(2008/06) June 2008

ioio,
if you have enough for free domestic shipping,
then it's ok lor...
We spree to save money & share on shipping cost.

feifei,

PD oso console me.. say this kind of thing can't prevent cos sometimes the bb is genetically born to be allergic.

I tink probably bec' my family and my hb family are all prones to the allergies. My hb and myself have sensitive nose. My hb has childhood asthma and myself have eczema (but only happen from teenage years). My grandma (mum side), mum, bro all have eczema. My FIL is sensitive to some drugs.

But the strange thing is we dun have food allergies histories. Me and hb can take milk, egg etc...

I then rem tat my hb's bro can't take any type of FM during young, but dunno is wat reason cos my MIL also not v clear. Dunno is it same prob or not. Anyway my hb's bro now can take milk, but is lactose intolerant (not allergic).

MLP,
same!...from those thin plastic straw, reanne can suck..but if give magmag...she chew and spit out..dun wanna suck.

Christina,
At this stage, if once a while they reject milk at least not so worried as they are eating other food. Oh well..we can't have the best of both worlds. Huggy want bb to eat, but her bb loves milk. We want our bb to drink milk...but ours love to eat..hiaz!

jan,

thks. lactose intolerant is fine.. cos not so fatal/scary. allergy outbreak is more scary cos can go into shock/fatal etc. anyway we just get the medicine from pd as emergency use. store at home play safe.

shycloud,

Yes U are RIGHT! BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER.

No matter how good is SIL, always have to be cautious! Esp abt wat we told them. in case they tell MIL.

hi leng leng
Thanks for your tips on keeping baby strapped in...now we change the car seat to forward facing, so he can see the world go by round him, so its better now.. not so much resistance anymore

thanks mummies for the concern over the carseat incident, pls rem to keep your baby strapped in at all times... and maybe change car seat to forward facing instead of rear facing, resistance will be lowered...

ellysia, it confirm is not your fault!! Pls dun blame yourself.. i duno why the pd can say partial bf will cause allergy.. alot of us here have been partial bf, myself included during bb's first few weeks of life.. and all ok, so pls dun blame yourself.. isaiah is also allergic to cow's milk, causes lots phlegm buildup so i let him take isomil..

hi iamsnow
pls go see a doctor.. your fever sounds really bad. If you dun recover, there's no one to take care of qianying.. maybe take a break and look for another job? Me and hubby super tempted to look for maid but also scared of maid issues hence held back

Saw earlier post on bb falling down.

last week have a bad scare. My Yu Zhe fall down from the ikea changing table on the floor. He dun want to lie down so i let him sit, then suddenly he just look down and go down. I managed to hold back a little so cushion the fall but his head fall down first and knock on the wooden floor.
Anyway tink is ok bec' he didn't cry much.
Just a bad scare to me.
so no more letting him sit up at changing table liao.

roxy,

thks..
i tot if he is ok with soy still not so bad, but end up soy also cannot.

U are right on the carseat. I let yu zhe sit forward facing since he is 4mths old. Cos he is v uncomfortable with rear facing and keep crying.

He still make noise even with forward facing. Nowadays we just let him cry until give up. A doc fren share an interesting info with us.

He said each of us will have inbalanced water level inside our ears during car rides, which result in feeling of car sick, nausea etc. bb ears are more sensitive and thus they may feel car sick more easily. tats prob explain why they cry during car rides.

Jan, what's the problem huh? haha... I even demo drinking out of the magmag's straw. Action out of desperation. Cos the other time, he see me drink yakcult then veri gian. so i let him try to suck the yakult 2 months back and he cld do it. I want to go and buy yakcult to try again. woahaahahaa...

<font color="aa00aa">iamsnow,
hey, congrats! saw qianying's pic appears on this recent issue of the mother &amp; bb mag.

MLP,
nah, in office still....
take tis period to lose wtg lar since now i can oni go on liquid diet - not unsimilar to gwen's diet lar. in fact, she is luckier, she can still chew while i cant...whahahaha....

