(2008/05) May 2008

morning
i feel like a panda now.. my eldest DD went for Day Surgery yday to remove her tonsils.. she kept vomiting the whole night.. only stop at abt 5am.. feel my eyes are closing but my 2nd DD is fully awake, running around in her walker.. (yawn~)

Kelcqi
i also scared labour anytime since i kenna 3 episodes of threatened preterm liao.. i also like bubble tea.. hehe.. now my hse opp just open one last week, i more giam to buy.. i like bubble tea and ben&jerry ice cream! but lucky i passed my Glucose test.

icebaby/kelcqi/moony
i also knew my hb for 1-2yrs b4 i got married to him one.. no worries abt how many years u know each other.. my friends/relatives and his's also think we'll not last.. but now see.. we are into our 6yrs of marriage and having our 3rd child liao

icebaby, we are working here long term, have local term jobs, just like normal jpnese lor.. not expat hor.

Last night, just found another problem, the infant care downstair our apt already full liaoz... now another headache.. I dun want to take child care leave. Even I can get some 1/4 of my current pay up to 1.5 yrs without work but I thought is too little. Infant care here, cost almost the same as Singapore.. but diffcult to find place... nanny will cost close to $3k a mth, 3 times of child care, not worth.

hi elicia,

thanks for the menu. im also a GD mummy and watching my diet very very carefully....

i was really upset when i was informed by my gynae of my condition.

all mummies, i already have a baby cot, do u think a co-sleeper is required?

loomi,

Understand, it's not cheap and the local terms. My god-ma (singaporean married Japanese) is now not working there. Devot her time to her daughter (cos her daughter is abit autistic. N u know Japanese are rather particular about things). Only her hubby works.

hi icebaby,

me not disciplined la.hehee. me persist hubby to bring me for curry fish head for dinner last nite lo. hehehe

hmm..ya..try ur best to talk it out. sure will have a solution to all probs...we will pray that everything turn out fine =) JIA YOU! if u nd a listening ear, each of us here sure can lend u. hehehe

hi loomi,

hehhee. okok. then hw long u guys are based there? so delivering there also?

icebaby,

Dun worry too much, afterall the most impt thing is that both u n ur hubby wants the marriage to work, so will give in to each other on the way lor. =) jiayou wor! there will b alot of the mommies here willing to lend u a listening ear to vent ur displeasure or for advices from the more "experienced" ones.. hohoho

loomi,
where did you do the test? You are in japan ar? all this while ur checkup done in japan ar? You are also working? understand that japanese pple dun practice maternity leave isit ar? Where will u deliver then? will u come back or deliver there? All my urine test all -ve oni until last visit urine show traces of sugar so gynae makes me to go glucose test.
Fruits ok but limit to 1 slice after lumch & dinner. (according to strict dietician insturction).

Feval,
ya diet is very strict leh. but then if oneself hv GD also will force to follow strict diet lor.
Ya if i see preggy woman not respinsbile toward their little one inside i will also be very mad.
I must be a responsible mommy lar. i dun want to harm my innocent child & i also dun want to get diabetics or whatever complication after birth. I still nid to live long to take care of my child wor..
When u due ar? sekali we checkin for labour on the same day ar. my edd is 8 may lar.

pooh,
what is tonsils?

birdy,
when did u detect that u hv GD? are u following very strict diet? as in like having meal or snack every 2-3hrs? nid to use gloucometer to monitor ur bld sugar level?
Since u got baby cot, then u can save on the co sleeper liao lar dun nid to waste money liao. since child grow very fast. My 2 cents of advice lar.

hello all mummies... did anyone feel that bb tends to move alot during the night? I felt it so much last night! kinda feeling that bb can't wait...

My boss-kena sai! keeps watching over my desk if I'm logging into internet... hmmm... Ha ha! now I switch the position of my PC infront of her so that she can only see my face! hee heee....

re: Robinson sales
Any good deals? diapers, bb cot, breast-pumps, wet tissue... Care to share???

hi jen,

my edd is 17th may...i hope it stay on tt day. if nt at least wait till my hubby back in sg then deliver...if nt i cant imagine myself going thro the labour without his support =( argh...i super scare of pain one lo....

Sparks,
I also hv the same feeling as u. my bb also move alot during the night. move until can feel her bum or head leh. or elbow lidat.

felval,
ooh. then i wont get to see u liao. hhee. when will ur hb be back to sg? he shld prepare at least 2wks earlier to standby u knw? my 1st pregnancy i gave birth at my 38wks lor.

