(2008/05) May 2008

Hi morning to all, went back home after lunch yesterday cos feeling tired. Didn't sleep very well recently, don't know why sometimes will wake up in the middle of the night and hard to fall back to sleep again. Then will get hungry and baby will starting moving and kicking. Makes it even harder to sleep. This morning also the same thing, tired..

Anyway, you all so fast buy breast pump already? My sister wanted to pass me but it's still with my cousin, then my hubby's SIL already pass it to me, BNIB one, never use before. But am considering to get electric one but see how after i give birth, if manual one too much work then maybe get electric one. Hopefully will have BM.

Hi moony, I not sure if the massage lady is good but it was recommended to me by my friend's sister. Will try her out after I gave birth and see how lo.

Hi Gina, my hubby wants 4 kids lo. 1 too little, 2 not enough, 3 just nice but 4 is the best. Haha.. But seriously, not say u want then can have one so shun qi zi ran lo.

Yesterday, I went to Mothercare to see pram again. Haiz. Very tempted to buy the Orbit one. haha.. But think will look at Quinny Buzz first.

I think most of us haven pack ba... still quite early to do so. Tracy just put up the list for reference. Anyway just to add on to Tracy list, for those delivering at mt A, dun need to buy bath tub for baby as they will give u the one that they use to bath your baby during ur hospital stay, one pack of diaper and baby wipe will be provided too and toiletries, they will provide toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, shower cream and a small towel. But for mt a, you need to bring along a set of clothes and receiving blanket for the day we bring baby home.

I think for baby clothes, we can buy from those HDB shops. The clothes sold there are not bad as compared to those sold in department stores. For newborns, we probably dun need to buy too nice one as we wun bring them out too often.

I bought one set for my girl's full month. My ex-kolic & auntie are passing me some of their girl's clothes. They advised me not to buy too many as they'll outgrow very fast.

Cheri,
I too have this experience of wakng up in the middle of the night. Then I'll have problem going back to sleep. Before I knew it, my alarm starts to ring. Oh.... So tiring. Well, I guess I can take it as training for me now. When I'm taking care of my girl during the night, hopefully I'll be used to it by then.

Tracy,
Thanks for the list. It's useful for me. I'm waiting for my colleague to pass me a list of things to buy for confinement. I also need the list to check with the confinement nanny if there's anything else that I need to buy.

hi cherimoya,

Quinny Buzz ex rite? me thinking of getting Quniiy Zapp from hyperstore then get another Combi car seat to go with it.

ya, agreed baby clothes buy from HDB shop or market better cos cheaper and mostly baby stay at home and will get a lot of stains such as milk, their vomit etc. Best is if have hand down clothes. I hand down some of my baby clothes to relative, now asking them to hand it back to me.

hi moony,

ya lo. SUPER DUPER sian lo. mar going taiwan then apr he going states =(

but no choice la, its for work. have to bear with it.

so now must faster decide wat to buy, wat needs to be pack then complete all these before he flies off lo. i nt planning to drive myself and buy all these things myself lo. i wan him to play a part too =)

haiz..me super duper tired now lo. had some nitemare last nite and had a hard time going back to slp..when i finally do, i had a call from my colleague abt work...lack of slp makes me feel irritated and sleepy!!!.hehehe

wah...so fast start packing. I haven't even go collect baby clothes from my niece and unpack the luaggage of stuff passed over to me. Waiting for after CNY to open the "black box". Hahaha

For my 1st kid, someone made the beans sprouts pillow for baby. But 2nd one...no one bothered. Dunno how let.

Jaspire,

Where to buy?

I need to buy some felt blanket also. =)So to keep baby warm and wrapped up for the first month. Need to buy those nice mittens also, if not baby will scratch themselves.

I really hope my baby girl will come out with a full head of hair like my boys. Scarly bald! I sure cry one...

felval, huh.. i understand ur feeling.. sure very sianz one.. i tink u better rest more n rest well if nt its very hard on u.. i oso had nitemare last nite.. i dreamt i c-section, den my wound split.. -_-" stress.. luckily i've made up my mind to go natural..
TW, my MIL had already asked her fren to help her make a small pillow for my bb.. she very excited leh.. i tink once she noes i preg she already get her fren to help.. but its a small one.. only to put on bb's stomach.. i will b buyin another pillow, those with a dent in the middle one..

