.

1.You start producing milk abundantly 2 to 4 days after your baby is born.
If your baby seems hungry after most nursings or you do not think your milk has come in by 5 days after delivery, tell your baby's doctor and have your baby weighed.

2.Your baby latches on to your breast correctly and sucks rhythmically for at least 10 to 15 minutes at each feeding.
Your baby may pause sometimes while breast-feeding. However, he should nurse vigorously during most of the feeding. You should hear your baby swallow regularly while breast-feeding.

Allow your baby to remain at the first breast until it is well drained, so he will receive the rich, high-fat hind milk. When your baby starts to suck less vigorously, swallows less, or begins to doze off, you can burp him, change his diaper and arouse him to take the second breast. Generally, babies get more milk at a feeding by nursing at both breasts. Since the first breast gets drained better, begin each feeding on a different side. This way, both breasts will get about the same stimulation and emptying.

3.Your newborn nurses at least 8 times every 24 hours.
Nurse your baby as often as she shows hunger cues, such as waking from sleep, becoming alert, bringing a hand to her mouth, turning her head, or moving her mouth or tongue. Remember that crying is a late sign of hunger and a baby may not nurse well after crying too long. For the first few weeks, you can expect your baby to want food about every 1 1/2 to 3 hours, with a single longer stretch (up to 5 hours) between feedings at night. Newborns that feed fewer than 8 times in 24 hours or sleep through the night are not likely to get enough milk. At times you may need to awaken your baby to nurse. Some babies just don't demand to be fed as often as they should, especially in the first few weeks of life.

4.Your baby appears satisfied after nursings and may fall asleep at the second breast.
Breast-fed infants who appear hungry after most feedings -- who cry, chew their hands, or often need a pacifier after nursing -- may not be getting enough milk.

5.Your breasts feel full before each feeding and softer after your baby has nursed.
One breast may drip milk while your baby nurses on the other side. After the longest time between feedings at night, your breasts should feel particularly full.

6.Your baby's bowel movements look like cottage cheese and mustard by the 4th or 5th day of life.
Bowel movements that look like cottage cheese and mustard are called "milk stools." If your baby is still having dark meconium, green, or brown stools by 5 days of age, you should have your baby weighed to see if he is getting enough milk.

7.Your baby urinates 6 or more times a day once your milk has come in.
The urine should be colorless, not yellow. If it looks like the diaper has reddish brick dust on it after your baby is older than 3 days, your baby's urine probably is too concentrated and your baby may not be getting enough milk.

8.Your baby has 4 or more good-sized bowel movements each day.
Many breast-fed babies have a bowel movement every time they nurse during their first 3 to 4 weeks of life. If your newborn is having fewer than 4 bowel movements each day, you should have your baby weighed to see if he is getting enough milk.

9.Your nipples may be a little tender for the first several days of nursing, especially at the beginning of feedings. The discomfort should be nearly gone by the end of the first week of breast-feeding.
Nipple pain that is severe, lasts throughout a feeding, or continues more than 1 week after birth probably means your baby is nursing incorrectly. If your baby doesn't latch on properly to nurse, your infant may not be getting enough milk. If you do have very sore nipples, ask your infant's doctor to check your baby's weight and to refer you to a lactation consultant who can look at how your baby is nursing.

Two or three weeks after delivery you may notice the sensations associated with the milk ejection, or milk let-down, reflex.
Breast-feeding causes the release of the hormone oxytocin. This hormone causes the uterus to cramp. These "after-pains" with breast-feeding are more noticeable than any early breast sensations. They usually go away 7 to 10 days after the birth of your baby.

The sensations of the milk ejection reflex are a tingling, pins-and-needles, or tightening feeling in your breasts as milk begins to flow. When your milk let-down occurs, your baby may start to gulp milk. Milk may drip or spray from the other breast. You may find that just hearing your baby cry causes your milk to let down, even before your baby starts nursing. If you don't notice any signs of milk let-down, your milk supply may be low.

