(2008/05) May 2008

wow.. $22 for the kernel pillow is very ex. I get from market area cheaper leh. I think Baby hyperstore also have. Anyway, I got 1 hand down from hubby's SIL. Probably will get a bigger one.

my mummy is doing confinement for me. Hubby wanted to get CL to do it but I told me I may not be used to the food that others cook so think my mum is the best choice. Hehe..

felval, quinny buzz is $999 before disc. But hubby wants something that can recline that's why zapp is out for us.

Hi Gina,

The store is at the end of the stretch one leh. Let me explain slowly ar. there is a small road beside the shop one. So it's like coming down from the stairs from (maybe behind) the hawker / food court, cross the small road shld be able to see liao. it is hidding behind 1 more stretch of shops one.

Jen,
I also heard abt the store at bugis. My baby list inside has the address too. Its:

Shen Kwong Trading
269 Queen St #01-246

BTW hor, NTUC sells Nepia only in S/M/L/XL size. No newborn sizes. I also always wait for NTUC offer then go buy my L Nepia for my gal.

anyone use drypers b4???

i got the following prices from cold storage comparing those S sizes la. duno if i did it the correct way...

huggies 24 pcs $6.45
drypers 64 pcs $13.20
pampers 58 pcs $26.90
mamy poko 48 pcs $19.20

felval,
i tried drypers. the cutting quite tight for my gal, will leave marks on her thigh. And can't hold the urine for too long. Sometimes if you long dun change, those inside crystal jelly stuff that trap the urine will start to come out from the diaper and get on your baby's butt!

Add onto your list:

huggies 24 pcs $6.45
drypers 64 pcs $13.20
pampers 58 pcs $26.90
mamy poko 48 pcs $19.20
nepia 60pcs $15.00

hi cherimoya,

oic. my hubby says buzz too big he dun like -_-''' says size for zapp very reasonable liao. so more or less i think i sld be getting zapp, somemore i am paying for it, no $$ to spend 999 on a stroller =( $459 before 20% if i get it frm hyperstore.

hi mommies

Sorry to intrude... Im from the Jan MTB thread. I have a Ferrari Stroller to let go @ $350 (bought it for $439) used it once only during bb's full month on 12 Jan. Interested mommies, pls contact me at 9007 2223 or email me [email protected]

Condition: Almost Brand New
Reason for selling: DH's friends gave one for bb's full month and I dun need 2 strollers.

Features:

- comfortable newborn stroller
- mutiple recline positions
- suitable from birth up to 15kg
- large under basket
- removable front saftey bar
- handle height adjustable
- This is an official licensed product

1204229.jpg

hi tracy,

thx for the info!!! hehehe. i shall show this to my hubby!! hehehe. he always wanna go for the cheapest. =P but i think mayb get a small pack of few diff brands for baby to try and see which one suits him best.

at hm i intend to use niao bu le. if nt always wet then change, i will go broke =P and my mum offered to wash. hahaha. me v bad daughter ah =P

seems like drypers the cheapest among all leh!

hmmm... i dun intend to use the cloth diapers..coz i dun wan to wash the baby poo poo.. hehee...

Tracy,
ya ya thats the one lar. haha thanks.

If you order from nepia they hv NB size. but then nid to order 4pkts lar can be of different sizes lar.

wishcometrue,
You may wish to go to the shop that tracy given the address one. they do sell cheaper nappy also. compared to pigeon & other brand other they are alot cheaper lor. quality dun lose out also leh.

I used dryers wee wee for my gal for her 1st 3mths. wow sey. she got very very very bad nappy rash leh. her p part all swollen red leh. aiyoyo have to bring her see doc to get cream to apply leh. dunno is not breathable or i din chg her diaper from time to time???
but i intend to buy NB dryers for this coming gal lar. the size is just nice one leh. small small & cute cute.

choc,
i also lazy to use cloth diapers. I remember my gal when she is not 1mth old. i recorded all my diaper changing time. WOw sey. the best record is one day she poo got 10times if i din rem wrongly. wow i chg pampers until i scare ok.

hahahha. okok, looks like cloth diapers is a no-no to many mummies. i go ask my mum again if she seriously dun mind washing.hahaha.

she still have a bag of those cloth diapers and was telling me aft cny she will bring them out all to wash so can use for baby when he is at hm.

jen,

ya, i think i will go and chk out tt shop...as long as same quality or can use but cheaper hubby sure supports. hahaha =P

Jen,
I've not been to that queen st shop. have you been there? do they sell mittens n booties in bulk?

my gal gets rash when she uses pigeon wet wipes...

ya, breastfed babies tend to poo alot!

wishcometrue,
other than the cloth diaper u also nid to get the nappy liners leh. this thing also not cheap unless u dun buy pigeon those high end brand. I rem 100pcs of pigeon nappy liners cost $10 lidat. i saw the price & WOW .. of cos 100pcs & of cos afterall cheaper than diaper lar.
If you want budget nappy liner, only Msia u can get cheap one lor.