Will u be taking epi?

thanks dears.

I had talked abt it with a couple of frens. Those who know me, know that I had done alot to maintain this marriage. They feel that I had done alot and they dun understand why I am still with him.

Sometimes thinking abt it, I also wonder. It's not that I can't support the kids and myself (cos I earn more than him) financially, if needed. I guess I stuck around mainly for the kids, hoping that things will work out btw us and that he will CHANGE his attitude towards me (esp).

He is changing now after my final ultimation that I gave him last month. (Basically telling him that if he isn't going to start changing his attitude towards me, our marriage will be over this yr end). It's not an easy decision but it's tiring to just be the only one fighting to keep things together while the other does nothing to help keep it together or thinks there is nothing wrong. He had even said that we should move out (of his parents' place) but I told him off. I said, moving will not solve a single thing, instead will make things worse. At least staying at his parents' place, I still can keep abit sane. Haiz...

Anyway, that's what happening to me. Oh, not to say all the bad things lah. He is a good father though. He love the kids alot. (but he doesn't care abt the baby UNTIL he/she is born...in this 3rd pregnancy, I asked him mah...he say, "what's there to bother, she isn't born yet!").

Funny rite?!?

elicia,

i detected GD during my 5th month and yes i have to use the glucometer to check sugar level.

really hate to poke myself this way.

im eating more meals, smaller portion and watching my sugar and carbo intake.

what about u?

But before I forget, I think pregnancy hormones is causing part of the problem also. I guess emotionally I want support from him but not getting it. Hence I turn to forums to talk things out and comfort myself. =)

*thanks for letting me say what I need to say.

icebaby,
dun be sad lar. i think there are alot of "chou nan ren" also lor. my hb also another one. My tummy so big liao also let me take care of my no1. then my no1 sometimes always want to be carry. i carry until backache leh. then he also nvr help me in hsework. also complain say toilet sooo smelly never wash. imagine i so big tummy also squat to wash toilet leh. got once when i was squatting I even like slipped on my knee leh. I think guy just take our pregnancy too easily lor. At least u staying with In laws. maybe they also can help u out also.
Dun be sad la. we are wonderful mama.

birdy,
I oni detect GD in my 7th mth. previosuly i oni take 3 main meals leh. Breakfast, lunch & dinner.all filling one. i never snack in btwn leh. which gynae/hosp are u at nw? U been asked by nurse to monitor ur own bld sugar ar? do u check ur BSL every day or some day?

hi jen,

i aim to go for nature w/o epi la...but shall see on the day itself if i can tahan the pain...if hubby nt ard cfm cant tahan.hahaha

he will be away frm my 35th-38th week....i scare baby nt kuai cum out on 38th week or earlier then i headache...somemore ppl going States...even if i call him ask him to cum back immediately so need 10+hrs to reach back sg lo...

WishComeTrue, my edd has been brought forward the same day as yours! From 29th to 17th... But, how come i didn't see yr nick on our chart above...?

WishComeTrue... since yr hubby will be away during that period.... r u staying w yr mum instead? Keep yrself occupied and then you won't think too much or miss yr hubby too much too... keep yr mood light and happy and bb will also kuai kuai wait for daddy to come back and celebrate his birth day....

felval,
he cant postpone his trip ar? rather risky lar. aiyo u hv to prepare urself 1st liao lor. prepare ur hospital bag.. then u must knw who to call if let say ur hb not back yet & ur bb is coming out leh. But of cos if hb is ard is the best lar.

harlo mummies, jus finished readin the archives.

RE: pratas
i like the pratas at casurina too! keke... v near my plc only n i alwz like to go there for dinner but tryin to limit myself nw.

