(2008/05) May 2008

u all buy the pump oredi? i am still considering leh. wanted to buy the manual one to try first in case is not successful. maybe will get the electric one after given birth and successful in breast feeding. at least won't waste too much money.

u all might want to consider getting 2nd hand one from TMC parentcraft? tat time when i did the payment for the courses, the lady said can buy at half price. and after that, they also can help you source for buyer if you want to sell.

Kelcqi, dun worry too much. There's no way that we can guaratee to have a baby boy. Dun think too much on things that are beyond our control.
My hubby's ah-ma oso not happy. When I told her that I'm expecting a girl, she's not very happy and said, "Wait, come out, will be a boy."

You ladies started to buy pump. I'm still considering to buy or not as I'm not sure if I'm able to produce. Was thinking to get my husband to buy after I gave birth. Dunno will it be too rushed.

Kelcqi,

Understand your worry. But I think each husband is different, doesn't matter if boy or girl you have. =)

I change panty linear very often now. Sianz. It wasn't like that for my 1st two. But guess again, each pregnancy different.

Jer,

Don't try to stimulate breastmilk now leh. I read up that if you do, you are stimulating early delivery (anyone can confirm this?)

**Breastpumps - can source online like yahoo auctions or those other forums where pple selling. Can save alot of money. For me, I never bought any at all. Been borrowing. Cos as usual I highlight to people (or be practical) that you may or may not have breastmilk so sometimes not necessary to spend the money. =)

**dun mind me hor. I am those kind that "save" and spend unnecessarily. Hahaha

moony,

It's okay...too lazy to change also. Cos I took 20 yrs loan (not much loan take cos my flat is 4 room, got it considerably not so ex), so the amt isn't that bad. I still got abit of leftovers after each month's deduction. Pro is that IF (I say IF as I am practical) anything happens between my hubby and me, then I should be able to own that flat. Con, my OA a/c is pathetic.

moony,
i'm ok with using the avent manual but my colic finds her hand will cramp lah.

for me, the medela funnel too small and my nipples rub against the funnel so i often get sore nipples when using it. they do have larger funnel spare parts in the US, but not in singapore.

so far i use avent manual to pump, my breasts and nipples ok, not painful or sore.

icebaby,

haha.. i never stimulate breastmilk. The leakage comes naturally. Tempted to try the pump but I haven try it yet cos i also scared.. just clueless why i having leakage now, is it normal to have leakage now?

Jer, i think its ok to have leakage. My malay massage lady say some mummies start leakage in their 5th mth onwards wor... maybe you really very blessed and will have lots of breastmilk. Hee...

Tracy,
Thanks for the link.

Jaspire,
According to the link given by Tracy: "It is interesting that some women leak quite a lot before their babies are born and others don't seem to at all. There doesn't seem to be any link between how much is leaked before the baby's birth and how much milk you produce afterwards." so leakage now doesn't mean that I will produce lots of breastmilk. haha... but still hope will produce more.

Jer,

Leak is okay. Don't worry. Just wear breast pads first. =)

What I meant is dun try using the PUMP yet...cos it will stimulate the early birth.

hi piggy_mummy,

eeeks. i didnt know kiwi is liang le. orange i know. hehehe think i will cont to eat like 1 every alt days =P

hi jer,

thx! heheh. for baby nt able to take fresh milk i know but didnt relate it to this kiwi case =P think i blur blur and mountain tortoise =P need to read more =P

wah! u all so fast into breast pump liao ah!? right from the start, i decided to use manual one coz i saw my cousin using the auto one and she was in pain...mayb first few times she duno hw to use ba. but i think i trust myself more...at least pain i can control...if auto...and its pain, duno wat i will do =P

but i realised i v slow le, havent go n read up and see which brand is better =( makes me wonder if i will be a gd mum...

i read before, if u stimulate ur nipple or arouse it, u may go into early delivery. this is one of the method used in the olden days if the baby is not born on edd.

wishcometrue,

You are not slow lah. It's okay.

Maybe we should try to consolidate a list of things to have and also a list of hospital things that we should bring and share the list here since we all delivering around the same time. Plus who knows we might see each other at the hospital TOO! Heehee

piggymummy, me take 2weeks once.

RE: breastpump
Think will wait till march then buy cos electric pump must buy later so that warranty 1 year can fully utilise wor..

yalo, really don know what to buy, so far i only bought stroller and steriliser during JL 20 % sales + give away 48% disc voucher fr other ppl, so i buy, if not will not buy so early..

for bb clothes, have not buy yet..don know what shd buy first..

jaspire--thanx

icebaby, haha.. dun worry la nth will happen bet u n ur hubby lah.. but at least u own the flat haha..