Tracy,
I been to the shop. Frankly spkg, i din notice on mitten & booties leh. hehe.

hi jen,

yaya, napper liners to line the cloth diapers rite? i sld task this to my mum since she got tons of exp on using it.hahaha. i think aft so many yrs she sld know which brand to get that is reasonable. =P

then aft tt i go chk out the rest of the nappy liners =P

wah..planning for the arrival of a baby nt easy ya? .like a big project like tt, must budget in human resource, materials, costs budget, time etc etc.hehehe

choc, you can use nanny liner on the cloth napkin. This way, you dun need to wash your baby's poo poo. You can place 2 nanny liners if you fear that it'll over-spill.

I felt that it's more economical to use the cloth napkin, esp. for breastfed babies. I'm thinking of using the cloth-napkin in the daytime and switch to diapers in the nighttime. I have bought a pack of Mamy Poko Newborn (28+2) and a pack of Pampers (58).

Tracy,
Thanks for the address. Will go find and buy some stuff for my girl.

W.C.T.
hope u dun mind call u in short hor.

ya leh. my 1st pregnancy i was very poor as i was in very bad debts with credit cards. luckily i got a good sister pay for my baby stuffs leh. she bot alot alot & never claim from me. she bot those clothings. cos 1st child in our family mah. no hand me down mah. got lar from frd but minimum else is bigger size one. then my sis buy steriliser, milk btl, etc spent her almost $300 leh. then got somemore else she also buy & never claim from me. I am hoping she can get pregnant soon as she also ttc for 3yrs liao. i can buy her back stuff or pass mine down to her.

Tracy,
i am not very sure liao leh. if i go shopping or what see got cheap mitten & booties, i inform u immed.

hi jen,

no worries. =) for a moment i was wondering who is W.C.T ehhehe. u wan call me felval also can =P

ic. hope ur bad debts days are over. for me, coz we just gt married this yr with a high reno loan (46k!!) so my hubby feels more pressurized when it comes to money. he is hoping we can clear it by next yr end la. tts why if possible he wans to get things cheap and yet gd.

another reason is coz his parents rely on him financially lo so frm young he is those jin-ta-ji-suan person...if u ask me gd n bad la. certain things i feel can cut dwn certain things i feel cant lo.

but we came to a conclusion tt he will serve the reno loan while i took care of the baby's expenses la, for example buying pram all these. also, i kept my bonus this yr instead of spending it on branded bags so i told him i will take care of the baby aspects lo.

like u, i am the eldest so no hand-me-dwns as well. only those tt my mum kept when she was looking aft my younger cousins many many yrs back (imagine hw long tat was already, v surprised she still keep some of the things, no wonder my dad call her garang guni woman. haha).

for me, i am spoilt rotten la. hehehe. always wan new things, gd things. but i think being a soon to be mum does change my mindset abit. like less shopping for me so tt i can keep the $$ and spend it on baby, etc =)

i dunno where to buy cheap cloth diapers leh.. cos those i saw @ isetan or anywhere else is soo ex.. anyway ive bought quite a number of mittens & booties haha

W.C.T <-- i find this cute! =P

Anyway, I guess each family have their way of allocating their funds. For me, from the time we got married, I also ensure that we have a joint a/c. So payments for everything comes from there...except allowance for parents (either side). I force hubby to put in part of his bonus cos he got the habit to spending everything he owns. While I keep my bonus and park it for future savings. It's easier to do that way. Less problems for us too.

For purchasing baby stuff, like some of u, when I was preggy with the 1st. My hubby lost his job and was jobless for 10 months. So during that period, my in-laws paid for most of the things. They wanted to anyway...cos it's their only grandson/child. With the 2nd, financially was tight cos my in-laws demanded that we had a 2nd maid. So they paid for the maid's salary while we dealt with the maid levy which dug into our savings.