Tracy,
So fast you done with your list already. Frankly speaking, for newborn, the doctor will advise not to use bb powder and yu yi oil cause some bb will get rashes after tt. Like my 1st child. We kena scold from doctor when we bring her go see doctor when she has rashes.

I didn't use the maternity pad, I used the extra long night cotton pad when I was at TMC. I dont like their cos their is not the wing type.

I didn't bring any extra cloth for discharge. I just wear the clothes I wear when I was admitted. hee..

I suggest mommies to bring your own bb cloth & wrap for your bb to wear when discharge. Cause the one that TMC give is brand new w/o wash. I dont like the idea of my bb to wear brand new clothing without washing first, so I bring my own when I delivered my first one.

I personally like Avent bottle brush. It's better than normal sponge brush. More lasting and won't scratch your bottle. Those normal sponge brush are attached on the wire, so when the sponge lose it firmness, the wire tend to scratch your bottle.

Will be using bean sprouts pillow too. I need to buy new one as the one #1 used was hand down for many years then the pillow is not as heavy as it supposed to be.

Jaspire,
Thanks for the link. Will take a look.

I have read an acticle before, they mention it best for bb to stop wear mitten when they are 6 wks old. So bb can play with their fingers and better in math when they grow up. But dont know true or not.

Dearie_e
no lah, this list I compiled for my fren who gave birth last July.

I know the docs against the powder and oil thing, but I quite flexi on this and MIL likes to use it so I'm ok too.

Oh the tollyjoy sponge brush is on a plastic holder not wire. :D

Jaspire,
Thanks for the link. The first link offers free personalization, where you can have your baby's name sewn onto it. That's very nice.

Tracy,
Me mountain tortoise, dont know got plastic one.. haha.. maybe be'cos I always use the avent one. For the wire thingy, I was told by my MIL one. She uses it for my gal cousin then complain always spoil until she saw mine.

My MIL also like to use lot of powder and oil, in the end my gal end up in the clinic lor.. then she dont dare to use it on my gal anymore during confinement. And will always ask us can use this or that on my gal anot..

me also feel breathless sometimes, so i think is normal ba..

for bb clothes, i got some hand me down for new born, so i think i will unpack it n c what else need to buy. don think will buy too much of bb clothes, may b buy some cheap cheap one fr pasar malam or hdb store..save money..

as for stoller, quinnny very expensive leh..after discuss with husband, we din invest much on stroller coz u don know r bb wana to sit on it or not, some bb use stroller till 1 year plus then they prefer to walk..so wasted..and we choose something simple and steady stroller in stead of goes for something like detachable, like u can convert to car seat or else, coz if din attach the car seat into the stroller probably, it quite dangerous..

For those going to deliver in TMC, remember to bring your own cotton ball (U need to use it when you pass urine). TMC one super expensive. A small bag, maybe less than 20pcs, cause $2.00/pk.

icebaby,
I going to do my own confinement with the help of my maid.

Dearie_e,

For baby powder, the nurse in Mt A only said not to put at the diaper area as it will cause rashes due to mixture with baby urine. Put some on body is ok. As for yu yi oil, is it because you direct rub the oil on baby. cos for #1 when I pour the oil on my palm rub a bit on palm then i rub my hand against baby tummy which make the oil got direct contact with baby then kana scolded by my mum. She said the right way is pour some on palm, rub it on palm to "heat" it up then cup hands on baby tummy will do. She said only need to "transfer" the heat to baby tummy can liao, dun need to rub the oil on baby tummy. haha.. dunno you get what i trying to say a not.

icebaby,

my mil will help me cos most probably, i will stay at my in law place for confinement as they are helping me to take care of my #1 now and they have a maid which i put my trust in which can help out too. Will be easier for me and them if i do my confinement at their place.

Jer,
My gal skin super sensitive lor. Powder on body also cannot. As for the yu yi oil. I used the method you mentioned before on my gal, also got rashes. So in the end, didn't use any on her.

Actually I like to use it leh, cos smell good on bb.

Icebaby,

I got a confinement lady liao. since my mIL is working and my mother dun really how to cook confinement food.

as for beansprout pillow, i thot kiddy palace and those kids shop got sell? I think i will just buy from there.