Tracy, thanks for feedback.. cos ive been wanting to buy the manual pump but scare pain.. hehe.. tink its time to buy liao..

piggy mummy, wah u so fast buy stroller liao.. i haven.. i only bought bb's clothes.. hehe.. too excited liao.. so i bought quite some clothes.. i like Carter's bb clothes.. v nice n stylish..

hi piggy_mummy,

tonic ah? me seldom le! coz my mum wking, she only cooks on sun....but she cooks me bird nest every sun too.hahaha

hi icebaby,

i am compiling a list of things tt need to be packed for the delivery (hubby ask me to compile then i do one). ahaha. mayb like u say, we could all do then compare with each other n see wat else we miss. gd idea le!

by the way, think i will buy the clothes n pram frm warehse...cheaper...

nt v nice clothes la, like wat u see at shopping malls. is more like those 1st mth babies wear one

at kaki bukit ave, shun li industry.

there are 2 warehse:

hyperstore: sells lots of prams, car seats, cots

baby kingkom: sells lots of baby items like clothes, baby oil all these

but ho, i havent buy much la. hehehe planning to do so aft cny or in mar.

<font color="0000ff">wishcometrue</font>
Thanks for your kiwi summary.

<font color="0000ff">poky</font>
those myth not true one lor. Both pregnancy also gal(incl now) but then i hv sharp tummy &amp; protude belly button.

<font color="0000ff">cheri</font>
ya healthy most impt. I also love to have gal as No1 as they can help to take care of sibling more than boy boy can.

<font color="0000ff">Gina</font>
I think listen to a short while also alrite for baby one bah. I am pig so how noisy the environment i also can slp..

<font color="0000ff">piggy_mommy</font>
I take tonics i think 1mth once bah. I hate hate tonic one. very smelly. but then last few wks took birdnest &amp; "kao li sheng" alamak forgot to put rock sugar so abit bitter. i swallow lar. then drank less than 1min all donate out to toilet bowl liao. sooo waste my bird nest leh.

RE: Breastpump
During 1st pregnancy, i bot over from someone who never use be4 the Medela mini electric dual pump. Good leh. rather than hand pump.. i think hands will numb leh. cos 2 side mah. cos initially i hand tired then use 1 side to pump. wow ss was coming one side pump out another side dripping. haha so faster connect the 2nd one to pump together. i think as long as pump 1 side the other side is also stimulated maybe.

Are you all wearing nursing bra or normal bra with wire??? my colick experience blocked duct quite seriously after birth. so she went back TMC the breastfeeding expert called Boi Boi one leh.. she say cos during pregnant we keep wearing underwire one. so this cos the duct lor. anyway if anyone after birth feel blocked duct dun despair, just use hot hot towel to massage ur nei nei.. sure the milk duct will soften &amp; when pump spray until u also will be surprised.

RE: wholesale baby items
If anyone want to buy cheaper baby stuff like baby cot or whatever lar. milk btl also or whatsoever lar. can visit one shop @ chinatown there. the name should be <font color="ff0000">Cheong Choon</font>, located at upper cross st one. they are wholesale so things tend to be cheaper. they do delivery only above certain amount. can check website for the contact &amp; call to ask for pricing one be4 going down or ask them to deliver to u.

i still tinking of eating kiwi leh... nowadays i eating strawberry.. hehee... sour sour..very shiok...

me still wearing normal wired bra leh... coz nursing bra seems abit exp leh... will get soon lar..maybe after CNY...after finance more stable...

Very long never come here, the posting was soooo long.

I cannot remember who ask me for the furniture contact to custom made the bb cot mattress. Here is the Tel no. 6387 9951. Sorry to keep you waiting for so long.

ANy mommy interested to buy the following nursing shawl. It seem very good to me. If a lot of mommy interested, can ask the vendor whether can give us discount.

1202513.jpg

Me actually want to post the weblink but dont know can a not.. scare later kena banned from forum.

me wearing normal bras, but non-wired. feels so comfortable, cos with wired bras even if i keep increasing the size (both length and cup) no matter what still uncomfortable, so a lot of times at home go braless.

switched to non-wired suddenly the chest does not feel so tight already. but i worry no support for our boobs will droop leh, but i figured if whole day wear un-wired bras still better than half day wear wired ones right?

me going to use a hand-me-down pump from my sis, she's a SAHM so seldom use.. hiaz so lucky to be able to stay at home and look after her baby! me now going to start taking one tuition student cos hope to supplement my income in case i wan to take no-pay leave after ML.