RE: taka bb fair
i wil be goin for my appt tmr mornin thn to the bb fair after tat. hope can buy all the things tat i need n start to wash bb clothings too!

felval- ur hb needs to go away for biz trip? cannot postpone huh?

hi icebaby,

i understand its nt easy for u coz in any relationship it takes 2 to clap...not 1 person...my cousin went thro roughly the same as u..she ended up asking for a "D"...basically coz her hubby dun see anything wrong with himself...and even reject going for professional help....

so if u have try ur best, that is all u can do le... since u mention he has started to change abit..give him and urself time ba =)

anytime u wanna say anything, feel free to throw it all out here. hehehe

hi sparks,

got la but recorded as felval. hehehe
wah! bring fwd by 12days! i hope mine remains the same!!! -_-''' u going for 1 bedded or 4 bedded? scally we in the delivery room next to each other. hahaha.

when hubby is away i stay at my own hse during the weekdays and weekends then go DOWN to my parents flat. why emphase the word DOWN coz living in the same blk as my parents. hahaha. convenience ho? but i lazy la....imagine got to bring dwn my clothes...shoes...makeup..etc etc...so prefer to stay at own hse then weekend go dwn to slp...anyway, my 2nd n 3rd mth he also away overseas....so kind of get used to it altho sometimes i will cry aft talking to him on the phone. =) nvm la, now with the baby stronger and hence can feel his kicks n movements more so will focus on baby to ease my pain of missing hubby. hehehe. thx u sparks for ur advises =)

hi jen and ant1712,

cant postpone for him alone coz still got other colleagues going. he was given 2 choices: go or dun go...his boss nominate him one la but this chance is a v v v rare chance...so he also caught in between lo...and he told me he really hope he can go la...coz if miss duno if there is a 2nd chance nt...so i gave him my support lo =) i dun wan him to regret in future and have any chance to blame me or worst, the baby. =)

ya. hubby told me will buy all the things n do all the packing b4 he fly off...he also gave me all the contacts if i cant reach him on his mobile since he will be on roaming. he also standby a few of his friends (nt to mention his boss) who can send me to hosp shall i go into labour or water bag burst - in case taxi driver see me dun wan to send me la. hahaha. alternatively, my dad drive our car and send me to hosp lo but since he nv drive our car b4 i also scare he gan jiong or wat. hehehe.

that is why i always pray n hope gynae keep my edd to 17th may and baby kuai kuai stick to this date the pop out.

So many HB nt around during our EDD... me one of them... haiz.. actually throughout tis pregnancy he nt at home all e while.. smmore we jux shif house n i'm staying all alone at home aft work cos my gal only come back on fri nite... felt lonely smtimes... so my only companion is my doggie, dramma serial....

felval- my hb goin for reservist nxt 2 wks n i alrdy tinkin hw to spend the days w/o him
he worried for me too, applied for deferment but nt approved. sighz... tot of stayin over at my mum's plc but like wat u say, troublesm, goten move my things over.
so nice to be stayin jus above ur parents! where does ur ILs stay? ur hb ok to stay so near ur parents ah? hee...

Jen,

Me working + give part-time tuition (now left 1 student). Cos I cannot stand staying at home to face the 4 walls and in-laws. Tuition give me 3 benefit, time away (freedom), keep to current education system and some extra income).

Just last Sunday, I clean my whole bedroom (eh..my bedroom pretty big. Probably like the regular HBD X 2 or 3 times) and toilet. Then force my hubby to clear his things. Can u imagine, that 4 hrs clearing of things = 2 BOXES and 1 garbage bag of things to throw away. Now our study table so nice and EMPTY. Bathroom so neat. I think maid also shock. My MIL also shock. Only my parents will know, if I want to clean...I really can spring clean. Just that must find MOOD to do so.

Oh, as for my frustration...I do voice out to him. But it goes in one ear and out another. I feel that he doesn't take it seriously. Even few months back, I just suddenly sit and cry for 2-3hrs non-stop, he also not bothered after telling him the issues. After 2-3 days, he revert back to normal. Until the recent blast, I told him the ultimation, then he really start to change and help me with stuff at home.

RE: casurina prata
Few yrs back, I eat there cos my dad loves the prata there. But haven't been there lately. Been always eating at my area prata. Heehee

WCT,

Yah. I can be very patient...duh worry. I know NOW he is trying, so will give him time to change and hopefully things will be better.

Now waiting for lunch. Feel like sleeping. Maybe tomolo take half day afternoon go Taka shop. Oh Oh...i just read from another forum. An alternative to a sterilizer, u can actually buy a 3 tier steamer. 1 leverl use as sterilizer. Other 2 for other uses. Now I also tempted to buy a 3 tier steamer. Heehee

Oh, i see... very brave of you to support yr hubby's wish despite you needed him during that period.... ask yr dad to practise more and don't worry too much... okay? Later bb's face have wrinkles and knows how to frown b'cos mummy frown too much...?! kekeke...

