(2008/05) May 2008

hi tracy,

oic, is nepia an in-hse brand coz nv hear of it and pureen b4.

think pureen is orange in color one (if dun rem wrongly). but i nv bother to take dwn the price la coz it doesnt catch my eyes. hehehe.

hi icebaby,

ehhee. ok la. only search diapers fast nia. u see me, havent decide on which manual pump to use lo. havent search which milk bottle to use lo. alot of things havent do le.

btw, i understand there are glass and plastic milk bottles, so most of u mummies using plastic one or glass one? i read it in an article (forget which) that glass is better? true? but fragile le...

Felval,

I bought one Minnie plastic milk bottle and my aunty is passing me her milk bottles. Think it's also plastic.

Btw, my aunt advised me to wash all baby clothes and cloth diapers (new & hand-down) first, then keep. She said this way, it'll not cause any skin irritation to our precious little ones. My kolic told me to buy detergent which is meant for babies to wash all those stuff.

felval, so ur mum will help you wash the cloth diaper too? my MIL say say only lah. she is not going to help me look after the baby. so end up still i am the one washing... so to save myself trouble. i think i still stick with the disposable one.

u intend to let bb sleep in air con room? i heard that bb especially new born better don let them sleep with air con, coz no good to their lung..

piggy_mummy,

I dun intend to let my girl sleep in air-con room. I'm afraid that she'll be like me, having sensitive nose. I guess I'll just have the fan on but not blowing directly at us.

Ask you ladies abt baby detergent, the powder type versus the liquid ones. I'm currently using the baby detergent powder $7.50+ for a small pack (to wash my pet beddings and stuff cos they have sensitive skin). although it's quite expensive but each amchine load only need to use a small scoop, really removes odours very well.

i was checking out the baby liquid detergent and although it seems cheaper, but from the instructions seems like need to use quite a lot for one machine load. any mummies have experience using baby liquid detergent? can i check how long (how many machine loads) the liquid detergent can last?

piggy mummy and gina, i hope my baby can sleep in room with fan, but then May is such a HOT month even adults cannot tahan leh. cos i see my baby niece, even now at night while everybody's feeling quite cool she can be hot and sweaty cos she's crawling abt everywhere. she'll get irritated if she's hot and the aircon's not on leh.. if my baby's like me, will need humidifier in aircon room, if not skin will be evry dry.

gina, regarding hand-me-down milk bottles, my sis also dun wan to give me cos she said milk bottles must replace regularly, cannot pass to me. infact, she's already changing my niece's milk bottles (my niece is 11 months old) after she read the report on Bisphenol-A and then saw the manufacturer's recommendation to change bottles regularly to prevent that. she's using avent, not Bisphenol-A free plastic.

hi piggy_mummy,

oic. maybe i moutain tortoise coz to me its raltively unheard of lo, only know the 4 more popular brands and tts why when i resreach on the prices i always base the pricing on these 4 brands =P

hi icebaby and gina,

i saw the glass bottle at kiddy palace. hubby and myself was shocked to know they have glass bottles so if u intend to train ur kids to hold their own bottles then its really dangerous like u say la. u know la, kids like to throw things, scally they throw the glass bottles then we got to clean up the broken glass and buy many new bottles liao lo. hehehe. but then ho, they say plastic bottles cant use too long like those plastic bottles we adults use to hold our plain water, its not gd to use them for long. but i think, practical reason will go for plastic one la.

oh ya, how u all sterilise the bottles ah? sterilise them in boiling water (my mum does this) or other methods?

hi yanling,

ya! she says one la and i trust her.hehehe.coz ho, till nw even ho i have my own hse n washing machines, all those clothes tt need hand wash i will pass to her to hand wash lo and she nv complains la. =P i very bad lo..i take advantage of my own mum.hehehe. anyway, my mum helping me in the day, at nite she wans me to look aft myself lo and i am fine with it, so is hubby.

btw, those mummies who have mums and mil to help look aft the kids, do u give them some allowances for helping out?

hi piggy_mummy,

ya. i heard let bb slp in aircon room nt gd and it will becum a bad habit to them so when they grow up cant do without aircon. like a colleague of mine, his daughter 3yrs old le, if she dun slp in aircon room she will cry and make a fuss and refuse to slp. so i will use fan instead unless really hot la, in this case dun let the aircon blow directly at the bb.