RE: BB's diet.
think nothing beats wat my MIL gave gwen over tis weekend. SWEETS!!! even i specifically said NO, my MIL still gives rite in front of my face! &amp; MIL's sis gave gwen Milo! Hb got an earful from me this morning!!!</font>

<font color="blue">hey ladies,
my turn to go on mc tdy..hving bad migraine..no choice but to take mc n got flu somemore..sianz..now my baby @ my mil's place..cos scared i spread virus to him..so better let him stay there..

lengleng,
u best..when u publishing the book??reserve 1 for me hor..haha..

jan,
i also like u..dun clash wif my mil..anythhing i juz complain to my hb lor..let him go n tell his mum..i dun 1 2 be the bad person lor..it's easier for her own son to be the 1 telling her than us..

looks like my MIL is not the only 1 giving baby funny things! She gave mine walnut paste. i was scared out of my wits, cos read that nut allergy is common

Leng leng,

thks for the tip on giving stuff during supermarket trips, i told my hb and he also give keropok to my bb to play with.. so he can keep quiet.

Yr story abt MIL is really funny.. the way u describe it.
anyway if i am to say tat to mil (tat word on caning), i tink she will feel upset and keep it inside or complain to my FIL. Then my FIL who is more vocal will express it out to my hb. My hb always have a soft spot for his mum. And me being more bad tempered will look more like the bad DIL. So most likely he will tink i bully his mum lor.

Tats why i say my MIL hor, have to use softer approach one. Tough measures dun apply.

Now my MIL dare not give anyhow stuff to my bb liao.. i tink. due to the allergy scare. Last time my FIL keep saying "got so serious one meh" and my MIL say "last time we oso never do wat 4 day test, also like tat."..
so now, slap their mouth lor.

anyway for this incident they blame on me lah.. last week go back to MIL house, MIL say she will not give MILK or EGG to bb one..so dunno why i give the bb yogurt.. "so young can take yogurt meh". all sorts of remarks.

roxy,
i seen doc liao. on med.

actually i'm seriously considering whether to change job... but in times like this, hard to find a suitable one leh.

for maids, it's great when they are able to help u. but hor, comes with a whole lot of maid pblms which can keep u frustrated.... have to think thru carefully loh.

crystal,
thanks. i just sent in for fun. hee..... i going to laminate and show her in the future when she grow up. haha!

hi mummies... so many things happen...

I got a bad news to share too.. My beloved gal (pet dog), Tebbie had passed away peacefully this morning..

Still trying real hard to get over.. She's been w me for the past 6-7 years le.. I'm very sad still.. cry cry..

Hope all babies and mommies get well ASAP from virus attack!
At 1st i thought this is really a bad yr for me and my bb, but seems like i'm not the only one.
My bb was diagnosed with bronchiolitis after CNY. She got the virus from me because i was having fever, sore throat and cough due to eating too much biscuit.
The virus chose to attack her tiny airway. She was very sick for 2wks. No appetite and having difficulty drinking milk. I had to feed her 5types of medicines each day. This is really my fault.

warrior_angel,
share with u a tragic thing that happen to me 1 day before my 21st birthday. My hubby (then bf) brought my chihuahua out for a walk in the evening..a car came around and while trying to avoid the car..he pulled my dog to the side of the road,however my dog was slow...end up my hubby landed his foot on its head. He was only little baby chihuahua,...he vomited blood and by the time my hubby brought it back...it was dead. I WAIL till the whole neighbourhood can hear me..did not eat..sleep or go to uni for weeks. Total breakdown...his body was cremeted and I even brought the ashes back to Sg...when my mum found out..she freaked!..its ashes is now in my mum;s hse garden...every year before my birthday...my heart will still ache. I have forgiven my hubby..coz hating him won;t bring back my dog.

Warrior angel,
*pat pat* dun be sad , i'm sure she has gone to a better world.

Ellysia,
i understand how u feel. Doc said my bb is more prone to get asthma than others after this. I felt so sad and guilty.
That's why i was in tears when i read your post about Yuzhe.

Jan, thanks for sharing, make me wanna cry more.. sob sob... but got to control... control.. Arghhhhh

I can understand how you feel... *pat pat, hug hug* each other

Give me some time to heal..

Janiviy, crystal,
I rather my girl rejects milk now. How i wish she will ask for more biscuits or food.

