(2008/05) May 2008

hi lynn,

so can we buy mattress that will be slightly bigger than the base board?and then squeezed the mattress in?kiddy palace sell those foam with holes type of mattress,the salesgal said the hole type is better than those wout holes...

good morning ladies!

our thread is so quiet compared to the Apr and Jun threads heehee.. everyone clearing leave??

goodbabyb, the holes are supposed to give better ventilation? but wouldn't that make the foam mattress softer and more 'collaspible' since there are holes in it?

i'm still more concerned with getting a good firm mattress to provide good support cos i'm very afraid my baby will grow up like me with so many backache problems due to poor support in my early years... *paranoid*

good morning!

Now i am just waiting for the time to break the news that i want to stop working after i deliver to my boss! i really don't know when is a good time, any advice?

smurferoos, you're planning to quit right before giving birth? or planning to take your maternity leave, go back to work and then quit?

Lynn,
Have you checked out Babysafe brand of bedding? Its latex and dustmite free etc. My gal is using the pillow. Can be found at Robinsons or during Taka Baby fair.

http://www.babysafe.com.sg/babysafe_latex.html

Muzicgal, Kelcqi,
Actually I recommend a baby cot. Based on my experience with my gal:

1) In terms of height, a playpen is much lower even when you put to the highest level. During our confinement, having to bend down to carry baby from playpen or change them in the playpen is very bad for our back.

2) A baby cot can adjust many levels and the highest level is very suitable for newborn and easy for us to change and carry them at that height.

3) When baby turns 18months, some can climb out of the playpen already, like my gal. Now that my gal is 23months, she's still sleeping in the baby cot.

I've got 2 playpens and both are now kept in storeroom already.

The baby cot can be converted to toddler bed, and our kid can sleep in it till about 7YO. Good investment.

Xav_Pris,
Congratz!

Lynn,
Why don't u try baby safe latex mattress. here is the website link. http://www.babysafe.com.sg/product_nl_001.html

or you can just go to any furniture shop to custom make. I have my done for less than $50.00 only and the quality is quite good.

muzicgal
I think playpen enough liao. My first one only sleep in the baby cot for 5 months then she dont want liao. but playpen also have one problem. cos the playpen is a bit lower, my back will feel pain if I carry and put her back too often.

tracy, i've checked out babysafe, in fact my sister recommends the infant pillow cos her girl loves sleeping on it cos it's not as warm as the usual pillows.

however, i do not find the mattress firm enough, at least for me cos i'm looking for one that can last till the baby's like 3 years old for my convertible cot.

i guess i could be biased cos i have very bad backache from when i was young (passed all the spine tests in school but has very slight curved spine or something, but not serious enough for the nurses to send me for further treatment), and my mum always attributed it to me sleeping on a latex mattress.

my mum has always warned me it's too soft to support me properly but i was stubborn and love it too much because it was cooling and comfortable, so i refused to let them throw it away.. i really want to avoid the same thing with my baby so i want to play it safe by using a firmer mattress..

Lynn,
Oh i see..then i guess a firmer mattress would be advisable for your case. But room will be aircon? It can get quite warm.

Dearie_e,
Heehee, we tot of the same Babysafe product for Lynn. My first one is opposite of yours, she must sleep in her cot at night and will request for it. I dunno how when I going to buy her a new toddler bed and let #2 use the cot.

abt the mattress, wa, needto do so many research? if we buy baby cot fr department stall, do they provide the mattress as well?me don know anything abt the mattress.

tracy,
i am not very understand abt the cot convertable into toddle bed..the cot is already a bed rite??

tracy, yeps room will be aircon cos bb will be born in May (so hot!).. or i guess we're too used to sleeping in aircon already, can't imagine bb sleeping in non-aircon, wouldn't it be hot? for me, cos i personally cannot sleep with fan, dunno why sure will feel very cold in the middle of the night and wake up with flu, but with aircon i'm ok..

piggy_mummy, if you buy the cot from dept stores most probably it'll already come with a mattress. but i'm so kiasu abt the mattress so won't use the one it comes with for baby to sleep on (maybe can find some other use for it).. i'm quite particular about the mattress cos of my own experience with life-long backache, definitely want to do anything within my control to prevent that from happending to my baby, cos backache is really terrible! i was just talking to my sis and she said she didn't have much backache throughout her pregnancy, i was so envious, cos pre-pregnancy i already have back problems, and my problems are magnified now that i'm pregnant

there's a kind of cot that says it's convertible. basically, it's larger in dimension and your can like change the configuration to make it into a toddler bed.. like mine fits a mattress that is 130+cm long so i'm hoping can use till baby is a few years old..

piggy_mummy, my mon says sprout pillow is used to cover baby's tummy to 'calm' the baby. my sis also used it as a pillow to cver baby's tummy.. i guess cos we can't wash the dried bean sprout pillow so won't be very clean with the drool, milk etc hehehe...

i saw the sprout pillow selling in robinsons and was tempted to get it.. but i hope my mum will make one for her granddaughter (my baby) cos more 'meaningful' mah..

