(2008/05) May 2008

mrscheong
Not yet, i intend to send him to MMI Pre-sch next yr when he reach 3yo as previously i sent him for trial session and he cried like mad c him like this my heart goes soft and stop him for the time being but from that day till now he so clingy to me and hardly hv time for myself... maybe cos of that trial session, he afraid i will send him there again that's y he super sticky to me...

Fion,

i learnt something after sending my dd to childcare and swimming lesson. We got to be hard hearted. It is natural that the child wanna cling to us in an alien environment. So if we r not hard hearted, they will always be rejecting any new things introduced (which are not to their preference) to them.

Frankly speaking, my dd still very close or even closer (not clingy sense) to me after gg childcare
Its a joy to feel the closeness and seeing her enjoying her classes these days.

For a start, they wl not like it but i noticed that its cos she doesnt like the separation anxiety.

re: intake of milk
my boy used to drink 130-150ml every 3 hrs but for the past wk, his appetite like shrank. only drank 90ml or at most 120ml n can last him 3-4hrs leh. me worried leh. he's 10wks nw. mummies whose bbs ard the same age, hw much r they drinkin?

ant...mine is 11 weeks...drinking 80 nia..sometimes 100...hahahaa

then if drink 125 hor..will merlion...lol..so now i guai guai give 80-100

choc,
my girl also 11 wks. now drinking 130-140mls BM at 3 hrs interval.

for FM, she drinks abt 110-120ml at 3 hrs intervals too.. sometimes she also can drink non stop and then merlion.. sometimes i really worry for her when she merlion..

long time no ck tis thread, lost track liao..

wanted to go 4 the massage also. but hubby dun wana go.. says bb dosent seem to like massage durin e times we tried on her using the info from web... =(

re:milk
i stil duno how much my gal drinkin... stil latchin her, but goin to btl feed soon, cos need to "prepare" for mil when i go back work.. =p

muzicgal,
wah! u so filial to bring her go US. just u n her ah? who will look aft ur boy for the 2 weeks?

dolly23,
cant PM u le. anyway, posted the pics here...u see if u can understand? hehe.
1565187.jpg

cutie188,
me using pouch nt sling le...duno if the pic i posted above can help u nt. =)
hehehe. dun worry la, i think everyone intially pumped out also nt much supply must build up n constantly pump to increase.
u see choc n cheri u know liao. hehee. they so hardwking always pump till now their supplies so much~ =)

for those mummies who bring ur kids to ur mil/mum every morning...do u bathe ur baby b4 sending over or u let mil/mum bathe the baby?

WTC
Normally my mom bathe my kids... I sent my kids in the morning at 8am, so is too early for them to take bath and might catch a cold..

i am feeling kinda lousy...
seems like bb not mine like that...
everyone snatches to carry him
dun feel like bb mummy at all
i am starting to wonder if my boy recognise me or not
i am only a milk producing machine cum milk warmer
seldom feed him, nv bathe him before, seldom change his diaper, seldom pat him to sleep, at night also nv sleep with me...
haiz...
my bb become my pil's and sil's child...

today went for his 6in1 injection
after injection, the nurse say "done, mummy carry"
i wanted to carry and comfort him de...
but my mil snatches him instead...
she was carrying him all the way to and from the clinic...
people may have tot she is bb's mum
i wanna do my part as a mummy but seems like i got no chance
things will be worst when i get back to work next month
lesser chance to see him liao
so depressed...

icebubbles
Perhaps u should talk to ur hb abt how u feel rather than u keep quiet. Let ur hb to do the job by telling ur MIL/SIL how u feel. I can understand how u feel, as a mom cant do anything when bb need. Moreover next mth u got to back to workforce seldom c ur bb. Let them know that u need to bond with the bb.

hi Ant1712,

Now, my boy is currently at his 10 weeks, and he is drinking around 140ml - 150ml for both FM and EBM, every 3hr - 3.5hrs.

however there was a period whereby his consumption also dropped. He will usually cry or refused to take his milk and always leave around 50ml. I brought him to see PD, said that this is normal, and he even told me that as they get older, it is difficult for us to feed them more, as they tends to be more curious and pay attention to the environment so will lose interests in drinking milk.

hi Felval,

oh you are using pouch, and what i have bought is sling ... from the picture, i think pouch is easier to use. Think i am going to post and sell my sling, as i find it difficult to use and never use before.

