(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Fennie, I'm hoping to work until I need to go to hospital to deliver. Cos I was told for 1st births, 1st part of 1st stage can be as long as 12 hours...

cactus,

My HR policy is must apply ML giving 1 week notice. Unless suddenly want to give birth.

I tink it is the MOM law, u can check it out.

Fennie,

I'm not wonderwoman, but circumstances forced me to be one. hehe....
Just hopefully this round nobody resigned again when i'm goin for my ML. Last time, the turnover is quite high at my dept, so no choice.

Ellysia,
U calcium taking, reminded me that my multivit finished oredy and i hvnt go to take from my gynae. *sigh*

Fennie, the scenario I had described in my earlier post is like what liew explained. I think it's possible not to decide on when ML starts.

sharon,

why yr bb move so much within 10mins??

My bb only move once or twice every 30mins or so. One day usu about 12-18 movements.

Is it hiccup u are experiencing?

Fennie,

The calcium pill i have, one pill is 300mg. recommend is 2 pill, so 600mg. suppose to take more milk pdts to achieve 1000mg at least everyday. Then cos i often have leg cramps, gynae told me to take more calcium, then i told her i ored take milk and nutrisoy shd have a lot, but gynae said too much milk may make bb overweight. So in the end she told me to take 3 pills (i.e. 900mg) so tat i dun have to take so many milk a day.

My boss and colleagues keep asking me when do i take my ML. I tink my boss want to plan the work distribution.

I did told him i may take advance leave and possibly around end of May. Then i told him i cannot firm up now bec' i will depend on gynae's advice.

Ellysia, I see.. thanks for sharing. But just to ask ah... if we tell office we are going to give birth, but in the end false labour, not real contractions, can be counted as MC if doctor give right? So in a way, MC can also be used right?

I'm just thinking, although Iwant to work till actual delivery, I may change my mind last minute cos may have many cases of false labour since I'm a 1st time mom. Instead of travelling between office and hospital, I may want to just rest at home, esp when doc tells me I'm about to deliver within the week. Since need to give employer at least 1 week notice, seems like no choice but to use MC?

Ellysia,
I already printed out and filled in the Government-Paid Maternity Leave Scheme Declaration By Employee Form, i think this is the 1 week notice which you are referring, to inform company that you are taking maternity leave, it also allow you to choose either you want to take all 12 weeks in one go, or take 8 weeks, then the other 4 weeks, take when you needed it, after you gone back to work after the 8 weeks, i think i got the form on MCYS

About the ML, i think it very much depend on ur company HR policy, coz most of my collegues only start their ML when they actual go to delivery. So far, most of the collegue i know, they just called back to office and inform our dept admin lady and she'll inform HR. Dont think they got fill up any form before that leh.

Ellysia,
but i heard that calcium has to be taken with D, if not, it will be not completely adsorb by our body

cactus,
i know what you mean, its hard to predict when bb wants to pop right?like my #1, he doesnt want to come out past edd, so gynae had to induce after 9 days, i really have no idea when #2 likely to come out, could be early or late or on time

Felicia,

The declaration form starts from 1st oct 2004 when government change the maternity leave from 8 weeks to 12 weeks, so if you colleague gave birth b4 that date, then they dont need to fill in any form i guess

The 3rd month maternity leave is actually funded by the government, your company need to claim your 3rd month salary from government, within a certain period of time after you return from your 12 weeks maternity leave, but there is a capped amount of $10k for 1st &2nd confinement and $30k for 3rd & 4th confinement(dont really quite understand this part thought, maybe refer to the salary amount)

ellysia,
same as you .. my HR always asking whether when i'm going to start my maternity leave. i understand they may need to apply something from MOM. Think i will estimated and tomorrow also need to get the EDD letter from my gynae also. HR need EDD letter for apply something from MOM.

cactus,

Yes MC will be use if it is false labour.

I forsee i may need to take leave to rest at home, reason cos the expansion in tummy really make travelling to and fro work tiring and working tiring too.

Fennie,

Yes has to be taken with C or D for absorption. I took nutrisoy daily, got vit D inside i tink. Also i understand fruits help in absorption of calcium pill.

liew,

My gynae have not given me the letter on EDD. I also need to give tat letter to apply for ML. I tot she may give on last appt but she didn't. since next appt is 2 weeks, i tink i ask again on next appt.

Ellysia
Thanks of the baby turning info. I think i experience wat you describe. Lets see my next Tues scan say which direction baby is. I think his legs are kicking my right ribs nw. Oh, if u really bad constipation, try drinking a glass of warm water every morning on empty stomach. Mrs Wong says is best remedy.

cactus,

My company employee handbook just out recently. I read liao, tink company prefer to consume ML in 3 mths continous.. so unlikely i will have staggered ML.

