(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Got a qn to ask u ladies. For those music to let our bb inside listen, can we just play the music in the room and the baby will be able to hear. Or must buy earphone n strap to tummy huh? So far, i either listen via earphone in office or thru player in my bedroom.</font>

<font color="blue">mylittleprince,
mrs wong said b4 leh..nvr strap earphone to ur tummy..cos hor..it can cos bb to be deaf leh..she said juz play music in the room can liao..bb can hear 1..</font>

Contractions... even I am a 2nd time mummie sometime i can be also confuse and cant recall what is contractions like. I think can be a kind of instinct u know something is not right and go popping bah

Angel,
think for me I think most comfy is e hospital you like. Though now KK is doing the job but no matter how u still prefer TMC right? So just go back TMC hehehe and feelings can be different. TMR u sure can discharge and rest at home tell bb be good.. I think bb out after 36weeks is ok one yeah.

Liew,
Can be true leh.. when we dilated we also don know cos it may not be like contraction feelings. Some ppl dilated without having contractions that is power also!

I think all of us will worry how contractions like &amp; labour pain etc.. DOn think of it. Just tell yourself able to hold little ones in our arms soon, can even g without epi. I also go without epi and process is fast too. When bb is out e feelings cant be describe

mylittleprince: i let my baby listen to canon in D and i use my hp.. i place it on my tummy..

she will kick kick.. if i play in the room, she got less or no response.. so i will tend to use hp and place on my tummy..

i think earphone no effect ba..

<font color="aa00aa">i find own singing is the best and your baby will recognise your voice once they were out.
I remember i always sing Twinkle x 2 lil star to my #1, then during hospital stay whenever she heard me singing the song, she'll stop crying lor. So miracle. </font>

angel,

Dun tink of it as this way, i am sure a lot of people has done this.. tats why TMC pre-natal class, the instructor mention some people even when choose TMC sometimes still go KKH due to other reasons.

U are ored with TMC then u go KKH also like "betray" TMC mah.. so tink of it as this way. Just do watever is yr preference.

Felicia,

Yr fren story..hear liao scared leh..how to know how much we dilated.

But then my colleague say, when want to give birth the feeling is same as menses come pain.

mylittleprince

Got articles i read on web said that cannot put earphones to tummy as may be too loud for BB ears.

angel,
ya me very confuse abt contraction but my tummy usually feel very tight but no pain so me did not think too much of it. I will ask my doc tis sat abt tis and see wat he say cos last friday when i see him, he say my baby blood pressure about high but not mine. But tis 2 days me feel abit cramp. Then my mum say me too heaty liao so ask me eat more fruits and drink more water, me also think abit too heaty liao cos me having constipation.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">wonder how it feels to see the bb... will weep? think it's gg to be an unforgettable moment</font></font>

mylittleprince,
for me I play the CD in the room cos they say no good to put earphone near the tummy cos too loud for the baby liao.

felicia,
yours is good idea cos baby will recognise mummy voice, cos when my hubby or me talk to my baby, she will respond now by moving or kicking me.

ioio,
yeah, i think it will be an unforgettable moment!

okie girls,
going off for my gynae visit!
bye2.

for those who are off on fri,
enjoy ur long weekend! *envious*

for those who are working on fri,
see u around!

cynthia: ya.. i more comfortable with tmc.. cos i see the way the nurse handle the baby here quite rough.. another thing is that the docs here all very young.. alot of trainees (can see from their tags)

but apparently kkh got reputation leh.. ppl say if gto any complications, sure send to kkh..

angel,

heard complications go KKH is better than TMC. But if normal delivery i guess TMC may be better than KKH.

Christina,

My BB does not respond to my voice. when i sing song to him, he also quiet quiet one. Then when hb tok to him, he will kick slowly a bit.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ellysia.. maybe your boi dun like twinkle twinkle.. hee.. jux joking...

wow.. it's gg to be May soon, think a few mum will deliver in may rite? time flies...</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">angel... is it still your gynae who is seeing u at KKH?</font></font>

hey ladies...
aiyo been feeling pain in my upper left tummy..near the ribcage..
on contractions..i also dunno whether i experience it anot...blur blur

Its adviseable not to use earphone on the tummy...

So have you all decided whether to use EPI or not.. From wat i know, epi do have many side effects and on labour time, if your request for EPI, the nurse will give u a list of side effects and u got to sign it after taking the EPI. So in the middle of the epi, if you died or what they are not at all responsible.. SO its sound scary to me...