10.Once your milk comes in, your breast-fed baby should gain weight rapidly -- at least 1 ounce each day for the first couple months of life.
The only way to be absolutely certain that your baby is getting enough milk is to have your baby weighed regularly. If your baby is not gaining enough weight, your milk supply may be low or your baby may not be nursing effectively. Such breast-feeding difficulties are easier to overcome if you recognize and treat them early. Your baby's doctor can help develop a feeding plan tailored for you and your baby or can refer you to a lactation consultant.

And for formula milk, here's the article
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/howmuchmilk/

hi Sarahteddy

My red dates tea include blue dates and long yan.
Now i stop drinking liao..trying to find the cause of my frequent loose stool....sigh...eating normal non confinement food now...so boring...
by the way do you mummies eat herbal pao sheng or ginseng whil breastfeeding?

Jessica,
nt sure whether can take photo ourself
there's at least 2 vendors over there, better get them to take instead.
go to the 3rd or 4th level one, the one at 2nd flr alway v.pack.

fennie,

thought the exchange rate depend on the credit card u use?

for overseas spree, usually organizer will go for vpost or comgateway.

u can chk out sprees thread

Roooller, thanks..

MooMooko, i think passing stools is normal ma.. Its good to pass out watery stools at least its wun hurt your wound...

Me have very traditional confinement food..

Drink = Ginger, black/red dates, tang sheng, longgan, gou qi zhi.. Or sometimes MILO...

Breakfast = mian xian with pig kidney and yao ba...

Lunch = Buscuits with MILO

Dinner = Rice, fish, pig kidney, vinegar pig trotters

Me still left 3 days to finish my confinement.. FINALLY!!

<font color="aa00aa">Fennie, thanks for the recommendation. Now i was cracking head about clothing to wear when go bak to work.

ladies, any idea beside Kadeka brand for deep freezer, any oth deep freezer u know is at reasonable price and the size if not too big?</font>

hi rizty, shirley, veniz and moomooko

i have helped you to placed order for the fenugreek. hope it will be here by end of next week. will update you again.

RE: Baby blocked nose/breathing difficulty
I just brought my bb to see PD this morn on this. Last nite, he having blocked nose again and gets very frustrated and wake up crying cos cannot breathe well.

PD check his nose and got alot of dried mucus(bi shi). The clinic asst later on show me how to suck it out. Firstly, put 2 drops of saline into bb's nose to soften the mucus. Then use the pigeon thing to suck it out. And it's alot lor! My poor baby. I think some of u cannot suck it out cos the mucus dried up so difficult to suck it out. Maybe u want to see ur PD to get the saline lotion and Pigeon suck thing. PD also gave nose drops for sensitive nose cos I also got sensitive nose. So bb prob got it from me. And she said don't blow fan directly at bb. Blow fan upwards....

My MIL told me bb blocked nose is normal.. it's part of their growing up. Thank god I insist to bring bb to PD! What a relief to see those mucus kena sucked out.

RE: Cannot take Tang kwei /ginseng during BF
Is this true??? My MIL has been making Tang kwei soup for me for the past 2 days!

i goin back on 2 sep.. kekeke..

after delivery, i actually constipation.. i only able to pass my bowels 7 or 8 days ltr.. and the stools are hard.. my gynae even prescribe me a medi to make the stool soft.. but after passing the 1st time.. my bowels are bery smooth already.. not really say diahhrea buy soft..

hmm... mine will end on 25 Aug.. but thinking of gg back a week earlier so that can use the balance to bring bb for injections.. still considering.. and also looking for bb sitter now.. very fan leh..

Ellysia,
ya, 6in1 has risk of fever but u can let ur boy drink paoshen water 1day b4 e jab...

Jessica,
Ur ger so pretty leh...

<font color="aa00aa">jessica/jenny,
i delivered on 14th may via emer c-sec, officially maternity ends on 13th aug. my old co had oreadi paid me my full maternity benefits due to re-structuring of the company &amp; i start wif my new company last wk already.</font>

Just a quick update:
My baby girl was born on 28 June, natural with epidural and vacuum assisted, 14 hours after the induction pill was inserted.

Baby June weight 3.67kg, Length 51cm, Head 35cm.

1545279.jpg

1545280.jpg

Passing watery stool is fine but not 4 to 5 times per day...dun think it's normal lei....anyone like that?
By the way... any good massage lady to recommend me?