Felicia,

This is what stated on the form i was referring earlier on:-

This form should be submitted by a female employee to her employer, at least one week before the start of her maternity leave, or where it is not practicable to submit the form one week before the start of her maternity leave, within one month from the date of birth of the female employee's child.

You can email CPFB [email protected] for more info or website : www.maternityleave.gov.sg

Ellysia, I also don't know. She tends to move alot leh. Since my 30wks I could feel her movement more then kicks already. 1hr can move don't know how many times. Her active time is around 9+ when I'm in bus/train to 12+ after that not so much... then 4+ onwards to 7+ super active. then 11+ onwards till i sleep. What I feel is like wave as in she's shifting position. Not hitting. I think the way I sit squeeze her that’s y she tends to adjust space? I usually sit with haunch back. Whenever I sit up straight I don’t feel any movement of her.

MC, Maternity Leave, etc
Actually different company practice differently, so even if we check wif one another, it may nt apply to the other.

Cos in my ex-company we allow Maternity to start on the day the baby pop, other than that as long as the employee can produce MC or HL before ML, we consider MC or HL. Also, we gave estimation of when ML will start, but the final date is endorse on the day we call HR to let them knw baby pop.

Just like y'day i saw in another forum tat one small Japanese company dun even recognise HL from pte hospital, only govt hospital. See how chiam.

kelcqi,
dun worry so much ok..stay positive..i think it's impt lor..if u worry too much..then it'll be stressful to u n bb..might affect bb even more..so juz stay positive..i am sure things will turn out fine..

roxyz,
looks like our bb same pattern leh..lazy..not much movements..hehe.. regarding the combi rashules/ enjoyme.. my frens they all buying dat for my bb's 1st mth gift..haha..so dun need to buy..i like it very much leh...my SIL n a fren is using it..they commented very gd..worth buying..hehe..

sharon,

I been feeling shifting / ripple for recent few weeks liao, no more of the hitting effects so much.

If it is a series of movements over 1 or 2 mins, i take it as 1 movement.

TF,

wah the japanese company so "niao".. but they are well known to be so.. tats why people dun like to work in jap co.

Ellysia
Usu its those small local or jap company. Small companies then to give the minimum as per Employment Act. Cos to them everything is cost. Big MNC have to stay competitive to be attractive.

TF, I think my company is like your ex-company. I believe can use HL or MC before actual delivery. but just need to check with boss who delivered last year. If not, expect me to take no-pay leave for false alarm (since need to give at least 1 week notice before actual delivery date)?? can't be right?

Thanks for all the sharing. Dunno issit like what Ellysia said, my baby might feel unwanted. I kept dreading the day I'll give birth cos I'm very scared of the changes that'll take place. Plus with my kinda PILs, makes me even more sian. Now suddenly such news came up, I suddenly just can't wait for bb to come out. Even C-sec I suddenly also feel that it's no big deal already. I'm only wk 32 now, still have 8 torturing wks to pass before I can rest my mind.

Ellysia, can ask u something. There is still chances that the cord be shifted off the neck issit? Or will e cord stay there?

I dun dare to tell my parents or my in laws. Scare my in laws later find fault and blame me, say must be me blah blah blah... That will make things worse. Now only keep praying hoping things will be fine.

Ellysia, ask u hor, you gynae told u is to go and see him when there is hard kicks or when there's less movement? I was told less movement, need to see him immediately. But May thread got one mummy told me her colleague also like that. Once hard kick need to see gynae. Dunno which is which leh.

Kelcqi,

yes the bb can shift the cord away from the neck through its movememts, as long as it is not tightly knotted around bb neck. If only hang around but not tight, can still have chance to move away.

Less movements (i.e. less than 10 movements)- to see gynae. Not a lot of movement or hard kicks. In fact, gynae said if got blockage, bb will move less or weaker movements.

HI ladies..

Kelcqi,
Sayang ger....Talk to your bb, i also feel they can understand us de....

Dun stress urself too much cos bb can feel it de...

All,
Talking abt bb's movements, i din really count lor, only make sure i can feel her movements everyday, kept talking to her also...like after lunch ask her whether food is nice etc...

kelcqi,
*hugs hugs*
try to relax n dun stress up over yur MIL issues liao. ignore her or simply move back to yur mum's place till delivery if staying there is giving u too much stress, ok? like felicia suggested, if it helps to lessen yur worries over bb kelcqi, get the bb monitor from mums & babes or TG (similar to the one i've). u can get a cheaper one wif jus 1 set of headphone @ ard %70+ (i think). mine is more ex cos hb bought the one wif 2 headsets + allow us to do recordings of the activities (sound) going on in our tummy. the system though not as effective as those machines at our gynaes', we can definitely hear the bb's movements & supposedly heartbeats too. but so far, hb n me oni manage to differentiate out the kicks & moving sounds, not the heartbeats yet. but it definitely help to lessen our worries on days when bb is not moving lots. tell u wat, remember u stay at AMK rite? i m @ katib, if u like, can pop over my plc n use my set to listen to yur little one before u c if u like to buy one of yur own or not.