lynn,

so sprout pillow seldom use as big pillow for newborn bb? must use those newborn pillow?me don know, coz i think can use sprout as a big pillow for head, and use the small one to put on bb chest

my sister did not use any pillow at all for her baby, but now she's going to start cos she says the baby seems happier when the head is slighly elevated..

for newborns there's the kind of pillow with a depression in the middle, supposedly to prevent the baby from develping a 'flat' head. i actually bought one such type from babysafe last weekend when robinsons has the 20% off.. but i dunno if it's really needed or not cos my sis did not use a pillow for her baby at all from birth till abt months, but i haven't seen my niece in person, dunno if she has a 'flat' head..

any mummies with experience?

goodbbb,
I got it custom made in one of the furniture shop in hougang. cannot remember the blk. I can ask my MIL for the tel no. then I post it here for you.

Lynn,
I also didn't use pillow for my bb when she just born. we just use the cloth diaper and fold it to let her sleep on it. you can turn the bb head to the side so bb will not have flat head. but must remember to turn the bb head to the other side after some time. N now she is using babysafe pillow. she has been using for 2 years and the firmness still very good so I suppose their mattress will still be firm after a few years.

tracy,
so good lor, ur first one still willingly to sleep in the cot. my bb waste $$, dont want to sleep after 5 months. In the end, we brought a daytime bed for her from ikea when she 1-1/2 years old. she love her new bed very much. some time i ask her whether she wants to sleep with me, she rejected me. Telling me she wants to sleep in her bed.

Piggy_mummy, Lynn, Dearie,
Same here, for my #1, when newborn we only let her lie on a folded cloth diaper. It's also easier to wash when they burp milk out. Only after she turn i forgot how old, then I switched her to babysafe flat pillow. Still using it.

Piggy_mummy,
Bean sprout pillow to put on tummy only bah. To prevent wind and also to protect baby from shock. But for my gal, when newborn we could hardly use the beansprout pillow on her, cos she will lift her legs up and kick the pillow and sometimes land on her face which is quite dangerous if no one watching.

Lynn,
To let the babies have rounded head, my MIL likes to leave them in those netted rocker. Personally, I don't really like it, cos currently my niece is put in the rocker 24hrs a day! My MIL and SIL simply leave her inside there, even inside it to sleep thru the night. It's convenient for them to rock her when she wakes up halfway, but erm..I think it's not good for the spine? I refused to let her use the netted rocker for my gal. I kept the rocker at my house. :p

Hi piggy_mum,
sprout pillow is used to cover the chest area when baby sleep so that they will feel secure and warm.

Hi lynn,
For my #1, I let him used the kind of pillow with a depression in the middle but in the end is of no used cos he move too much so end up his pillow is always away from his head and at ard 3/4 months old, he prefer to sleep on his tummy so basically he dun used pillow at all but his head is still round. As for my nephew, he also use the pillow with a depression in the middle but then from birth his head is already flat so even though he sleep on that kind of pillow, it is still flat.

~~Baby cot/playpen?~~
I have both baby cot and playpen. Whether to get baby cot or playpen, will depends on your usage too. Initially, i used baby cot but as the baby grow, especially when baby learn to crawl and stand, i feel playpen is better. As i am not at home, my maid will move the playpen around whatever she are so that she can keep an eye on him then she will put the baby in and throw in some toys for him to play, sometimes he ownself play in the playpen then he will fall asleep in there.

Piggy_mummy,
oh, the babycot hor, later can convert to toddler bed, ie look like a bed without the 'cages' surrounding it.

hi dearie,

thanx a lot,u let me noe the address and tel no after u find out :>
what is the dimension for ur mattress?urs is foam with or wout holes?

goodbbb,
My is just a normal foam w/o hole. I cannot remember the dimension, it was custom made abt 2 years ago. But my playpen mattress is slightly bigger than those normal size playpen. Can't get the right side outside so have it custom made and it was cheaper than those selling in most bb store.

Heh, now I also dunno what to get for my baby next time. I don't know leh, best someone can pass me a secondhand cot. If not like waste money if buy both playpen n cot leh. I know Cot is good for like dump baby inside when you are busy and baby awake...

Kelcqi,
actually i like the idea of playpen but abit too low lor... then MIL dont like... cos she always copy with my cousin-in-law, her baby sleep in cot, so i must be same like her... sianz... if i say my own idea... she will say my cousin-in-law can why i cannot... grrr....

Just an idea...heehee...how about letting your frens or colleagues know that you need a playpen? It's quite cheap esp when shared among few people.In this way, they can get you something you need and at the same time help you save cost!
That's what I did previously. Gave my colleagues a wish list and they simply purchase the items I needed.