All Mummies,

There is a book "The New Contented Little Baby by Gina Ford" which I found really useful for baby's first few months if you want a more routine schedule for him. I personally find it better this way for him as well as for us. At least now he wakes up same time in the morning, eats and sleeps around the same timings too. That leaves us more room to do our own things and also understand his needs better. However, you have to be prepared to be strict with certain things like don't carry him too often, etc. The author will teach you when and when not to do that. It also goes by the growth period of the baby so you can gauge the changes needed. Of course all babies are different and as such don't force and pin too high hopes that he will be crafted as what the book says but at least you can get close to their timings proposed.

Hope that this book will help.

dolly,
i also settling my bb to a schedule. initially when my CL just left, being inexperience and scare, there is no schedule at all, baby can bath at 12pm, ma4 liang2 at 9pm...he was crying and crying and crying..and i dun know what he wants at all.

then i began to bring him to my mum's place after two depressing weeks...and i am beginning to understand my bb better....

i have even started to take care of him two straight days without breaking down which is an impossible task last time. he is a light sleeper so he wakes up ever so often and cries...

but other than that, at least now he wakes up at a certain timing in the morning, feeds at certain hours and go to bed at 11pm everyday.....
schedule really helps ...at least i can anticipate whats coming.

icebaby,
so nice! you going to malacca...i wonder when i will be able to go...
which hotel are you staying at? my favourite is equatorial...Golden legacy used to be value for money but they have since increased their price.

dolly,
i also bought a MIM sling a while ago....wah piangz..so difficult to use...i watched the video dun know how many times but i can't seem to make the cloth works as smooth as that cloth on video....
my poor bb was my guinea pig...once he even vomited large amt while he was being jostled inside the sling....the end product was that he was looking so awkward and uncomfortable...

icebubbles,
agree w Fion, shld voice out ur feelin to ur hubby, ask him to explain to ur mil or sil if u dun want straight "confrontation". bb is ur mah, u shld hv the right to carry n cuddle ur bb.

Buttercup,
I using the sarong sling also. cos my bb wants to b carry most of the time. I only use it after bb has her meal for some time liao then try to get use to adjust the sling. sometimes, i find the position she in is raher awkard n look uncomfortable to me. but she can slp in it for 6hrs in that position... so i guess wat look uncomfortable (squeezy) is comfortable to her ba...

Buttercup,

Ur hb knock off earlier than u? If can, get ur hb to pick ur bb up earlier lo..Otherwise, u haf to look for those nanny tt help u to look after overnite one..Infantcare centre gt look after til so late?? Or consider a maid?

Peace,

It shld n white spots on gums..Bring ur bb to PD & get it treated..I think they wil gif u stg to apply on the gums..But thrush shld b affect lesser milk intake..Ur boy is drinking more..I doubt is thrush leh..

Icebubble,

Ya..U shld tel ur hb hw u feel..As a mum, u haf the rite to look after ur bb, bathe her, cuddle her, play wif her..Like tt, then e bb wil b close to u when he grow older..Let ur hb convey the msg to ur mil..Wose cm to worse, u haf to tok to ur mil urself liao..
Maybe ur mil is 'gan cheong' abt their grandson & did nt realise they haf gone over limit..