lynn,

may b u can try to on the air con b4 that,let the room temp cool down, n then use fan after that..ya, May is hot weather..but i think i still can tahan, don know bb can stand the hot weather or not..

i remembered every year during the hot months i'll hide in my room, even midnight come out into the living room also cannot tahan cos so hot (my house gets the evening sun so maybe that's why it's so bad).. at night can feel the bedroom walls radiating heat!

hope this year May won't be so hot if not will be so uncomfortable for me (in confinement) and my baby *keeping fingers crossed*

Hi piggy_mummy,

For my #1, we did on air-con cos when he was born, the weather was like so hot. Initially I on fan but not blowing directly but my mil very kiasu, she wrap my baby with 2 layer of blankets, even wear hat at home lor, then baby keep crying and his whole face was like super red! I told her my concern then she was like kk then dun wrap so tight but still with 2 layer of blanket then fil see baby, he heart pain, told my mil off then we switch on the air-con but the temp is abt 25-26 degree but we stop using the air-con when the weather got better and when my confinement over cos can use fan to blow directly. Personally, I dun like to use air-con, even if hubby wan to use, when he fall asleep le I will switch-off aircon cos dun like the dry feeling in my nose when using air-con.

Hi Lynn,

I used the liquid kind of detergent for #1 but then hor dunno how much used as i used to stay my in laws which their maid will help to wash baby stuffs.

icebaby,
will consider going another GP if not well after i finish this course of meds. :S

piggy_mummy,
For my gal, when newborn she had to have aircon otherwise she kept crying so bo bian. So this next one I will also train to be air-con so we can all sleep together in one room.

For bottles, I also think beta to get new ones due to the reasons jaspire said. Although Avent is not BPA free, just change the bottles regularly should be ok liao. I make a point to change my gal's avent bottles every baby fair.

Lynn,
Mine is front load machine so only can use Pigeon washing powder. Works well for me, can last quite long but dun have the nice Kodomo smell lor. I like Kodomo for its smell but can't use for front load machines.

Moony,
eh, ya leh, shld use baby detergent for baby clothes cos they ve sensitive skin.

I have a GRaco Stroller used only 3x for sale. Am also giving away a FREE Chicco Car seat along with this. Pls see website for pix and details.

Pls email me at [email protected] or sms me at 9489 9008 for a fast and great deal!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/climbabe/

oh.. aiyo i dunno leh.. more things to add in my list liao.. dunno my MIL will find me troublesome anot..

anyway ytd, my hubby told my MIL dat i cannot breathe n headache once i smell smoke.. den my MIL said y dun tell her earlier den she can scold my FIL.. den true enuf leh.. when my FIL come back, he only smoke once in the kitchen n for the rest of the nite he nv smoke liao.. my hubby said he heard my MIL told my FIL nt to smoke in living room.. ;P hopefully dis carry on for long..

i also using the Pigeon washing powder, i think it smells quite good leh
Kodomo has powder detergent too? I tot only saw the liquid one..

Moony, baby detergent is not only good for baby's sensitive skin, but it also can remove odours more effectively. like my doggy's odours it removes them and replaces it with a fresh clean detergent smell, but if i use normal detergent the doffy smell mixed with detergent smell is quite gross leh..

moony,
good for you! at least your FIL now won't bother you with his smoke!

Lynn,
Kodomo no powder, only liquid type..

baby detergent--try not use so much, coz don let bb expose to too much chemical. like bb bath shampoo n body wash, try not to use so much, may b sometime can bath bb w/o any shampoo or body wash..

Jaspire & Lynn,
Thanks for the info. I need to buy new milk bottles then. Do you ladies have any idea what sizes to buy? I saw in the market, there is a variety of sizes. Is 3 bottles enough, one for plain water & 2 different sizes for milk?

Felval,
For sterilising of bottles, you can either use boiling water or sterilising tablets. However, I think boiling water is better. Regarding the air-con, I totally agree with you. My cousins (one is 3 yrs old & the other is abt 5 yrs old) cannot sleep without air-con. Therefore, my aunt's SP bill is quite high. But she always set the temp. at 25 deg C only, she said this way the elect. bill is lower.

