(2008/05) May 2008

poky,yanling,faye,jo,
my supply also dipped when i returned to work. but i continue to pump regularly then it gradually went back up. For me, i need to totally relax and read newspaper or magazine. to achieve letdown. Cannot think of work, talk or do anything else. I make it a point to get 3 letdown per pump session.

Felval- I’m takin fenugreek n drinkin hl milk n lots of water. mayb 2 pills of fenugreek a day nt enough, shall incr n c if can incr my ss anot cos my fren took 6 per day n her ss went up!
Hehe.. nw I let him wear bib! Haha… thn his saliva can b collected in it =P
My boy is reali long lor! Lolz… sm of his rompers too tight at the crotch area liao! The nurse says he’s big for his age. Haha… wt n ht at 90 percentile.
I duno lei, my fren says ok to take thn my mum said bb so young can take meh?

Muzicgal- ur boy’s digestv sys reali gd! He’s on tbf? My boy only poos once every 2-3 days n it wil be so much n smelly tat I gotten hold my breathe when cleanin him!

Jo- my boy also gt red patches but at the back of his head there. Duno isit heat rash. He’s a sweaty boy, perspires v easily.

Yuelin- my boy usin huggies ultra M size. Getting abit tight for him esp at the thighs area. Looks like gotten change to L size soon!

jovial,
ytday got my boi to sit in his bumbo seat..and to my disappointment, found that its a bit squeezy too....and he is only 3 months old.

jo,
this free massage course by babybreeze is only for this time only....when they officially start this course some time later, customers will have to pay. its a nice place and the owners and staff are very friendly. You can drop by the place to take a look.
talked to them after the massage session and found they do babysitting too! its at $18 per hour.cause was in one of the room feeding my baby and saw toys strewn on the floor. they had just finished babysitting a child.

Duncan turns 4months today (chinese) so shave head, eyebrows. later going to have drumstick in evening

Before, during & after:
1647500.jpg

1647501.jpg

1647502.jpg

Winnedy,
Letdown is when you feel your breast harden and like many pins and needles, then the milk start dripping or coming out in bursts.

ant1712,
how old is your bb now? mine is three months and is using M size already....even pureen M size sometimes leave red marks on his thighs

buttercup- he's 3 mths plus. thighs too fat! haha.. oh pureen M size is smaller? jia lat i stil gt 1 brand new pack! it says can use up to 11kg so i usin huggies 1st (up to 10kg). smtimes in the day, i let him wear cloth nappies but since he's gonna outgrow the diapers soon. beta finish them b4 he cant wear anymore!

Tracy,

baby Duncan is so handsome, with his hair and big eyess ... hiyah i feel so "sayang" that u shaved his hair, cos he really got nice hair !

Alamak it will be Rayden's turn next Monday .... cannot imagine botak Rayden ... hehehe

Buttercup,
We're sending my boy to Eager Beaver @ Yishun Safra...sob sob.......

Poky,
Thanks for the infor...will try it out when i return to work 2 Oct. =D

Faye,
Heard from friends that to keep bm volume up, we've to "empty" the breasts...u may wish to try it out...

Winnedy (winnedy),

to upload excel in the forum, you got to first save it as a image.. First copy the cell, then paste to paint. In paint, save as .jpeg file, then upload attachment to forum..

Ant,
Are the calcium very difficult to swallow? Hee hee.. too big for me.. Anyway, if you need anything from the pharmacy there, I can help you buy, got staff discount on certain items..

Baby Duncan very cute!

Tracy ,

Aiyo your son`s hair so nice ...but with his hair shaven look even more angmo now
very handsome boy

Do let me know the new shipment of Goo.N diapers thank you in advance !!

linda ,

You mean empty the breast ...but how we know is empty !! Isn`t the breast do not feel bloated mean empty ?

By the way Eager Beaver is infant care isn`t how much charging . But at the moment MIL taking care of my son after i return work .

Tracy

You son so handsome.. look like ang moh babies :p
My hb dun allow me to shave my ger... if not i think is beta to shave as starting to get patchy!

Tracy,
Baby Duncan looks so handsome.

RE: Diapers
My ger is wearing Mamy Poko Size M. Size S is a bit small for her as her thighs will have those red marks after wearing. I dislike using Pureen for my ger. It leak every morning after my ger's 1st feed, very messy. She usu. does all her "biz" after the 1st feed.