Mog, Ellysia,
Hb and I oso big built people. My pre-preggy weight = 56kg. Hb is 1.85m tall and almost 80kg. That's why we noe that bb is not genetically small size.

Fennie,
I always wanted to work until the day that I deliver, but my case special. Maybe C-sect, so that is the furthest thing on my mind now. ;p

Re: Bb movement
Aiyo, my bb very sluggish today. Make me abit worried. She usually moves alot before and after lunch. Today few weak movement niah. Sob.. bb guai, dun make mummy worry..

Cactus n all
Actually, when submit the form in advance, its just a procedure for indication to your dept as well as HR so mentally they are prepared there's someone going on ML and alternative arrangement make. Cos some company super big that the HR dun even knw tat an employee gone ML. However, the form tat we submit is nt send to govt physically but retain in HR. When HR gets the final pop out date that you wnt to effect your ML, then they submit the details online. But of course, again, some HR that are particular, then bo pian lah, do wat they need u to do. So u might want to let your HR knw that the date is just an indication until you officially inform them.

Crystal, how much is one set of monitor ah?

Haiz, now I keep toking to her to make her move. Cannot be lazy anymore. She wanna sleep, come out then sleep so that mummy gets to rest also. Not now.

My hubby like still very relax like tt. Dunno leh...

went for a movie date wif hb last nite @ AMK hub's cathy for "three kingdom", goodness....i reai feel like an old woman....back like going to break into pieces now. yd walk a bit ve to sit down, then walk again...reai chiam....

ellysia
Yes, tink rippling also considered 1 movement... i dun bother to count.. as long as he got move at least once or twice in a day i happy liao

bizznow... wow, so kind of ur friends! Im buying a 2nd hand one, 2 months old.. it's really very good and useful... hee, we got same inactive babies.. dun want to move..hopefully this will also mean when they come out easier to take care of them too, coz they tend to be more inactive and sleep more... :p Normally those very active in womb, come out sure super active de..

bizz,
Yah, we must fill in the Paid Maternity form for Declaration (Joint form between CPF and MCYS)at least 1 week before start of our ML. Then within 3 months after end of ML, need to fill in the Paid Maternity form for Reimbursement. That's how it works in my company. But since these 2 forms are from Government, I think it should be the same in all companies bah.

crystal,
i also feel like my back is going to break soon..

roxy,
hehe, we got the same next apptm. what time's ur apptm? mine's early in the morning cos might have to come back to work after that.

kelcqi,
i dunno how much is mine exactly cos hb bought it for me as a bday gift (the deluxe set). i seen it sold @ suntec before for slightly above $100+. but i know if u get the single headphone set, it will be cheaper. here's a link that you may wan to check out to read more abt...

http://www.bebesounds.com/products_prenatalheartlistener_description.asp

maybe the seriousness of e matter had not kicked in yet for yur hb? sometime guys are much more insensitive as compared to us gers lar or maybe he is pre-occuppied wif upcoming financial concerns for bb cos he not oni ve to maintain his own family (u, him n bb) but his parents as well who obviously doesnt know their limits...
dun look too much into yur hb's reactions now, okie? jus take care of yurself n bb 1st, alrite...hugs hugs...

Crystal 07, oh u went to see the Zhao zilong. I also watched already, as my hb is a big fan of 3 kingdom......everyday come home tell me, "zhu gong this n that" hai......

Hehehe, so excited. I hv 1 mths and 8 days mre to see my boy. Going for check up next monday

Kelcqi,

actually tat time i also dare not tell my IL in case they blame. i only tell my mum.

those worrying incidents like high blood sugar etc, i dun tell my IL and tell my hb not to tell them.

BabyJo,
My husband is also fan of 3 kingdom, hehe. It's prob a guy's thing but I haven't watched the movie yet. Wah, quite fast for u, 1 mth 8 days to go. Exciting!

TF, thanks for the info!

Kelcqi, I believe the chance of cord around bb's neck tightening is very slim cos it is very slippery inside. I believe your doctor is just being very cautious. Another thing to bear in mind. you are at 32 weeks now. don't worry. I tis just 5 more week to "term". EDD although is 40 weeks, anytime between 37 to 40 weeks is considered at term. 40weeks to 42 weeks is considered post term, I believe.

Kelcqi,

U can also shake yr tummy to make yr bb move.. tats wat my gynae said we can do too, but dun do it often to disturb bb sleep too.

Crystal/ Tera,

Me was an 'old lady' since few weeks ago. My back will ache especially on raining day. Now cannot walk or stand too long oso either back pain or V part will feel pain.

Zu En,

My pre-pregnancy weight is also 56KG. Both me and hb around 168-172 tall, hb slightly taller than me.

Kelcqi,

The bb fetal machine which crystal said, i seen it sold at mum & babes at AMK hub before.