Re:Nepia Diapers
Oh ya, btw, just to share also, for newborn diapers, so far tried and tested by lots of mummies on this forum, Nepia is the most cost effective. Quality is equivalent to Pampers but its only $15 per pack if you call to order direct from them. Minimum order is 4 packs (1 carton), can mix eg. 2 newborn, 2 S. Newborn and S sizes are not available on sale in the market, only M and above can buy from NTUC.

goodbbb,
Sorry lor, me yesterday bake donut and cheesecake until I forgot to ask my MIL for the no. Will let you know soon.

smurferoos, i think quitting after maternity leave is the wise thing to do, no point forgoing the 3 months paid maternity leave right? i mean we have to be practical $-wise cos with baby expenses are going to go up...

in that case, you should not tell your boss or leak any word of your intentions to anyone, in case your boss comes to know of it and terminate you before you give birth..

and it keeps your options open, like perhaps you feel that you would want to go back to work after ML, or you can try asking your boss for part-time scheme after your ML..

pooh, congrats on your baby prince! you went for your detailed scan already?

tracy, where can we find the contact number for Nepia?

mornin all

smurferoos- i am intendin to quit durin 2nd mth of ML n serve the 3rd mth as notice. even more bad rite =D

congrats pooh!!! u got ur wish

ant--u r rite, quit during 2nd month the serve the 3th month notice, many mummy doing this way..

smurferoos--don tell ur boss now, wasted the 3 month leave leh..

went for facial last night, the first since i became pregnant cos too tired/lazy to go previously.. she commented my dark eye circles are really bad, i know too cos not getting a good night's sleep at all.. lying down on the facialist's bed gave me bad backache
dunno next time how when tummy gets even bigger..

i noticed these few days tummy seems to have grown much bigger (18 wks), baby's supposed to be still quite low, but then why the whole tummy like bigger? now going to start worrying abt my weight gain again hiaz...

also dscovering rashes (on and off) at various parts of my body, and super itchy fingers/toes/palms/soles on and off. hate the itch attacks! any mummies feeling the same?

Pooh,
Congratz!!

Lynn,
Nepia is 6226 2650. Sometimes line busy, just leave a msg and they will call you back. When nearer to delivery date, can standby a few packs if you are planning to rely solely on disposable diapers.

thanks pooh and tracy for Nepia's number..

anyone going to use cloth diapers? i know it'll definitely save cost and is better for baby's skin but then i cannot imagine washing poopoo off the cloth diapers. must handwash too right? cos can't accumulate a machine-load in a day, and can't leave the soiled diapers overnight too...

lynn,
me thinking of using clothes diapers, can save money,,but don know who is going to wash the diapers leh, if i hire a CL, is she the one who wash or have to wash myself?

lynn,
re the rashes and itch, i am getting it on my thighs. not sure what's that. it looks like small mosquito bites, and i've got quite a few of it these 2 weeks. initially i thot is mosquito bites, but later thot' how did the mosquitoes got there, and not bite the visible skin like hands or calf .... if i apply axe oil or tiger balm on it, the itch goes away.

i dun think i'm going to get a CL, my mum will help me with confinment, but won't be like those traditional and strict ones cos she's not very sure abt the 'rules' and stuff..

abt washing cloth diapers, dun think we'll have the energy and time to wash them during confinment right? but they are best for baby's skin, so i'm also unsure what to do too..

peace, ya i get those rashes, not only on thighs but also on arms. my hubby says to put powder on it but it stills itch. shall try tiger balm, thanks for the tip!

i put on more weight and rapidly during the first trimester, during this 4th month, i did not seem to put on much weight. too much or too little weight gain is not as important as healthy bb growth. any one has any idea, what tummy size we should be having now ?

Hi Ladies.. i am selling pigeon empty container at $3.50 each. (kiddy palace selling at 7.20 wif 82's wipes.) if u are interested can sms me at 97979554.

Lynn,
The last time i gave up on cloth diapers. I cannot keep up with washing them! Unless you have a maid to assist you, otherwise you will need to handwash it everyday in order to have them dry the next day and use again. And cloth diapers gotta change very often. Once it's wet, change. Otherwise it may also cause rashes on the bum. But of course, it's much much cheaper. If you have a maid, I guess cloth diapers better. If not...no harm trying cloth diapers first see if you can handle.

Hi Ant,

I check the MOM website, you can't use the maternity leave as serving notice, the employer can't refuse to pay you.

So you need to serve after the ML.

Hi Lynn,

Thanx for the advice, yeah i need the money, what to do, but hopefully can work out sometimes win-win for both my boss and me.

When I have my first bb, I also thinking of using disposable diaper but after using it for sometime, I change it to cloth diaper. V exp. to use disposable diaper esp. when u are BF your bb. The bb can poo up to 6-7 times a day. And normally the "qty" is very little. therefore, I use a diaper liner, use and throw. Tt way, it won't stain the cloth diaper too much and easy to wash.

One more time, if you are buying disposable diaper, dont buy a lot lor. Some bb have sensitive skin (like mine), the diaper might not be suitable for their delicate skin. I have tried Nepia, dryper, pamper, mamy poko, EQ & huggies. Only pamper and mamy poko suit my gal. The best are still mamy poko brand.