For my case, I think I have to stick to the fan and keep my place spick-and-span. I have checked with specialist before on my sensitive nose. I was advised that it's hereditary. My mom had sensitive skin. My nose is sensitive to dust and sudden change of temperature. My skin and eyes are sensitive to dust. At certain view of angle, I can escape from spring-cleaning. Keke...

i cannot slp without aircon leh.. ;( den my MIL say when i confinement let mi on aircon but cannot so low.. ;( den i oso scare bb nxt time no aircon cannot slp..

Jaspire,
Sorry for the late reply. Cos yesterday last min was told to attend company dinner, had to dress up. I have no nice shoes, ended up wearing heels, now paying for my vainity with leg pain loh.

Yaloh, Dual pump is 799 and will never be on discount one. Haiz, but I read from one thread can rent from Avent. But I dunno how long they allow for renting. Keke, If can I wanna rent for 6 mths, cos I only intend to BF for 6 mths only. But of cos provided that I have the milk production also lah... Some ppl's milk flow stop after 2 mths. I hope mine will not be the case.

Any of you ladies always experience pain and backache together, esp at the right side? I find that I experience such pain especially after meal.

Gina,
Milk bottles, my friend advise me to get only 1 small for water and the rest in big size, cos after 3 mths, usually most babies will consume more than 6oz of milk, so the smaller bottles all no use already. So just get 1-2 small bottles will do.

It'll also depend on how frequently you intend to wash and steralize the bottles. I used to have a church friend who brought 13 bottles. 11 for milk and 2 for water. Cos the mum only wash the bottle at night. Cos she fear that frequent washing, her hands gets very dry and crack.

i agree with kelcqi, my sis also ask me to buy the bigger bottles cos the smallr bottles will be of no use very soon..

kelcqi, 11 milk bottles? baby will take 11 feeds in one day meh? even if feed every 3 hourly also no need 11 feeds leh..

WCT,

You can buy a sterilizer or use the old method of a pot to boil.

For me, I intend to boil and then get a good tupperware to store. Cos my old sterilizer katput after so many years. hahaha

Lynn,

small bottles are good for the begining. Maybe buy 1 or 2 is sufficient. But important is the teat. Must be able to suit the baby. Cos for me, my 2nd boy had a hard time with the normal teat. End up we saw gerber has this cute small bottle with small teat. He drank much better with it but after like 2-4 weeks (can't remember), he could start using the normal teats.

Also baby can take quite a few feeds a day. Both my kids in the begining was drinking every 3 hrs..so makes it around 8 times at least.

As for aircon, optional lah. As long as you cover your kids well. Remember, the more you prevent, the more you prevent your kids' immunity. That's what my belief in lah. But anyway, I dun really sleep in aircon...only on like 5-10mins every night then sleep liao.

icebaby,
i agree about the teats. my gal also initially had to use Nuk teats and bottles then only like 2 mths later then she accepted the Avent ones.

You're lucky both your kids drank 3hrly in the beginning. For the first 2 months, my gal drank 2hrly!! I had soooo little rest then.

Hi icebaby,

my belief same as you. Over-protective sometimes also not good cos kids are not building up the immunity. I have a cousin who is much older than me, she was so over-protective towards her kids and everyday must eat multiple of vitamins and it backfire. Her kids immunity system were very weak, they get sick very easily and she spends a lot on medication and the best part, when one kid is sick the rest will follow suit. Her kids immunity system only got better when they are in secondary school.

I'm oso interested in how to choose a teat. I bought one (the smallest one) from I think, it's Tollyjoy, it's said to be anti-wind. But I have no idea how good it is gonna be or if my baby can get used to it.

Being over-protective definitely is not good for us parents and the kids. We can just bring up our kids the way we were brought up, except the education part. It has changed so much compared to my secondary days.

Felval, Gina,
Unfortunately for the teats its also a trial and error thing. I tot Avent would be ok so I stocked up on it, but who's to know, my gal rejected the Avent teat. So during my confinement I had to get my fren to help me buy Nuk bottles and teats. I was sure she could accept Nuk cos in TMC they used Nuk on her for her FM feeds and it was ok.

I have another qn. How often do we have to change the teats? When we buy new milk bottles, they usu. are included. I bought the teats bcos I tot I'll be using the hand-down milk bottles.

moony,
its okie lah, majority of kids can accept Avent. if not you can always use the Avent bottles to store your breastmilk.