icebubbles..
why u didnt snatch back... if me i sure excuse me.. i carry myself...my mil also will wan to "help" when i makan dinner and baby slping in my sling..i will tell her no thanks..dun wan to disturb my boy slp..she insist i will die die say no..hahahaa.. i am not a gd dil

mine worst..sometimes ask baby to call her mama.. then i exclaim HUH...she will say opps..say wrongly..shld be grandma..WTH..trying to confuse my baby

i tink u can just lock urself with baby n nurse lor..hehee...i will take super long (ahem... ) to nurse..to spend more time when mil here to snatch my baby..hehee

no need confrontation one..just die die dun let them carry when u wan to carry lor..hheeeee...that happen when i buay song..esp now my boy kana rashes attack becoz mil n frens touch touch till like tis...hai...10mins of happiness for her cause my boy 4 days of itchness

i was telling my hubby just nw that we hvnt go out alone with bb till now
except a short distance to my parents house
every outing, mil sure come along
perhaps she really anxious abt her only grandson

u know wat my hubby replied...
he say we go out alone can cope or not?
bb ours, can or cannot also must try mah
haiz
then he say ok lo, tomor go out tell his mother we wan go out alone
but he make me feel so guilty
leave her alone at home while we go out and "hv fun"
sure mil know its my idea de

choc,
my mil dun like me to latch him
cos she say bb keep fall asleep nv drink full
make bb tired cos crying more often for milk
i am already trying to snatch n latch him once or twice per day liao
at least i hv some private time with my bb
and only then i feel that i am bb's mum

Buttercup,

same here, i am getting my baby on his routine, except for weekends when we go out, i am setting his routine that after his 8plus feed, he will be sleeping after that, and only wake up for feed and go back to sleep on his own after that, so that i will have time to do my own things.

I also cannot make it with the sling, and my hubby complained that i wasted $$ again. Looking for Felval picture, i think pouch is easier to use, so may consider getting pouch instead.

buttercup
congrats to you & proud of you can manage yourself with ur bb.. not every mom can do it straight away.. just treat ur bb as a new friend to you and u will slowly understand wat's ur wat ur bb wants. On the other hand, bb need to understand u as well, they arrived this world to them is new & they also need times to adapt and adjust the environment... give sometimes to ur bb & u to adapt eachother.. ;p

icebubbles
Tell ur hb u can do it w/o ur MIL/SIL help. Prove to ur hb & ur MIL/SIL, action is better than they talk!!! I know u can be a good mom as well as a good wife too!! ;p

icebubbles,
aS u say, can or cannot cope, as the parents, u MUST learn. Nobody is perfect parent, but we learnt thru experiences mah, v soon, u b efficient in taking care of ur bb alone liao.
dun care of wat pressure ur mil givin u on bf. if u want to latch ur bb, u r entitled to. if u only latch once or twice, may not hv enuf supply if situation stay long leh.. better consider twice....

as for "family" time, no need feel guilty la. at most, when u both go out with ur bb, buy some food stuffs back to 孝敬 her??? mayb sooner or later she will know that u r stil fillial, juz need own private times with ur hubby n bb??

Ant,
My baby is now 12 weeks and drinking 120ml 3hourly. Different baby different needs, so don't worry. As long as they are active and growing can liao. Oops! I just realise already 3mths now that I count. Can't help it, 2nd baby don't remember such things liao. Hahaha.

Felval,
I let my MIL bathe him cos too early for me to bathe him too. Anyway my MIL lurves to bathe him. Even help me wipe him in the evening before I reach her place.

Keke, your hubby look like got breasts too. :p Just kidding.

Icebubbles,
I feel that as long as we continue latching our babies, the bond will always be there. Are you able to sleep with your baby at night? It's easier for you to latch him right?

My fren's MIL worse. When my fren's at work, the MIL purposely leave all the dirty dishes in the sink for the whole day. Then when my fren return, she gotta spend time washing and cleaning. By the time she's done, baby sleep liao. Her MIL doing on purpose. But my fren still latches her boy on (almost 1YO liao) and that is the only private time she has with him. Her MIL evil lah, when she come home wanna carry her boy or sayang him MIL also dun allow, say she gotta go bathe first.