SAHM! quite good hor..can spend alot of time with baby...but stay home also bored leh..me the type very talkative one...nobody talk to me i will go crazy..haha

icebaby,
My hubby's camp is somewhere in Tuas. So I guess they don't know wach other. :p

Gina,
Thanks for your tips! I love those preserved mangoes. But this greedy mummy also love chocolates and cheese cakes, and not to mention the loveletters and pineapple tarts! :p

jaspire,
my pre-pregnancy weight is 47kg. Normally it's hard for me to put on weight, but once I'm pregnant, it seems like my body goes haywire and aims to store fats like never before. Haiz...

Regarding stollers:
Those with 2nd babies, are you gals thinking of getting another stroller? How about baby cot? 'Cos my house is running out of place for baby stuff.

wishcometrue ,

coz that day JL having 20% sale, i went there, and some one got a lucky draw which is 48% disc, but they don want coz they already finished shopping, so i asked them n they gave me the disc coupon..so i bot steriliser at 80 dollar plus only(original-200), somo more stroller got 38%, its more, so i bot first.HB went to those hyper mart n bb kingdom, but not cheap lo..

Jaspire, That day I saw at Taka, Avent dual pump electronic one is 799. Faint. I thinking should I just go for the UNO one instead. Cos from another thread I read, seems like the dual one will never be at discount, UNO one still possible...

Anyone can tell me where is baby kingdom and hypermart?

anyone here will suddenly feel short of breathe or a feeling liked something bump onto ur heart/chest?? i recently gt this feeling leh.. i told my hubby later i gif birth half way short of breathe den bb come out no mummy.. ;(

moony,

aiyoh...dun think like that. It's normal. Sometimes I feel that I am short of breathe. *sayang*

Remember, baby in us is "sitting" on part of our organs...so sometimes shortness of breathe is normal. =)

icebaby, ya i start wk at 8 need to reach before 7.55 so gt to b early.. haha.. oh so u oso sometimes will feel dat ur heart skip a beat ar?? so im normal lor?

morning all,

damn tired today, (at least its thurs, weekend is coming! YEAH!) had a nitemare last nite and it kept me awake aft tt. hmm...baby v quiet the whole of yesterday, hope he will kick me more today =P

hi jen,

me still wearing wired bra le but with the extension behind. i saw read tt if during preg wear wired bra, will cause milk duct to be clocked....so i only wearing the nursing bra at nite (alt days) coz i hate to wear bra to slp.

hi choc,

hehehe. me still eat kiwi also. =P strawberry also have la but i prefer those frm korea or jap coz nt so sour and is sweeter.

hi moony,

ya, hyperstore mostly stroller n car seats n cots. baby kingdom more on clothes and all these baby items like lotion, cotton wool etc etc.

hi piggy_mummy,

izit? tt time went with my hubby to the shops in shopping malls then to hyperstore. the person told us if we interested she can give me 20% discounts on the stroller n car seat. tts why we decided to get frm the hyperstore. but if u ask me ho, the things at kingdom dun catch my eyes la. coz the clothes for baby nt v nice lo. =P

hi kelcqi,

hyperstore n baby kingdom @ at kaki bukit ave 1, shun li industry.

Here's my baby list and hospital bag items that I compiled for my fren not too long ago with my comments. Hope it helps!

mime_msexcel.gif

Baby Items for first baby.xls (34.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Oh yes, and those using Avent manual pump, can consider buying the breast shields. This will help to collect leaking milk from the other breast when you pumping only one side. Can collect quite alot of milk! later can pour in to store too.

1203157.jpg

Sunshine,
I've bought a toddler bed from Ikea for my #1 gal and she's sleeping in it now. So my baby cot will be used for my #2.

As for stroller, I'm not getting another one cos nowadays, my gal also dun wanna sit in stroller.

moony,

I start work at 8.30am till 6pm. Because this week hubby fetch me (to mrt), I get to work at around 7.50am. Normally if I take my own transport it's around 8am+ (Cos i detour to buy FOOD). *grin*

Yes, counting down to weekend. Today and tomolo...not so much things. Less headache for me. Still got to book lunch for my FIL's birthday.

Counting down to weekend too! My feet hurts more and more by each passing day! Like on Monday and Tues my feet feel ok, but began to be sore yesterday already. This morning woke up it hurts to even step on it! Was like that last week too
Can only rest my poor feet on weekends, how to go shopping?? Last weekend I told my hubby I need a wheelchair to get around during weekends, cos walk a bit also damn pain, feet painful plus backache..

How to tahan till May???

hi moony,

got to start soon for me coz hubby away in mar and apr..wait for him to come back then pack duno gt time nt...

and ho, alot of things havent buy. take this chance to see wat else i missed out too. hehehe.