Jer, the way u said is correct. that's wat my husband do for me while i have bloated tummy last time.

I always see my sister who jsut gave birth last May apply baby powder to my niece leh. but she is alrite all the time. so i guess different baby react differently bah.

Dearie_e,

oh.. icic. Did you try other brand for your gal for powder? For my boy, once he got pretty bad rashes because he cannot use kodomo products. I also dunno why. ya, yu yi oil do smell good on bb. I always refer the smell of yu yi as "baby smell".. haha.

Yanling,
same same. I asked hubby to do that too when i have bloated tummy.

Yanling, I saw the beansprout pillow selling in John Little and Robinsons. Now Robinsons having sale? Will need to do some shopping this weekend. Next week hubby reservists, so super duper sianz! Hope he can book out everyday..

wishcometrue, your post has reminded me to buy some cooking books on confimement meals from popular. hope my mummy or sister can help to prepare for me. my sis has volunteered to drop by and help now and then during my confinement as she is a SAHM..

I never knew the correct way to apply yu yi oil, both my hubby and i just pour the oil direct onto my tunmmy when i had bad bloatedness during the first trimester..

I still hope that my mum will do confinement food. But I also scare, cos when she cook...she cook ALOT...cos my dad will ask her to cook ALOT.

Hmmm...i think the pillows are nice. Got to go bug my husband and ask if his aunty making for this baby girl anot.

Jer,
I tried Avent liquid powder as well. Also cannot.

But now I bought the pigeon medicated powder. So when she feel hot at night and cannot sleep, I will apply a super thin layer on her neck and body. So far so good, no rashes yet. "Touch Wood".

moony,
I will only use pamper or mamy poko diaper. But still prefer many poko. I used a lot of brand on my 1st one but only mamy poko & pamper brand suit her.

moony,
after finishing the pampers pack from TMC, i will try a pack of nepia first. Some 2nd time mummies told me gal and boy may suit different diaper. Some encounter Nepia ok for their gal, but when comes to boy, it leaks. So i guess trial and error all over again...i will try as follows:

1) Nepia
2) Mamy Poko
3) Petpet / EQ

Pink dress for sale
Hello, i'm from March 08 thread. I bought this pink dress at Carrano. Don't know what possessed me to buy a PINK dress. Have never won anything PINK in my life. Was thinking of wearing it for CNY but now tt i've come to my senses, i realise pink is not me. Bought it at $30++. Willing to let it go at price u deem reasonable. Brand New. Never been worn. If you're interested, do PM me. Thanks
1204063.jpg

Dear Mommies, i got a few lobang to bring out.

RE: Nepia pampers
I have lobang to get better rate compared to NTUC and they delivered to your hse. But then nid to buy at least 4 pkts lar. cos they oni delivered more than $60. But hor, if NTUC got offer for Nepia then buy from NTUC. cos NTUC 2 packs sell $26.95. haha. I am nepia supporter.

baby clothes
If any mommies want to buy those baby home wear clothings hor, button infront type or ribbon type. Go to waterloo there opp kuanyin temple to buy. there is a shop selling all wholesale baby clothings, towels & etc. but is bulk purchase kind lar. outside HDB neighbourhood sell baby tops 4 pcs $10, they sell 6pcs for like $9 or $10 I also forget.
I also bot long pants for my gal to wear at nite is oni $1/pc leh.

It is best to let baby wear those button one. dun wear those wear over head one. cos their head still havent stable.

Tracy,

For both my boys, I used EQ. I still like the absorbancy and the $$.

Hmm..but I will take note on the cutting for baby girl. Maybe I also have to change brand after that.

moony, I personally oso prefer the mamy poko diapers (the one who poo poo pocket). My colleague too recommend me that as she said it's not that messy as compared to other brand.
Guess my personal preference is influenced by the ad. Haha...

piggy_mummy,
there's a fax sent to my office on confinement nanny, charging S$1,700 per month. You may wanna call up to ask for more details. Jan Ng @ 98750964.

Jen,

Where is the store near? I tot the shops opp the temple are all selling chinese herbs and dried food. Any idea which level is the store located?

moony,
I will recommend mamy poko. slightly cheaper than pamper but absorption better than pamper. I try dryper on my gal, absorption is bad. I notice my gal will scratch her thigh area when she wears dryper & pass more than one urine.