Hi everyone, haven't really post ever since I started working. My baby just turned 15 weeks old (3 months and 2 weeks old). Please add my blog www.malcheri.blogspot.com

Re: Teething
Seems like my boy is teething liao cos keep biting things then the other day got fever and super cranky, don't want to drink milk at times. Seem his gums there white white like teeth coming out. My mum said his gums itchy. Don't know when his teeth will come out.

Re: Bumbo seat
We bought a bumbo for him when he turned 3 months old and he can seat in it. Then recently just bought the tray from Taka Baby Fair. He doesn't like to lie down now, if we lie him down, he will lift his head up. Sometimes when we hold his hands, he will pull himself up, scary. But the bumbo is really useful when he doesn't want to lie down. Then we can read him books when he's seated up.

Jovial, my boy is 6.6kg but can sit in the bumbo seat leh. Think tight is ok la, means better support mah since their bone still not that sturdy. But let them sit a few months more, they also don't want to sit in it liao lo. They want to move around.

Re: EBM
My supply has dropped ever since I started working also. Now every 2 hours, only 110ml, 4 hours only 200ml. Trying to pump abit longer to increase supply.

Re: Latching baby
I didn't latch my boy anymore cos he doesn't want my breast liao. Sad. When I tried to latch him the other time when he's cranky. He cried even louder and push me away. Don't know how.. Anyway, can't help it liao, only can do pump now to give him BM.

Re: Baby swimming
I brought my baby to swim for 2 times liao. 1st time he was very happy. 2nd time, cried when just put him down, think that auntie he don't like lo so cried that after a while, he ok then happy again. But both times after swimming, he can sleep very well. Can sleep through the night till almost 7am in the morninng. hehe.. Still got another 8 more sessions.

Re: Toys
My hubby bought alot of toys for my boy liao. Siao man. Think we have spent almost $1k on toys and educational videos and books. Also bought him a jumperoo but not deliver here yet. Hopefully he will like it. Hehe.. He loves standing now.

Re: Hearing test
My boy failed his 3rd hearing test. His left ear failed. Sigh.. Think probably he's just like me, left ear cannot hear. Going to see specialist on Wed. But we are pretty much prepared that his left ear cannot hear at all.

Re: Feeds
My boy now takes 140ml every feed except for the first feed in the morning, he will take 170ml.He feed about 5-7 times a day depending on his mood. Sometimes, he super cranky, only wants to bite the teats and not drink, sometimes push the bottle away and cry.. Very naughty. I think if I have to take care of him alone, I may go crazy. Haha..

On his first class seat!! Hehe.. Getting too big for the infant cushion, think got to remove soon.
1648121.jpg

Just before going out for wedding dinner - 1 week before turning 3 months old
1648122.jpg

On his bumbo seat - 3 months old
1648123.jpg

Manage to catch him trying to squeeze his poo out
1648124.jpg

On his bumbo with tray - few days back
1648125.jpg

Hi Tracy

Ur son really look like angmoh kia leh , so charming looking.

Cheri,

My Amelys is 0.30 kg lighter than ur son only 3 days different in birthdate he he ! I was quite worried tot her weight is quite low 4 her age now that i saw ur post ke yi fan xin yi dian le !

Btw all mummies rally & pray hard lei the pm just annound extended ml to 4 mths we all rugi liao lor !

However we may stll benefit from it if they backdate the offical introduction date which one my colleague claim the government did in 2004 , cross our fingers tight & hope with effect fr Jan 08.

if not jia you for birthing the next one lol !

My boy is very cranky today. suddenly cried very loud in his afternoon nap, which is very unusual, until got tears come out. when are babies supposed to have tears?

Tracy, baby Duncan is very cute, so handsome and ang moh ang moh look.

Cherimoya, ur boy look so comfy in his 1st class seat... so cute!Sorry to hear the bad news, hope there'll better result when see specialist otherwise can get the hearing kit to help?

Re: diaper
my boy is still wearing Mamy Poko size S le.. kind like small and can see the thight area a bit tight, but i am still let him wearing it. i am a bad mum.. dunno when to change.. sad... now then realised!

Re: Infant care
I m thinking of sending my boy to infant care around his 6th month... a bit "bu se de" but no choice, i abit sianz at home liao... thinking of going back to work. i am staying near Bugis area, anyone know any good infant care around this area? any recommendation?

