(2008/06) June 2008

TF,
aiyo mine's got camphor contents...can i just sniff from the bottle? haha...

pkdust,
aiya i got similar situation. mine worse..it itches alot down there...nurse gave me pills to insert into vagina..till now still itch leh...will chk with gynae during next wk visit.

thanks pkdust & ellysia...
hope can manage to get red or pink colour maternity clothes. i always no luck to get those colour clothes... all my clothes are black! sad

cactus_79...
very informative tips..tks

Ellyisa,
Spring has sales now? actually i was tinking of getting more maternity panties leh..

Me just took my med...feel so blocked nose..haiz..

Shycloud,
Hear fr sister Cactus.. cos i knw can't use in aroma theraphy. And small amt ok, but if frequent, nt sure wat level is harmful... aiyo, u sound like sniff drug secretly :p..haha

Hi TF,

No, I'm not a nurse/doctor.
I just get alot of advice from my hb. He prewarns me about stuff.

As for knowing how the the restructured hospitals work and about H&S insurance policies, I was warded at CGH mid last year for suspected appendicitis.. so I was able to see how things worked from a patients' point of view too. I did alot of homework before deciding which H&S insurance policy to buy and my MIL has existing health conditions so I'm aware of the issue of loading.

shycloud, I dun know about smelling the medicated oil leh.... hb never tell me. He just told me to stay away from oils and ointments with camphor - cos dun know what is a same amount to apply and our skin is the largest organ of our body.... scary.

Ask u all hor,
Ever hear that if during expecting mummy also sick, then means bb is doing very well in e womb, having lots of immunity...

never hear before leh, fei fei. I only know antibodies are transmitted to bb through breastmilk. actually, I've heard of cases where if expecting mommy is sick, it can affect bb adversely in the womb. like the food poisoning cases.

Fei fei
Only hear if mummy is sick, it doesn't mean baby may be sick cos they have their protection. But like cactus says, depend on what illness, if relating to bacteria, etc.. then doesn't mean will nt affect baby.

feifei,
never hear before leh. have a good rest over this weekend and hope u recover from your flu soon.

TF,
haha, i know what you mean about the sister addressing. guess it's something we are used to calling each other.

have any of you gone to Chinatown yet? My parents are going tonight. I'm going with my grandma and auntie tomorrow afternoon. Heard it's huge!

cactus,
i was in chinatown 2 weeks ago on a sat noon for dim sum and the place was starting to fill with ppl buying CNY stuff so i think tomr afternoon, it might be quite crowded given that CNY is less than 2 weeks away.
have fun but do be careful ya? nowadays v scared of ppl accidentally bumping into or elbowing my stomach esp in crowded places.

Re: Maternity shops.

I understand that suntec and vivocity has more maternity shops. If u all going to town can look there.

feifei,

Maternity panties, spring one is quite good and comfy. Dun get the perfect mum one cos i find it too low waist.

liew,

If u want pink or red one, can try spring. I see at perfect mum only got dull colours so i bot some at spring, they have more cheery colours.

TF,

Cactus hb is doctor.

cactus,
heehee..

TF,
true hor..hmm..

Teragram,
Me also going to q for lim chee yuan bak ka tmr..saw e price was $46 just now, abt 30ple q up..so tmr hb and i going to to there early in e morning..shun bian go there walk walk...Duno wat time e shops open hor?

feifei,

Yes cheap. I bot L size one currently. Bot some M some time ago but a bit too fitting.

If not, u can get normal panties also but big size one.

pkdust,

Since yrs is a long time liao, better quickly see doc or gynae bec' infection can be serious if untreated for long.

cactus,

I know cannot use feminine wash during pregnancy. But i use once that day when got yellow discharge. Next day no itch and discharge is ok liao.

Hope use once shd be ok.

Chinatown crowded ah?? Hmm.... already promised grandma and aunt will go with them though... :p Just have to be more careful.

Shycloud - scaring you???? no lah!! Relax relax!! Camphor is proven bad but I can't recall why. But no studies have shown how bad the effect is when absorbed through the skin. It can't be that bad, but if possible, try not to use it k, esp if you have other alternatives. I didn't mean to scare you. Really.

Toking abt use of creams etc on skin..

I have rashes on and off, some skin problem which is existent b4 pregnancy. I went to see doc and she said she cannot prescribe me any cream bec' all cream which is effective has a certain element (she said the name but i forget) and is harmful when preggy.

But i still cannot tolerate, sometimes i apply the rashes cream from guardian pharmacy if too itchy.

Ellysia - there were alot stupid things I did when I was pregnant. I continued to use unsafe skin products until week 10, I ate uncooked foods until week 4, I overdosed on vit A rich juices until week 9. But since I knew these were unsafe, I stopped. I think using wash just once is okay. Don't think too much about it.

feifei,
yeah, kind of but this year donch have.
will tell you more when we meet up cos not convenient to divulge here. okie, checking now, will revert when i get the reply. if u tired, go take a rest and check my reply later tonite cos not sure when i will get the reply but will def tell u b4 tomr morning. hehe.

Ellysia - if your skin prob is caused by dryness, you can apply bodyshop shea body butter. I checked the ingredients there. it is confirmed safe for use now. I had rash at one time cos skin too dry.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia~

erm did not see anything i like leh.. i spent quite long inside walking abt somemore

on dry skin, i use the California Baby's Aloe Vera Cream which is quite good and its gentle for babies so i think its safe to use for us now</font>

cactus,

Some is due to dryness, i applied using the moisturing cream doc prescribed to me.

But got 1-2 areas have stubborn ones which i tink is due to inflammation/infected liao. so moisturing has no use. It is these areas give me headache.

Teragram,
wow, okie...tks ger...tmr i will check here before I go lor or mayb tonite..hehe...wan to go there q early lor..I will be going to People's park there one lor...got shade mah =)..

Thanks alot alot...

Ellysia,
oic..

cactus_79,
okok...will refrain from tat ingredient.
BTW...preggie cannot use vaginal wash? aiyo...me ignorant mum...been using it diligently everyday cos used to it liao!

My skin is more dry than normal and my hand will get sensitive due to use of hand wash etc. Have to apply moisturing cream more often than normal.

I guess i have to bear with that 1-2 areas of stubborn ones. Tinking to get a better cream after give birth.

Cactus,
You going for the detail scan on Mon right? Remember to update us okie. Want to ask u something. Is there a rule that when the woman is 7 months pregnant, you cannot ask her to go?

Ellysia,
Yeah...a bit scared now. Think I better go and consult my gynae about the yellow discharge. Most likely will also be bringing forward my detail scan to next week either wed or thur. Now I can only pray hard that everything will be fine. I think nowadays I become easily worried esp when it come to health of baby. Think not very good...we must practise positive thinking

Teragram,
Tks alot ya...duno if anyone will start q frm 8am..haha...

Actually me wanted to buy ard 2-3kg one, but cost $46 now lor, abit ex...so tink only buy 1 KG...now going ot hv bb soon, so all must save lor..haiz...

morraine,

Yes thats the word. I better go back and check my guardian rash cream whether got that chemical or not.

shycloud,

I tink cactus or someone has mention b4 here cannot use virginal wash during pregnancy le.

morraine,

sorry tat u cannot find anyting ok at This fashion.

If u wanna look for dress, try maternity shops? I bot 2 pieces at perfect mum, price ok and not v big type.