But i think till now i still have the habit of saving. So most of my things, like my cot (also a hand me down), high chaire, playpen &amp; maternity clothes which I lend to my niece will be returned to us. My other niece will be pass her son's baby clothes (those unisex). So ultimately, can save alot of money. But haiz...this one is baby girl. I am SOOOOOOOO tempted to join sprees in buy OLD NAVY and GAP stuff. Hahaha. But I watching myself. Say dun buy, see how 1st. Dun end up buying things for the fun of it. =P

piggy_mummy,

I think all hospital will have their own feeding bottles. If you wish, I think you can bring ur own and ask them to use urs instead. (Cos I think they also use then dispose those teats).

hi moony,

i wonder if giant is anywhere cheaper nt.later i sld be dropping by at giant (coz hubby wan go). see if i can copy dwn the prices and upload n share them with u all 2ml =)

hi icebaby,

for us we had a joint acc that was set up initially for our wedding n hse stuffs la....the left over suppose to be our joint savings for the rainy days but since i gt preg, hubby suggest we turn it into a baby fund to buy watever we need for the baby la. but i wan to keep that as a saving acc for baby (so that when he grows up in future, he can take over this amt and start saving frm there) while monthly we each contribute another amt for the baby fund.

but hubby dun wan so ok lo. listen to him lo. hmm..mayb i sld go ask him to get his buddy to give us some hand-me-dwn as my mummy told me too, baby grows v fast within a mth so no nd to buy too many new clothes.

when it comes to this, think i better listen to those with exp =P

W.C.T

Hahaha. I those kind that dun like to spend unnecessarily lor.
Our joint a/c remains for all sorts of expenses and it includes savings for our kids' future/current education and our retirement. But ang pows for kids goes to another bank a/c.

I tell u when I had my 2nd kid, I told hubby, I NOT going to open another bank a/c for 2nd kid. Cos i think it's very unfair that later both ask, "why i have different amount from kor kor or di di?" So I have only 1 a/c for my kids. When they grow abit older, I will divide it equally and give them back.

I seperate them clearly. But most a/cs have my name so I manage the a/c. Hahaha.

As for those who want to use cloth diapers and normal diapers, got good and bad points lah. Cloth diapers cheaper but u spend alot of time washing and drying. Of course, normal diapers more ex, but save you the time of washing and drying. =) If you got someone to help, then maybe us cloth diapers. But I do feel cloth diapers is better as it really "airs" the buttocks. =P

I tried sealer newborn 3-4 yrs ago (as that time only got Fitti, pampers which had newborn diapers) as it was the cheapest. It's not bad. But now, i dun know quality. I might go shop around and see which is the cheapest cos I dun believe in spending too much on newborn diapers as within few weeks, baby grow big enough to fit S size liao. =)

felval,
ya every young couple have our loans.. haiz. either housing loan or reno loan or car loan. endless debts lar.
luckily all my debts are cleared. cos all are credit card debts &amp; i din let hb knw i owed money cos he sure screwed me upside dwn as he is a regular &amp; they cant have debts with bank. but i dun understand i not regular leh. whats has it got to do with army?? siao..so every yr end he ask me clear all my debts one. which i aldy learnt my lesson nvr dare to swipe w/o paying liao lar. haha

baby thing are not cheap. for pram/stroller u might wish to consider cheong choon that i told u? there shld be their no if u check online. they are wholesale so thing are cheaper. quote an example. actually i wanted to buy Haniem(sp) baby pram outside selling $169. but she oni sell $150 if i am not wrong. save abit abit add up can save alot one leh. even the pigeon milk btl i buy outside $8+ she sell oni $5 or $6 lor.

me just collected my bumwear pocket diapers (and prefolds) from BP last night. so totally in love with how cute they look

actually if MIL or maid can help out, cloth diapering is more economical and better for babies' bottoms leh. that's why i want to buy, even if lazy to wash everyday or can't dry in time can alternate with disposable diapers. it'll really be quite expensive changing up to like 8 diapers daily for a newborn leh. worse if baby's butt is sensitive and can only take pampers, and plus diaper creams etc..

Jen,

In army (or govt), they check on spouses and family background. So ultimately, it does affect him. No offence. Cos in my current co. because got govt project, they also check on background (for security) before they accept you into the company.

I was lucky when come to stroller. Had 2 hand me downs, then recently a gf of mine also giving me a hand me down (I think its a good brand but damn heavy).

And I agree with u that all couples have their loans. Esp young couples. We all have our home loans (thank goodness for CPF), reno loan and other misc loans. I am thankful that for my family we have no car loan (as we downgraded to off-peak car...cheaper) and no reno loan (cos our reno for our new flat only cost us $11k as I did the basics necessary only).

Lynn, i agree... esp it lessen the chance of causing diaper rash. Dats why i bought alot... hope to go full-time cloth diapering. My baby is a gal, so want her buttocks to be mei mei (rash free)... hee. And really think will save alot loh. Also, using terry wool is easier to wash off poo etc then the normal cloth diapers.

Hey jaspire and lynn, which brands your all using? I also feel like buying cloth diapers since my mum thinks that it's better also. But she is currently using the normal cloth diapers for my nephew.