Jo,
I not too sure what my friend meant when she say "empty" the breasts...hee...but what i practise now is to pump either 10 mins or reach 150 ml per side whichever is earlier...& at least 5 times per day...

erhh...i think Eager Beaver charging about S$1,300, so after the subsi got to pay about S$900..my hubby doing the co-ordinating with the infant care centre so i not so sure on the details..we choose EB after going to a few infant care centres around Yishun area (like Cherry Hut & CT)..also EB is near my hubby's work place so he can send & fetch my boy home (cos the earliest i can reach home after knock off is about 7pm...sad man...so got to depend alot on hubby to fetch baby...)..

Cutie188,
ya boy...really hope they will backdate the official introduction date so that we'll benefit from it...me extended my ml & took no pay leave for another 7 weeks, if they backdate really very good news to me! =D hmmm...should we write in to PM on this?? heard from a friend last time she wrote in on the baby bonus thingy and got it...

Cheri,
your boy looks so adorable...hmmm..maybe i should also go get the bumbo seat...is this good for training baby to sit?? erhh...but my boy is approx 7 plus 8 kgs can still fit in the bumbo seat?? can advise??

re. latching...my boy too! refuse to latch on since last week...when i try to latch him on, he will cry & "bite"...i understand fully how u feel...sad sad hor...only can pump & feed baby lor...lucky he loves drinking bm...one of my friends' newborn refused to drink bm when he's 2 weeks old, my friend no choice got to feed her baby formula instead...dun know why also???

can go swimming leh meh?? u cool man...i abit scare...baby cold & viruses so didn't allow hubby to bring my boy to swim...kekeke....think i abit more ks...typically Singaporean! haa....

think me & hubby got to quickly fix the car seat for baby liao...now i still carry him while travelling...think not too safe cos i sometimes will fall asleep in car...(haa...my little boy also like me...always KO while travelling).. ;P

Jo,
empty breast means til u pump there no more milk coming out.. ur breast will feel very "light" one... when engorge, breast hard, move it, machiam like movin a solid hill like that.. empty till totally opp, also let down no more. at least that wat i think.

tracy, my hubby also says ur boy look very ang moh. veri handsome. =)

cheri liao,
my gal also gettin bigger for her infant seat. but i totally forgot that i can take off the infant inserts... i still squeeze her inside,, then lamenting to hubby wat to do that she outgrowin her car seat.... stupid me... hahahah

1wk b4 2mths
1648379.jpg
3wks later
1648377.jpg

cutie,
ya lor.,.. hopefully they back date to start of calender yr, or at least financial yr, then we can hv another mth to take care of bb... =p

lynn,
my gal start to hc tears when juz 3wks old.... can see tears swimmin ard her eyes... by 1mth, the tears start fallin off her cheeks liao!! =p

u not bad mommy la.. me even worse,,, i let my gal wear small when she alrdy start to hv graftin from the side of the diapers.... tot juz wear looser, will b ok... last nite finally cannot bear to c her legs got so much rubbin... we change her diaper to medium n keep all the small for the nxt one liao...

linda,
y ur friend wrote in for the bonus, she was eligible for the cut off date?? then she got it alone or policy change to include all those who were that yr??

i also stil carry my gal while travelling... but provided it short journey... like to do grocery or to my inlaws place, which is juz a couple st away... for long one, definietly put in car seat.. else, car seat for wat?? isnt it suppose for their safety?? but if "touch wood",, any accident... i definitely kana the worst... cos, hubby in driver seat got car seat n airbag... bb in car seat, got 5pt harness n cushion... mommy bside baby, no car seat, no airbag, can fly in between the two front seat to say hi the the front window panel liao.... =p

Thanks for the compliments. Now that he's botak, he looks fairer.

Winnedy,
To achieve letdown depends on individuals. Like some will get letdown if looking at baby, or hearing baby cry etc. Cannot be stressed, must totally relax. If stressed, the milk will not come out. Your breasts must also be accustomed to the pump. Breastfeeding so complicated hor..sigh..

Cheri,
Teething already? hehe, i heard that once they start teething they will wean off the breast so maybe dats why your baby is rejecting your breast. Good also bah, i can't imagine if got teeth then they bite us! pain!