Tracy,

same here ... it is too early for me to bath my boy before sending to my mil place, and usually by the time when i pick him up, my mil has already wiped him clean and changed into his sleepwear. So i only need to pick him up and put him to sleep when reach home

Tracy
Feeling sorry & pity for ur friend. The way her MIL treat her as compared to maid no different. Nows a day still hv this kind of MIL...

felval,

yup, just me and my mom... now then i really understand being a mother is not easy... somemore my mom give birth to 4 children...then she handle everything herself... i think she very wei da lor...

icebubbles...
dun care ur mil tink lar..if u love to latch ur baby on...latch...even if she knock ur door ask u finish buay,.ignore her... last time when i full time latching hor... my mil will knock my door..ask me why inside so long etc etc..whereby i onli went in 5mins nia..i just took my own sweet time and latch for 30-45mins..hahaaa.. then change diaper..etc etc..by the time i come out..1 hour gone.. hehe

its normal for baby to fall aslp when latching..all u need to do is to try to keep them awake.. u have our support.. =)

i agree with fion...tell ur hubby baby is urs..why cannot manage... we woman have a strong motherly instinct ba... and the man mostly will side with their own mum..so u got to be firm..just tell urself..baby is YOURS.. nobody can control u... baby is urs.. haha..thats wat i tell myself

icebubbles,

Understand how you feel...it's especially hard when this is ur first child. You can try to get ur hubby to talk to ur MIL.

I can only let you think about the bright side of this, where if your child is not so sticky, it's easier for the person helping you take care of your child when you go back to the work force. (Dun anyone slam me hor...pls try to understand what I have to say first). Basically, think about this. If your child is very sticky and doesn't want anyone else to take care of him/her when you go back to work (i.e. cry if in new place or even carried by other people other than urself), won't going back to work be more difficult for you and for the person helping u?

I know it's a hard thing to do. I had some mummies who never listen to my full explaination that slam me saying I a selfish mother or don't bother abt my kids. But I am only thinking of my child and also my helper (person helping me). It is more stressful to have someone keep calling me at work telling me that they can't get baby to sleep/eat/etc. In the end, who suffers? The baby...and myself...but ultimately it's the baby.

Of course, dun let ur MIL override everything also lah. If you want to carry ur baby, carry ur baby. =)

Oh...I read some of the replies. Just want to remind that remember ur child is ur in-laws' or parents' grandchild. It is normal that they want to "help" or wish to cuddle ur child more often (1 reason is also because once baby become too big, it's harder for them to carry...so undersand that part of it). Also just put urself in their shoes, do u want ur future in-laws to do what you are doing now? Trust me, when we reach to that age, most of us will probably do the same thing...wanting to carry ur own grandchild often. =)

**No offense to anyone hor. Just looking at this in another view.

Buttercup,

My parents want to stay at budget hotel - Aldy Hotel. So probably will stay there with my 2 kids, hubby and parents. Will not be bringing the baby and maid along.

icebubbles,

No matter what happens..u are always the baby's mum. The baby has ur blood.

Dun bother about what others say, as long as you right on what you are doing. It's hard esp when everyone has different comments and opinions. For me, I am never really that concern about what others say...cos already been thru so many kids. Hahaha.

What's impt is my kids know deep down that I am their mummy (although they will go thru the "I hate u" phase) and that I love them enough to sacrific anything as long as they are well taken care of and are happy.

**IN case for those who are not breastfeed. As for latching, I encourage those who can breastfeed to con't. For those who can't, like me..it doesn't mean that baby dun latch there is no form of closeness with the baby.

icebaby...
true lar..dun let baby onli wan u...but also cannot let another person to dominate the child lor..

i knew how it feel lar... it happen to me too... tt time during confinement... in laws came over every single nite..and every single nite..i am not allow to stay in my own living room..and have to let baby stay there..i got to go in and stay in room..

i hate tt feeling..to overcome this..i BF the baby lor.. hehe... else..i find it weird..my own baby..why cant i stay outside to look at him...

and i carry they will say dun carry...still confinement.. blah blah blah...

of coz there are good in laws and bad...u got to judge urself...

my case..gonecase..she love to touch n touch my baby face despite numerous time i told her the face is sensitive..will get rashes.. hai..