I tried not to take EPI ba,.. try to tolerate the few hours then our rest of our life suffer from those side effects...

ioio: nope.. its another gynae aledi.. but i dun know her at all.. so now that i can go home, i dun know which hosp to choose when coming to labor time..

icegal: i will def use epi.. cos my exp at kkh scare me totally.. the mummies scream like mad when giving birth..

icegal n christina: i surf the forum, there was this thread asking who suffer from backache from the use of epi..

surprisingly quite a few mummies didnt kena much sideffects from epi leh.. maybe it differ person to person?

i seriously cant take pain la.. so will take epi.

1389374.gif

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">*ATTENTION*

Dinner gathering requested by majority so how about 8th May (Thurs)?

Please RSVP!!
</font></font>

I think when the time comes for labour, we will definately know cos the pain is not easy to cope with... from what I hear lah.

Angel, it's true that go to kkh for complications, but if you want to be pampered TMC will be a better choice. Unless, you choose to stay in deluxe room at KKH, and be a private class patient (but the charges are not cheap... deluze room for 1 night ward charge only at $400 already!). As for the junior doctors, if you are a private class patient, only your chosen doctor will see you and confirm that doctor is a senior doctor. you can even choose head of department to see you, or a professor. no joke. These people are supposed to be the best of the best in the industry and the hospital staff look up to them, so there are additional benefits being their patient cos things will be done more efficiently. I was warded at CGH for suspected appendicitis, as a private patient, seen by a professor. I was treated very very well by the nurses and the staff.

cactus: okok.. but i realise pte class in kkh is still cheaper than tmc eh... got a shock when i saw the list..

will talk to dr ang (original gynae) and see what he recommend loh..

Angel, Christina, icegal,

There are risks involved in using epi. We will be advised of the risks and sign an acknowledgement slip before we get the epi. As for side effects, yes, but it is a "risk" to every woman. Some women get it, some don't. I'ts ilke, some people take antibiotics, and get rash. There is a risk that antibiotics cause rash but it doesn't happen to everyone.

Actually, epi is good and bad at the same time. depends on our luck. For some women, epi can cause the woman to relax and even sleep for a while. their dilation will be quicker. for other women, epi can stall labour, cause contractions to be less effective and end up in emergency c-section. My doctor told me epi results in higher risk of forceps and vacuum deliveries. just sharing.

epi is bad for bb. confirm. bb tend to be more drowsy, unwiling to latch on. cos epi is strong medication which will cross over to the placenta. and affect bb.

My threshold for pain is very low but I'm hoping that I can go without epidural. Last consultation, my doctor asked me if I want epi or not. I told him have not considered (white lie!!) cos I want to wait for bb to be engaged properly first (at the moment bb is already head down in a good position but nothing is confirmed till bb is engaged). I did tell him I want to avoid a c-section. He got my message.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">**DINNER GATHERING ON 8th MAY (THURS)**

1) cynthia
2) mylittleprince
3) ah morr
4) crystal
5) veniz
6) fennie
7) bbcupid
</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">shycloud, i oso experience this twice last week... urs last how long? mine is like 1-2 hr then it stopped..</font></font>

Angel,

I think depends on what type of care you are looking for. At KKH's The Private Suite, per consultation with a senior consultant is about $100/visit only. minus vitamins, scans, blood tests. no joke. Their most expensive ward is at $400/night. On an average though, KKH's normal 1 bedder is a bit more expensive than TMC's 2 bedder.

Private class at KKH may mean that you are seen by a Registrar (lowest of all specilist.. the order is Reg, Associate Consultant, Consultant and then Senior Consultant) and stay in a 4-bedder (B1 ward). This will be cheaper than being seen by a Senior Consultant and stay in deluxe suite.

Cactus,
Brave of u trying to go without Epi! U can do it tell urself that. Some ppl even low threshold for pain also try. Try and see how it goes.. If cant just opt for it

mor...
i see...but been experiencing tat since the start of 3rd tri.. its getting worse lately and its affecting my sleep thoughout and even now!!!
further more im losing appetite due to this...seems like i got no cravings liao...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus.. we all noe it's good to go without so jux try ourself lor.. dun worry about wat pp say if we failed.. at least we tried..everyone delivery pain level is diff oso.. </font></font>