Jovial, keep your mood high and light ok... get yrself a 3G HP in case u need to see yr hubby during delivering?! huh? heehee
Be brave!

hi jen,
oops sorry i got it wrong previously and kept calling you elicia.

me going to TMC and yes nurses asked me to monitor myself. once a week, poke six times. before meals and 1 hour after meals....damn depressing lo

hi jovial,

hubby weekdays also nt hm? lucky u got dog..i dun have..told hubby i wan 1 (way b4 we got married) but he says ok, got dog no kid got kid no dog...so i opt for kid..hehehe. so if he is nt at hm i still go hm aft wk (or sometimes meet friends), have my dinner (tabao to my parents place as daddy would be back hm by then) then watch some tv programs, wait for hubby's calls then go to slp at 10pm. hehehe.

hi ant1712,

ya. staying close to my parents damn shiok. hahaha. when i got preg n hubby nt in sg, my daddy will clean my flat for me then mummy wash my clothes for me...so i still behave like a kid lo. ahhaha

IL staying a few MRT stations away...even if they mind we staying so close to my parents they also no choice coz hubby says he needs to be away for his work pretty often so its better i stay close to my parents so that they can still look aft me when he is nt ard and i wldnt be so bored...also, he already stayed with me and my parents even b4 we got married...so think my ILs also LL. hahhaa.

icebaby,

u gd la! still do hsewk...me only help to throw clothes into washing machine, press press a few buttons or wipe the tables and counters or wat..the rest my hubby do. hehehee.

as for the 3 tier streamer...me suddenly thinking...rice cooker can nt? also got stream mah. bottom cook rice on top sterize the bottles. wahhaha.

hi sparks,

hahaha. i thot baby all cum out with winkles? neh, j kidding, i got wat u mean. ya, i will stay cheerful coz the little one motivates me to be so. hehehe.

i wish i will be brave enuff to tahan the labour pain, seriously! and i have to mentally prep myself in case he really cant make it back in time. but i know he will also worry and feel bad if he cant be with me for the arrival of our 1st one. =)

hi sparks,

gd idea! using 3g HP. should suggest to hubby and see what he says. hehehe. or ask doc for special permission to bring in video cam to film dwn the whole process. hahaha

Feval:
ya my HB rarely at hm...we bought e doggie cos i thought we nt going have bb liao...hahe.. but who nods... now the dog give me lots of pee pee problem... poor me have to mop the floor so many times...haix... usually aft work my FIL will come fetch me then i eat dinner wid him.. feel funny eatin wid him so sometime i'll tell him my mummy gt cook so he come to my ma's house fetch me aft my dinner...hehe..

Sparks:
my HB out field cannt 3G.. so he oly told me when i going for labour then call his unit n they will inform him then he shall fly back straight...
Actually I don c e point of calling cos by the time he come back i might be already gave birth to the BB... he did tried to be nice n said will compensate me by taking 1 mth leave to help me look aft BB.

icebaby, glad u shared with us... it'd be more insane if u had to keep these to urselves during this crucial period (pregnant)

Robinson n taka fair--

think of going to these 2 places at once, but i don have the Robinson card..somemore don know can shop for so long hour or not..

hubby--

hmm,,"jia jia you ben nan nian de jing", hope every mummy here JIA YOU and stay happy, and give birth to a happy bb

i hope my bb wil b out early.. so dat i can spend more time wif him..
actually my hubby's wkin hrs oso nt fixed de..
1 week early 1 week late.. late shift can reach hm as late as 5am in the morning.. by the time im already slpin.. n abt to wake up go wk.. den when im wkin he is slpin so i dun like his late shift cos we seldom communicate.. but at least he will send mi to wk everyday even he is wkin late shift.. but i worry dat we did not communicate enuf.. so we cherish our weekends alot.. haiz.. luckily when he is wkin ive gt my bb to acc mi.. if nt i will go crazy.. cos everyday i reach hm i will hide myself in the room.. nv watch tv program only play com.. den will slp ard 9+pm..
haha tink i too reply on my hubby le..
luckily he will acc mi the whole day on weekends if nt i sure complain hehe.. ;P

I have been in Japan for 4 years liaoz. The pregnant process in Japan is very natural ! They don't take supplements, when I asked for supplement like folic acid, calcium, the nurse brought out a brochure and show me all the veg and food rich in folic acid *faint*.. so when I was back in Spore, I asked my gynae to give me 6 mths supply ! They also dun dare to give medicine when you are sick.. during my 1st tri, I was coughing my lungs out .. they also never give me medicine .. my cough was there for almost 2 mths .. until I went back Spore in Dec, I went to see Dr then my cough got cured with medicines !