Jenny, thanks for placing the order for us. Will wait for your notifications. BTW, my email add: [email protected]

Felicia, I purchased my nursing wear from milky way (please google it). I find them slight cheaper now due to GSS sales. I bought 4pcs t-shirts and they do foc delivery and pay them COD. Find their clothes quality good, nice designs. they seems to be a bit wide (not very tight fitting lar) but I do find it good since can cover my tummy fats. You may want to try.

Fennie, K Ong, you want to get nursing wear from motherhood.com ? I am thinking if I should get a few more nursing blouses or not leh....

Jenny, this is nice. You getting? If get three pcs only $36.00/pc and normal delivery to 1 address. Add me in then if we can get another mother to order, it will be good. I have been waiting for this BP since the last time they had one. Planning to use the shawl for breast pumping in office and when out of house.

MOOMOOKO,
the material is nt cotton
so can be quite warm to nurse but if aircon area should be ok.
i almost bought it during the 1st spree

moomooko, huh? how come so many times.. hm... for me, i pass watery stool once every 2 days leh..

But your got feel stomach upset? or have u been dirnking a lot of plain water?? you still having your period??

Or u may wish to call your gynae for enquiry.. =)

<font color="aa00aa">Veniz, thanks for the info. Shall google for it later on. I havnt even passed my 1st mth confinement, oredy start to crack head over clothing and BF thinhy.hehe....

huggy, finally saw ur post! Congrats! I was at TMC when u gave birth!</font>

Jessica,
re: passport
I made for my baby online. used a photo that we took ourself. only need the baby to be looking forward i think. the 1st photo was rejected then we sent another 1 and was accepted - they will email to tell u. if everything's ok then go down to collect the passport. very convenient

Felicia, no problems. Also I seen that some nursing wear websites state that over $100.00 purchase comes with free delivery. I dunno if I should get more coz not sure after ML will still let my gal latch on, and if pump in office, do we need nursing office wear for more convenience expressing.

MOOMOOKO,

me taking chicken essence which has pao sheng in it. My CL says it is ok, so I go ahead and take it.

As for the watery stool, maybe you would like to see other doc for 2nd opinion. I clear my bowel daily, watery stool even now.

Me still eating my Confinement food even though I am having watery stool. Must enjoy all these pampering while it lasts. : )

veniz,
i was just asking as I was browsing www.motherhood.com, but think it can be quite costly having to pay shipping charges as it is in overseas.

think will just get it from locally. abt nursing shawl, i am using one i bought 8yrs ago when i had my #1, it is still very new, i saw that kiddy palace is selling the same one, cost abt $20+, it is cotton if not wrong,material not thick and has a ventilation(with holes) at the top where you can peep at bb when nursing, maybe you ladies can consider, check it out

Fennie : they do ship int - i bought 2 yrs ago when i had #1 - it was abt USD50 for a whole box of clothes and nursing bras

heehee.

i think i'll use vpost this time.

Veniz : i wanna try their nursing tank and the pull down nursing top - looks very convenient to nurse !!! i am a huge "supporter" of Mothersenvogue too - hehee, i think i have almost all their nursing tops and half their nursing dresses !!! but my justification is that i bfed my #1 for 18 mths !! so need all those clothes for variety right ?

LMK if you are interested la, will prob buy next week - cuz the tank that i want will be stocked on 13 July.

K ong,
I also got few items from mothersenvogue,Hi5!got 2 dresses, but find the 3/4sleeve one too big although it is L size &amp; i wear L-XL normally, keep having to pull the inner layer up

so average, a tank top will cost how much?if you split out the shipping charges?is it cheaper to get it locally?

I have been searching locally for nursing wears, but there are not many, some are very expensive

Hi princessmummy

I did not drink a lot of plain water...but red dates drink until my frequent loose stool occur. Prior to that I was taking stool softener pill from my gynae. Sighh... really dunno wat is the cause...my gynae gave me anti diarrhea pill for the time being. before my diarrhea occur... i will feel bubbles in my tummy.... like gas in those gassy drnks like that building up in my tummy... then i will have the urge to rush to toilet..sighh...no stomach pain though....