Maybe she was traumatised by those medicines. she was on medication for a long time. I just stop it last week. But can still hear the phlegm sound although not coughing anymore.
she hates those med which tasted very sweet. she vomit out with milk and phlegm most of the time. So her PD taught me to feed b4 her meal and dun have to re-feed if she vomitted after 30mins.

Huggy,

Just now the PD also alert the risk of asthma too, cos its all related (food allergies etc).

Tat time my hb's case is he play with cat, then got asthma attack after tat. tats how it come about.

If u are worried, can always do allergy test. Can test for cats/dogs/dust mites, which are common allergens for asthma.

Wat brand of cereal u feed yr bb?
Maybe u wish to try Healthytimes Barley cereal? Heard tat its good for baby with reflux and good for digestion.

Wow...too fast for me to catch-up. Apologies...will post whenever I can. Right now, I think my girl is teething again...fever, cranky, clingy, etc

Ellysia - Don't be too hard on yourself. IMHO, I know lots of mummies who love to BF but can't due to their conditions. Therefore, their kiddos have never tasted BM before. But, they are OK. If YZ cannot take normal FM or Soy Milk, can he take goat's milk? Take me for an example, I am already as old as the hills and still cannot eat lots of stuff. My safe food is fish, chicken, rice, cereals, veggies and fruits. I have never tasted seafood before in my life. As they say, if you have never eaten it, you will not miss it. YZ will be fine.

MIL Problems:
I guess everyone has their own problems with their MILs. So far, I only met 2 girls who have wonderful MILs....so envious of them.

Sharon,
My hubby same like yours. He also thinks it was my problem. Once he also answer my harmless comment on his sister the way your hubby did. I was so angry at that time, still pregnant at that time, i bang the door and refused to talk to him until he say sorry. Although i explain to him what i meant was i wish to be as capable as his sis, and he accepted. But after that i know he loves his family more than me. Although he loved me like no 2moro b4 but that was all b4 marriage.

After becoming a family. the wife has the lowest ranking in his heart . It's really xue nong yu shui.
so now i know no point ranting at my hubby, made me more angry nia. i'll keep my mouth shut on topic of lL and no point comparing he loves who more. after all he is born and raise by her. She has done a very good job and made him the man i loved. He grew up with his sisters, so they have greater memory and longer history together. They're bro and sis, they suppose to love each other.

Ellysia,
so far only tried HT rice cereal , brown rice cereal and Nestle vegie cereal. All dislike by her.
Thanks for the info, i'll go buy the barley cereal tonight. Hope she will eat it.

I have a question: as the packaging on the cereal say must cosume within one mth after opened, so do u still give it to bb after one mth or must throw away?

Just to share:
My bb rejects food and will make a big mess for me. Yesterday went to Ikea and a very useful bib, long sleeves and made of rain coat material. Very useful and only cost ~ 7 for a pair. Luckily haven't bought the bp on wonder bibs which cost 18.
Now together with ikea high chair, i just let her spit out the food, hit the bowl and spoon also never mind, just continue feeding, as it's easier to clean now. I also give her the colorful bowl and plate to hold and play with, 6pieces only cost 3.50

other than that, i also bought a packet of straw, cost 1.90 for 200pcs. The diameter only slightly bigger than the yakult's straw. I cut it into half and put in a cup to let bb learn to use the straw. Read this in a bb magazine. Hope it work for my bb.

JP,

are u also allergic to milk? or u only allergic to seafood?

Huggy,

My bb dun like to use bib. nowadays i feed without the bib. whenever i let him wear the bib, he will take it off.

I ever ask the HT person (i email), he said if past 1 mth its better to throw away. But i know a lot of my colleagues dun bother, they keep it beyond 1 mth.

Another way, if yr bb dun like cereal, u can try intro fruits puree or veg puree instead of cereal.