Of cos, one good thing is, Jpn Gynae will take care of your figure !! will ask you to go on diet, if you are gaining weight too fast ... that's why if you see all the jpn mama pushing stroller around here .. they are sooooo slim ... max whole pregnancy they "allow" you to increase max 12 kg only !! Of cos their bb all small small wan .. usually less than 3kg.

Actually, Japan is not too bad in maternity benefit since they need to have more babies. Maternity leave is 6 weeks before EDD and 8 weeks after birth. I am giving birth in Japan, then can get baby benefits from both countries ! In Tokyo, can get a lump sum cash of $6k plus for giving birth. Hospital stay (6 nights!!) might cost around this price for normal birth, so net is almost nothing. I haven't check out the baby bonus in Spore yet, what can we get ? How to register ?

Also after giving birth, you can take child care leave up to 1.5 years, during this time, you still can get some fraction of your last pay, then you can go back to the same job after 1.5 yrs. not bad right ?

Not everything is expensive here .. at least for breast pump.. I see you guys say it need at least $300 over at least .. here I can't find much foreign brand, Pigeon brand electric pump cost only $50! Bb also got lots of variety in infant food. Japan is becoming cheaper, you should come shopping here !!

felval,
wow very very conveinent leh. Downstair & upstairs only leh. very diff to get so near parents leh. if me i oni want near my parents & not my ILs. haha.

WCT,

Wah seh. I think of 3 tier steamer...u better still..think of rice cooker. I think rice cooker maybe abit too small bah. 3 tier at least leave 1 tier for steaming the bottles more hygienic? Hahaha

loomi,

Technically, if you intend to give birth in Japan, then I guess you might not be eligible for the scheme. Anyway, for 1st baby, you only get $3k cash spread thru 4 payments within 18 months.

Who is eligible for the Baby Bonus Scheme?
A child is eligible if he or she is:
a. born on or after 1 August 20041;
b. a Singapore Citizen or becomes a Singapore Citizen;
c. the first to the fourth child born alive to the mother2; and
d. the mother is lawfully married to the child's father.

I still planning to go Tokyo esp Mount Fuji. Aiyah, still got alot places I want to visit.

felval- so nice! but true tat since ur hb nt ard often, stay near parents is reali a plus point =) for me, i stay in b/t my parents n ILs. hahah.. hb says lidat the fairest liao.
u r so xin fu! keke.. i stil doin the majority of the hsewrk up til nw. like washin the toilets, clothes, ironing, etc. my hb only i/c of vaccum n mop! nw he sees me so xin ku goten squat to wash the toilet, he wanted to take over but hor i see him do, i rather do myself leh. haha

loomi- wah so nice can get 6wks ML prior to delivery!

wah i tink im the most lazy preggy.. hehe.. i nv do hsewk leh.. mainly is bcos im living wif in laws den my MIL will help mi wash my clothes except my bras & panties will haf to do it myself.. other den dat she will wash for mi..
den my room i used to clean my room every week but ever since im preg my poor hubby will do it.. hehe.. my mum keep tellin mi muz help out even though im preg but i told her nt dat i dun is my hubby dun let.. but nvm lah.. in another 2mths later i will b the one doin le.. cos i c my hubby do like so ke lian.. haha..

Hi May Mummies,

I am from April mummies thread, if anyone of u need referral for cordlife sign-up for ur bb, please pm me.

I just signed up with them in late february.

Hi icebaby and Kalcqi, thanks for the welcome :)

also, jaspire for the update :)

you ladies are really young !!! i am 39 and this is my 1st child !!! i married at 37, enjoyed life first then settle down... but have to go for this test , that test...

loomi, i also put on weight very fast, 13 kg in 24 weeks, some ladies only put on 7 or 8 kg ,very scary..i also scare will get diabetes so now trying to control not to eat too much....i am actually in aussie but i would like to give birth in sg, i trust the gynea in sg more !! haha!also, hope to get the $3K baby bonus to subsidize for the hospital bills...as long as the mother is singaporean and the child is singapore citizen and born in sg , should be able to get the bonus i hope...

how would the govt know that im giving birth to my second child?

any idea what would be in the bonus scheme for 2nd-time mother?