Your baby's carseat really like first class seat! A380...hahaha

Poky,
I got the same carseat

hi cheri,

long time never heard from you ...
your boy is also quite fair and his head is so stable, and only 4 days younger than my boy. BTW, i have added your boy's blog to mine.

hi lynn,

yes, whenever my boy cry, sure got big drop of tears coming out, machiam like i beat or scold him badly ...... hahaha

hi Poky,

i hardly let my boy sit in the car seat, unless he is travelling alone with my hubby, if not, i will be the one carrying him most of the time. Cos he dun like to sit in car seat, he will be yelling and screaming and only sit quietly if he KO, how to make him sit there quietly or enjoy his car ride ?

Jane ,

I think most of the infant care is around the price ...very EX . I`m checking on the price just in case my MIL cannot handle him as Yishun Safra is very near to IL`s place .

Do you stay around Yishun as well ?

tracy,
the car seat v comfy rite? material also v soft soft, v nice to snuggle. =) but dun like how it attach to the car. hubby car dun hv the back seat hook, so use strap. not v secure like that leh. =( u got encounter such prb also??

dolly,
my bb also dun like to sit in carseat... but we "force" her to sit in it. we stuff pacifier in her mouth n pat her till she quiet down or get tired from cryin n slp. =p now she more used to it liao. only sometimes still cry... no choice leh.. cos every wkend, hv to travel from east to west n back to eat again.. journey too long. we scare bb might get into accident in long rides.. so play safe lor,... now she always ko while on the "journey to the west".... =p

harnee,
think i saw the hand bolster at AMK hub mum n bebes.... but cant b sure... =)

poky,
may i know the brand of the car seat?
im still using the maxi-cosi infant seat that's attached to my quinny.

jo, jovial, dolly23,
i think need to take more calcium or those joint pills man...

Re: Diapers
i'm using mami poko M size. my princess is now 6.9kg

poky,
yes, this carseat is not too hot. We tried one carseat from my fren, my gal perspired alot when in it cos material is too hot.

we discussed this issue in the Jan06 forum. it's not mandatory in S'pore to have the hook behind like OZ cars so all carseats in S'pore are secured using only the seatbelt. One of the mummies went to the workshop to purposely get them to drill a hole behind to secure the carseat with the hook. I didn't, just left it with the seatbelt.

New to this thread... Hope to get some advice.

My girl was on total BF since birth and 2 weeks ago, i went back to work. Initially, in the 1st week, she took to the bottle with no much problems coz I have been training her with 1 bottle per day 2 weeks b4 returning to work. However, after returning to work, I took 2 days leave + sat and sun ... after that, my girl has some prob taking to the bottle. This week, my MIL tell me she dun wan to drink from the bottle. My girl will kept crying and crying when my MIL feed her from the bottle. She nv drink much. oni mayb oni 2 oz per 2 to 3 hrs... She told me to buy FM for her as my girl may not wan BM anymore. I have no prob latching her on at nite after work. What shld I do? Issit just a phase that BB cant adapt to the bottle?

birdy,
it Britax Safe and sound Royale infant to toddler convertible carseat. i like the material n the cushion it gives... =)

tracy,
some of the car models do hv that hole. my ex-boss hubby car got, but not hers. but i didnt ask her wat model was her hubby car... cos cant expect me to change car to use the carseat. rite?? lol...

but did the mommy who drill hole mention how much it cost?? i nv tot of goin shop to drill the hole... cannot diy?? =p

linda,
o, no wonder... then now we hv to wait til the details out, then we can know if we a few mths ahead or few days ahead for the new bb bonus entitlement liao... my colleagues all now ask me to go n get preggy again.. =p

annedrew,
did ur mil prepare it correctly? my gal also on EBM. i prepare 4 btls to last her til evenin when i back to fetch her. mil remarks that got few times bb dun wana take the btls or drink v little. later i realise that the milk has gone "stale" taste to her. i tried n it taste horrible. =( i latch her, she immediately drink liao. also, if we "over warm" the ebm too much, when it turns kinda yellowish, bb also wont drink.

poky,
haha, i dunno if can DIY. lemme post and ask that mummy how much it cost her. i tink maybe continental cars have the hole and not japanese cars.

Annedrew,
Sounds like its not your gal doesn't want BM leh since she still latches on. She just prefers your breast to the bottle. My colleague's boy also refused the bottle. What she did is when she's at home herself, she give him the bottle every 3hours. if he rejects, no milk for him. She dun even latch him. She continues to offer him the bottle every 3hour until he eventually relented and took to the bottle cos he hungry liao. This method will only work if mummy is doing it and mummy is firm cos I'm sure MIL will never agree to it. Sounds terrible to some people, but cos my colleague's son goes to infantcare, she has no choice but to train him up. BTW, the longest he went without the bottle was 12hours. But of course she monitored and make sure he got pee to ensure he's not dehydrated.

