(2008/05) May 2008

sparks, i dun find myself getting more absent-minded during pregnancy, but then it could be that i was already absent-minded by nature even before pregnancy

tracy, perhaps you can try sucking on ice cubes to help relieve your pain? i did that when my wisdom tooth came out..

had a super bab dream that hubby kept a mistress, and i posted abt it here on this forum.. hiaz i must be way too bothered with how fat and stumpy i look now. went shopping yesterday and saw many preggy ladies, but they all look slim slim, just big tummy. i look so fat, esp around my butt and thighs

Lynn,
thx, ya tried the ice cube thing but only temp relieve.

aiyo...our hb will appreciate us sacrificing our figure for our child. dun 'hu si luan xiang'..

Jer,
2 weeks??!! today is only my 4th day! Siao liao lah..

yesterday went for 1st lesson with mrs wong... she's so humorous..hahahaha.... i enjoy her class... i lauff until i nearly cry... hahahahaa.... it's good to educate hubby!

hey gals.. morning..
can i ask hor.. for those who wanna breast feed.. after ur maternity leave.. n u go back to wk.. hw to continue breast feed huh?
also hw we noe when we shld stop breastfeeding?

Hi Moony,
Morning! Breastfeeding at work can be quite a hassle. I bring my avent manual pump to work everyday, i leave a container and sterilizing tablets at workplace to sterilize my pump after every use. Then i bring a fridge-to-go cooler bag to transport my milk home.

I'm lucky my office has a nursing room and fridge. My colic brought the pigeon travel sterilizer to the office when she was still breastfeeding and leave the sterilizer there. I'll prob do the same next time.

When to stop breastfeeding is up to us. The last time i decided to stop at 6mths, cos it was difficult for me to pump at work. i had to go out for appts so my pumping schedule goes haywire. Otherwise I could ve continued..

tracy, dat means everytime u pump liao u store in bottles den put into the fridge-to-go den u put in ur office fridge? only when u off wk den u bring hm? or u pump liao u can bring hm liao?

Good morning ladies...

Tracy,
Ya 2 weeks, no choice, jus have to tahan.

Moony,
Like what Tracy said have to pump during working hours lor. As for when to stop breastfeeding, if can continue as long as you can then that will be good. Used to know a colleague who breastfeed when her child is going to be 4 years old.

moony,

welcome. Yes engorement can be painful. It will happen when you dun pump the milk out. If that happens, is either you pump your milk out or use warm cloth and cover your breast. If i never remember wrongly, some will use cook cabbage leaves.

If you want to stop bf, dont just stop immdidate leh. you can pump lesser each day, then your body will know that the demand is lesser, then the supply will slowly drop by itself. This way, you will not suffer from engorgement liao.

Lynn, ^5.You are not the only one. I just visited my gynae last Sat. I put on 3kg within a month, which I usu. put on 1kg per month during pregnancy. My gynae asked me to control my diet and lessen my carbo intake. Me too saw lotsa preggy with only big tummy and no flabby arms nor big hips.
Somemore, my tummy not very big, so sometimes I dun really look pregnant even I'm 23 weeks now. *Sobz* During my family gathering, all my aunties are telling me not to eat so much.

for me i hope to extend my ML to 6 months (provided i can afford it financially) and then BF for the 6 months. after going back to work guess will have to stop liao, cos no nursing room in the school and can't imagine having to pump in the toilet leh

gina, for me my tummy is very big, people keep saying i look bigger than my current 24 weeks, so depressing! cos my baby should be normal-sized duing my last detailed scan, meaning that the rest of the tummy is mine alone! now craving sweet stuff, esp ice-cream, sure die

i am quite concerned abt baby's position, i read books saying baby should be above navel position now but i still feel her kicking/moving abt quite low. the last detailed scan there was a comment that the placenta was slightly low, but my dr said no cause for concern. it should shift up but now still below, so a bit worried. especially my colleague who is in hospital on complete bed-rest (since 10 weeks to her EDD) had a low-lying placenta suddenly bled badly.

lynn,

i asked dr abt the bb kicking low, he said have to depend on what is the position of the bb. if bb head is at our navel position n leg at lower oart of out body, then when he kicks, meaning we can feel he kicking a bit low, he said is ok...

ya i oso asked my gynae on this.. she said no concern as bb will move anywhere.. but ever my last visit n i complain to gynae on my bb kicks low, he seems to kick slightly above my navel liao.. haha.. guessed he noe im complaining abt him..

moony, jer
Try to avoid using raw cabbage leaves as i heard it can reduce ss one lor. I dunno how true lar.
but then for me if engorge, i used hot/warm towel to massage lor. after that pump out lor. else realli when feel breast realli hv the hard hard thing like stone inside de. pain also. then also when press milk will come out.