then end up baby will scratch his face, smack his face coz itchy for 4-5 days...this is why i am so protective lor.. if touch wun itchy, why wun i let them touch,.haha

sian sian ah! starting work soon

choco,

yupe, understand. So it's a matter of judgement lor. Cos you will know ur own in-laws or parents better. I just have this bad tendency to try to look at different point of view. Hahaha

I already at work. Yesterday 1st day back. My boss and direct colleague both tendered and left (before I even return from maternity). Lucky the people who took over, I know them. So can communicate with them.

thanks gals
actually true lah, bb stick too much to me,
i also hard to go back work
he is mil's only grandson, thats y she is very anxious, i dun blame her
but i was thinking now that i m on leave,
i wanna spend more time with him

btw,i hv been latching him since this morning
bb sticking to me since then
mil bored, went downstairs eat lunch, make hair
hee, latching really works! =)

tonight pil gng wedding dinner, so got chance to bring bb out alone with my hubby
finally! wish me luck!

choco,

Work okay.

Hey remember few weeks back I was still saying I bleeding. Then I went gynae get medication. I am still taking the medication (called Sunolut - delay menses) and it's for 20 days treatment...still got another 5 more days to go. But it helped stop the bleeding totally from the 1st day..and only have occassion brownish discharge.

But hor...eating the pills...within 2 weeks, I put on 2kg+. I hope I can lose it once I stop taking. =(

how come still bleeding ah? mine stop last mth...ard 45 days then stop.... tml going for chkup lor

ohh..take tt will gain weight ah...can u start exercise buay?

icebubbles
Enjoys ur dinner with ur bb+hb ;p Great that u r oki as previously u sound so depressed.... but if u really not happy of anything that u feel. Remember to let ur hb knows oki. Dun keeps inside ur heart :p Well, u can think on bright side, i feel happy for u too!!!

icebaby
Ur analysing very good! It's true also la.. if next time my son get marry and i think i'll also wanted to carry the bb but not like icebubble MIL keep holding on it la heeheehee

choco,

I suspect cos my womb not strong enough hence the bleeding continued lor. But now so far okay...only brownish discharge. Hopefully when I finish the pills nothing wrong.

Fion,

Hahaha. Thanks.

My gal is really making us crazy. I really feel so helpless with her sleepless nites. No matter how I wake her in e day, she juz refuse to get up. Ended up hubby n I are e tired out ones. See all of you babies settle in schedule, I super envious. Today I only bath her at 4. Cos too tired n slept in with her. Then wake up when she cried for milk. By e time I finish pumping, it's like 2.30pm. 3 pm wanna bath her but she still sleeping. So 3.45 she wake up crying for milk, den I bath her. I feel super tired...

Nowadays I feel super weepy, alot of small occasion I flare up at my mum and started crying. Alot of times is she's helping out but she nags. Then I flared up at her. Only when I cool down, den when she comes home later, I'll apologise. Sometimes I feel tt my baby seems to put distants on me n people. Like me and hubby, me and my parents. I ever wonder at times if having a baby cause so much distruction, why ppl still want babies...

Icebubbles,
I can really empathise with your feeling. Your case your PILs possessive of your baby is that they truly love your baby. FOr my case, I'm still in doubt... The reason why I refused to move back to my ILs place is becos I know they'll snatch my bb from me n only dump her to me to clean up when she poos. When we go out, I have no chance to touch my bb also. Like when I carry her from pram or car, my mil will stand by my side and keep disturbing my baby, touching her etc. Then once my bb fuss, she'll say baby uncomfortable n snatch bb from me. Then she'll not return the baby to me unless she poos or needs diaper change. Even I wanna latch, she'll say give bottle. With my MIL ard, I really feel like a maid to e family than my baby's mother.

Then when she comes visit bb and saw my mum, she started complaining to my mum, to e state of crying say we dun let her handle e baby and my parents all saying I went too far... Her idea is to get me to move back so she don't have to come and see baby plus gain a maid(me) to do all e chores. My mum said next time she'll see baby when she take care mah, and she told my mum if she take care, we cannot leave bb to her alone, we must also help out mah. When my mum calls herself Ah Ma to my baby, my MIL said Ah Ma is call her one, my mum should be called Wai Po...