My mIL suggest ot use cloth diaper during the day and pampers at nite so tat the baby won't wake so often cos of changing diaper. maybe you all can consider this option?
but personally i will use pampers only hehehe. i hate washing!

cheri, me and jaspire bought from Bumwear (can see the link at the top of this page)..

me bought the pocket diapers cos want to try cloth diapering, plus they're really super cute! but i also bought the prefolds from Bumwear (no need to fold like the traditional diapers) cos i know i'll be lazy to flold those traditional diapers.

thanx..

if i got hand me down cloth diaper, izzit ok to use? (hygiene purpose)..

so far the hand me down items i got are breast pump and some 9 oz new feeding bottle and some NB clothes

hi gals, read tat u all talkin abt cloth diapers. my mum insisted on usin tat too n wil ask the maid to help wash. she has the mindset tat bb wear diapers wil hv rashes easily. since she is helpin me w confinemt, shall jus listen to her. i am lucky in a sense i got alot of passdwns! hee.. frm clothes to sterilizer to breast pump, milk botls, stroller, playpen, walker, even bf support pillow n play gym! reali help me save alot! the only big thing to buy is the car seat.

HI All,

I would like to sell my Almost Brand New Avent Single Electric Breast pump (Used Only Once) together with a box of Brand New (Sealed) 10 Breastmilk Containers.
Retail Price :- abt $300/-

Here's the link:-
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF292_01.asp#features

I am willing to let go @ $220/-

I am Selling because my friend gave me her Dual Breast pump which I am using comfortably.

Interested parties, Please contact me at [email protected]. We will link up from there.

sigh, i've been having this painful throat and cough since 1st Jan! went to see the GP for the 3rd time yesterday and he gave me the same meds again to repeat. sianz...I also lost my voice. drinking 1.8litre of water and resting doesn't help at all too! think need antibiotics which the GP refuse to give..

and worse of all my upper left wisdom tooth decides to sprout out now. Last night couldn't sleep well, woke up at 330am cos tooth was throbbing, only slept at 430am again. Now i know why my gal gets so cranky at night whenever she's teething. It's that pain...

Good morning ladies...

Hi Tracy,

My wisdom tooth sprout out during my first pregnancy and now. First one was at the bottom left which i had removed it and this time round is my bottom right. Can understand how you feel. You may gaggle salt water to stop the swelling and pain. That's what my dentist told during my first pregnancy as that is the safest way for preggies like us. This time round i did the same and the pain had since stopped.

morning all

yest went Giant and managed to compare some prices:

Huggies: 24 pcs $4.99
Dryper: 64 pcs $13.04
Mamy Poko 48 pcs $16.80

Didnt see Pampers on the shelves and i nv ask the staffs if there is any more stocks.

Didnt see nepia too. But i did see another brand pureen.

Jer,
aiyo, you also got the wisdom tooth thingy? Ya, i do gargle with salt water when I'm at home to relieve my sore throat as well.

Wish I can have it extracted or something but can't, cos I got heart murmur so everytime I need to go dentist to extract tooth, I need to take a large amount of antibiotics before and after the procedure. So now preggy...cannot do it.

Felval,
Nepia only available at NTUC. Isetan supermarket also has but more ex.

Pureen is it the one that is very colorful? I think I tried once. Not good..can't hold urine for long. I gotta change very often so end up not so cheap after all.

tracy,

Change a GP lah. If the GP's medication isn't helping, try another one.

For me, I tried taking Dr Adrian's medication to stop my cough spams, sore throat, etc...didn't work. Went to the GP twice and finally got it solved.

WTC,

So fast search diapers' price. Hmmm...I still haven't start yet. hahaha

Hi Tracy,

Ya now we pregnant cannot extract wisdom tooth so only can bear, i will wake up during the night too when i sleep, at that time when my gum swell and pain, cannot even close my mouth completely. I dunno why 2 time preggy, 2 times the wisdom tooth sprout out and is extremely pain. Told my hubby maybe due to hormones changes then tigger the wisdom tooth to sprout.. haha.

hi yanling,

yaya, my mum will use the cloth diapers in the day when at hm, then at nite she will use diapers. better lo, since diapers better absorbing rate. =P

my wisdom tooth oso start to ache.. but i ignore.. cos i noe preg cant go extract.. ;P but mine so far is still bearable.. hehe..
so happy to day is fri.. tomolo early morning im goin for my checkup again.. can c my bb soon..

hi ant1712,

envy u lo! i have to buy most of the things unless my mum can dig out anything useful from that storeroom / cupboard of hers. think i am gg to spend alot liao, lucky me got save..hhehehe