Oh for Bf-ing mommy, rem rem to buy nursing pad hor. aiyoooo can be wet within few hrs one leh. i Rem once i went down to salon to wash hair leh, oni a short while leh, then i din put nursing pad leh. aiyooo my tee shirt ard breast there got wet. sooo malu. lucky just my hse downstairs nia.

lynn, dun worry too much. If your DR said not to worry, probably it's not that serious. I had that too earlier but it shifted upwards. Did you DR advise you to abstain from sex? Try not to squat too much.

I have the craving for ice-cream too. Every other day, I'll be treating myself ice-cream. That's why my weight increase that much. Now, I'm refraining myself from eating too much ice-cream and pasta.

Some of the nursing pads sold are washable.

We do not need to worry about the position of our babies as they are still growing. If by 36 weeks, they are still in the head-up position, then they cannot be born through normal delivery.

My girl was at the head-up position when we went for scanning. Her mouth was opening and closing like she's talking or munching. Sooo cute. She weighed 583gm then.

Before I forget, dun take the medication to stop breast milk. I took twice (1st and 2nd after babies), I didn't know it will make the breast "smaller".

Now at 26 weeks, as of yesterday's weighing machine, I put on almost 9kg. I very very sad.

You can buy washable ones, but was told not so absorbant. But if you are at home, it's a cheaper source than buying those disposable ones.

Me too. I didn't take any med. to stop bf, my breast also become one cup smaller. Mrs Wong did warm me to do breast exercise before giving birth & during bf, or else the breast will get smaller. Regretted.

So now having 2nd one, if I can remember I always do the exercise Mrs Wong teach me, hope it can remain or increase by one size bigger after birth & bf.

wow.. sounds like BF is not easy... I went to see my hubby's friend's baby on Sat. Then his wife also BF-ing, she said she got a consultant to help her out in the 1st month. The consultant taught her different ways and make sure that she can do it before leaving. Think I must prepare a list of questions for her when I BF then no need to get consultant. Haha..

Anyway, still waiting to see my gynae.. Such a long wait man..

I'm attending antenatal class this Wed. Hope it will be interesting. I'm going to start on my bird's nest too. Anyone here eating bird's nest?

Dearie_e,

what sort of exercise? Care to share?

I know when I was pregnant with my 1st two kids, my size went all the way up to 38C (I think is C...cos I had to borrow my MIL's bra...hahaha...and it fitted very nicely). THen after I took the medication, it shrunk. My niece told me, she remember me abit more busty one. But my hubby say that at least I not flat like "runway" <-- damn cruel hor!!!

Now...my bust size hasn't change very much...I think became abit bigger lah but not so big still. I wonder how zoey tay kept her "size"!

By the way, have you girls started any pre-natal massage or thinking of whom to hire for post-natal massage?

dearie,

same as icebaby, wanna ask u how to do the excercise. I also hope it can remain or go bigger after bf. I always wonder how come other mums so lucky can have bigger boobs even after bf then for me, why smaller. haha..

Hey mummies, now i've cravings for durian le... how ah...?! terrible la! I think we can't take too many right? Any MTB having the same 'taste'?
and agony?

hi light2spark,

same! i have craving for durians. =P

but i only allow myself to eat once per week. and ho, i have cravings for chicken wings every meal lo.

yo all mummies,

tt day went Shen Kwong Trading @ 269 Queen St #01-246 to take a look after reading the recommendation.

the baby items are really cheap. i got 2 big red plastic bags of items for $104 only.

so, thx u mummies for recommending this place to me. =)

durians are suppose to be good for baby as alot of "protein". That's what i heard.
But problem is, can gain weight very easily. Heehee..I think maybe I had took durians often this time around...sigh..that's why I put on weight.

WishComeTrue... good lor.. I cannot even have one seed! Angry! Suddenly, so many ppl say this cannot eat la that cannot eat la... and the funny thing, cannot even touch Chix Wing.. saying it's toxic and poisionous... alamak! Wanna faint le..