If yr bb dun like to eat certain food or solids, dun force him bec it may make the experience horrible and he will reject it further. Just make it fun, maybe smile etc. Sometimes i make funny noises when feeding, to attract attention. Sometimes i just let him watch cartoons while feeding. Although it is not recommended due to bad table manners, but i find it easier this way.

hi iamsnow
I agree, hence we never get maid, my mum is very resistant to a maid too, though we are thinking of getting one for her... you must take care ah..i agree its very difficult to get a job now, hence im also sticking to my own now

hi warrior angel
hugs hugs, dun be sad k? sayang sayang

haiz... i must rant abt this... just now i illegally park my car at work..lunchtime car was still ok, i wanted to shift to a proper lot but there wasnt so i conveniently left it there... when i came back after work, i was so shocked to see my side mirror dangling from my side!! apparently some idiot had hit my side mirror and ran away... im so so sway... shouldnt have illegal park the car... just now drive home was driving at tortoise speed, also dun dare to change lanes... haiz worst thing is its my fault to illegal park, bad week for me
lesson learnt, lesson gained, next time i dun dare to illegal park my car le, luckily its only side mirror, if its something more serious, heart sure pain

had a hectic day at work today with no time to login, so just managed to read through the posts!

nss,
thanks for the info on insurance! ;)

kye,
have u raised the possibility of u not working to ur hubby before? is your hubby supportive of you not working, in terms of finances etc? if he is, then maybe can start to plan to quit. ;)

chris/MLP,
speaking of straw, i've started to give lucas the magmag straw cup but then hor, we have been tilting the cup for him to drink so also dunno if he knows how to suck from straw or not.

so just now i was telling hubby next time dun tilt the cup then he told me if dun tilt, water won't come out cos the straw is too short. then we REALISED that my maid has forgotten to connect the 2 straws all these while! Alamak..

iamsnow, crystal,
you girls rest well and get well soon!
oh, sounds like i must go and get a copy of the mag to see qianying!

roxy,
there there. *pat pat* like u said, it could have been worse.

haiz, i also want to change job but then this economy is just not allowing it. so just got to grit teeth and hang on for the time being.

Ellysia,
I want to bring my bb for allergy test also. Need to go to see a specialist or any PD can do it? How much it cost you? Are there different prices for diff category of test?

re: bf till how old
My sil's eldest son still need a bottle of milk b4 sleep, he is 7yo now.
I think need to give bb bm 3x a day for min of 3yrs bah. Once in the morning, once during afternoon nap and lastly b4 sleeping at night.
re: bib
My bb also pull the bib but the long sleeves one can wear like shirt,she's not pulling now

seems like alot of mummies want to change job... me toom but i dun dare to take the risk, sekali change job, then get retrench based on first in first out... haiz

tera, i just went to inspect car again, there's some scratch marks at the side of car above tire.. seems like some idiot driver did brush again my car when driving, dat fella must have been blind, the area is super big... tink i have to burn $100 - $300 to get it repaired
im hoping the car which hit me had more damages than me, oops, i know this is very mean of me but i cun help it

Crystal,
Sometime I also don't understand MIL why are like this. So our poor HB have to hear us complaining yet cannot do anything.. only can tiam tiam. Even I have 2 gals liao n once a while at mil she WILL also do the same thing infront of me giving nonsense food. Now I will just say no matter how bb below 1yr old can prevent just prevent. Even my #1 31mths I also restrict sweet stuffs like chocolate, peanut. As peanut can be allergy even for older kids... Somehow I only feel more safer when my gals are at least 3yrs+ bah. What to do hai..

warrior_angel,
Just saw ur FB about ur darling doggy. Don upset I understand how you feel as I gone through that before. Time will heal up ur wound okie. Sayang sayang

MLP,
Yap will do uploading as &amp; when at FB. Guess alot are very curious &amp; excited on my new place. Our humble abode

morning leng2!

roxy,
haha, i know wat u mean. if i were u, i would have wished the same thing. its frustrating not knowing who did it and on top of that, u've got to pay for the damages. well, as long as no one's injured tat's the most impt thing. car can always (usu) be repaired.

war_angel,
*hug hug* sorry to hear about your dog.

shycloud,
Lucas was previously prescribed Zrytec by the pd for his running nose. This medicine is also for allergy, but not sure if can buy off the shelves or not. Just to add, the medicine is to be taken.

shycloud,
ours are from polyclinic,
heard from some mummies, there's a nosedrop brand "seasalt" something also work very well...