Annedrew
my girl also don't like bottle feed, my mil will try to give her every 3hrly if she hungry she take more if she is not she might only finish 60ml or lesser... I latch her at 8pm, middle of the nite and morning before I go to work, as long as BB is growing well and got pee should not have problem. Slowly they will know that mommy not around will have to take bottle. Now my girl is drinking more from bottle, think just got to tong for a while...

Lucky that my MIL is quite supportive on BFing she say BB drink lesser in the day time but if she drinking more when I am around should be fine.

Hihi Mummies,

Haven log in for a wk plus le. Kinda lost dunno where I stop. Juz a quick one to come in and say hi.

Hoho, I see all e babies so cute, our bbs growing up le. See already so happy.

I saw the national day rally yesterday. Aiyo, so tiu man... I hope we're included in the new maternity package.

Ok, gtg. My gal fussing again. Can die man, nowadays so busy pulling her hands off her mouth. Den she super attention seeking. Leave her alone she erk erk erk. Haiz. But I feel so happy when she see me, she'll stop erking n smile at me. Keke. Motherhood turns me into a stupid clown liao...

hi all! my boy is super fussy nwadays! n he slp v little in the day or smtimes dun even nap at all! he does slp thru the nite nw thou.

Xiaohua- I find it ok. Almost the same like fenugreek. Me used to swallowin pills liao! haha.. a pity cldnt meet u ytd.. hee.. wil let u noe if if I nid anything. Thks in advance! Btw u’re a nurse ah?

Thanks for your advice! Will try whether the milk is spoil when there is chance but coz norm by the time i go home, she would have finish her feed.

Hi Poko,
Your routine is what I do too! Feed at nite ard 8.30pm and then 10plus when she sleeps + nite feeds and in the morning b4 gg to work.... Just that during the day, she dun drink much....

Quite stress now as MIL keeps complaning bb not drinking, says that later bb wont grow....

yoyo!
i been missing for a few days...ytd my boy went to PD to take the 2nd dosage of 6in1..

his weight is 7.3kg now and 66cm...hahaa..
oh ya...my boy also start to scream and shout recently! wonder why...so cranky..

and today his temp shoot up to 36.9..so feed him some medicine... and it went down...

how are u gals....

any one going to vivo tt swimming place on this weekend?

my bb also will suddenly scream and cry or suddenly chuckle with his eyes closed. same as you all...
is this typical of their current developmental phase?

buttercup,
my ger too will behave like that in her slp. I think it's normal bah. For my ger, stroking her head will calm her down when she cry.

Poky, ur boy 3 weeks got tears liao? My boy 3 months then got the 1st drop of tears. All the while he cried like no tears coming out i somemore said he "geh geh cry" to get attention... he super slow to develop tears...

My boy used to like the car seat. He like knowing that whenever we put him in it is time to go for car ride and shopping(my car seat also can be the stroller) but lately he starts to show "refused" sign to sit on it. OMG, another problem is coming...

Choc, i might be gg to the vivo swimming place this weekend but not confirm cos need to wait for hb's schedule. u gg?? i still hav 8 sessions to go.

Hihi mummies,

I'm interested in getting the Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube from Amazon. Tried to join one spree but the organizer close e order. So I tot of ordering it myself.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00004TFLB/ref=ord_cart_shr?_encoding=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&v=glance
Anyone interested? We can split the shipping cost. I can take in 5-8 pieces(play safe not to bust budget n pay gst) to max the shipping cost. I just checked the exchange rate, now is already 1.41 ++, but credit card charges higher exchange, so I'm setting it at 1.45 to play safe. Anyone keen? I hope to close order latest by Thurs 12.00pm, before the exchange rate shoots up higher.

Oh btw ladies, I'm only doing this within May thread, so nv post at the spree section. Unless I cannot get enough response from here then I'll open it up to other threads to gather orders. So do let me know if you ladies are interested.

Shipping will be via Vpost. Collection method would be at AMK or Postage. Hope u ladies understand cos me now stuck home with my gal, so can only do it at my own convenience. Sorry about that.