When I told my hubby, I think hubby did went to talk to her and 2 wks they nv come liao. I so happy but My parents started saying I went too far cos I don't let them see their grandchild and ask me to carry e bb over to their house. Sigh. I really hate my in laws touching my baby cos like I mention before, they once wanted hubby to get rid of my baby, and I cannot forget that... Really dunno how come my parents can be so patience with their nonsense? How come they dun feel sim tia when they own daughter is mistreated by the in laws.

Felval,
Haha, your hubby become model for the pouch. U should send in the pics to the MIM website. LOL...

Icebaby,
I also still having light discharge leh... my bb going 8 wks tml liao. Am I abnormal???

kelcqi...

hmm...i understand how tired u are leh.. i believe most of us been thru it.just a matter of how we get used to it.. last time i also similar... my baby will wake up every 2 hours...keep "eh eh eh"..then i got to rush to prepare milk etc...super stress..

ur gal is awake at nite? did u try to off the lights..tell good nite...it works for mine...

for me after confinement i am all alone with baby and i enjoy it u noe..hehee...be it bathe lar, clean him up, i njoy the moment to be with my boy alone... dun give urself so much stress...

as for wan to cry..i also leh..hahaa..during confinement i wanted to cry ah..pple give so so many comments..be it useful or not..they just give...say tis not gd tt not gd...say my milk so little..so thin...
haha...just endure thru..ignore them lar..

i also flared up when my mum do some stuff..hehee..i tink my emotion buay stable during confinement..so hor.. i just shut myself and then walk away...no matter wat is my mum mah.. even mil i also REN
hehee

latch/bottle feed..
i feel hor..this issue is solely decided by u alone...coz u are the main source of milk mah..who is to decide for u wat to do..unless u dun wan latch..then express out then bottle feed lor.. as long as u feel happy can liao..

my hubby ever ask me to stop latching becoz i take too long and his mom cant play....tt time i ignore him..continue to latch..coz to me not a valid reason..

until my boy kana jaundice tt time and i have to monitor his intake for few days..then i express...express till now..i still expressing..coz too easy and hassle free..of coz i will still latch at least once a day!

keep it up gal..u can do it

hi all mummies,

re: baby einstein 26 dvd box set

wondering if there are any mummies interested in the baby einstein 26dvd box set.

have started a mini bulk purchase in the april thread and will start one here if there are any mummies interested.

price is as follows 65 for each set with 10% of with 10 orders and 15% off with 20 orders.

currently with the april mummies i have collected 15 orders. so if there are any mummies interested please post in the april thread or email me at [email protected] as i may miss out in this thread.

items will be ordered once the total number has been finalized with payment. orders will be posted in the april thread.

hi all mummies,

re: baby einstein 26 dvd box set

wondering if there are any mummies interested in the baby einstein 26dvd box set.

have started a mini bulk purchase in the april thread and will start one here if there are any mummies interested.

price is as follows 65 for each set with 10% of with 10 orders and 15% off with 20 orders.

currently with the april mummies i have collected 15 orders. so if there are any mummies interested please post in the april thread or email me at [email protected] as i may miss out in this thread.

items will be ordered once the total number has been finalized with payment. orders will be posted in the april thread.

currently there are 3 collection points for the items

1. orchard mrt 2.15pm weekdays

2. farrer park mrt after 4pm weekdays

3. tiong baruh mrt 2pm weekends.

additional meeting points can be arranged if there are more then 5orders collected at one point.

icebaby,
u say u r stil bleedin, is the medicine for stoppin the bleedin? wat does it hv to do to delay menses?? same like u, been 2.5mths liao, stil bleedin. but in between got stop for a few days couple of times. but came back soon after. pap smear result is inflammation. took two tyoes of antibiotics, but stil no use.. sighh,,,, gynea want me to go back n ck again if stil not stoppin soon.. machiam like all the menses skip durin pregnancy come at one shot... OMG....