Gina,
I normally change the teats when it discolours, ie turn yellowish or when it gets sticky.

tracy, oh okok.. haiz.. hopefuly my boy can accept avent.. if nt i sure sianz.. cos i like avent.. my MIL said the hole too small say muz cut.. i can tell her cannot cut.. ;P

baby makes the choice on teats. Nothing we can do but trial and error. =)

But I normally use pigeon as its easy to find at NTUC when I need a replacement. And it works well with any disney or tollyjoy bottles. =)

~~hw to decide or choose a teat~~

I think is more on baby decision ba.. haha. Like what Tracy said trial and error for this. The first teat that I used for #1, rejected by him. Initially also dunno why he dun want to drink or seems to have difficulty drinking his milk then my mum told me, maybe due to teat then the next thing I know, she went out and bought various kind for him to try. The rest that he reject it, we just kept and let him use at a later stage.

I also dunno how to choose the teats leh. Maybe we buy a variety? Then every feed give baby different one?

Lynn, my friend said baby feed varies. Sometimes less than 3 hrs they will get hungry already. Sometimes they overslept their hunger. So she said she have 11 bottles. At first she only bought 6, but 1 week later she said not enough cos she finds it a hassle to wash so frequently. Esp she have those storage bottles for BM and she said alot of things to wash.

I heard her story I also dunno how many bottles and storage bottles I should be getting. I am thinking of 6 bottles also. The most I be more hardworking to wash loh. Cos I feel that 11 bottles very wasteful leh. Or should I just buy medela pump cos I heard medela pump can fit glass bottle. Then I request for few bottles from hospital before discharge?

Yes, I heard too... now my hb has bought a few teats of different sizes and also milk bottles (pigeon).. we've bought a total of 3 small , 3 med and a4 long and fat types (Dr Brown). As for milk bottles, my sis asked for 7 bottles of ENfa A+ before she discharge. So I think I will asked some when i discharge in case, bb didn't get enough to drink....

I've been experiencing loss memory or even forgetful at times during work. my boss said... preggy la! did any mums find themselves having the same symptoms? I heard my mum said during our confinement we must 'PU' back our 'loss of brain cells' too. Otherwise, then we tend to be forgetful always.... any truth in it?

For the teats, my fren told me that we may need to try different teat so dun buy too much at a time. Give bb different teat a week so that bb will not get confuse & be easier to determine which bb like. As for the bottles, 1 small bottle for water & 3 to 4 long bottles will do because small one use only for a while then we need to change to long type le, so dun ned to buy so much. But I am still thinking of how many to buy if case they drink too much & the bottles not washed yet.

Does it mean after each drink, must steralize everytime?

Have you all start thinking for bb's name? Been surfing the net for names but couldn't find what I like...

Sparks, yes.. I been facing this too. Not forgeting the things to do but forgeting where did I place my things like my water tumble, handphone, purse, stationary, etc... Sometime still need to recall have I taken my calcium pill after lunch... i think sometime I might took 2 pills on that day...

for my gal earlier i also had about 6x 120ml bottles cos each time the avent sterilizer can take up to 6 bottles. i didnt wanna sterilize the bottles too often cos of BPA so i bot more and 1 time sterilize all 6 together.

Sparks,
haha, if you think now u r forgetful, wait till after birth during confinement. even worse!! so my gynae still gives me DHA tablets to take after delivery to help my brain cells.

Oh, should i be expecting any DHA pills from my gynae too? But after confinement... more white hairs coming out also.. any truth?

Luvbella,
I merely went to get my bb's name calculated and choose the best one that suit him...

sparks,

For my 1st pregnancy, my memory sucked big time. I end up writing alot of things down. (But now my older son has quite a good memory)
For my 2nd pregnancy, my memory was very good. Extremely good actually. (but now my younger son...eh...abit forgetful)
For this 3rd pregnancy, so-so. Memory neither superb nor too forgetful. But still I write things down just in case.

Heehee.

As for names, I already chose my baby girl's name.

Sparks,
I tink if u r breastfeeding your gynae will continue to give u DHA pills too. For me after confinement no white hairs leh, drop hair have. The hair dropping will stop by itself. Don't worry.

Jer,
The last time how long it took for your wisdom tooth to stop causing pain?? It's sooo painful! I'm taking paracetamol 6hrly to tahan the pain but the med can only hold for 5hr so still got to bear wif pain.